A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Excel » General Discussion
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Linking two cells



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 18th, 2009, 05:13 AM posted to microsoft.public.excel.misc
b46ygurl
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4
Default Linking two cells

Is it possible to link two cells (that has the same information) and when you
update one it automatically updates the other?
  #2  
Old August 18th, 2009, 05:41 AM posted to microsoft.public.excel.misc
NDBC
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 110
Default Linking two cells

Say the first cell is A1 and the second cell is D1. In D1 type =A1.



"b46ygurl" wrote:

Is it possible to link two cells (that has the same information) and when you
update one it automatically updates the other?

  #3  
Old August 18th, 2009, 05:44 AM posted to microsoft.public.excel.misc
NDBC
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 110
Default Linking two cells

I just realised you would probably want it to work both ways. My way only
makes d1 = a1 when a1 is changed, not the other way around as well. I don't
think I can make it work both ways. Sorry for jumping in early.

"NDBC" wrote:

Say the first cell is A1 and the second cell is D1. In D1 type =A1.



"b46ygurl" wrote:

Is it possible to link two cells (that has the same information) and when you
update one it automatically updates the other?

  #4  
Old August 18th, 2009, 06:08 AM posted to microsoft.public.excel.misc
Jacob Skaria
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5,952
Default Linking two cells

---Using formulas you can link one cell to another. In B1 use the formula
=A1
to link B1 to A1...Any changes made to A1 will be reflected in B1

---If you are looking to reflect changes made in A1 and B1 to reflect in
both cells you will need to use a macro. Right click the sheet tab view code
and paste the below code.

Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
Application.EnableEvents = False
If Not Application.Intersect(Target, Range("A1")) Is Nothing Then _
Range("B1") = Range("A1")
If Not Application.Intersect(Target, Range("B1")) Is Nothing Then _
Range("A1") = Range("B1")
Application.EnableEvents = True
End Sub


If this post helps click Yes
---------------
Jacob Skaria


"b46ygurl" wrote:

Is it possible to link two cells (that has the same information) and when you
update one it automatically updates the other?

  #5  
Old November 19th, 2009, 07:12 PM posted to microsoft.public.excel.misc
5T4fr33d0m
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2
Default Linking two cells

When ever I do this the value does not stay constant. I think a better way
of explaining my problem is to tell you how I use to do what I want to do in
excel 2003.

I have a summary sheet that adds up all the monthly project expenses which
are entered on another work sheet. Sometimes another worksheet in a
different workbook. I would click on the "destination" cell 1)type the sign
= 2) then I would just click on the source cell within the same sheet, or
worksheet of same file or cell in a whole different work book.

So when ever I added hours of time on one worksheet it would update the
summary expense sheet. There's got to be a simple way of doing this.
Everytime all the cells below the updated cell change or act as if I want
them to copy a range of numbers. Please help - I got to get this new project
summary expense workbook to work.
Thanks!

"NDBC" wrote:

Say the first cell is A1 and the second cell is D1. In D1 type =A1.



"b46ygurl" wrote:

Is it possible to link two cells (that has the same information) and when you
update one it automatically updates the other?

  #6  
Old November 20th, 2009, 12:47 AM posted to microsoft.public.excel.misc
Gord Dibben
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 20,252
Default Linking two cells

Works exactly the same in 2007

But............you may have two instances of Excel running with a workbook
open in each.

These will not communicate with each other and you can only copy values.

Close the one workbook and that instance of Excel.

Open both workbooks in the same instance/session.


Gord Dibben MS Excel MVP

On Thu, 19 Nov 2009 11:12:05 -0800, 5T4fr33d0m
wrote:

When ever I do this the value does not stay constant. I think a better way
of explaining my problem is to tell you how I use to do what I want to do in
excel 2003.

I have a summary sheet that adds up all the monthly project expenses which
are entered on another work sheet. Sometimes another worksheet in a
different workbook. I would click on the "destination" cell 1)type the sign
= 2) then I would just click on the source cell within the same sheet, or
worksheet of same file or cell in a whole different work book.

So when ever I added hours of time on one worksheet it would update the
summary expense sheet. There's got to be a simple way of doing this.
Everytime all the cells below the updated cell change or act as if I want
them to copy a range of numbers. Please help - I got to get this new project
summary expense workbook to work.
Thanks!

"NDBC" wrote:

Say the first cell is A1 and the second cell is D1. In D1 type =A1.



"b46ygurl" wrote:

Is it possible to link two cells (that has the same information) and when you
update one it automatically updates the other?


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.