A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Data Member not Found



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 29th, 2006, 10:50 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
LJG
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 68
Default Data Member not Found

Can anyone tell me why I keep getting the message :

Method or data member not found

: when I compile my project

This refers to List0 which IS the name of the list control I have on my
form. My concern would be that when I start to write the line 'rst.FindFirst
"salescontactID = " & List0' in the code window FindFirst does not show as a
choice only Find.

This is my code, any suggestions please


Dim rst As Recordset

Set rst = Forms!frmNewClientDetails.RecordsetClone

rst.FindFirst "salescontactID = " & List0
Forms!frmNewClientDetails.Bookmark = rst.Bookmark
DoCmd.Close acForm, "frmNewClientSelect"


Thanks
--
LJG
-----------------------------------------------------
Access 2000, WinXP pro, 512mb


  #2  
Old December 29th, 2006, 12:04 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
'69 Camaro
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,049
Default Data Member not Found

Hi.

rst.FindFirst "salescontactID = " & List0


FindFirst requires the DAO library. Access 2000 uses the ADO library by
default, so if this is not a database that was converted from Access 97, it
doesn't have the correct library referenced.

Dim rst As Recordset


You should disambiguate this declaration if you choose to keep the ADO library
and add the DAO library, too. Change it to:

Dim rst As DAO.Recordset

For more information on this common problem, please see the following Web page
for a link to Access MVP Tom Wickerath's article, "ADO and DAO Library
References in Access Databases":
http://www.Access.QBuilt.com/html/articles.html

HTH.
Gunny

See http://www.QBuilt.com for all your database needs.
See http://www.Access.QBuilt.com for Microsoft Access tips and tutorials.
http://www.Access.QBuilt.com/html/ex...ributors2.html for contact info.


"LJG" wrote in message
...
Can anyone tell me why I keep getting the message :

Method or data member not found

: when I compile my project

This refers to List0 which IS the name of the list control I have on my form.
My concern would be that when I start to write the line 'rst.FindFirst
"salescontactID = " & List0' in the code window FindFirst does not show as a
choice only Find.

This is my code, any suggestions please


Dim rst As Recordset

Set rst = Forms!frmNewClientDetails.RecordsetClone

rst.FindFirst "salescontactID = " & List0
Forms!frmNewClientDetails.Bookmark = rst.Bookmark
DoCmd.Close acForm, "frmNewClientSelect"


Thanks
--
LJG
-----------------------------------------------------
Access 2000, WinXP pro, 512mb



  #3  
Old December 29th, 2006, 12:12 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
LJG
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 68
Default Data Member not Found

Cheers thanks for that, I have been using an old Access 97 book as guidance.

Thanks
Les

"'69 Camaro" AM wrote in
message ...
Hi.

rst.FindFirst "salescontactID = " & List0


FindFirst requires the DAO library. Access 2000 uses the ADO library by
default, so if this is not a database that was converted from Access 97,
it doesn't have the correct library referenced.

Dim rst As Recordset


You should disambiguate this declaration if you choose to keep the ADO
library and add the DAO library, too. Change it to:

Dim rst As DAO.Recordset

For more information on this common problem, please see the following Web
page for a link to Access MVP Tom Wickerath's article, "ADO and DAO
Library References in Access Databases":
http://www.Access.QBuilt.com/html/articles.html

HTH.
Gunny

See http://www.QBuilt.com for all your database needs.
See http://www.Access.QBuilt.com for Microsoft Access tips and tutorials.
http://www.Access.QBuilt.com/html/ex...ributors2.html for contact
info.


"LJG" wrote in message
...
Can anyone tell me why I keep getting the message :

Method or data member not found

: when I compile my project

This refers to List0 which IS the name of the list control I have on my
form. My concern would be that when I start to write the line
'rst.FindFirst "salescontactID = " & List0' in the code window FindFirst
does not show as a choice only Find.

This is my code, any suggestions please


Dim rst As Recordset

Set rst = Forms!frmNewClientDetails.RecordsetClone

rst.FindFirst "salescontactID = " & List0
Forms!frmNewClientDetails.Bookmark = rst.Bookmark
DoCmd.Close acForm, "frmNewClientSelect"


Thanks
--
LJG
-----------------------------------------------------
Access 2000, WinXP pro, 512mb





  #4  
Old December 29th, 2006, 06:15 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
'69 Camaro
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,049
Default Data Member not Found

thanks for that, I have been using an old Access 97 book as guidance.

You're welcome. Hopefully, you'll get an updated version in your Christmas
stocking next year. :-)

Gunny

See http://www.QBuilt.com for all your database needs.
See http://www.Access.QBuilt.com for Microsoft Access tips and tutorials.
http://www.Access.QBuilt.com/html/ex...ributors2.html for contact info.


"LJG" wrote in message
...
Cheers thanks for that, I have been using an old Access 97 book as guidance.

Thanks
Les

"'69 Camaro" AM wrote in
message ...
Hi.

rst.FindFirst "salescontactID = " & List0


FindFirst requires the DAO library. Access 2000 uses the ADO library by
default, so if this is not a database that was converted from Access 97, it
doesn't have the correct library referenced.

Dim rst As Recordset


You should disambiguate this declaration if you choose to keep the ADO
library and add the DAO library, too. Change it to:

Dim rst As DAO.Recordset

For more information on this common problem, please see the following Web
page for a link to Access MVP Tom Wickerath's article, "ADO and DAO Library
References in Access Databases":
http://www.Access.QBuilt.com/html/articles.html

HTH.
Gunny

See http://www.QBuilt.com for all your database needs.
See http://www.Access.QBuilt.com for Microsoft Access tips and tutorials.
http://www.Access.QBuilt.com/html/ex...ributors2.html for contact info.


"LJG" wrote in message
...
Can anyone tell me why I keep getting the message :

Method or data member not found

: when I compile my project

This refers to List0 which IS the name of the list control I have on my
form. My concern would be that when I start to write the line 'rst.FindFirst
"salescontactID = " & List0' in the code window FindFirst does not show as a
choice only Find.

This is my code, any suggestions please


Dim rst As Recordset

Set rst = Forms!frmNewClientDetails.RecordsetClone

rst.FindFirst "salescontactID = " & List0
Forms!frmNewClientDetails.Bookmark = rst.Bookmark
DoCmd.Close acForm, "frmNewClientSelect"


Thanks
--
LJG
-----------------------------------------------------
Access 2000, WinXP pro, 512mb







 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.