A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Syntax error



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 11th, 2005, 05:24 AM
Abay
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Syntax error

I have a "browse" tabular form which shows critical fields for clients in a
Client table, one line per client .. each line has a "command button" to
show "More" information .. which brings up a form containing all information
for a client .. the link between the forms is the Client name.

This works fine except for a client name of, for example, O'Donnell. When
the command button is clicked for O'Donnell I get the message "Syntax error
(missing operator) in query expression '[Lname] = 'O'Donnell".

The code for the command button is as follows:

Private Sub Command150_Click()
On Error GoTo Err_Command150_Click

Dim stDocName As String
Dim stLinkCriteria As String

stDocName = "FClient_and_sub_more"

stLinkCriteria = "[Lname]=" & "'" & Me![Lname] & "'"
DoCmd.OpenForm stDocName, , , stLinkCriteria

Exit_Command150_Click:
Exit Sub

Err_Command150_Click:
MsgBox Err.Description
Resume Exit_Command150_Click

I'm sure the problem is caused by the ' as part of the name .. any help
would be much appreciated for a newbie learning as I go along ... said that
before, but I'm still learning.

abay





  #2  
Old May 11th, 2005, 08:05 AM
tina
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

yes, that apostrophe is probably what's causing the error, but you would
probably be better off not using a last name field as your "link" between
the forms - for instance, what happens when you have two records with last
name "Smith"?

hopefully you have a primary key field, that is not a client name, in your
Client table. the primary key/foreign key is almost always the best value to
use in finding and retrieving a specific record.

hth


"Abay" wrote in message
...
I have a "browse" tabular form which shows critical fields for clients in

a
Client table, one line per client .. each line has a "command button" to
show "More" information .. which brings up a form containing all

information
for a client .. the link between the forms is the Client name.

This works fine except for a client name of, for example, O'Donnell. When
the command button is clicked for O'Donnell I get the message "Syntax

error
(missing operator) in query expression '[Lname] = 'O'Donnell".

The code for the command button is as follows:

Private Sub Command150_Click()
On Error GoTo Err_Command150_Click

Dim stDocName As String
Dim stLinkCriteria As String

stDocName = "FClient_and_sub_more"

stLinkCriteria = "[Lname]=" & "'" & Me![Lname] & "'"
DoCmd.OpenForm stDocName, , , stLinkCriteria

Exit_Command150_Click:
Exit Sub

Err_Command150_Click:
MsgBox Err.Description
Resume Exit_Command150_Click

I'm sure the problem is caused by the ' as part of the name .. any help
would be much appreciated for a newbie learning as I go along ... said

that
before, but I'm still learning.

abay







  #3  
Old May 11th, 2005, 09:16 AM
jouj
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Another question:
Is there a way to write a criteria and never worry about the ' or " or other
special characters?
I'm assuming that sometimes I have to compare Strings.

like in
stLinkCriteria = "[FieldName]='" & MyVar & "'"
where MyVar can include '," etc..

Thank you

"tina" wrote:

yes, that apostrophe is probably what's causing the error, but you would
probably be better off not using a last name field as your "link" between
the forms - for instance, what happens when you have two records with last
name "Smith"?

hopefully you have a primary key field, that is not a client name, in your
Client table. the primary key/foreign key is almost always the best value to
use in finding and retrieving a specific record.

hth


"Abay" wrote in message
...
I have a "browse" tabular form which shows critical fields for clients in

a
Client table, one line per client .. each line has a "command button" to
show "More" information .. which brings up a form containing all

information
for a client .. the link between the forms is the Client name.

This works fine except for a client name of, for example, O'Donnell. When
the command button is clicked for O'Donnell I get the message "Syntax

error
(missing operator) in query expression '[Lname] = 'O'Donnell".

The code for the command button is as follows:

Private Sub Command150_Click()
On Error GoTo Err_Command150_Click

Dim stDocName As String
Dim stLinkCriteria As String

stDocName = "FClient_and_sub_more"

stLinkCriteria = "[Lname]=" & "'" & Me![Lname] & "'"
DoCmd.OpenForm stDocName, , , stLinkCriteria

Exit_Command150_Click:
Exit Sub

Err_Command150_Click:
MsgBox Err.Description
Resume Exit_Command150_Click

I'm sure the problem is caused by the ' as part of the name .. any help
would be much appreciated for a newbie learning as I go along ... said

that
before, but I'm still learning.

abay








  #4  
Old May 11th, 2005, 10:31 PM
Abay
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Many thanks Tina for your reply ... actually the primary key is the last
name, so I guess the question is as stated by jouj .. is there away to
around the apostrophe ?

abay

"tina" wrote in message
...
yes, that apostrophe is probably what's causing the error, but you would
probably be better off not using a last name field as your "link" between
the forms - for instance, what happens when you have two records with last
name "Smith"?

hopefully you have a primary key field, that is not a client name, in your
Client table. the primary key/foreign key is almost always the best value

to
use in finding and retrieving a specific record.

hth


"Abay" wrote in message
...
I have a "browse" tabular form which shows critical fields for clients

in
a
Client table, one line per client .. each line has a "command button"

to
show "More" information .. which brings up a form containing all

information
for a client .. the link between the forms is the Client name.

This works fine except for a client name of, for example, O'Donnell.

When
the command button is clicked for O'Donnell I get the message "Syntax

error
(missing operator) in query expression '[Lname] = 'O'Donnell".

The code for the command button is as follows:

Private Sub Command150_Click()
On Error GoTo Err_Command150_Click

Dim stDocName As String
Dim stLinkCriteria As String

stDocName = "FClient_and_sub_more"

stLinkCriteria = "[Lname]=" & "'" & Me![Lname] & "'"
DoCmd.OpenForm stDocName, , , stLinkCriteria

Exit_Command150_Click:
Exit Sub

Err_Command150_Click:
MsgBox Err.Description
Resume Exit_Command150_Click

I'm sure the problem is caused by the ' as part of the name .. any help
would be much appreciated for a newbie learning as I go along ... said

that
before, but I'm still learning.

abay









  #5  
Old May 11th, 2005, 10:48 PM
tina
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

probably there is, but i don't know it. i can only suggest that 1) you
consider changing your primary key - unless you will never, ever, have two
clients with the same last name, or 2) if you're determined to stick with
the last name as primary key, watch this thread for a day or so. then if
nobody else posts a solution to the apostrophe problem, start a new thread
and include the information that your last name field is your table's
primary key (so you don't have to repeat our conversation again, with
somebody else). good luck.


"Abay" wrote in message
...
Many thanks Tina for your reply ... actually the primary key is the last
name, so I guess the question is as stated by jouj .. is there away to
around the apostrophe ?

abay

"tina" wrote in message
...
yes, that apostrophe is probably what's causing the error, but you would
probably be better off not using a last name field as your "link"

between
the forms - for instance, what happens when you have two records with

last
name "Smith"?

hopefully you have a primary key field, that is not a client name, in

your
Client table. the primary key/foreign key is almost always the best

value
to
use in finding and retrieving a specific record.

hth


"Abay" wrote in message
...
I have a "browse" tabular form which shows critical fields for clients

in
a
Client table, one line per client .. each line has a "command button"

to
show "More" information .. which brings up a form containing all

information
for a client .. the link between the forms is the Client name.

This works fine except for a client name of, for example, O'Donnell.

When
the command button is clicked for O'Donnell I get the message "Syntax

error
(missing operator) in query expression '[Lname] = 'O'Donnell".

The code for the command button is as follows:

Private Sub Command150_Click()
On Error GoTo Err_Command150_Click

Dim stDocName As String
Dim stLinkCriteria As String

stDocName = "FClient_and_sub_more"

stLinkCriteria = "[Lname]=" & "'" & Me![Lname] & "'"
DoCmd.OpenForm stDocName, , , stLinkCriteria

Exit_Command150_Click:
Exit Sub

Err_Command150_Click:
MsgBox Err.Description
Resume Exit_Command150_Click

I'm sure the problem is caused by the ' as part of the name .. any

help
would be much appreciated for a newbie learning as I go along ... said

that
before, but I'm still learning.

abay











  #6  
Old May 12th, 2005, 02:34 AM
Abay
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks again .. unfortunately the last name has to be the primary key ..will
do as you suggest ...

abay

"tina" wrote in message
...
probably there is, but i don't know it. i can only suggest that 1) you
consider changing your primary key - unless you will never, ever, have two
clients with the same last name, or 2) if you're determined to stick with
the last name as primary key, watch this thread for a day or so. then if
nobody else posts a solution to the apostrophe problem, start a new thread
and include the information that your last name field is your table's
primary key (so you don't have to repeat our conversation again, with
somebody else). good luck.


"Abay" wrote in message
...
Many thanks Tina for your reply ... actually the primary key is the last
name, so I guess the question is as stated by jouj .. is there away to
around the apostrophe ?

abay

"tina" wrote in message
...
yes, that apostrophe is probably what's causing the error, but you

would
probably be better off not using a last name field as your "link"

between
the forms - for instance, what happens when you have two records with

last
name "Smith"?

hopefully you have a primary key field, that is not a client name, in

your
Client table. the primary key/foreign key is almost always the best

value
to
use in finding and retrieving a specific record.

hth


"Abay" wrote in message
...
I have a "browse" tabular form which shows critical fields for

clients
in
a
Client table, one line per client .. each line has a "command

button"
to
show "More" information .. which brings up a form containing all
information
for a client .. the link between the forms is the Client name.

This works fine except for a client name of, for example, O'Donnell.

When
the command button is clicked for O'Donnell I get the message

"Syntax
error
(missing operator) in query expression '[Lname] = 'O'Donnell".

The code for the command button is as follows:

Private Sub Command150_Click()
On Error GoTo Err_Command150_Click

Dim stDocName As String
Dim stLinkCriteria As String

stDocName = "FClient_and_sub_more"

stLinkCriteria = "[Lname]=" & "'" & Me![Lname] & "'"
DoCmd.OpenForm stDocName, , , stLinkCriteria

Exit_Command150_Click:
Exit Sub

Err_Command150_Click:
MsgBox Err.Description
Resume Exit_Command150_Click

I'm sure the problem is caused by the ' as part of the name .. any

help
would be much appreciated for a newbie learning as I go along ...

said
that
before, but I'm still learning.

abay













 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Command Line Option Syntax Error Roy Powerpoint 2 February 24th, 2005 05:27 PM
SQL Syntax Error Wantula Database Design 3 November 9th, 2004 02:01 AM
Still Getting SQL Syntax Error Wantula Database Design 1 November 5th, 2004 02:34 PM
(!Syntax Error, *) Suse Mailmerge 2 September 24th, 2004 09:58 AM
Question on lauching access and syntax error during batch file Adam Raff General Discussion 2 August 12th, 2004 04:20 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.