A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Point to correct response



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 12th, 2005, 01:52 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Point to correct response

I have a combo box on a form called Terminal_Nm. I have labels for Address,
City, St and ZipCode.

What I would like to have happen is when I select my Terminal from teh combo
box for all of the other info to be populated autmatically in the labels.

I am sure there is a question like this somewhere in here and I have seached
for a few days looking for something simialr but not luck.

Can anyone point me in the right direction or show me a sample of code?

Thanks
Tony
  #2  
Old December 12th, 2005, 02:00 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Point to correct response

Here are a couple of examples that should help:

http://www.mvps.org/access/forms/frm0009.htm
http://www.mvps.org/access/forms/frm0005.htm

--
Wayne Morgan
MS Access MVP


"Tony" wrote in message
...
I have a combo box on a form called Terminal_Nm. I have labels for
Address,
City, St and ZipCode.

What I would like to have happen is when I select my Terminal from teh
combo
box for all of the other info to be populated autmatically in the labels.

I am sure there is a question like this somewhere in here and I have
seached
for a few days looking for something simialr but not luck.

Can anyone point me in the right direction or show me a sample of code?

Thanks
Tony



  #3  
Old December 12th, 2005, 02:50 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Point to correct response

I have tried these out and I must be missing something.

My form is called frm_Dest
My combobox is called cbTermNm
My Lables are lblAdd, lblCt, lblSt, lblZip

When I select my Terminal Name from cbTermNm I want the labels to populate
the missing info from the table it reside in on the update.

For some reason I cannot get them to work. Either Monday is really getting
to me already or I just don't get it.

Thanks


"Wayne Morgan" wrote:

Here are a couple of examples that should help:

http://www.mvps.org/access/forms/frm0009.htm
http://www.mvps.org/access/forms/frm0005.htm

--
Wayne Morgan
MS Access MVP


"Tony" wrote in message
...
I have a combo box on a form called Terminal_Nm. I have labels for
Address,
City, St and ZipCode.

What I would like to have happen is when I select my Terminal from teh
combo
box for all of the other info to be populated autmatically in the labels.

I am sure there is a question like this somewhere in here and I have
seached
for a few days looking for something simialr but not luck.

Can anyone point me in the right direction or show me a sample of code?

Thanks
Tony




  #4  
Old December 12th, 2005, 03:50 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Point to correct response

First, are these actually labels or textboxes? Assuming labels, see if the
following example helps.

In the AfterUpdate event of the combo box:
Me.lblAdd.Caption = CStr(DLookup("[FieldName]", "[TableName]", "[FieldName
Associated with Combobox]=" & Me.cbTermNm))

Adjust the field name to match the field appropriate for the label being
filled. The syntax at the end assumes a number is returned by the combo box,
if it is text, adjust the line as follows:

Me.lblAdd.Caption = CStr(DLookup("[FieldName]", "[TableName]", "[FieldName
Associated with Combobox]='" & Me.cbTermNm & "'"))

The newsreader will probably wrap the lines due to their length, it should
be one line. If there are apostrophes in the value returned by the combo
box, another modification will need to be made, let me know if that is the
case. The value of the combo box is the value in the Bound Column of the
combo box when you've made a selection.

Another option is to add the other items to additional columns in the combo
box. You could set the width of those columns to zero to hide them, if you
wish. All visible columns will be displayed when the drop down is open, but
only the first visible column will be displayed once the selection is made.
You could then simple refer to the other columns in the combo box to get the
associated values.

Example:
Me.lblAdd.Caption = Me.cbTermNm.Column(1)

The column number above is zero based, so 0 is the first column, 1 is the
second, 2 is the third, etc. If the control is a textbox instead of a label,
you could set the Control Source of the textbox to point to the appropriate
column in the combo box and it will automatically update when the selection
is made, no code needed. If you want it to look like a label, you could play
with the formatting of the textbox (including the Locked and Enabled
properties) to make it look like a label.

--
Wayne Morgan
MS Access MVP


"Tony" wrote in message
...
I have tried these out and I must be missing something.

My form is called frm_Dest
My combobox is called cbTermNm
My Lables are lblAdd, lblCt, lblSt, lblZip

When I select my Terminal Name from cbTermNm I want the labels to populate
the missing info from the table it reside in on the update.

For some reason I cannot get them to work. Either Monday is really
getting
to me already or I just don't get it.

Thanks


"Wayne Morgan" wrote:

Here are a couple of examples that should help:

http://www.mvps.org/access/forms/frm0009.htm
http://www.mvps.org/access/forms/frm0005.htm

--
Wayne Morgan
MS Access MVP


"Tony" wrote in message
...
I have a combo box on a form called Terminal_Nm. I have labels for
Address,
City, St and ZipCode.

What I would like to have happen is when I select my Terminal from teh
combo
box for all of the other info to be populated autmatically in the
labels.

I am sure there is a question like this somewhere in here and I have
seached
for a few days looking for something simialr but not luck.

Can anyone point me in the right direction or show me a sample of code?

Thanks
Tony






  #5  
Old December 12th, 2005, 04:56 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Point to correct response

Thanks. Just before your response I figured it out. Using on of the samples
you sent. I am just slow today I guess. I

Now my issue is I am trying to update the info from lbTermName to a field in
a called Orig in a table called Detail. And when I close the form or Move to
next record I want the data to popluate. But for some reason I can't get it
to follow through.



"Wayne Morgan" wrote:

First, are these actually labels or textboxes? Assuming labels, see if the
following example helps.

In the AfterUpdate event of the combo box:
Me.lblAdd.Caption = CStr(DLookup("[FieldName]", "[TableName]", "[FieldName
Associated with Combobox]=" & Me.cbTermNm))

Adjust the field name to match the field appropriate for the label being
filled. The syntax at the end assumes a number is returned by the combo box,
if it is text, adjust the line as follows:

Me.lblAdd.Caption = CStr(DLookup("[FieldName]", "[TableName]", "[FieldName
Associated with Combobox]='" & Me.cbTermNm & "'"))

The newsreader will probably wrap the lines due to their length, it should
be one line. If there are apostrophes in the value returned by the combo
box, another modification will need to be made, let me know if that is the
case. The value of the combo box is the value in the Bound Column of the
combo box when you've made a selection.

Another option is to add the other items to additional columns in the combo
box. You could set the width of those columns to zero to hide them, if you
wish. All visible columns will be displayed when the drop down is open, but
only the first visible column will be displayed once the selection is made.
You could then simple refer to the other columns in the combo box to get the
associated values.

Example:
Me.lblAdd.Caption = Me.cbTermNm.Column(1)

The column number above is zero based, so 0 is the first column, 1 is the
second, 2 is the third, etc. If the control is a textbox instead of a label,
you could set the Control Source of the textbox to point to the appropriate
column in the combo box and it will automatically update when the selection
is made, no code needed. If you want it to look like a label, you could play
with the formatting of the textbox (including the Locked and Enabled
properties) to make it look like a label.

--
Wayne Morgan
MS Access MVP


"Tony" wrote in message
...
I have tried these out and I must be missing something.

My form is called frm_Dest
My combobox is called cbTermNm
My Lables are lblAdd, lblCt, lblSt, lblZip

When I select my Terminal Name from cbTermNm I want the labels to populate
the missing info from the table it reside in on the update.

For some reason I cannot get them to work. Either Monday is really
getting
to me already or I just don't get it.

Thanks


"Wayne Morgan" wrote:

Here are a couple of examples that should help:

http://www.mvps.org/access/forms/frm0009.htm
http://www.mvps.org/access/forms/frm0005.htm

--
Wayne Morgan
MS Access MVP


"Tony" wrote in message
...
I have a combo box on a form called Terminal_Nm. I have labels for
Address,
City, St and ZipCode.

What I would like to have happen is when I select my Terminal from teh
combo
box for all of the other info to be populated autmatically in the
labels.

I am sure there is a question like this somewhere in here and I have
seached
for a few days looking for something simialr but not luck.

Can anyone point me in the right direction or show me a sample of code?

Thanks
Tony






  #6  
Old December 12th, 2005, 08:20 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Point to correct response

Again, the question is whether these are labels or textboxes. Also, by your
description, I'm not sure what exactly you're trying to do.

Just some general information though. You shouldn't need to keep copies of
multiple data from the record you select. For example, you shouldn't need to
keep a companies name, address, zip, phone, etc. in a second table. Instead,
the table that has this information should have a unique ID field for each
record. The only thing you should then need to keep in another table is the
value in this unique ID field. You would then link the tables on this common
field when you need the other information. The link will cause the tables to
"line up" so that you can get the correct information from the original
table when for each ID in the 2nd table.

--
Wayne Morgan
MS Access MVP


"Tony" wrote in message
...
Thanks. Just before your response I figured it out. Using on of the
samples
you sent. I am just slow today I guess. I

Now my issue is I am trying to update the info from lbTermName to a field
in
a called Orig in a table called Detail. And when I close the form or Move
to
next record I want the data to popluate. But for some reason I can't get
it
to follow through.



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to copy or save a photo from a power point presentation M.A. Rousseau Powerpoint 7 October 18th, 2005 03:26 AM
Point labels in an Excel scatter plot to be associated text k_thakur Charts and Charting 1 August 15th, 2005 01:38 AM
power point response is outline to long to read judbnk Powerpoint 1 May 23rd, 2005 02:27 AM
restoring auto correct file back to original word version Sharon G General Discussion 4 August 8th, 2004 02:37 PM
separate for point and comma Frank Dulk Using Forms 0 August 3rd, 2004 02:55 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.