A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Stop Shift Key Override On Open MDB



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 17th, 2005, 11:21 PM
Andy
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Stop Shift Key Override On Open MDB

Hi;

Learned from Rob Oldfield that a user can override all my "PreCautions" by
holding down the Shift Key when the open the MDB in Access.

Using A2K.

Have also learned that "AllowBypassKey" needs to be set to False.

Would someone be so kind to point me in the correct direction.

Andy



  #2  
Old October 17th, 2005, 11:41 PM
Dirk Goldgar
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Stop Shift Key Override On Open MDB

"Andy" wrote in message

Hi;

Learned from Rob Oldfield that a user can override all my
"PreCautions" by holding down the Shift Key when the open the MDB in
Access.

Using A2K.

Have also learned that "AllowBypassKey" needs to be set to False.

Would someone be so kind to point me in the correct direction.

Andy


The following code procedure comes from the Microsoft Access Security
FAQ document:

'----- start of code -----
Function faq_DisableShiftKeyBypass(strDBName as String, fAllow as
Boolean) As Boolean

On Error GoTo errDisableShift

Dim ws As Workspace
Dim db As DATABASE
Dim prop As Property
Const conPropNotFound = 3270

Set ws = DBEngine.Workspaces(0)
Set db = ws.OpenDatabase(strDBName)

db.Properties("AllowByPassKey") = Not fAllow
faq_DisableShiftKeyBypass = fAllow
exitDisableShift:
Exit Function

errDisableShift:
'The AllowBypassKey property is a user-defined
' property of the database that must be created
' before it can be set. This error code will execute
' the first time this function is run in a database.

If Err = conPropNotFound Then
' You must set the fourth DDL parameter to True
' to ensure that only administrators
' can modify it later. If it was created wrongly, then
' delete it and re-create it correctly.
Set prop = db.CreateProperty("AllowByPassKey", _
dbBoolean, False, True)
db.Properties.Append prop
Resume
Else
MsgBox "Function DisableShiftKeyBypass did not complete
successfully."
Faq_DisableShiftKeyBypass = False
GoTo exitDisableShift
End If
End Function

'----- end of code -----

You should define and call this function, not in the database you want
to secure, but in another "utility" database. When you cal the
function, you pass it the path and name of the database you want to
secure. Bear in mind that, in the absence of user-level security, any
sufficiently knowledgeable user can run similar code to re-enable the
bypass key. But it does put up a greater barrier than relying on the
user's ignorance of the Shift key trick.

--
Dirk Goldgar, MS Access MVP
www.datagnostics.com

(please reply to the newsgroup)


  #3  
Old October 18th, 2005, 04:28 PM
Ricky Hicks MVP
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Stop Shift Key Override On Open MDB

The easiest way to accomplish this is to do it using a remote app designed to
do this.

See the Utility at the link below:

http://www.utteraccess.com/forums/sh...&Number=233728

R. Hicks

"Andy" wrote:

Hi;

Learned from Rob Oldfield that a user can override all my "PreCautions" by
holding down the Shift Key when the open the MDB in Access.

Using A2K.

Have also learned that "AllowBypassKey" needs to be set to False.

Would someone be so kind to point me in the correct direction.

Andy




  #4  
Old October 18th, 2005, 05:40 PM
Andy
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Stop Shift Key Override On Open MDB

Ricky;

Thank You. I'll give it a try.

Also in a reply to a post: InputBox Mask ****** & Call it 3 times.

Rob Oldfield gave this answer:
It can be done in an adp...
http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;826765


Thank heaven for help from people like You.

Andy

"Ricky Hicks MVP" wrote in message
...
The easiest way to accomplish this is to do it using a remote app designed

to
do this.

See the Utility at the link below:


http://www.utteraccess.com/forums/sh...&Number=233728

R. Hicks

"Andy" wrote:

Hi;

Learned from Rob Oldfield that a user can override all my "PreCautions"

by
holding down the Shift Key when the open the MDB in Access.

Using A2K.

Have also learned that "AllowBypassKey" needs to be set to False.

Would someone be so kind to point me in the correct direction.

Andy






  #5  
Old October 18th, 2005, 07:02 PM
Rob Oldfield
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Stop Shift Key Override On Open MDB

Doesn't matter I'm afraid Andy. However you set the shift key bypass, the
objects within the mdb still have an owner of admin. If I go into a new
database (where I am, by default, admin and the owner of the "secured" db)
and hit file, import then there is absolutely nothing that can be done to
stop me getting at all of the objects within it. As I said before, it's a
comfort blanket.


"Andy" wrote in message
...
Ricky;

Thank You. I'll give it a try.

Also in a reply to a post: InputBox Mask ****** & Call it 3 times.

Rob Oldfield gave this answer:
It can be done in an adp...
http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;826765


Thank heaven for help from people like You.

Andy

"Ricky Hicks MVP" wrote in

message
...
The easiest way to accomplish this is to do it using a remote app

designed
to
do this.

See the Utility at the link below:



http://www.utteraccess.com/forums/sh...&Number=233728

R. Hicks

"Andy" wrote:

Hi;

Learned from Rob Oldfield that a user can override all my

"PreCautions"
by
holding down the Shift Key when the open the MDB in Access.

Using A2K.

Have also learned that "AllowBypassKey" needs to be set to False.

Would someone be so kind to point me in the correct direction.

Andy








  #6  
Old October 19th, 2005, 01:21 AM
Andy
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Stop Shift Key Override On Open MDB

Rob;

It looks like this MDB is going to be an ADP.

Worked too long on this to let some Munchkin come along and mess things up.

Thank You for helping me.

Andy

"Rob Oldfield" wrote in message
...
Doesn't matter I'm afraid Andy. However you set the shift key bypass, the
objects within the mdb still have an owner of admin. If I go into a new
database (where I am, by default, admin and the owner of the "secured" db)
and hit file, import then there is absolutely nothing that can be done to
stop me getting at all of the objects within it. As I said before, it's a
comfort blanket.


"Andy" wrote in message
...
Ricky;

Thank You. I'll give it a try.

Also in a reply to a post: InputBox Mask ****** & Call it 3 times.

Rob Oldfield gave this answer:
It can be done in an adp...
http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;826765


Thank heaven for help from people like You.

Andy

"Ricky Hicks MVP" wrote in

message
...
The easiest way to accomplish this is to do it using a remote app

designed
to
do this.

See the Utility at the link below:




http://www.utteraccess.com/forums/sh...&Number=233728

R. Hicks

"Andy" wrote:

Hi;

Learned from Rob Oldfield that a user can override all my

"PreCautions"
by
holding down the Shift Key when the open the MDB in Access.

Using A2K.

Have also learned that "AllowBypassKey" needs to be set to False.

Would someone be so kind to point me in the correct direction.

Andy










  #7  
Old October 19th, 2005, 02:01 PM
Andy
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Stop Shift Key Override On Open MDB

Hi;

Ran the Security Wizard.

It all ran correctly.

But it doesn't tell You how to open the DBase after it's been secured.

Searched Access Help, Searched MSSupport Center for Access, even used
Advanced Search.

Experience tells me that I'm not wording the search correctly.

Would someone be so kind and inform me how to open a "Secured" Dbase or
where to find the answer.

Thank You.
Andy


"Andy" wrote in message
...
Rob;

It looks like this MDB is going to be an ADP.

Worked too long on this to let some Munchkin come along and mess things

up.

Thank You for helping me.

Andy

"Rob Oldfield" wrote in message
...
Doesn't matter I'm afraid Andy. However you set the shift key bypass,

the
objects within the mdb still have an owner of admin. If I go into a new
database (where I am, by default, admin and the owner of the "secured"

db)
and hit file, import then there is absolutely nothing that can be done

to
stop me getting at all of the objects within it. As I said before, it's

a
comfort blanket.


"Andy" wrote in message
...
Ricky;

Thank You. I'll give it a try.

Also in a reply to a post: InputBox Mask ****** & Call it 3 times.

Rob Oldfield gave this answer:
It can be done in an adp...
http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;826765

Thank heaven for help from people like You.

Andy

"Ricky Hicks MVP" wrote in

message
...
The easiest way to accomplish this is to do it using a remote app

designed
to
do this.

See the Utility at the link below:





http://www.utteraccess.com/forums/sh...&Number=233728

R. Hicks

"Andy" wrote:

Hi;

Learned from Rob Oldfield that a user can override all my

"PreCautions"
by
holding down the Shift Key when the open the MDB in Access.

Using A2K.

Have also learned that "AllowBypassKey" needs to be set to False.

Would someone be so kind to point me in the correct direction.

Andy












  #8  
Old October 19th, 2005, 07:21 PM
Rob Oldfield
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Stop Shift Key Override On Open MDB

You need to specify the workgroup information file to use. A couple of ways
to do it:

Run the workgroup administrator program wrkgadm.exe (in 2K, not sure if it's
been changed in later versions, but it'll be under program files\office
somewhere). This will show what your default mdw file is (when you're
playing, make sure you note where that is so you can switch back later) and
allow you to change it - generally to the one that you created while running
the wizard. If you do that then, from that point on, you'll be asked for a
username/pwd when you open an mdb.

The other way is to specify the mdw file in the command to open the db.
That would be something like:

"path\Msaccess.exe" "path\whatever.mdb" /wrkgrp "path\Secure.mdw"

I tend to use the second method as it allows for normal shortcuts for
standard access to unsecured dbs, with the secure.mdw only referenced when
it's needed.

Note that if a standard user goes into standard Access then, to reiterate,
they are the user 'admin'. They can only open any mdbs which allow the
admin user that right, which is why you generally remove the admin user as
part of the security wizard.


"Andy" wrote in message
...
Hi;

Ran the Security Wizard.

It all ran correctly.

But it doesn't tell You how to open the DBase after it's been secured.

Searched Access Help, Searched MSSupport Center for Access, even used
Advanced Search.

Experience tells me that I'm not wording the search correctly.

Would someone be so kind and inform me how to open a "Secured" Dbase or
where to find the answer.

Thank You.
Andy


"Andy" wrote in message
...
Rob;

It looks like this MDB is going to be an ADP.

Worked too long on this to let some Munchkin come along and mess things

up.

Thank You for helping me.

Andy

"Rob Oldfield" wrote in message
...
Doesn't matter I'm afraid Andy. However you set the shift key bypass,

the
objects within the mdb still have an owner of admin. If I go into a

new
database (where I am, by default, admin and the owner of the "secured"

db)
and hit file, import then there is absolutely nothing that can be done

to
stop me getting at all of the objects within it. As I said before,

it's
a
comfort blanket.


"Andy" wrote in message
...
Ricky;

Thank You. I'll give it a try.

Also in a reply to a post: InputBox Mask ****** & Call it 3 times.

Rob Oldfield gave this answer:
It can be done in an adp...
http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;826765

Thank heaven for help from people like You.

Andy

"Ricky Hicks MVP" wrote in
message
...
The easiest way to accomplish this is to do it using a remote app
designed
to
do this.

See the Utility at the link below:






http://www.utteraccess.com/forums/sh...&Number=233728

R. Hicks

"Andy" wrote:

Hi;

Learned from Rob Oldfield that a user can override all my
"PreCautions"
by
holding down the Shift Key when the open the MDB in Access.

Using A2K.

Have also learned that "AllowBypassKey" needs to be set to

False.

Would someone be so kind to point me in the correct direction.

Andy














  #9  
Old October 20th, 2005, 10:39 AM
Andy
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Rob! Stop Shift Key Override On Open MDB

Rob;

Posted a new question: Protect MDB any MVP

It includes this and more details:

Went to his office yesterday to see this "Sophisticated" program. My friend
has A2K.
Launched Access, Clicked on File/Open. Selected the dbase's name. Held the
Shift key down and clicked the Open button.

The dbase opened but all of the qrys/frms/rpts were dimmed and when I right
clicked on the frms names the "Design" option was grayed and un-usable.
Even when the frms were imported into a new dbase You still couldn't get
into design view for those frms.

The database has an MDB extenstion, not MDE, not ADP, MDB.

Andy


"Rob Oldfield" wrote in message
...
You need to specify the workgroup information file to use. A couple of

ways
to do it:

Run the workgroup administrator program wrkgadm.exe (in 2K, not sure if

it's
been changed in later versions, but it'll be under program files\office
somewhere). This will show what your default mdw file is (when you're
playing, make sure you note where that is so you can switch back later)

and
allow you to change it - generally to the one that you created while

running
the wizard. If you do that then, from that point on, you'll be asked for

a
username/pwd when you open an mdb.

The other way is to specify the mdw file in the command to open the db.
That would be something like:

"path\Msaccess.exe" "path\whatever.mdb" /wrkgrp "path\Secure.mdw"

I tend to use the second method as it allows for normal shortcuts for
standard access to unsecured dbs, with the secure.mdw only referenced when
it's needed.

Note that if a standard user goes into standard Access then, to reiterate,
they are the user 'admin'. They can only open any mdbs which allow the
admin user that right, which is why you generally remove the admin user as
part of the security wizard.


"Andy" wrote in message
...
Hi;

Ran the Security Wizard.

It all ran correctly.

But it doesn't tell You how to open the DBase after it's been secured.

Searched Access Help, Searched MSSupport Center for Access, even used
Advanced Search.

Experience tells me that I'm not wording the search correctly.

Would someone be so kind and inform me how to open a "Secured" Dbase or
where to find the answer.

Thank You.
Andy


"Andy" wrote in message
...
Rob;

It looks like this MDB is going to be an ADP.

Worked too long on this to let some Munchkin come along and mess

things
up.

Thank You for helping me.

Andy

"Rob Oldfield" wrote in message
...
Doesn't matter I'm afraid Andy. However you set the shift key

bypass,
the
objects within the mdb still have an owner of admin. If I go into a

new
database (where I am, by default, admin and the owner of the

"secured"
db)
and hit file, import then there is absolutely nothing that can be

done
to
stop me getting at all of the objects within it. As I said before,

it's
a
comfort blanket.


"Andy" wrote in message
...
Ricky;

Thank You. I'll give it a try.

Also in a reply to a post: InputBox Mask ****** & Call it 3

times.

Rob Oldfield gave this answer:
It can be done in an adp...
http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;826765

Thank heaven for help from people like You.

Andy

"Ricky Hicks MVP" wrote

in
message
...
The easiest way to accomplish this is to do it using a remote

app
designed
to
do this.

See the Utility at the link below:







http://www.utteraccess.com/forums/sh...&Number=233728

R. Hicks

"Andy" wrote:

Hi;

Learned from Rob Oldfield that a user can override all my
"PreCautions"
by
holding down the Shift Key when the open the MDB in Access.

Using A2K.

Have also learned that "AllowBypassKey" needs to be set to

False.

Would someone be so kind to point me in the correct direction.

Andy
















  #10  
Old October 20th, 2005, 12:11 PM
Douglas J Steele
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Rob! Stop Shift Key Override On Open MDB

The file could have been renamed. Changing the extension from MDE to MDB
doesn't stop the file from being an MDE!

--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no e-mails, please!)


"Andy" wrote in message
...
Rob;

Posted a new question: Protect MDB any MVP

It includes this and more details:

Went to his office yesterday to see this "Sophisticated" program. My

friend
has A2K.
Launched Access, Clicked on File/Open. Selected the dbase's name. Held

the
Shift key down and clicked the Open button.

The dbase opened but all of the qrys/frms/rpts were dimmed and when I

right
clicked on the frms names the "Design" option was grayed and un-usable.
Even when the frms were imported into a new dbase You still couldn't get
into design view for those frms.

The database has an MDB extenstion, not MDE, not ADP, MDB.

Andy


"Rob Oldfield" wrote in message
...
You need to specify the workgroup information file to use. A couple of

ways
to do it:

Run the workgroup administrator program wrkgadm.exe (in 2K, not sure if

it's
been changed in later versions, but it'll be under program files\office
somewhere). This will show what your default mdw file is (when you're
playing, make sure you note where that is so you can switch back later)

and
allow you to change it - generally to the one that you created while

running
the wizard. If you do that then, from that point on, you'll be asked

for
a
username/pwd when you open an mdb.

The other way is to specify the mdw file in the command to open the db.
That would be something like:

"path\Msaccess.exe" "path\whatever.mdb" /wrkgrp "path\Secure.mdw"

I tend to use the second method as it allows for normal shortcuts for
standard access to unsecured dbs, with the secure.mdw only referenced

when
it's needed.

Note that if a standard user goes into standard Access then, to

reiterate,
they are the user 'admin'. They can only open any mdbs which allow the
admin user that right, which is why you generally remove the admin user

as
part of the security wizard.


"Andy" wrote in message
...
Hi;

Ran the Security Wizard.

It all ran correctly.

But it doesn't tell You how to open the DBase after it's been secured.

Searched Access Help, Searched MSSupport Center for Access, even used
Advanced Search.

Experience tells me that I'm not wording the search correctly.

Would someone be so kind and inform me how to open a "Secured" Dbase

or
where to find the answer.

Thank You.
Andy


"Andy" wrote in message
...
Rob;

It looks like this MDB is going to be an ADP.

Worked too long on this to let some Munchkin come along and mess

things
up.

Thank You for helping me.

Andy

"Rob Oldfield" wrote in message
...
Doesn't matter I'm afraid Andy. However you set the shift key

bypass,
the
objects within the mdb still have an owner of admin. If I go into

a
new
database (where I am, by default, admin and the owner of the

"secured"
db)
and hit file, import then there is absolutely nothing that can be

done
to
stop me getting at all of the objects within it. As I said

before,
it's
a
comfort blanket.


"Andy" wrote in message
...
Ricky;

Thank You. I'll give it a try.

Also in a reply to a post: InputBox Mask ****** & Call it 3

times.

Rob Oldfield gave this answer:
It can be done in an adp...
http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;826765

Thank heaven for help from people like You.

Andy

"Ricky Hicks MVP"

wrote
in
message
...
The easiest way to accomplish this is to do it using a remote

app
designed
to
do this.

See the Utility at the link below:








http://www.utteraccess.com/forums/sh...&Number=233728

R. Hicks

"Andy" wrote:

Hi;

Learned from Rob Oldfield that a user can override all my
"PreCautions"
by
holding down the Shift Key when the open the MDB in Access.

Using A2K.

Have also learned that "AllowBypassKey" needs to be set to

False.

Would someone be so kind to point me in the correct

direction.

Andy


















 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
when i open a file a new excel window opens. how do stop this susan General Discussion 1 July 1st, 2005 03:08 PM
what should i use darryll Worksheet Functions 3 March 6th, 2005 05:26 AM
How do you stop the "markup" view from being on when I open parti. Sara Willis Parton fan General Discussion 1 December 9th, 2004 11:02 PM
Update query???? Ed Coleman Running & Setting Up Queries 5 October 14th, 2004 12:53 PM
stop cell ranges shift when copying functions. daddooafloat Worksheet Functions 1 October 4th, 2004 05:19 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.