A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Load combobox based on selection



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 3rd, 2006, 06:59 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Load combobox based on selection

I am working with a databse that has 22 seperate tables. On my form I have a
combobox that is titled Acts and Regulations. This combobox is populated
with data from one table. When one of the options is selected I would like
to load a second combobox with the corresponding date eg: when Financial
Tracking Regulations is selected I want the second combobox to be populated
by the table titled Financial Regulations.

Can someone help me with this?

Z
  #2  
Old May 3rd, 2006, 07:41 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Load combobox based on selection

See
http://www.pacificdb.com.au/MVP/Code/ComboRS.htm

--
Joan Wild
Microsoft Access MVP

Zoltar54 wrote:
I am working with a databse that has 22 seperate tables. On my form
I have a combobox that is titled Acts and Regulations. This combobox
is populated with data from one table. When one of the options is
selected I would like to load a second combobox with the
corresponding date eg: when Financial Tracking Regulations is
selected I want the second combobox to be populated by the table
titled Financial Regulations.

Can someone help me with this?

Z



  #3  
Old May 3rd, 2006, 07:45 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Load combobox based on selection

In the AfterUpdate of the first combo box, put code to reset the RowSource
for the second combo box.

There's an example at http://www.mvps.org/access/forms/frm0028.htm at "The
Access Web" or (perhaps a better example)
http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/as...730581033.aspx

--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no e-mails, please!)


"Zoltar54" wrote in message
...
I am working with a databse that has 22 seperate tables. On my form I

have a
combobox that is titled Acts and Regulations. This combobox is populated
with data from one table. When one of the options is selected I would

like
to load a second combobox with the corresponding date eg: when Financial
Tracking Regulations is selected I want the second combobox to be

populated
by the table titled Financial Regulations.

Can someone help me with this?

Z



  #4  
Old May 3rd, 2006, 08:08 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Load combobox based on selection

Joan,

Thnaks for the tip. I have entered the code (using the names of my objects)
and it does not seem to work. Below is the code. Can you provide some
further insight?

Z

Dim ssql As String

ssql = "SELECT sectionID, actregID, section, description" & "From tblCAPS
WHERE actregID=&me.ActReg" & "ORDER BY section,description"

Me.Sect.RowSource = ssql

"Joan Wild" wrote:

See
http://www.pacificdb.com.au/MVP/Code/ComboRS.htm

--
Joan Wild
Microsoft Access MVP

Zoltar54 wrote:
I am working with a databse that has 22 seperate tables. On my form
I have a combobox that is titled Acts and Regulations. This combobox
is populated with data from one table. When one of the options is
selected I would like to load a second combobox with the
corresponding date eg: when Financial Tracking Regulations is
selected I want the second combobox to be populated by the table
titled Financial Regulations.

Can someone help me with this?

Z




  #5  
Old May 3rd, 2006, 09:50 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Load combobox based on selection

ssql = "SELECT sectionID, actregID, section, description From
tblCAPS WHERE actregID= " & me.ActReg & " ORDER BY section,description"

You have misplaced '&' and quotes.


--
Joan Wild
Microsoft Access MVP

Zoltar54 wrote:
Joan,

Thnaks for the tip. I have entered the code (using the names of my
objects) and it does not seem to work. Below is the code. Can you
provide some further insight?

Z

Dim ssql As String

ssql = "SELECT sectionID, actregID, section, description" & "From
tblCAPS WHERE actregID=&me.ActReg" & "ORDER BY section,description"

Me.Sect.RowSource = ssql

"Joan Wild" wrote:

See
http://www.pacificdb.com.au/MVP/Code/ComboRS.htm

--
Joan Wild
Microsoft Access MVP

Zoltar54 wrote:
I am working with a databse that has 22 seperate tables. On my form
I have a combobox that is titled Acts and Regulations. This
combobox is populated with data from one table. When one of the
options is selected I would like to load a second combobox with the
corresponding date eg: when Financial Tracking Regulations is
selected I want the second combobox to be populated by the table
titled Financial Regulations.

Can someone help me with this?

Z



  #6  
Old May 4th, 2006, 02:41 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Load combobox based on selection

Joan,

Thanks once again. The code no longer gives me an error, however it will
not load the data in the tbl CAPS. As I am quite new at the VBA and Access
world perhaps I am missing something. The item called tblCAPS - this is the
taable I want loaded when a particular Item is selected from the first
combobox. Does this need to defined (Dim) and if so what do I define it as
(recordset, access object etc..)

Z

"Joan Wild" wrote:

ssql = "SELECT sectionID, actregID, section, description From
tblCAPS WHERE actregID= " & me.ActReg & " ORDER BY section,description"

You have misplaced '&' and quotes.


--
Joan Wild
Microsoft Access MVP

Zoltar54 wrote:
Joan,

Thnaks for the tip. I have entered the code (using the names of my
objects) and it does not seem to work. Below is the code. Can you
provide some further insight?

Z

Dim ssql As String

ssql = "SELECT sectionID, actregID, section, description" & "From
tblCAPS WHERE actregID=&me.ActReg" & "ORDER BY section,description"

Me.Sect.RowSource = ssql

"Joan Wild" wrote:

See
http://www.pacificdb.com.au/MVP/Code/ComboRS.htm

--
Joan Wild
Microsoft Access MVP

Zoltar54 wrote:
I am working with a databse that has 22 seperate tables. On my form
I have a combobox that is titled Acts and Regulations. This
combobox is populated with data from one table. When one of the
options is selected I would like to load a second combobox with the
corresponding date eg: when Financial Tracking Regulations is
selected I want the second combobox to be populated by the table
titled Financial Regulations.

Can someone help me with this?

Z




  #7  
Old May 4th, 2006, 02:58 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Load combobox based on selection

You've confused me now. Why are you trying to load a table.?

I thought you had a form with a combobox named [Acts and Regulations] and a
second named (actually I don't know what it's named but it contains
Financial Regulations). You want to make a selection in the Acts and
Regulations combobox, that then restricts the list of values to select in
the second combobox.

Please explain how the tblCAPS comes in to play.


--
Joan Wild
Microsoft Access MVP

Zoltar54 wrote:
Joan,

Thanks once again. The code no longer gives me an error, however it
will not load the data in the tbl CAPS. As I am quite new at the VBA
and Access world perhaps I am missing something. The item called
tblCAPS - this is the taable I want loaded when a particular Item is
selected from the first combobox. Does this need to defined (Dim)
and if so what do I define it as (recordset, access object etc..)

Z

"Joan Wild" wrote:

ssql = "SELECT sectionID, actregID, section, description From
tblCAPS WHERE actregID= " & me.ActReg & " ORDER BY
section,description"

You have misplaced '&' and quotes.


--
Joan Wild
Microsoft Access MVP

Zoltar54 wrote:
Joan,

Thnaks for the tip. I have entered the code (using the names of my
objects) and it does not seem to work. Below is the code. Can you
provide some further insight?

Z

Dim ssql As String

ssql = "SELECT sectionID, actregID, section, description" & "From
tblCAPS WHERE actregID=&me.ActReg" & "ORDER BY section,description"

Me.Sect.RowSource = ssql

"Joan Wild" wrote:

See
http://www.pacificdb.com.au/MVP/Code/ComboRS.htm

--
Joan Wild
Microsoft Access MVP

Zoltar54 wrote:
I am working with a databse that has 22 seperate tables. On my
form I have a combobox that is titled Acts and Regulations. This
combobox is populated with data from one table. When one of the
options is selected I would like to load a second combobox with
the corresponding date eg: when Financial Tracking Regulations is
selected I want the second combobox to be populated by the table
titled Financial Regulations.

Can someone help me with this?

Z



  #8  
Old May 4th, 2006, 03:18 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Load combobox based on selection

I tend to do that.

The items in the Acts and Regulations box are loaded from a single data
table. Each item in the list refers to a seperate table. In this case when
the item CAPS is selected from the first combobox, I would like to have the
records in the table called CAPS to be loaded into the second combobox called
"Section".

I hope this is a little bit clearer.

Z

"Joan Wild" wrote:

You've confused me now. Why are you trying to load a table.?

I thought you had a form with a combobox named [Acts and Regulations] and a
second named (actually I don't know what it's named but it contains
Financial Regulations). You want to make a selection in the Acts and
Regulations combobox, that then restricts the list of values to select in
the second combobox.

Please explain how the tblCAPS comes in to play.


--
Joan Wild
Microsoft Access MVP

Zoltar54 wrote:
Joan,

Thanks once again. The code no longer gives me an error, however it
will not load the data in the tbl CAPS. As I am quite new at the VBA
and Access world perhaps I am missing something. The item called
tblCAPS - this is the taable I want loaded when a particular Item is
selected from the first combobox. Does this need to defined (Dim)
and if so what do I define it as (recordset, access object etc..)

Z

"Joan Wild" wrote:

ssql = "SELECT sectionID, actregID, section, description From
tblCAPS WHERE actregID= " & me.ActReg & " ORDER BY
section,description"

You have misplaced '&' and quotes.


--
Joan Wild
Microsoft Access MVP

Zoltar54 wrote:
Joan,

Thnaks for the tip. I have entered the code (using the names of my
objects) and it does not seem to work. Below is the code. Can you
provide some further insight?

Z

Dim ssql As String

ssql = "SELECT sectionID, actregID, section, description" & "From
tblCAPS WHERE actregID=&me.ActReg" & "ORDER BY section,description"

Me.Sect.RowSource = ssql

"Joan Wild" wrote:

See
http://www.pacificdb.com.au/MVP/Code/ComboRS.htm

--
Joan Wild
Microsoft Access MVP

Zoltar54 wrote:
I am working with a databse that has 22 seperate tables. On my
form I have a combobox that is titled Acts and Regulations. This
combobox is populated with data from one table. When one of the
options is selected I would like to load a second combobox with
the corresponding date eg: when Financial Tracking Regulations is
selected I want the second combobox to be populated by the table
titled Financial Regulations.

Can someone help me with this?

Z




  #9  
Old May 4th, 2006, 08:15 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Load combobox based on selection

One doesn't 'load a table' into a combobox, exactly.

Keep going. Suppose the second combo box listed all the records in the CAPS
table. Then what do you want to do?

Also, what happened to the Financial Regulations combobox?


--
Joan Wild
Microsoft Access MVP

Zoltar54 wrote:
I tend to do that.

The items in the Acts and Regulations box are loaded from a single
data table. Each item in the list refers to a seperate table. In this
case when the item CAPS is selected from the first combobox, I would
like to have the records in the table called CAPS to be loaded into
the second combobox called "Section".

I hope this is a little bit clearer.

Z

"Joan Wild" wrote:

You've confused me now. Why are you trying to load a table.?

I thought you had a form with a combobox named [Acts and
Regulations] and a second named (actually I don't know what it's
named but it contains Financial Regulations). You want to make a
selection in the Acts and Regulations combobox, that then restricts
the list of values to select in the second combobox.

Please explain how the tblCAPS comes in to play.


--
Joan Wild
Microsoft Access MVP

Zoltar54 wrote:
Joan,

Thanks once again. The code no longer gives me an error, however it
will not load the data in the tbl CAPS. As I am quite new at the
VBA and Access world perhaps I am missing something. The item
called tblCAPS - this is the taable I want loaded when a particular
Item is selected from the first combobox. Does this need to
defined (Dim) and if so what do I define it as (recordset, access
object etc..)

Z

"Joan Wild" wrote:

ssql = "SELECT sectionID, actregID, section, description From
tblCAPS WHERE actregID= " & me.ActReg & " ORDER BY
section,description"

You have misplaced '&' and quotes.


--
Joan Wild
Microsoft Access MVP

Zoltar54 wrote:
Joan,

Thnaks for the tip. I have entered the code (using the names of
my objects) and it does not seem to work. Below is the code.
Can you provide some further insight?

Z

Dim ssql As String

ssql = "SELECT sectionID, actregID, section, description" & "From
tblCAPS WHERE actregID=&me.ActReg" & "ORDER BY
section,description"

Me.Sect.RowSource = ssql

"Joan Wild" wrote:

See
http://www.pacificdb.com.au/MVP/Code/ComboRS.htm

--
Joan Wild
Microsoft Access MVP

Zoltar54 wrote:
I am working with a databse that has 22 seperate tables. On my
form I have a combobox that is titled Acts and Regulations.
This combobox is populated with data from one table. When one
of the options is selected I would like to load a second
combobox with the corresponding date eg: when Financial
Tracking Regulations is selected I want the second combobox to
be populated by the table titled Financial Regulations.

Can someone help me with this?

Z



  #10  
Old May 4th, 2006, 08:35 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Load combobox based on selection

Once the user has made a selection from the combobox called "Section" I want
this item to be entered into a table called "Infraction" in a field called
"Section".

The Financial Regulations Combobox is now called Acts and Regulations.

z

"Joan Wild" wrote:

One doesn't 'load a table' into a combobox, exactly.

Keep going. Suppose the second combo box listed all the records in the CAPS
table. Then what do you want to do?

Also, what happened to the Financial Regulations combobox?


--
Joan Wild
Microsoft Access MVP

Zoltar54 wrote:
I tend to do that.

The items in the Acts and Regulations box are loaded from a single
data table. Each item in the list refers to a seperate table. In this
case when the item CAPS is selected from the first combobox, I would
like to have the records in the table called CAPS to be loaded into
the second combobox called "Section".

I hope this is a little bit clearer.

Z

"Joan Wild" wrote:

You've confused me now. Why are you trying to load a table.?

I thought you had a form with a combobox named [Acts and
Regulations] and a second named (actually I don't know what it's
named but it contains Financial Regulations). You want to make a
selection in the Acts and Regulations combobox, that then restricts
the list of values to select in the second combobox.

Please explain how the tblCAPS comes in to play.


--
Joan Wild
Microsoft Access MVP

Zoltar54 wrote:
Joan,

Thanks once again. The code no longer gives me an error, however it
will not load the data in the tbl CAPS. As I am quite new at the
VBA and Access world perhaps I am missing something. The item
called tblCAPS - this is the taable I want loaded when a particular
Item is selected from the first combobox. Does this need to
defined (Dim) and if so what do I define it as (recordset, access
object etc..)

Z

"Joan Wild" wrote:

ssql = "SELECT sectionID, actregID, section, description From
tblCAPS WHERE actregID= " & me.ActReg & " ORDER BY
section,description"

You have misplaced '&' and quotes.


--
Joan Wild
Microsoft Access MVP

Zoltar54 wrote:
Joan,

Thnaks for the tip. I have entered the code (using the names of
my objects) and it does not seem to work. Below is the code.
Can you provide some further insight?

Z

Dim ssql As String

ssql = "SELECT sectionID, actregID, section, description" & "From
tblCAPS WHERE actregID=&me.ActReg" & "ORDER BY
section,description"

Me.Sect.RowSource = ssql

"Joan Wild" wrote:

See
http://www.pacificdb.com.au/MVP/Code/ComboRS.htm

--
Joan Wild
Microsoft Access MVP

Zoltar54 wrote:
I am working with a databse that has 22 seperate tables. On my
form I have a combobox that is titled Acts and Regulations.
This combobox is populated with data from one table. When one
of the options is selected I would like to load a second
combobox with the corresponding date eg: when Financial
Tracking Regulations is selected I want the second combobox to
be populated by the table titled Financial Regulations.

Can someone help me with this?

Z




 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ordering data based on a selection Mike Using Forms 1 March 5th, 2006 10:41 PM
outomatically fill in fields based on the selection in the switchb Waynef New Users 2 October 7th, 2005 08:16 AM
Populate a text box based on the selection of a combo box. Itman79 Using Forms 5 September 11th, 2005 05:12 PM
Newbie: Need my combo box to populate another field based on selection Beeman General Discussion 4 June 17th, 2005 07:17 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.