A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Update Combo Box



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 10th, 2010, 02:31 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
iamnu
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 99
Default Update Combo Box

I have seen a commercial application where clicking on a Combo Box
displays a list of current values.
At the bottom of this list, there is a dotted line, and below this is
displayed "Edit List".
The doted line and "Edit List" text are both bold. And of course,
clicking on "Edit List" takes me to a place where I can edit the list.

I can handle the underlying code, I think, but how is the Combo Box
formatted this way (values above, and "Edit List" below), and can
someone show me how to do the same thing? It is just perfect for my
application.

Thanks for the suggestions...

  #2  
Old February 10th, 2010, 02:57 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Arvin Meyer [MVP][_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,310
Default Update Combo Box

You cannot do this with the native Access combo box.
--
Arvin Meyer, MCP, MVP
http://www.datastrat.com
http://www.mvps.org/access
http://www.accessmvp.com


"iamnu" wrote in message
...
I have seen a commercial application where clicking on a Combo Box
displays a list of current values.
At the bottom of this list, there is a dotted line, and below this is
displayed "Edit List".
The doted line and "Edit List" text are both bold. And of course,
clicking on "Edit List" takes me to a place where I can edit the list.

I can handle the underlying code, I think, but how is the Combo Box
formatted this way (values above, and "Edit List" below), and can
someone show me how to do the same thing? It is just perfect for my
application.

Thanks for the suggestions...



  #3  
Old February 10th, 2010, 03:27 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
iamnu
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 99
Default Update Combo Box

On Feb 10, 7:57*am, "Arvin Meyer [MVP]" wrote:
You cannot do this with the native Access combo box.
--
Arvin Meyer, MCP, MVPhttp://www.datastrat.comhttp://www.mvps.org/accesshttp://www.accessmvp.com

"iamnu" wrote in message

...

I have seen a commercial application where clicking on a Combo Box
displays a list of current values.
At the bottom of this list, there is a dotted line, and below this is
displayed "Edit List".
The doted line and "Edit List" text are both bold. *And of course,
clicking on "Edit List" takes me to a place where I can edit the list.


I can handle the underlying code, I think, but how is the Combo Box
formatted this way (values above, and "Edit List" below), and can
someone show me how to do the same thing? *It is just perfect for my
application.


Thanks for the suggestions...


Alright then. Thanks for responding...
  #4  
Old February 10th, 2010, 05:15 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
DrGUI
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 10
Default Update Combo Box

You can use a UNION query, for example:

select state fromtbl_States
UNION
select "--------" from tbl_States
UNION
select "Edit List" from tbl_States

"iamnu" wrote:

I have seen a commercial application where clicking on a Combo Box
displays a list of current values.
At the bottom of this list, there is a dotted line, and below this is
displayed "Edit List".
The doted line and "Edit List" text are both bold. And of course,
clicking on "Edit List" takes me to a place where I can edit the list.

I can handle the underlying code, I think, but how is the Combo Box
formatted this way (values above, and "Edit List" below), and can
someone show me how to do the same thing? It is just perfect for my
application.

Thanks for the suggestions...

.

  #5  
Old February 10th, 2010, 05:37 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Balbina
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 11
Default Update Combo Box

DrGUI, is there any way to get "Edit List" to show up italicized?

"DrGUI" wrote:

You can use a UNION query, for example:

select state fromtbl_States
UNION
select "--------" from tbl_States
UNION
select "Edit List" from tbl_States

"iamnu" wrote:

I have seen a commercial application where clicking on a Combo Box
displays a list of current values.
At the bottom of this list, there is a dotted line, and below this is
displayed "Edit List".
The doted line and "Edit List" text are both bold. And of course,
clicking on "Edit List" takes me to a place where I can edit the list.

I can handle the underlying code, I think, but how is the Combo Box
formatted this way (values above, and "Edit List" below), and can
someone show me how to do the same thing? It is just perfect for my
application.

Thanks for the suggestions...

.

  #6  
Old February 10th, 2010, 05:45 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
DrGUI
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 10
Default Update Combo Box

Unfortunately, No. You cannot format the items in a combobox.

"Balbina" wrote:

DrGUI, is there any way to get "Edit List" to show up italicized?

"DrGUI" wrote:

You can use a UNION query, for example:

select state fromtbl_States
UNION
select "--------" from tbl_States
UNION
select "Edit List" from tbl_States

"iamnu" wrote:

I have seen a commercial application where clicking on a Combo Box
displays a list of current values.
At the bottom of this list, there is a dotted line, and below this is
displayed "Edit List".
The doted line and "Edit List" text are both bold. And of course,
clicking on "Edit List" takes me to a place where I can edit the list.

I can handle the underlying code, I think, but how is the Combo Box
formatted this way (values above, and "Edit List" below), and can
someone show me how to do the same thing? It is just perfect for my
application.

Thanks for the suggestions...

.

  #7  
Old February 10th, 2010, 07:23 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Arvin Meyer [MVP][_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,310
Default Update Combo Box


"DrGUI" wrote in message
...
You can use a UNION query, for example:

select state fromtbl_States
UNION
select "--------" from tbl_States


Clever!
--
Arvin Meyer, MCP, MVP
http://www.datastrat.com
http://www.mvps.org/access
http://www.accessmvp.com


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.