A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » New Users
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Updating back end DB question



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 14th, 2010, 06:56 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
gd
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 209
Default Updating back end DB question

What happens if I update a back end database while users are in the front end
in Access 2003? Will the data being entered at the time be compromised?

Basically, the front end has the forms and a table that contains the data
entry info. The back end consists of a series of tables that contain
pre-existing background info on the possible data entries in the front end
table.

In other words, I'm wanting to update the background tables periodically
(perhaps even daily), in preparation for users' data entry, but without
having to ask them to exit the front end database every time.

Any help?!?! THANKS!!!!
--
GD
Ads
  #2  
Old April 14th, 2010, 06:59 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
Jeff Boyce
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8,621
Default Updating back end DB question

I guess I'm not understanding the underlying business need ...

Can you provide an example of what kind of data you need to be altering in
the back-end so the users can use their front-ends?

Regards

Jeff Boyce
Microsoft Access MVP

--
Disclaimer: This author may have received products and services mentioned
in this post. Mention and/or description of a product or service herein
does not constitute endorsement thereof.

Any code or pseudocode included in this post is offered "as is", with no
guarantee as to suitability.

You can thank the FTC of the USA for making this disclaimer
possible/necessary.

"GD" wrote in message
...
What happens if I update a back end database while users are in the front
end
in Access 2003? Will the data being entered at the time be compromised?

Basically, the front end has the forms and a table that contains the data
entry info. The back end consists of a series of tables that contain
pre-existing background info on the possible data entries in the front end
table.

In other words, I'm wanting to update the background tables periodically
(perhaps even daily), in preparation for users' data entry, but without
having to ask them to exit the front end database every time.

Any help?!?! THANKS!!!!
--
GD



  #3  
Old April 14th, 2010, 07:53 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
gd
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 209
Default Updating back end DB question

Let's say a credit was entered into our system yesterday for materials not
received from a vendor. If that vendor disputes the deduction, we need to
research it to see who is right.

In order to save time and effort, I've set up back end tables that contain
info (date, amount, entry notes, by whom, GL codes, etc.) that would give the
researcher immediate access to the info they'd need to start their research.

So I would be updating a few fields (i.e. check # and check date when a
deduction goes out on a check or wire), but I'd also be appending the tables
with new deduction entries, in anticipation of them possibly being disputed.

--
GD


"Jeff Boyce" wrote:

I guess I'm not understanding the underlying business need ...

Can you provide an example of what kind of data you need to be altering in
the back-end so the users can use their front-ends?

Regards

Jeff Boyce
Microsoft Access MVP

--
Disclaimer: This author may have received products and services mentioned
in this post. Mention and/or description of a product or service herein
does not constitute endorsement thereof.

Any code or pseudocode included in this post is offered "as is", with no
guarantee as to suitability.

You can thank the FTC of the USA for making this disclaimer
possible/necessary.

"GD" wrote in message
...
What happens if I update a back end database while users are in the front
end
in Access 2003? Will the data being entered at the time be compromised?

Basically, the front end has the forms and a table that contains the data
entry info. The back end consists of a series of tables that contain
pre-existing background info on the possible data entries in the front end
table.

In other words, I'm wanting to update the background tables periodically
(perhaps even daily), in preparation for users' data entry, but without
having to ask them to exit the front end database every time.

Any help?!?! THANKS!!!!
--
GD



.

  #4  
Old April 14th, 2010, 08:59 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
Jeff Boyce
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8,621
Default Updating back end DB question

So, why couldn't you use a "front-end", linked to those tables, to make
changes in the data in those tables (in the back-end). Isn't that what the
users are doing anyway, with their front-ends?

Or are you saying that your users NEVER add/edit/delete data, only look it
up?

Regards

Jeff Boyce
Microsoft Access MVP

--
Disclaimer: This author may have received products and services mentioned
in this post. Mention and/or description of a product or service herein
does not constitute endorsement thereof.

Any code or pseudocode included in this post is offered "as is", with no
guarantee as to suitability.

You can thank the FTC of the USA for making this disclaimer
possible/necessary.

"GD" wrote in message
...
Let's say a credit was entered into our system yesterday for materials not
received from a vendor. If that vendor disputes the deduction, we need to
research it to see who is right.

In order to save time and effort, I've set up back end tables that contain
info (date, amount, entry notes, by whom, GL codes, etc.) that would give
the
researcher immediate access to the info they'd need to start their
research.

So I would be updating a few fields (i.e. check # and check date when a
deduction goes out on a check or wire), but I'd also be appending the
tables
with new deduction entries, in anticipation of them possibly being
disputed.

--
GD


"Jeff Boyce" wrote:

I guess I'm not understanding the underlying business need ...

Can you provide an example of what kind of data you need to be altering
in
the back-end so the users can use their front-ends?

Regards

Jeff Boyce
Microsoft Access MVP

--
Disclaimer: This author may have received products and services mentioned
in this post. Mention and/or description of a product or service herein
does not constitute endorsement thereof.

Any code or pseudocode included in this post is offered "as is", with no
guarantee as to suitability.

You can thank the FTC of the USA for making this disclaimer
possible/necessary.

"GD" wrote in message
...
What happens if I update a back end database while users are in the
front
end
in Access 2003? Will the data being entered at the time be
compromised?

Basically, the front end has the forms and a table that contains the
data
entry info. The back end consists of a series of tables that contain
pre-existing background info on the possible data entries in the front
end
table.

In other words, I'm wanting to update the background tables
periodically
(perhaps even daily), in preparation for users' data entry, but without
having to ask them to exit the front end database every time.

Any help?!?! THANKS!!!!
--
GD



.



  #5  
Old April 15th, 2010, 12:00 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
John W. Vinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18,261
Default Updating back end DB question

On Wed, 14 Apr 2010 10:56:01 -0700, GD wrote:

In other words, I'm wanting to update the background tables periodically
(perhaps even daily), in preparation for users' data entry, but without
having to ask them to exit the front end database every time.


Should be no problem at all. Access shares tables very nicely; the user will
only get a warning message, even if they're trying to edit the exact same
record you're updating as you're updating it. If they look for it ten
milliseconds after you update it they'll get the new value

--

John W. Vinson [MVP].
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.