A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Controls with different sources



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 30th, 2004, 01:58 PM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Controls with different sources

For imputing data on a single form I want to combine two
tables but the forms control source is only showing one.
How does one show different control sources? Thanks!
Ads
  #2  
Old August 30th, 2004, 02:17 PM
Frank Stone
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Sounds like you are talkiing about a bound form.
you will have to unbind the form and populate the form
with code.

-----Original Message-----
For imputing data on a single form I want to combine two
tables but the forms control source is only showing one.
How does one show different control sources? Thanks!
.

  #3  
Old August 30th, 2004, 07:31 PM
Tom Ross
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

A form has one record source but that record source can be a query which
links different tables together on a common field

You probably need to create a query and use that as a record source



wrote in message
...
For imputing data on a single form I want to combine two
tables but the forms control source is only showing one.
How does one show different control sources? Thanks!



  #4  
Old August 30th, 2004, 07:41 PM
Tom Ross
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Another Idea is a subform

Depending on the relationship between your two tables, you may also want to
try putting a subform on your main form. You do this when your main form has
on record per ID (Like a Purchase Order date, customer etc) and the subform
refers to a table with several records for that same ID (line items on a
Purchase Order). As you move to new records on the main form you will see
or input sets of records on the sub form.

The main form usually displays in form view and the subform in datasheet
view (but ohter options are possible)

There is a subform button on the form design toolbar and the wizard will
guide you through selecting the subform record source (table) and the links
required (parent-child)




wrote in message
...
For imputing data on a single form I want to combine two
tables but the forms control source is only showing one.
How does one show different control sources? Thanks!



  #5  
Old August 31st, 2004, 04:01 AM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks for the information. In learning of course and
everyones input is great. Thanks again!

-----Original Message-----
Another Idea is a subform

Depending on the relationship between your two tables,

you may also want to
try putting a subform on your main form. You do this

when your main form has
on record per ID (Like a Purchase Order date, customer

etc) and the subform
refers to a table with several records for that same ID

(line items on a
Purchase Order). As you move to new records on the main

form you will see
or input sets of records on the sub form.

The main form usually displays in form view and the

subform in datasheet
view (but ohter options are possible)

There is a subform button on the form design toolbar and

the wizard will
guide you through selecting the subform record source

(table) and the links
required (parent-child)




wrote in message
...
For imputing data on a single form I want to combine

two
tables but the forms control source is only showing

one.
How does one show different control sources? Thanks!



.

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with calculated controls with data from subforms Ragnar Midtskogen Using Forms 8 July 25th, 2004 07:18 PM
Dynamically Move Controls in Report Andy Setting Up & Running Reports 4 July 14th, 2004 10:47 PM
Max. # of Controls on Form BGates Using Forms 2 June 16th, 2004 04:25 AM
about to activate ActiveX controls Swifty General Discussions 0 May 30th, 2004 11:47 AM
Sources and Uses BldrBldr Worksheet Functions 2 February 11th, 2004 03:22 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.