A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Word » New Users
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

"Go to" doesn't show new location of cursor



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 12th, 2008, 12:10 AM posted to microsoft.public.word.newusers
christophercbrewster via OfficeKB.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 143
Default "Go to" doesn't show new location of cursor

I have the "Go To" function in some small macros. (Control-G.) I'm having a
problem because it moves the cursor to the place I want but leaves the screen
displayed where it was before. It's inconsistent-- sometimes it works. Any
ideas?

--
Christopher Brewster
Lockheed Martin, Eagan MN

Message posted via http://www.officekb.com

  #2  
Old November 12th, 2008, 03:45 AM posted to microsoft.public.word.newusers
Klaus Linke
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 401
Default "Go to" doesn't show new location of cursor

"christophercbrewster via OfficeKB.com" u3143@uwe wrote:
I have the "Go To" function in some small macros. (Control-G.)
I'm having a problem because it moves the cursor to the place I
want but leaves the screen displayed where it was before.
It's inconsistent-- sometimes it works. Any ideas?



Hi Christopher,

What version of Word do you use, and what is the code of the macro?
It does sound like a bug...

As a work-around, you could insert
ActiveWindow.ScrollIntoView Selection.Range
at the end of your macros to scroll the Selection into view.

Regards,
Klaus
  #3  
Old November 12th, 2008, 04:38 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.newusers
christophercbrewster via OfficeKB.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 143
Default "Go to" doesn't show new location of cursor

Klaus-- Word 2003, Windows XP. I have several routines that would leave the
user in a different place than where he started, which is annoying. So I
plant a bookmark, TempBkmk, and return to it. Below is one of the shortest of
these, which toggles showing and hiding the field codes. As I say, this works
at least half the time, but I don't see what makes it fail.

Sub ToggleShowFields()
ActiveDocument.Bookmarks.Add Range:=Selection.Range, Name:="TempBkmk"
ActiveWindow.View.ShowFieldCodes = Not ActiveWindow.View.ShowFieldCodes
Selection.GoTo What:=wdGoToBookmark, Name:="TempBkmk" ' Return to
original location
End Sub

--
Christopher Brewster
Lockheed Martin, Eagan MN

Message posted via OfficeKB.com
http://www.officekb.com/Uwe/Forums.a...neral/200811/1

  #4  
Old November 12th, 2008, 07:46 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.newusers
Klaus Linke
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 401
Default "Go to" doesn't show new location of cursor

"christophercbrewster via OfficeKB.com" u3143@uwe schrieb im Newsbeitrag
news:8d15f5f6fe17b@uwe...
Klaus-- Word 2003, Windows XP. I have several routines that would leave
the
user in a different place than where he started, which is annoying. So I
plant a bookmark, TempBkmk, and return to it. Below is one of the shortest
of
these, which toggles showing and hiding the field codes. As I say, this
works
at least half the time, but I don't see what makes it fail.

Sub ToggleShowFields()
ActiveDocument.Bookmarks.Add Range:=Selection.Range, Name:="TempBkmk"
ActiveWindow.View.ShowFieldCodes = Not ActiveWindow.View.ShowFieldCodes
Selection.GoTo What:=wdGoToBookmark, Name:="TempBkmk" ' Return
to
original location
End Sub



Yes, that's annoying!! As far as I remember older versions, that behaviour
got worse in recent years.
It happens quite often now that after something I do -- like your toggling
"show field codes", or toggling between Outline and Layout and Normal view,
or other things -- I suddenly I don't see the text I was working on.
My usual (non-macro) way to deal with it is to use Shift+Right, Shift+Left
to bring the Selection into view again.

In your macro, you could use the work-around from my last post, and as long
as your macro doesn't mess with the Selection, you don't need the bookmark:

Sub TestGotoBM2()
ActiveWindow.View.ShowFieldCodes = Not ActiveWindow.View.ShowFieldCodes
ActiveWindow.ScrollIntoView Selection.Range
End Sub

Regards,
Klaus

  #5  
Old November 13th, 2008, 04:11 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.newusers
christophercbrewster via OfficeKB.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 143
Default "Go to" doesn't show new location of cursor

Thanks for the suggestions... but I can't make the screen update correctly no
matter how many things I add. I also tried Application.ScreenRefresh, but no
luck. I actually have to manually scroll to find the cursor.

Klaus Linke wrote:
Klaus-- Word 2003, Windows XP. I have several routines that would leave
the

[quoted text clipped - 12 lines]
original location
End Sub


Yes, that's annoying!! As far as I remember older versions, that behaviour
got worse in recent years.
It happens quite often now that after something I do -- like your toggling
"show field codes", or toggling between Outline and Layout and Normal view,
or other things -- I suddenly I don't see the text I was working on.
My usual (non-macro) way to deal with it is to use Shift+Right, Shift+Left
to bring the Selection into view again.

In your macro, you could use the work-around from my last post, and as long
as your macro doesn't mess with the Selection, you don't need the bookmark:

Sub TestGotoBM2()
ActiveWindow.View.ShowFieldCodes = Not ActiveWindow.View.ShowFieldCodes
ActiveWindow.ScrollIntoView Selection.Range
End Sub

Regards,
Klaus


--
Christopher Brewster
Lockheed Martin, Eagan MN

Message posted via OfficeKB.com
http://www.officekb.com/Uwe/Forums.a...neral/200811/1

  #6  
Old November 14th, 2008, 12:33 AM posted to microsoft.public.word.newusers
Klaus Linke
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 401
Default "Go to" doesn't show new location of cursor

"christophercbrewster via OfficeKB.com" u3143@uwe wrote:
Thanks for the suggestions... but I can't make the screen update correctly
no
matter how many things I add. I also tried Application.ScreenRefresh, but
no
luck. I actually have to manually scroll to find the cursor.


That's weird... So say Shift+RightArrow doesn't bring the Selection into
view either?

I haven't seen that yet.

Could be a driver issue (printer driver, graphics driver)?
You could also start Word in "safe mode" (holding down the Ctrl key while
you start it), to see whether it works then (which would implicate some
template or add-in).

Klaus

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.