A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » New Users
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Datasheet Form



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 8th, 2010, 05:13 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
Lenee
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 14
Default Datasheet Form

I have created a datasheet form from a query everything is there. I am trying
to enter data here but it will not except it here. Any help would be greatly
appreciated.
--
Lenee
  #2  
Old February 8th, 2010, 05:33 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
Jerry Whittle
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,732
Default Datasheet Form

I'm betting that the query contains more than one table. This can be a
problem.

Show us the SQL. Open the query in design view. Next go to View, SQL View
and copy and past it here.

Information on primary keys and relationships would be a nice touch too.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.


"Lenee" wrote:

I have created a datasheet form from a query everything is there. I am trying
to enter data here but it will not except it here. Any help would be greatly
appreciated.
--
Lenee

  #3  
Old February 8th, 2010, 06:14 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
Lenee
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 14
Default Datasheet Form

Jerry you are absolutely correct. I have 4 tables in my query. Here is the
information you are asking for.

Customer Table - Primary Key is CustomerID
Estimate Table - Primary Key is EstimateID
CutWork Table - Primary Key is CutworkID
Cut Table - No Primary Key

The CustomerID is in all of the tables and joined here.

SELECT CutT.CutCust2010, CutWorkT.Cutwk1, CutT.CutArea, CutT.CutOrdNum,
CustomerT.ABC, CustomerT.Address, CustomerT.City, CustomerT.State,
CustomerT.Zip, CustomerT.MapPage, CustomerT.MapPageLetter,
CustomerT.MapPageNum, CutWorkT.Cutwk2, CutT.CutPrice, CutT.CutEOW,
CutT.Cutcomments, EstimateT.SqFt, EstimateT.Services, CutT.CutLR,
CustomerT.CustomerID, CustomerT.MyCounter, CustomerT.FirstName,
CustomerT.LastName
FROM ((CustomerT INNER JOIN CutT ON CustomerT.CustomerID = CutT.CustomerID)
INNER JOIN EstimateT ON CustomerT.CustomerID = EstimateT.CustomerID) INNER
JOIN CutWorkT ON CustomerT.CustomerID = CutWorkT.CustomerID
WHERE (((CutT.CutCust2010)=Yes) AND ((CutWorkT.Cutwk1) Is Null))
ORDER BY CutT.CutArea, CutT.CutOrdNum;

I hope this helps you to help me.
--
Lenee


"Jerry Whittle" wrote:

I'm betting that the query contains more than one table. This can be a
problem.

Show us the SQL. Open the query in design view. Next go to View, SQL View
and copy and past it here.

Information on primary keys and relationships would be a nice touch too.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.


"Lenee" wrote:

I have created a datasheet form from a query everything is there. I am trying
to enter data here but it will not except it here. Any help would be greatly
appreciated.
--
Lenee

  #4  
Old February 8th, 2010, 06:19 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
Steve[_77_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,017
Default Datasheet Form

Your query is probably not updateable. Open the query and look at the
navigation buttons. If the new record button os grayed out, your query is
not updateable. When a query is not updateable, you won't be able to add new
records to a form based on the query. For example, union queries and
crosstab queries are not updateable.

Steve



"Lenee" wrote in message
...
I have created a datasheet form from a query everything is there. I am
trying
to enter data here but it will not except it here. Any help would be
greatly
appreciated.
--
Lenee



  #5  
Old February 8th, 2010, 06:23 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
Linq Adams via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,474
Default Datasheet Form

The reasons that a bound form will not allow records to be edited include:

1) AllowEdits for the form is set to No
2) The underlying query the form is based on is Read-Only
3) User doesn't have Write Permission for the folder where the data resides.
4) Form's Recordset Type is set to Snapshot

To see if #2 is the case, from the Objects Dialog box go to Queries and click
on the query that your form is based on to open it. Now try to edit a record
directly in the query. If you're unable to do so, this is the cause of your
problem.

If your query is Read-Only, follow this link to Allen Browne’s article
explaining the reasons this happens.

http://allenbrowne.com/ser-61.html

--
There's ALWAYS more than one way to skin a cat!

Answers/posts based on Access 2000/2003

Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...arted/201002/1

  #6  
Old February 8th, 2010, 06:38 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
Jerry Whittle
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,732
Default Datasheet Form

That's just not going to work. Here's what to try.

1. Open the Relationships window and join the 4 tables there. Enable
Referential Integrity. If it won't let you, there may be a problem with data
especially with the Cut Table table as it doesn't have a primary key.

2. Create a form based on just the CustomerT table.

3. Create a subform on the above form based on the EstimateT. Since you have
the relationships built up above, the subform Wizard should do most of the
work.

4. Repeat for the other two tables.

It's possible that you will need sub-subforms, but your SQL statement seems
to say that the other 3 tables are linked directly to the CustomerT table.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.


"Lenee" wrote:

Jerry you are absolutely correct. I have 4 tables in my query. Here is the
information you are asking for.

Customer Table - Primary Key is CustomerID
Estimate Table - Primary Key is EstimateID
CutWork Table - Primary Key is CutworkID
Cut Table - No Primary Key

The CustomerID is in all of the tables and joined here.

SELECT CutT.CutCust2010, CutWorkT.Cutwk1, CutT.CutArea, CutT.CutOrdNum,
CustomerT.ABC, CustomerT.Address, CustomerT.City, CustomerT.State,
CustomerT.Zip, CustomerT.MapPage, CustomerT.MapPageLetter,
CustomerT.MapPageNum, CutWorkT.Cutwk2, CutT.CutPrice, CutT.CutEOW,
CutT.Cutcomments, EstimateT.SqFt, EstimateT.Services, CutT.CutLR,
CustomerT.CustomerID, CustomerT.MyCounter, CustomerT.FirstName,
CustomerT.LastName
FROM ((CustomerT INNER JOIN CutT ON CustomerT.CustomerID = CutT.CustomerID)
INNER JOIN EstimateT ON CustomerT.CustomerID = EstimateT.CustomerID) INNER
JOIN CutWorkT ON CustomerT.CustomerID = CutWorkT.CustomerID
WHERE (((CutT.CutCust2010)=Yes) AND ((CutWorkT.Cutwk1) Is Null))
ORDER BY CutT.CutArea, CutT.CutOrdNum;

I hope this helps you to help me.
--
Lenee


"Jerry Whittle" wrote:

I'm betting that the query contains more than one table. This can be a
problem.

Show us the SQL. Open the query in design view. Next go to View, SQL View
and copy and past it here.

Information on primary keys and relationships would be a nice touch too.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.


"Lenee" wrote:

I have created a datasheet form from a query everything is there. I am trying
to enter data here but it will not except it here. Any help would be greatly
appreciated.
--
Lenee

  #7  
Old February 8th, 2010, 08:11 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
Lenee
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 14
Default Datasheet Form

Jerry I was able to make the sub-forms but what I am trying to do is get
information from each table on 1 datasheet to enter data. I need to see
customer name with there area (different table) and the cut week (a third
table), so that i can enter the data in the cut week field for the customers
that were cut that week. I am looking to enter 90 to 120 entries in a day.
Doing the sub-forms still only lets me look at 1 record at a time. Am I
trying to do the impossibe here?

I did go to the Relationships and did as you suggested, even put in a
primary key, still didn't work.

Thanks for your help and any other advise.
--
Lenee


"Jerry Whittle" wrote:

That's just not going to work. Here's what to try.

1. Open the Relationships window and join the 4 tables there. Enable
Referential Integrity. If it won't let you, there may be a problem with data
especially with the Cut Table table as it doesn't have a primary key.

2. Create a form based on just the CustomerT table.

3. Create a subform on the above form based on the EstimateT. Since you have
the relationships built up above, the subform Wizard should do most of the
work.

4. Repeat for the other two tables.

It's possible that you will need sub-subforms, but your SQL statement seems
to say that the other 3 tables are linked directly to the CustomerT table.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.


"Lenee" wrote:

Jerry you are absolutely correct. I have 4 tables in my query. Here is the
information you are asking for.

Customer Table - Primary Key is CustomerID
Estimate Table - Primary Key is EstimateID
CutWork Table - Primary Key is CutworkID
Cut Table - No Primary Key

The CustomerID is in all of the tables and joined here.

SELECT CutT.CutCust2010, CutWorkT.Cutwk1, CutT.CutArea, CutT.CutOrdNum,
CustomerT.ABC, CustomerT.Address, CustomerT.City, CustomerT.State,
CustomerT.Zip, CustomerT.MapPage, CustomerT.MapPageLetter,
CustomerT.MapPageNum, CutWorkT.Cutwk2, CutT.CutPrice, CutT.CutEOW,
CutT.Cutcomments, EstimateT.SqFt, EstimateT.Services, CutT.CutLR,
CustomerT.CustomerID, CustomerT.MyCounter, CustomerT.FirstName,
CustomerT.LastName
FROM ((CustomerT INNER JOIN CutT ON CustomerT.CustomerID = CutT.CustomerID)
INNER JOIN EstimateT ON CustomerT.CustomerID = EstimateT.CustomerID) INNER
JOIN CutWorkT ON CustomerT.CustomerID = CutWorkT.CustomerID
WHERE (((CutT.CutCust2010)=Yes) AND ((CutWorkT.Cutwk1) Is Null))
ORDER BY CutT.CutArea, CutT.CutOrdNum;

I hope this helps you to help me.
--
Lenee


"Jerry Whittle" wrote:

I'm betting that the query contains more than one table. This can be a
problem.

Show us the SQL. Open the query in design view. Next go to View, SQL View
and copy and past it here.

Information on primary keys and relationships would be a nice touch too.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.


"Lenee" wrote:

I have created a datasheet form from a query everything is there. I am trying
to enter data here but it will not except it here. Any help would be greatly
appreciated.
--
Lenee

  #8  
Old February 8th, 2010, 08:14 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
Lenee
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 14
Default Datasheet Form

Steve you were right. Is there any way to make it updateable?
--
Lenee


"Steve" wrote:

Your query is probably not updateable. Open the query and look at the
navigation buttons. If the new record button os grayed out, your query is
not updateable. When a query is not updateable, you won't be able to add new
records to a form based on the query. For example, union queries and
crosstab queries are not updateable.

Steve



"Lenee" wrote in message
...
I have created a datasheet form from a query everything is there. I am
trying
to enter data here but it will not except it here. Any help would be
greatly
appreciated.
--
Lenee



.

  #9  
Old February 8th, 2010, 08:34 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
Steve[_77_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,017
Default Datasheet Form

Lenee,

Your tables probably need a simple tweak! I presume you want to enter an
estimate for a customer. Is that correct? Please explain Cut Table and
CutWork Table. Is CutWork the details of a Cut? Could you respond back with
the fields in the Estimate Table, Cut Table and CutWork Table in this
format:

Estimate
EstimateID
your fields

Cut
your fields

CutWork
CutworkID
your fields

Steve


"Lenee" wrote in message
...
Steve you were right. Is there any way to make it updateable?
--
Lenee


"Steve" wrote:

Your query is probably not updateable. Open the query and look at the
navigation buttons. If the new record button os grayed out, your query is
not updateable. When a query is not updateable, you won't be able to add
new
records to a form based on the query. For example, union queries and
crosstab queries are not updateable.

Steve



"Lenee" wrote in message
...
I have created a datasheet form from a query everything is there. I am
trying
to enter data here but it will not except it here. Any help would be
greatly
appreciated.
--
Lenee



.



  #10  
Old February 8th, 2010, 09:37 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
John W. Vinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18,261
Default Datasheet Form

On Mon, 8 Feb 2010 12:11:01 -0800, Lenee
wrote:

Jerry I was able to make the sub-forms but what I am trying to do is get
information from each table on 1 datasheet to enter data. I need to see
customer name with there area (different table) and the cut week (a third
table), so that i can enter the data in the cut week field for the customers
that were cut that week. I am looking to enter 90 to 120 entries in a day.
Doing the sub-forms still only lets me look at 1 record at a time. Am I
trying to do the impossibe here?


Try changing the subform's Default View property from "Single Form" to
"Continuous Forms". It's perfectly possible to see one "parent" table record
(Customer in your case) with multiple "child" table records on one screen, if
you design your queries correctly.

Your attempt to create One Great Master Query to do everything is, in this
case, doomed to failure since there is no physical or logical relationship
between the Estimate and the CutWork tables - each is related to the Customer,
but it appears that they are not related to each other.
--

John W. Vinson [MVP]
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.