A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Unable to enter new record



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 16th, 2006, 01:42 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Moni
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 19
Default Unable to enter new record

Hi,

I have a database that is on a shared folder...I have 7 records on my form
when I enter a new record it does not save. However, when I'm in table view
the ID (auto number) goes from record 7 to record 22, 23, 24. Not sure what
has happened (possibly deleted records) and can anyone help me to fix it??
Thanks in advance.


  #2  
Old August 16th, 2006, 02:57 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
John Vinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,033
Default Unable to enter new record

On Tue, 15 Aug 2006 17:42:46 -0700, Moni
wrote:

Hi,

I have a database that is on a shared folder...I have 7 records on my form
when I enter a new record it does not save. However, when I'm in table view
the ID (auto number) goes from record 7 to record 22, 23, 24. Not sure what
has happened (possibly deleted records) and can anyone help me to fix it??
Thanks in advance.


This is normal and expected behavior; there's nothing to fix.
Autonumbers always have gaps. If you started to enter a record and
(for whatever reason) interrupt that process, an autonumber value will
be used up.

If you want sequential, gapless numbers - don't use Autonumber;
instead use an Integer or Long Integer Number field, and write VBA
code to populate it.


John W. Vinson[MVP]
  #3  
Old August 16th, 2006, 03:07 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Moni
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 19
Default Unable to enter new record

If that is o.k. why isn't it saving the new record in form view?

"John Vinson" wrote:

On Tue, 15 Aug 2006 17:42:46 -0700, Moni
wrote:

Hi,

I have a database that is on a shared folder...I have 7 records on my form
when I enter a new record it does not save. However, when I'm in table view
the ID (auto number) goes from record 7 to record 22, 23, 24. Not sure what
has happened (possibly deleted records) and can anyone help me to fix it??
Thanks in advance.


This is normal and expected behavior; there's nothing to fix.
Autonumbers always have gaps. If you started to enter a record and
(for whatever reason) interrupt that process, an autonumber value will
be used up.

If you want sequential, gapless numbers - don't use Autonumber;
instead use an Integer or Long Integer Number field, and write VBA
code to populate it.


John W. Vinson[MVP]

  #4  
Old August 16th, 2006, 06:07 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
John Vinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,033
Default Unable to enter new record

On Tue, 15 Aug 2006 19:07:31 -0700, Moni
wrote:

If that is o.k. why isn't it saving the new record in form view?


Ah! Sorry!

That's a separate issue from the skipped autonumbers (or perhaps, the
fact that it's not saving the record is causing the skipped
autonumbers).

There's something wrong with the Form. I can't see the form, so I
don't know what - but please post the following form properties:

Allow Additions
Allow Updates
Recordsource (if it's a Query post the SQL of the query)
BeforeUpdate (post the code or the macro, if there is anything there)

John W. Vinson[MVP]
  #5  
Old August 17th, 2006, 01:40 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Moni
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 19
Default Unable to enter new record

Allow Additions YES
Allow Updates (Is this Recordset type = Dynaset?)
SQL
SELECT Roster.*, [Supervisor and Team Leaders Day].*
FROM Roster INNER JOIN [Supervisor and Team Leaders Day] ON Roster.ID =
[Supervisor and Team Leaders Day].ID;
Before Update is blank
Thanks

"John Vinson" wrote:

On Tue, 15 Aug 2006 19:07:31 -0700, Moni
wrote:

If that is o.k. why isn't it saving the new record in form view?


Ah! Sorry!

That's a separate issue from the skipped autonumbers (or perhaps, the
fact that it's not saving the record is causing the skipped
autonumbers).

There's something wrong with the Form. I can't see the form, so I
don't know what - but please post the following form properties:

Allow Additions
Allow Updates
Recordsource (if it's a Query post the SQL of the query)
BeforeUpdate (post the code or the macro, if there is anything there)

John W. Vinson[MVP]

  #6  
Old August 17th, 2006, 05:39 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
John Vinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,033
Default Unable to enter new record

On Wed, 16 Aug 2006 17:40:02 -0700, Moni
wrote:

Allow Additions YES
Allow Updates (Is this Recordset type = Dynaset?)
SQL
SELECT Roster.*, [Supervisor and Team Leaders Day].*
FROM Roster INNER JOIN [Supervisor and Team Leaders Day] ON Roster.ID =
[Supervisor and Team Leaders Day].ID;


This won't be updateable unless ID is the Primary Key of the "one"
side table in this query. If you open this query as a datasheet, and
scroll to the bottom, does it have a * blank new record? How are the
two tables related, and why are they both in this form's query? What's
the Primary Key of each?

John W. Vinson[MVP]
  #7  
Old August 21st, 2006, 07:19 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Rich J
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 10
Default Unable to enter new record

I don't know if this will help. I went to the webpage recommended here which
had a lot of info but didn't help my similar problem. I had created new
tables with Make-Table Query. What I didn't realize was that the Key fields
didn't get passed to the new tables. Once I put back the Key fields in the
two linked tables, the form was again updateable. Check your tables that are
linked to make sure they have key fields.

"Moni" wrote:

Allow Additions YES
Allow Updates (Is this Recordset type = Dynaset?)
SQL
SELECT Roster.*, [Supervisor and Team Leaders Day].*
FROM Roster INNER JOIN [Supervisor and Team Leaders Day] ON Roster.ID =
[Supervisor and Team Leaders Day].ID;
Before Update is blank
Thanks

"John Vinson" wrote:

On Tue, 15 Aug 2006 19:07:31 -0700, Moni
wrote:

If that is o.k. why isn't it saving the new record in form view?


Ah! Sorry!

That's a separate issue from the skipped autonumbers (or perhaps, the
fact that it's not saving the record is causing the skipped
autonumbers).

There's something wrong with the Form. I can't see the form, so I
don't know what - but please post the following form properties:

Allow Additions
Allow Updates
Recordsource (if it's a Query post the SQL of the query)
BeforeUpdate (post the code or the macro, if there is anything there)

John W. Vinson[MVP]

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.