A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Excel » General Discussion
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Button help



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 16th, 2009, 11:17 PM posted to microsoft.public.excel.misc
JAmes
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 904
Default Button help

Can i set up a radio button (the circle selection thing i think), that when
selected would then show certain cells in a worksheet or if it's not selected
it doesn't show the cells?
  #2  
Old February 16th, 2009, 11:33 PM posted to microsoft.public.excel.misc
FSt1
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,788
Default Button help

hi
not cells....rows or columns. and you would be much better of using a check
box instead of an option button(radio). options button work better as a group
and not alone. a check box works much better if it's just the only one but
can work as a group.
what rows/columns do you want to show/hide?

regards
FSt1

"James" wrote:

Can i set up a radio button (the circle selection thing i think), that when
selected would then show certain cells in a worksheet or if it's not selected
it doesn't show the cells?

  #3  
Old February 16th, 2009, 11:42 PM posted to microsoft.public.excel.misc
JAmes
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 904
Default Button help

It would be good if i could hide rows 20-25 with a check box if that's
possible.

"FSt1" wrote:

hi
not cells....rows or columns. and you would be much better of using a check
box instead of an option button(radio). options button work better as a group
and not alone. a check box works much better if it's just the only one but
can work as a group.
what rows/columns do you want to show/hide?

regards
FSt1

"James" wrote:

Can i set up a radio button (the circle selection thing i think), that when
selected would then show certain cells in a worksheet or if it's not selected
it doesn't show the cells?

  #4  
Old February 17th, 2009, 12:10 AM posted to microsoft.public.excel.misc
FSt1
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,788
Default Button help

hi
very possible.
from the control toolbox(not the forms), select the checkbox and drag it to
where ever you want it. size it. you can resize the check box itself only the
lable that comes with it.
right click the checkbox, select view code. paste this code into it.
Private Sub CheckBox1_Click() 'this should default in
If CheckBox1.Value = True Then
Rows("20:25").Hidden = True
Else
Rows("20:25").Hidden = False
End If
End Sub 'this should default it

when done exit the vb editor but clicking the red X.
exit design mode but click the protractor on the control toolbox. close the
control toolbox.
test the check box. post back if problems.

regards
FSt1

"James" wrote:

It would be good if i could hide rows 20-25 with a check box if that's
possible.

"FSt1" wrote:

hi
not cells....rows or columns. and you would be much better of using a check
box instead of an option button(radio). options button work better as a group
and not alone. a check box works much better if it's just the only one but
can work as a group.
what rows/columns do you want to show/hide?

regards
FSt1

"James" wrote:

Can i set up a radio button (the circle selection thing i think), that when
selected would then show certain cells in a worksheet or if it's not selected
it doesn't show the cells?

  #5  
Old February 17th, 2009, 01:39 PM posted to microsoft.public.excel.misc
JAmes
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 904
Default Button help

That works fine. How can i edit it to hide certain rows on all available
sheets?

"FSt1" wrote:

hi
very possible.
from the control toolbox(not the forms), select the checkbox and drag it to
where ever you want it. size it. you can resize the check box itself only the
lable that comes with it.
right click the checkbox, select view code. paste this code into it.
Private Sub CheckBox1_Click() 'this should default in
If CheckBox1.Value = True Then
Rows("20:25").Hidden = True
Else
Rows("20:25").Hidden = False
End If
End Sub 'this should default it

when done exit the vb editor but clicking the red X.
exit design mode but click the protractor on the control toolbox. close the
control toolbox.
test the check box. post back if problems.

regards
FSt1

"James" wrote:

It would be good if i could hide rows 20-25 with a check box if that's
possible.

"FSt1" wrote:

hi
not cells....rows or columns. and you would be much better of using a check
box instead of an option button(radio). options button work better as a group
and not alone. a check box works much better if it's just the only one but
can work as a group.
what rows/columns do you want to show/hide?

regards
FSt1

"James" wrote:

Can i set up a radio button (the circle selection thing i think), that when
selected would then show certain cells in a worksheet or if it's not selected
it doesn't show the cells?

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.