A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

How to Lock or Do not Edit Combo Box



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 26th, 2006, 08:39 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
cclark
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18
Default How to Lock or Do not Edit Combo Box

Is it possible to have a combo box where user can select what is in the
combo box but the user can not edit what is in the combo box?

I tried the 3 properties listed but

allow edits = No -- Locks the list whereas you can not choose the
items in the combo list.

allow deletions = No -- Still allows user to edit what is in the combo
box

allow additions = No -- Still allows user to edit what is in the combo
box.

Thanks

cclark


  #2  
Old December 26th, 2006, 08:46 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Rick Brandt
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,354
Default How to Lock or Do not Edit Combo Box

cclark wrote:
Is it possible to have a combo box where user can select what is in
the combo box but the user can not edit what is in the combo box?

I tried the 3 properties listed but

allow edits = No -- Locks the list whereas you can not
choose the items in the combo list.

allow deletions = No -- Still allows user to edit what is in the
combo box

allow additions = No -- Still allows user to edit what is in the
combo box.


If what you mean is can you force them to choose from the list and not manually
enter something that is not shown in the list then the property you are looking
for is LimitToList. Set that to true.

Otherwise you will have to clarify because "editing what is in the ComboBox" can
be interpreted more than one way.

--
Rick Brandt, Microsoft Access MVP
Email (as appropriate) to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com



  #3  
Old December 26th, 2006, 09:02 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Al Campagna
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 421
Default How to Lock or Do not Edit Combo Box

cclark,
Not sure if I understand but...
Sounds like you need to lock the combo (ex. name cboMyCombo) after a value has been
selected.
Set the combo Enabled property to Yes in design mode..

Use this code on the AfterUpdate event of cboMyCombo...
cboMyCombo.Enabled = IsNull(cboMyCombo)
cboMyCombo.Locked = Not IsNull(cboMyCombo)
Use this code in the OnCurrent event of the form itself...
cboMyCombo.Enabled = IsNull(cboMyCombo)
cboMyCombo.Locked= Not IsNull(cboMyCombo)

On a new record, when cboMyCombo is null, it will be anabled for selection.
After the selection, the combo will lock.
As you browse from record to record, the form will lock/unlock the combo according to
whether it's null or not null.

But... be aware that this method allows the user one shot at the combo selection. If
they select the wrong value, it's too late... the combo will lock.
You might want to consider using a checkbox to to disable/lock the combo (as well as the
checkbox itself), after the user has determined that cboMyCombo is correct. Just figure
out what works best for you, or tailor this "concept" to suit...

--
hth
Al Campagna
Candia Computer Consulting - Candia NH
http://home.comcast.net/~cccsolutions

"Find a job that you love, and you'll never work a day in your life."



"cclark" wrote in message ...
Is it possible to have a combo box where user can select what is in the
combo box but the user can not edit what is in the combo box?

I tried the 3 properties listed but

allow edits = No -- Locks the list whereas you can not choose the
items in the combo list.

allow deletions = No -- Still allows user to edit what is in the combo
box

allow additions = No -- Still allows user to edit what is in the combo
box.

Thanks

cclark




  #4  
Old December 26th, 2006, 09:05 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
cclark
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18
Default How to Lock or Do not Edit Combo Box


"Rick Brandt" wrote in message
et...
cclark wrote:
Is it possible to have a combo box where user can select what is in
the combo box but the user can not edit what is in the combo box?

I tried the 3 properties listed but

allow edits = No -- Locks the list whereas you can not
choose the items in the combo list.

allow deletions = No -- Still allows user to edit what is in the
combo box

allow additions = No -- Still allows user to edit what is in the
combo box.


If what you mean is can you force them to choose from the list and not

manually
enter something that is not shown in the list then the property you are

looking
for is LimitToList. Set that to true.

Otherwise you will have to clarify because "editing what is in the

ComboBox" can
be interpreted more than one way.

--
Rick Brandt, Microsoft Access MVP
Email (as appropriate) to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com




Thanks Rick,

I currently have LimitToList set to true. Right now user receives message
stating "text is not in item list". But what I really want to do is lock the
combo box so that user can not add additional letters to current selections
or user can not put in any other info. I would like to lock the combo box so
that user can not manually enter anything into the combo box.

ie.

if combo box list is: A
B
C

currently users can manually enter A1 into the combo box and receive
"text is not in item list". But I would like user to not have the ability to
edit the field at all. They should only be able to choose from the list and
not be able to edit.

Thanks,

cclark


  #5  
Old December 26th, 2006, 09:14 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Rick Brandt
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,354
Default How to Lock or Do not Edit Combo Box

cclark wrote:
I currently have LimitToList set to true. Right now user receives
message stating "text is not in item list". But what I really want to
do is lock the combo box so that user can not add additional letters
to current selections or user can not put in any other info. I would
like to lock the combo box so that user can not manually enter
anything into the combo box.

ie.

if combo box list is: A
B
C

currently users can manually enter A1 into the combo box and
receive "text is not in item list". But I would like user to not have
the ability to edit the field at all. They should only be able to
choose from the list and not be able to edit.


There are no property combinations that allow for that, but you can fake it.
Make your ComboBox only as wide as the DropDown "arrow" and place a TextBox
beside it (Locked = True). Now there will be no place for the user to type in
at all on the actual ComboBox. They can drop the list down and make a selection
only. Set the ControlSource of the TextBox so it is the same as that of the
ComboBox and their choice will be displayed after they make a selection.

--
Rick Brandt, Microsoft Access MVP
Email (as appropriate) to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com


  #6  
Old December 26th, 2006, 10:14 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
cclark
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18
Default How to Lock or Do not Edit Combo Box


"Rick Brandt" wrote in message
. net...
cclark wrote:
I currently have LimitToList set to true. Right now user receives
message stating "text is not in item list". But what I really want to
do is lock the combo box so that user can not add additional letters
to current selections or user can not put in any other info. I would
like to lock the combo box so that user can not manually enter
anything into the combo box.

ie.

if combo box list is: A
B
C

currently users can manually enter A1 into the combo box and
receive "text is not in item list". But I would like user to not have
the ability to edit the field at all. They should only be able to
choose from the list and not be able to edit.


There are no property combinations that allow for that, but you can fake

it.
Make your ComboBox only as wide as the DropDown "arrow" and place a

TextBox
beside it (Locked = True). Now there will be no place for the user to

type in
at all on the actual ComboBox. They can drop the list down and make a

selection
only. Set the ControlSource of the TextBox so it is the same as that of

the
ComboBox and their choice will be displayed after they make a selection.

--
Rick Brandt, Microsoft Access MVP
Email (as appropriate) to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com



Thanks for the advice. This option may work for me with a little
modification. Currently my combo box uses Row Source Type = Value List, but
the list only contains 4 choices. So, I guess if I create a table in the
database with the four choices, then I will be able to use your method using
ControlSource.

Thanks,

cclark


  #7  
Old December 26th, 2006, 10:18 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Rick Brandt
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,354
Default How to Lock or Do not Edit Combo Box

cclark wrote:
Thanks for the advice. This option may work for me with a little
modification. Currently my combo box uses Row Source Type = Value
List, but the list only contains 4 choices. So, I guess if I create a
table in the database with the four choices, then I will be able to
use your method using ControlSource.


Try it as is. It will work.

--
Rick Brandt, Microsoft Access MVP
Email (as appropriate) to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com


  #8  
Old December 29th, 2006, 12:12 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
cclark
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18
Default How to Lock or Do not Edit Combo Box


"Rick Brandt" wrote in message
. net...
cclark wrote:
Thanks for the advice. This option may work for me with a little
modification. Currently my combo box uses Row Source Type = Value
List, but the list only contains 4 choices. So, I guess if I create a
table in the database with the four choices, then I will be able to
use your method using ControlSource.


Try it as is. It will work.

--
Rick Brandt, Microsoft Access MVP
Email (as appropriate) to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com




Rick,

Thanks. It worked to a degree. I asked how this can be done if combo box
list is: A, B, C
Your method works for the above data, thanks.

My actual list is like: Compressors, Equipment

So if I make ComboBox only as wide as the DropDown "arrow" , I won't get
whole word Compressors... only Co.

Thanks anyway. Sorry about not giving a real representation of data earlier.

cclark


  #9  
Old December 29th, 2006, 12:25 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Rick Brandt
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,354
Default How to Lock or Do not Edit Combo Box

cclark wrote:
"Rick Brandt" wrote in message
Rick,

Thanks. It worked to a degree. I asked how this can be done if combo
box list is: A, B, C
Your method works for the above data, thanks.

My actual list is like: Compressors, Equipment

So if I make ComboBox only as wide as the DropDown "arrow" , I won't
get whole word Compressors... only Co.

Thanks anyway. Sorry about not giving a real representation of data
earlier.


You don't understand. You aren't supposed to see anything in the ComboBox when
you make it only as narrow as the arrow button. That is the point of the
separate TextBox bound to the same field. THAT is where you will see your
selection after making it.

--
Rick Brandt, Microsoft Access MVP
Email (as appropriate) to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com


  #10  
Old December 29th, 2006, 12:39 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Rick Brandt
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,354
Default How to Lock or Do not Edit Combo Box

Rick Brandt wrote:
cclark wrote:
"Rick Brandt" wrote in message
Rick,

Thanks. It worked to a degree. I asked how this can be done if combo
box list is: A, B, C
Your method works for the above data, thanks.

My actual list is like: Compressors, Equipment

So if I make ComboBox only as wide as the DropDown "arrow" , I
won't get whole word Compressors... only Co.

Thanks anyway. Sorry about not giving a real representation of data
earlier.



I just realized you might be talking about the width of the drop down list. By
default that is the same width as the ComboBox itself, but you can use the
ListWidth property to make the drop down list as wide as you like.

--
Rick Brandt, Microsoft Access MVP
Email (as appropriate) to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.