A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

HELP: Switchboard Menu Buttons



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 3rd, 2005, 06:47 PM
Tim
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default HELP: Switchboard Menu Buttons

ACCESS 2000

I have a switchboard that has serveral menus and sub-menus and I am finding
it very excessive to keep making a MAIN MENU button.

I have made a blank COMMAND BUTTON to take me back to the MAIN SWITCHBOARD
MENU, but I do not know what coding to put in the ON CLICK procedure.

  #2  
Old March 3rd, 2005, 06:58 PM
Jeff Conrad
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Tim" wrote in message\
...

ACCESS 2000

I have a switchboard that has serveral menus and sub-menus and I am finding
it very excessive to keep making a MAIN MENU button.

I have made a blank COMMAND BUTTON to take me back to the MAIN SWITCHBOARD
MENU, but I do not know what coding to put in the ON CLICK procedure.


Are you using the built-in Switchboard Manager?

--
Jeff Conrad
Access Junkie
Bend, Oregon


  #3  
Old March 3rd, 2005, 07:05 PM
Tim
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yes, I used the switchboard manager under DATABASE UTILITIES

"Jeff Conrad" wrote:

"Tim" wrote in message\
...

ACCESS 2000

I have a switchboard that has serveral menus and sub-menus and I am finding
it very excessive to keep making a MAIN MENU button.

I have made a blank COMMAND BUTTON to take me back to the MAIN SWITCHBOARD
MENU, but I do not know what coding to put in the ON CLICK procedure.


Are you using the built-in Switchboard Manager?

--
Jeff Conrad
Access Junkie
Bend, Oregon



  #4  
Old March 3rd, 2005, 07:26 PM
Jeff Conrad
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Tim" wrote in message
...

Yes, I used the switchboard manager under DATABASE UTILITIES


Ok, put this code behind that command button.
I called mine cmdOpenMainMenu.

'*********Code Start**************
Private Sub cmdOpenMainMenu_Click()
On Error GoTo ErrorPoint

Forms!Switchboard.Filter = "[ItemNumber] = 0 " _
& "And [SwitchboardID] = 1"
Forms!Switchboard.Refresh

ExitPoint:
Exit Sub

ErrorPoint:
MsgBox "The following error has occurred:" _
& vbNewLine & "Error Number: " & Err.Number _
& vbNewLine & "Error Description: " _
& Err.Description, vbExclamation, _
"Unexpected Error"
Resume ExitPoint

End Sub
'*********Code End**************

What this will do is change the filter on the form to
show the main menu. You will have to make sure that
the main menu you want to display uses SwitchboardID
number 1 in the Switchboard Items TABLE. If it is a
different number, then adjust the code accordingly.
Also, this code assumes you haven't changed the name
of the actual Switchboard form. Adjust the code if necessary.

Hope that helps,
--
Jeff Conrad
Access Junkie
Bend, Oregon


  #5  
Old March 3rd, 2005, 07:31 PM
Tim
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

PERFECT

"Jeff Conrad" wrote:

"Tim" wrote in message
...

Yes, I used the switchboard manager under DATABASE UTILITIES


Ok, put this code behind that command button.
I called mine cmdOpenMainMenu.

'*********Code Start**************
Private Sub cmdOpenMainMenu_Click()
On Error GoTo ErrorPoint

Forms!Switchboard.Filter = "[ItemNumber] = 0 " _
& "And [SwitchboardID] = 1"
Forms!Switchboard.Refresh

ExitPoint:
Exit Sub

ErrorPoint:
MsgBox "The following error has occurred:" _
& vbNewLine & "Error Number: " & Err.Number _
& vbNewLine & "Error Description: " _
& Err.Description, vbExclamation, _
"Unexpected Error"
Resume ExitPoint

End Sub
'*********Code End**************

What this will do is change the filter on the form to
show the main menu. You will have to make sure that
the main menu you want to display uses SwitchboardID
number 1 in the Switchboard Items TABLE. If it is a
different number, then adjust the code accordingly.
Also, this code assumes you haven't changed the name
of the actual Switchboard form. Adjust the code if necessary.

Hope that helps,
--
Jeff Conrad
Access Junkie
Bend, Oregon



  #6  
Old March 3rd, 2005, 07:56 PM
Jeff Conrad
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Tim" wrote in message
news
PERFECT


And it's going.....going.....gone, out of the park!
--
Jeff Conrad
Access Junkie
Bend, Oregon


  #7  
Old March 11th, 2005, 02:17 PM
Tim
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Jeff if you don't mind I have another question...

On my switchboard I have 3 standard Command Buttons: MAIN MENU, CLOSE
SWITCHBOARD, EXIT ACCESS. The questions I have concerns the CLOSE
SWITCHBOARD button which closes the switchboard form but not ACCESS.

My database has multiple users with various levels of access, the purpose of
the button would allow top level users to close the switchboard and go into
the database itself to make modifications.

Here is what I need to accomplish:
1. When one presses the CLOSE SWITCHBOARD button it would open the database
window only for top level users, all other users would get an error message
saying: "Access Denied"
2. When I "X" the switchboard (no matter what user I am using) Access is
still open and all I have to do is press FILE and the #1 entry on the
Recently Used File list and I am back into the database window. What code do
I need to put in that would bring up the LOGON window and not the Database
Window?
  #8  
Old March 11th, 2005, 05:06 PM
Jeff Conrad
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Tim" wrote in message
...

Jeff if you don't mind I have another question...

On my switchboard I have 3 standard Command Buttons: MAIN MENU, CLOSE
SWITCHBOARD, EXIT ACCESS. The questions I have concerns the CLOSE
SWITCHBOARD button which closes the switchboard form but not ACCESS.

My database has multiple users with various levels of access, the purpose of
the button would allow top level users to close the switchboard and go into
the database itself to make modifications.

Here is what I need to accomplish:
1. When one presses the CLOSE SWITCHBOARD button it would open the database
window only for top level users, all other users would get an error message
saying: "Access Denied"
2. When I "X" the switchboard (no matter what user I am using) Access is
still open and all I have to do is press FILE and the #1 entry on the
Recently Used File list and I am back into the database window. What code do
I need to put in that would bring up the LOGON window and not the Database
Window?


Hi Tim,

Before I can even begin to offer some suggestions, I will need the answer
to the following questions:

1. Which Access version are you using? 2000 I think??

2. You mentioned various levels of access. Have you implemented User
Level Security or are you using some kind of home-grown security
system you created? If the latter, can you give some details about it?

3. You said you created three command buttons, but it is not entirely
clear whether these are options you used through the wizard or these
are separate command buttons that you created and placed on the form
yourself. So which is it?

--
Jeff Conrad
Access Junkie
Bend, Oregon


  #9  
Old December 28th, 2006, 04:53 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
bronen
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8
Default Switchboard Menu Buttons

Jeff,
I have a big question. I have a switchboard that I made. It uses a
mouseover function similar to the Issues Database that Microsoft has as a
template. I used your suggestions to add a 9th menu item on the switchboard.
I see it there, but the mouseover doesn't go to the 9th item. Can you
please help.

Ben

"Jeff Conrad" wrote:

"Tim" wrote in message
...

Jeff if you don't mind I have another question...

On my switchboard I have 3 standard Command Buttons: MAIN MENU, CLOSE
SWITCHBOARD, EXIT ACCESS. The questions I have concerns the CLOSE
SWITCHBOARD button which closes the switchboard form but not ACCESS.

My database has multiple users with various levels of access, the purpose of
the button would allow top level users to close the switchboard and go into
the database itself to make modifications.

Here is what I need to accomplish:
1. When one presses the CLOSE SWITCHBOARD button it would open the database
window only for top level users, all other users would get an error message
saying: "Access Denied"
2. When I "X" the switchboard (no matter what user I am using) Access is
still open and all I have to do is press FILE and the #1 entry on the
Recently Used File list and I am back into the database window. What code do
I need to put in that would bring up the LOGON window and not the Database
Window?


Hi Tim,

Before I can even begin to offer some suggestions, I will need the answer
to the following questions:

1. Which Access version are you using? 2000 I think??

2. You mentioned various levels of access. Have you implemented User
Level Security or are you using some kind of home-grown security
system you created? If the latter, can you give some details about it?

3. You said you created three command buttons, but it is not entirely
clear whether these are options you used through the wizard or these
are separate command buttons that you created and placed on the form
yourself. So which is it?

--
Jeff Conrad
Access Junkie
Bend, Oregon



  #10  
Old December 28th, 2006, 07:53 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Jeff Conrad
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 139
Default Switchboard Menu Buttons

Wild stab in the dark....

Is your new label "attached" to any other control - a parent control like another text box or
command button?

An attached label does not fire a mouseover event (Down, Up, Move) by itself - only the parent's
mouseover events fire.

- Select the label
- Cut it to place it on the Clipboard
- Paste it back onto the form grid so it retains all its properties, but is now not attached to any
controls
- Reposition it back where you want
- Assign a mouseover event (Down, Up, or Move)
- Save the form
- Open in regular view and test it out

You should be good to go.
--
Jeff Conrad
Access Junkie - MVP
http://home.bendbroadband.com/conrad...essjunkie.html
Access 2007 Info: http://www.AccessJunkie.com

"bronen" wrote in message:
...

Jeff,
I have a big question. I have a switchboard that I made. It uses a
mouseover function similar to the Issues Database that Microsoft has as a
template. I used your suggestions to add a 9th menu item on the switchboard.
I see it there, but the mouseover doesn't go to the 9th item. Can you
please help.

Ben

"Jeff Conrad" wrote:

"Tim" wrote in message
...

Jeff if you don't mind I have another question...

On my switchboard I have 3 standard Command Buttons: MAIN MENU, CLOSE
SWITCHBOARD, EXIT ACCESS. The questions I have concerns the CLOSE
SWITCHBOARD button which closes the switchboard form but not ACCESS.

My database has multiple users with various levels of access, the purpose of
the button would allow top level users to close the switchboard and go into
the database itself to make modifications.

Here is what I need to accomplish:
1. When one presses the CLOSE SWITCHBOARD button it would open the database
window only for top level users, all other users would get an error message
saying: "Access Denied"
2. When I "X" the switchboard (no matter what user I am using) Access is
still open and all I have to do is press FILE and the #1 entry on the
Recently Used File list and I am back into the database window. What code do
I need to put in that would bring up the LOGON window and not the Database
Window?


Hi Tim,

Before I can even begin to offer some suggestions, I will need the answer
to the following questions:

1. Which Access version are you using? 2000 I think??

2. You mentioned various levels of access. Have you implemented User
Level Security or are you using some kind of home-grown security
system you created? If the latter, can you give some details about it?

3. You said you created three command buttons, but it is not entirely
clear whether these are options you used through the wizard or these
are separate command buttons that you created and placed on the form
yourself. So which is it?

--
Jeff Conrad
Access Junkie
Bend, Oregon





 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switchboard form is not created Jody Using Forms 5 April 20th, 2005 03:05 AM
Putting something on the switchboard Jenn Connors New Users 5 November 5th, 2004 01:38 PM
Web Enable a Switchboard Main Menu? Cinnared General Discussion 1 October 6th, 2004 05:41 AM
Why can I not create a switchboard with more than 8 buttons? Phil M. Database Design 2 September 16th, 2004 04:38 PM
switchboard to login form to next switchboard LGarcia General Discussion 3 July 23rd, 2004 06:04 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.