A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Setting Up & Running Reports
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Move Rows up to Blank Area. Plz Help



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 12th, 2007, 07:32 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.reports
TKM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 289
Default Move Rows up to Blank Area. Plz Help

I EXPLAINED IT WRONG ON MY OTHER LISTING!
I have a report that has several rows and colunms as follows. I have it set
up if a check box is true to show the entire Row or Rows for each Column.
What I need now is, if row 2 is null (all blank) I want row 3 and row 4 to
move up into
row 2's position so it will not show a blank where row 2 once was. How do I
get the entire row that is True to move up and take its place?

EXAMPLE:

.............Column 1.......Column 2.......Column 3..........colunm 4

1................0.99............1.34............. .66.6................5.55

2. ................I want row 3 an 4 to move up to this position.......

3.................00.34........3.44............... 0.34.................6.77

4.................0.64...........1.23............. .22.89..................0.9

  #3  
Old July 12th, 2007, 08:32 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.reports
KARL DEWEY
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 10,767
Default Move Rows up to Blank Area. Plz Help

Why not just add criteria in the query?
--
KARL DEWEY
Build a little - Test a little


"TKM" wrote:

I EXPLAINED IT WRONG ON MY OTHER LISTING!
I have a report that has several rows and colunms as follows. I have it set
up if a check box is true to show the entire Row or Rows for each Column.
What I need now is, if row 2 is null (all blank) I want row 3 and row 4 to
move up into
row 2's position so it will not show a blank where row 2 once was. How do I
get the entire row that is True to move up and take its place?

EXAMPLE:

............Column 1.......Column 2.......Column 3..........colunm 4

1................0.99............1.34............. .66.6................5.55

2. ................I want row 3 an 4 to move up to this position.......

3.................00.34........3.44............... 0.34.................6.77

4.................0.64...........1.23............. .22.89..................0.9

  #4  
Old July 12th, 2007, 08:36 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.reports
TKM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 289
Default Move Rows up to Blank Area. Plz Help

Karl,

That would be nice if I had a place to strt. I only looked in 4 books and
asked around and NO HELP!

"KARL DEWEY" wrote:

Why not just add criteria in the query?
--
KARL DEWEY
Build a little - Test a little


"TKM" wrote:

I EXPLAINED IT WRONG ON MY OTHER LISTING!
I have a report that has several rows and colunms as follows. I have it set
up if a check box is true to show the entire Row or Rows for each Column.
What I need now is, if row 2 is null (all blank) I want row 3 and row 4 to
move up into
row 2's position so it will not show a blank where row 2 once was. How do I
get the entire row that is True to move up and take its place?

EXAMPLE:

............Column 1.......Column 2.......Column 3..........colunm 4

1................0.99............1.34............. .66.6................5.55

2. ................I want row 3 an 4 to move up to this position.......

3.................00.34........3.44............... 0.34.................6.77

4.................0.64...........1.23............. .22.89..................0.9

  #5  
Old July 12th, 2007, 08:38 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.reports
TKM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 289
Default Move Rows up to Blank Area. Plz Help

I forgot to mention I dont see how an entire row or rows can move up and
replace an entire row in a report. How would this work? How can the valid
rows move up to take the null rows place. I am at a hugh LOSS!

"KARL DEWEY" wrote:

Why not just add criteria in the query?
--
KARL DEWEY
Build a little - Test a little


"TKM" wrote:

I EXPLAINED IT WRONG ON MY OTHER LISTING!
I have a report that has several rows and colunms as follows. I have it set
up if a check box is true to show the entire Row or Rows for each Column.
What I need now is, if row 2 is null (all blank) I want row 3 and row 4 to
move up into
row 2's position so it will not show a blank where row 2 once was. How do I
get the entire row that is True to move up and take its place?

EXAMPLE:

............Column 1.......Column 2.......Column 3..........colunm 4

1................0.99............1.34............. .66.6................5.55

2. ................I want row 3 an 4 to move up to this position.......

3.................00.34........3.44............... 0.34.................6.77

4.................0.64...........1.23............. .22.89..................0.9

  #6  
Old July 12th, 2007, 08:44 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.reports
krissco
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 167
Default Move Rows up to Blank Area. Plz Help

On Jul 12, 10:32 am, TKM wrote:
I EXPLAINED IT WRONG ON MY OTHER LISTING!
I have a report that has several rows and colunms as follows. I have it set
up if a check box is true to show the entire Row or Rows for each Column.
What I need now is, if row 2 is null (all blank) I want row 3 and row 4 to
move up into
row 2's position so it will not show a blank where row 2 once was. How do I
get the entire row that is True to move up and take its place?

EXAMPLE:

............Column 1.......Column 2.......Column 3..........colunm 4

1................0.99............1.34............. .66.6................5.55

2. ................I want row 3 an 4 to move up to this position.......

3.................00.34........3.44............... 0.34.................6.77

4.................0.64...........1.23............. .22.89..................0.9


I'll assume this is in the Detail section.
Use this as the code behind the Format event of the detail section:

Private Sub Detail_Format(Cancel As Integer, FormatCount As Integer)
If IsNull(Me.testControl) Then
Me.Section("detail").Visible = False
Else
Me.Section("detail").Visible = True
End If
End Sub

Or more succinctly:
Me.Section("Detail").Visible = not isnull(Me.testControl)

Replace Me.testControl with whatever control(s) you want to test to
see if your record is null.

-Kris

  #7  
Old July 12th, 2007, 08:48 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.reports
TKM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 289
Default Move Rows up to Blank Area. Plz Help

Steve,

I set all of my Text boxes to YES on can shrink. Nothing happends. I set the
option box and all of the text boxes associated with the option box. I still
have a blank where row 2 use to be and row 3 and 4 are below it. Any other
ideas? Thank you for your help!"Steve" wrote:

On your report, select the textbox for Column 1. Open properties and go to
the Format tab. Set Can Shrink to Yes. Do the same for the textboxes for
Volumn 2 to Column 4.

PC Datasheet
Providing Customers A Resource For Help With Access, Excel And Word
Applications




"TKM" wrote in message
...
I EXPLAINED IT WRONG ON MY OTHER LISTING!
I have a report that has several rows and colunms as follows. I have it
set
up if a check box is true to show the entire Row or Rows for each Column.
What I need now is, if row 2 is null (all blank) I want row 3 and row 4 to
move up into
row 2's position so it will not show a blank where row 2 once was. How do
I
get the entire row that is True to move up and take its place?

EXAMPLE:

............Column 1.......Column 2.......Column 3..........colunm 4

1................0.99............1.34............. .66.6................5.55

2. ................I want row 3 an 4 to move up to this position.......

3.................00.34........3.44............... 0.34.................6.77

4.................0.64...........1.23............. .22.89..................0.9




  #8  
Old July 12th, 2007, 09:06 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.reports
TKM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 289
Default Move Rows up to Blank Area. Plz Help

Krissco,

OK so what does this do. I added it into onformat and it does nothing so I
guess that is good? Thanks gain and please advise what I should do next.

"krissco" wrote:

On Jul 12, 10:32 am, TKM wrote:
I EXPLAINED IT WRONG ON MY OTHER LISTING!
I have a report that has several rows and colunms as follows. I have it set
up if a check box is true to show the entire Row or Rows for each Column.
What I need now is, if row 2 is null (all blank) I want row 3 and row 4 to
move up into
row 2's position so it will not show a blank where row 2 once was. How do I
get the entire row that is True to move up and take its place?

EXAMPLE:

............Column 1.......Column 2.......Column 3..........colunm 4

1................0.99............1.34............. .66.6................5.55

2. ................I want row 3 an 4 to move up to this position.......

3.................00.34........3.44............... 0.34.................6.77

4.................0.64...........1.23............. .22.89..................0.9


I'll assume this is in the Detail section.
Use this as the code behind the Format event of the detail section:

Private Sub Detail_Format(Cancel As Integer, FormatCount As Integer)
If IsNull(Me.testControl) Then
Me.Section("detail").Visible = False
Else
Me.Section("detail").Visible = True
End If
End Sub

Or more succinctly:
Me.Section("Detail").Visible = not isnull(Me.testControl)

Replace Me.testControl with whatever control(s) you want to test to
see if your record is null.

-Kris


  #9  
Old July 12th, 2007, 09:25 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.reports
krissco
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 167
Default Move Rows up to Blank Area. Plz Help

On Jul 12, 12:06 pm, TKM wrote:
Krissco,

OK so what does this do. I added it into onformat and it does nothing so I
guess that is good? Thanks gain and please advise what I should do next.

The code will show/hide the detail section based on criteria. When it
is hidden, instead of printing a "blank row" of data - the report will
print nothing. Upon formatting the next non-null row, the section will
be marked visible and will print.

-Kris

  #10  
Old July 12th, 2007, 09:34 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.reports
Steve[_10_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 608
Default Move Rows up to Blank Area. Plz Help

Do you have anything to the left or right of the rows. Can shrink won't work
if there is anything there.

PC Datasheet
Providing Customers A Resource For Help With Access, Excel And Word
Applications




"TKM" wrote in message
...
Steve,

I set all of my Text boxes to YES on can shrink. Nothing happends. I set
the
option box and all of the text boxes associated with the option box. I
still
have a blank where row 2 use to be and row 3 and 4 are below it. Any other
ideas? Thank you for your help!"Steve" wrote:

On your report, select the textbox for Column 1. Open properties and go
to
the Format tab. Set Can Shrink to Yes. Do the same for the textboxes for
Volumn 2 to Column 4.

PC Datasheet
Providing Customers A Resource For Help With Access, Excel And Word
Applications




"TKM" wrote in message
...
I EXPLAINED IT WRONG ON MY OTHER LISTING!
I have a report that has several rows and colunms as follows. I have it
set
up if a check box is true to show the entire Row or Rows for each
Column.
What I need now is, if row 2 is null (all blank) I want row 3 and row 4
to
move up into
row 2's position so it will not show a blank where row 2 once was. How
do
I
get the entire row that is True to move up and take its place?

EXAMPLE:

............Column 1.......Column 2.......Column 3..........colunm 4

1................0.99............1.34............. .66.6................5.55

2. ................I want row 3 an 4 to move up to this position.......

3.................00.34........3.44............... 0.34.................6.77

4.................0.64...........1.23............. .22.89..................0.9






 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.