A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » General Discussion
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Controlling Spell Checker



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old April 8th, 2007, 03:08 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms,microsoft.public.access.formscoding,microsoft.public.access
Tom Wickerath
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,914
Default Controlling Spell Checker

Hi Neil,

... but only if it only comes up if there's a spelling error. Since it
comes up every time, ...


I am NOT experiencing this symptom. For me, it comes up only if there is a
spelling error (or perhaps I should say it comes up only if a word is not
found in the database that is used to check for words). I just tried a quick
experiment, by changing a form to continuous view, but I'm still only getting
the spell checker to pop up when a word is misspelled.


Tom Wickerath
Microsoft Access MVP
https://mvp.support.microsoft.com/profile/Tom
http://www.access.qbuilt.com/html/ex...tributors.html
__________________________________________

"Neil" wrote:

Latest feedback: client agrees to have spell check come up after field is
edited; but only if it only comes up if there's a spelling error. Since it
comes up every time, whether there's a spelling mistake or not, he finds it
annoying. Any ideas?

Really, you'd think MS would give a little more control over the spell
checker. Or do you know of third-party spell checkers that might give more
control?

Thanks!

Neil

  #12  
Old April 8th, 2007, 04:22 AM posted to microsoft.public.access,microsoft.public.access.forms,microsoft.public.access.formscoding
Arvin Meyer [MVP]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,231
Default Controlling Spell Checker

As far as I know, you can only spellcheck a single field in Datasheet view.
Continuous forms check all controls. At the conclusion of your data entry,
you could open a datasheet form with just the one field and run your
spellcheck. Seems like a kluge but when you have a client making an
unreasonable demand, sometimes a kluge is the only answer.
--
Arvin Meyer, MCP, MVP
http://www.datastrat.com
http://www.mvps.org/access
http://www.accessmvp.com

"Neil" wrote in message
. net...
Thanks, Arvin. The problem I'm running into, though, is that the client
wants to check only a particular field, but for all records (in Continuous
Forms view) at once, not as each record is edited. I could change your
code below to use the control name for that one control, instead of the
control type. But the problem remains that it would still only check for
that one record.

I proposed to the client checking the spelling of that one field as it's
edited. He said that's fine, except that the spell checker comes up EVERY
time, even if there are no spelling mistakes. He doesn't like that.

So I'm left with two options: 1) find a way to run the spell checker for
all records in the form, but only for a particular field in each record;
or 2) find a way to have the spell checker pop up after that particular
field is edited, but only if there's a spelling error.

I guess there's a third option: find a third-party spell checker that
provides more programmatic control.

Thanks!

Neil


"Arvin Meyer [MVP]" wrote in message
...
The following code, when placed in a module can be called from a button
on a form. It will spell check only the text boxes on that form.

Public Function Spell()
' Arvin Meyer 9/17/1998
' Adapted from code by Terry Wickenden
Dim ctlSpell As Control
Dim frm As Form
Set frm = Screen.ActiveForm
DoCmd.SetWarnings False
' Enumerate Controls collection.
For Each ctlSpell In frm.Controls
If TypeOf ctlSpell Is TextBox Then
If Len(ctlSpell) 0 Then
With ctlSpell
.SetFocus
.SelStart = 0
.SelLength = Len(ctlSpell)
End With
DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdSpelling
End If
End If
Next
DoCmd.SetWarnings True
End Function
--
Arvin Meyer, MCP, MVP
http://www.datastrat.com
http://www.mvps.org/access
http://www.accessmvp.com

"Neil" wrote in message
t...
Is there way to have control over the MS-Access spell checking (besides
just launching it)? We want to tell it to check all records, but skip
certain fields (or, alternatively, ONLY check certain fields). Is that
possible?

Alternatively, if that's not, we noticed that the spell checker skips
fields that are disabled. So one could disable the fields to be skipped;
run the spell checker; and then re-enable those fields when done. But
how would one know when it's done.

Any ideas/suggestions/hints/etc.?

Thanks,

Neil







  #13  
Old April 9th, 2007, 01:34 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms,microsoft.public.access.formscoding,microsoft.public.access
Neil
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 311
Default Controlling Spell Checker

When I run it (in Access 2003), it pops up "The spelling check is complete"
if there are no errors. You don't get that?



"Tom Wickerath" AOS168b AT comcast DOT net wrote in message
...
Hi Neil,

... but only if it only comes up if there's a spelling error. Since it
comes up every time, ...


I am NOT experiencing this symptom. For me, it comes up only if there is a
spelling error (or perhaps I should say it comes up only if a word is not
found in the database that is used to check for words). I just tried a
quick
experiment, by changing a form to continuous view, but I'm still only
getting
the spell checker to pop up when a word is misspelled.


Tom Wickerath
Microsoft Access MVP
https://mvp.support.microsoft.com/profile/Tom
http://www.access.qbuilt.com/html/ex...tributors.html
__________________________________________

"Neil" wrote:

Latest feedback: client agrees to have spell check come up after field is
edited; but only if it only comes up if there's a spelling error. Since
it
comes up every time, whether there's a spelling mistake or not, he finds
it
annoying. Any ideas?

Really, you'd think MS would give a little more control over the spell
checker. Or do you know of third-party spell checkers that might give
more
control?

Thanks!

Neil



  #14  
Old April 9th, 2007, 01:37 AM posted to microsoft.public.access,microsoft.public.access.forms,microsoft.public.access.formscoding
Neil
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 311
Default Controlling Spell Checker

I'll mention that to him, maybe a "spell checker form."

But I wasn't even aware you can use the spell checker in datasheet view. It
does work in Continuous Forms view to check a single field by selecting the
field, as you note below. But, as noted, only for that single item that's
selected.

Neil


"Arvin Meyer [MVP]" wrote in message
...
As far as I know, you can only spellcheck a single field in Datasheet
view. Continuous forms check all controls. At the conclusion of your data
entry, you could open a datasheet form with just the one field and run
your spellcheck. Seems like a kluge but when you have a client making an
unreasonable demand, sometimes a kluge is the only answer.
--
Arvin Meyer, MCP, MVP
http://www.datastrat.com
http://www.mvps.org/access
http://www.accessmvp.com

"Neil" wrote in message
. net...
Thanks, Arvin. The problem I'm running into, though, is that the client
wants to check only a particular field, but for all records (in
Continuous Forms view) at once, not as each record is edited. I could
change your code below to use the control name for that one control,
instead of the control type. But the problem remains that it would still
only check for that one record.

I proposed to the client checking the spelling of that one field as it's
edited. He said that's fine, except that the spell checker comes up EVERY
time, even if there are no spelling mistakes. He doesn't like that.

So I'm left with two options: 1) find a way to run the spell checker for
all records in the form, but only for a particular field in each record;
or 2) find a way to have the spell checker pop up after that particular
field is edited, but only if there's a spelling error.

I guess there's a third option: find a third-party spell checker that
provides more programmatic control.

Thanks!

Neil


"Arvin Meyer [MVP]" wrote in message
...
The following code, when placed in a module can be called from a button
on a form. It will spell check only the text boxes on that form.

Public Function Spell()
' Arvin Meyer 9/17/1998
' Adapted from code by Terry Wickenden
Dim ctlSpell As Control
Dim frm As Form
Set frm = Screen.ActiveForm
DoCmd.SetWarnings False
' Enumerate Controls collection.
For Each ctlSpell In frm.Controls
If TypeOf ctlSpell Is TextBox Then
If Len(ctlSpell) 0 Then
With ctlSpell
.SetFocus
.SelStart = 0
.SelLength = Len(ctlSpell)
End With
DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdSpelling
End If
End If
Next
DoCmd.SetWarnings True
End Function
--
Arvin Meyer, MCP, MVP
http://www.datastrat.com
http://www.mvps.org/access
http://www.accessmvp.com

"Neil" wrote in message
t...
Is there way to have control over the MS-Access spell checking (besides
just launching it)? We want to tell it to check all records, but skip
certain fields (or, alternatively, ONLY check certain fields). Is that
possible?

Alternatively, if that's not, we noticed that the spell checker skips
fields that are disabled. So one could disable the fields to be
skipped; run the spell checker; and then re-enable those fields when
done. But how would one know when it's done.

Any ideas/suggestions/hints/etc.?

Thanks,

Neil









  #15  
Old April 15th, 2007, 12:40 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms,microsoft.public.access.formscoding,microsoft.public.access
Jeremy Ellison
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 14
Default Controlling Spell Checker

THANK YOU SO MUCH ---

this was a great POST!

"Tom Wickerath" wrote:

Hi Neil,

Is there way to have control over the MS-Access spell checking (besides just
launching it)?


Yes.

We want to tell it to check all records, but skip certain
fields (or, alternatively, ONLY check certain fields). Is that possible?


Yes.

Alternatively, if that's not, we noticed that the spell checker skips fields
that are disabled. So one could disable the fields to be skipped; run the
spell checker; and then re-enable those fields when done. But how would one
know when it's done.


You don't need to go through these gymnastics. Here is an example for a
command button named cmdSpellCheck:

Private Sub cmdSpellCheck_Click()
On Error GoTo ProcError

Call SpellCheck(txtDescription)

ExitProc:
Exit Sub
ProcError:
MsgBox "Error " & Err.Number & ": " & Err.Description, , _
"Error in cmdSpellCheck_Click event procedure..."
Resume ExitProc
End Sub


You can also call the function, for example, using the On Exit event
procedure for a textbox:

Private Sub txtRequestTitle_Exit(Cancel As Integer)
On Error GoTo ProcError

If Me.Dirty = True Then
SpellCheck ("txtRequestTitle")
End If

ExitProc:
Exit Sub
ProcError:
MsgBox "Error " & Err.Number & ": " & Err.Description, _
vbCritical, "Error in txtRequestTitle_Exit event procedure..."
Resume ExitProc
End Sub


The SpellCheck function is added to a standard module, so that it can be
called from any form:

Option Compare Database
Option Explicit

Public Function SpellCheck(ctlSpell As Control)
On Error GoTo ProcError

' Debug.Print ctlSpell

Dim frm As Form
Set frm = Screen.ActiveForm
DoCmd.SetWarnings False

If Len(ctlSpell) 0 Then
With ctlSpell
.SetFocus
.SelStart = 0
.SelLength = Len(ctlSpell)
End With
DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdSpelling
End If

ExitProc:
DoCmd.SetWarnings True
Exit Function
ProcError:
MsgBox "Error " & Err.Number & ": " & Err.Description, _
vbCritical, "Error in SpellCheck Function..."
Resume ExitProc
End Function


Tom Wickerath
Microsoft Access MVP
https://mvp.support.microsoft.com/profile/Tom
http://www.access.qbuilt.com/html/ex...tributors.html
__________________________________________

"Neil" wrote:

Is there way to have control over the MS-Access spell checking (besides just
launching it)? We want to tell it to check all records, but skip certain
fields (or, alternatively, ONLY check certain fields). Is that possible?

Alternatively, if that's not, we noticed that the spell checker skips fields
that are disabled. So one could disable the fields to be skipped; run the
spell checker; and then re-enable those fields when done. But how would one
know when it's done.

Any ideas/suggestions/hints/etc.?

Thanks,

Neil



  #16  
Old April 15th, 2007, 12:44 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms,microsoft.public.access.formscoding,microsoft.public.access
Tom Wickerath
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,914
Default Controlling Spell Checker

You're very welcome. Glad we could help!


Tom Wickerath
Microsoft Access MVP
https://mvp.support.microsoft.com/profile/Tom
http://www.access.qbuilt.com/html/ex...tributors.html
__________________________________________

"Jeremy Ellison" wrote:

THANK YOU SO MUCH ---

this was a great POST!


  #17  
Old April 15th, 2007, 01:08 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms,microsoft.public.access.formscoding,microsoft.public.access
Tom Wickerath
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,914
Default Controlling Spell Checker

Hi Neil,

Sorry about the late reply....I just now received a notification message
that there was a reply waiting for this thread (due to the post that Jeremy
Ellison just made). I did not receive a notification message when you posted
a reply on April 8th, but I noticed this message just now.

In answer to your question:

When I run it (in Access 2003), it pops up "The spelling check is complete"
if there are no errors. You don't get that?


I do not get any such pop up.


Tom Wickerath
Microsoft Access MVP
https://mvp.support.microsoft.com/profile/Tom
http://www.access.qbuilt.com/html/ex...tributors.html
__________________________________________

"Neil" wrote:

When I run it (in Access 2003), it pops up "The spelling check is complete"
if there are no errors. You don't get that?


  #18  
Old April 15th, 2007, 04:00 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms,microsoft.public.access.formscoding,microsoft.public.access
Neil
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 311
Default Controlling Spell Checker

Yeah, I had forgotten to put the SetWarnings False in there.........

BTW, how do you receive notifications of replies here?

Neil



"Tom Wickerath" AOS168b AT comcast DOT net wrote in message
...
Hi Neil,

Sorry about the late reply....I just now received a notification message
that there was a reply waiting for this thread (due to the post that
Jeremy
Ellison just made). I did not receive a notification message when you
posted
a reply on April 8th, but I noticed this message just now.

In answer to your question:

When I run it (in Access 2003), it pops up "The spelling check is
complete"
if there are no errors. You don't get that?


I do not get any such pop up.


Tom Wickerath
Microsoft Access MVP
https://mvp.support.microsoft.com/profile/Tom
http://www.access.qbuilt.com/html/ex...tributors.html
__________________________________________

"Neil" wrote:

When I run it (in Access 2003), it pops up "The spelling check is
complete"
if there are no errors. You don't get that?




  #19  
Old April 15th, 2007, 07:05 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms,microsoft.public.access.formscoding,microsoft.public.access
Douglas J. Steele
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 9,313
Default Controlling Spell Checker

You're using Outlook Express to connect to this newsgroup, so you don't have
the option of receiving notification of replies. That's only a feature in
the web interface Microsoft's created for the newsgroups. (and believe it,
it's not work switching to the web interface just to get that feature!)

--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no private e-mails, please)


"Neil" wrote in message
. ..
Yeah, I had forgotten to put the SetWarnings False in there.........

BTW, how do you receive notifications of replies here?

Neil



"Tom Wickerath" AOS168b AT comcast DOT net wrote in message
...
Hi Neil,

Sorry about the late reply....I just now received a notification message
that there was a reply waiting for this thread (due to the post that
Jeremy
Ellison just made). I did not receive a notification message when you
posted
a reply on April 8th, but I noticed this message just now.

In answer to your question:

When I run it (in Access 2003), it pops up "The spelling check is
complete"
if there are no errors. You don't get that?


I do not get any such pop up.


Tom Wickerath
Microsoft Access MVP
https://mvp.support.microsoft.com/profile/Tom
http://www.access.qbuilt.com/html/ex...tributors.html
__________________________________________

"Neil" wrote:

When I run it (in Access 2003), it pops up "The spelling check is
complete"
if there are no errors. You don't get that?






  #20  
Old April 15th, 2007, 09:00 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms,microsoft.public.access.formscoding,microsoft.public.access
Arvin Meyer [MVP]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,231
Default Controlling Spell Checker

All decent newsreaders have a feature that filters to only messages that we
write. In Outlook Express it is:

View Current View Show Replies to my Messages

Since we post frequently, we only need apply the filter and go through our
threads. Not only is it much faster that using a browser based reader, since
we've already downloaded all the existing messages, we can see the entire
thread at lightning speed, as well as every message in every thread that
we've participated in within a few seconds.
--
Arvin Meyer, MCP, MVP
http://www.datastrat.com
http://www.mvps.org/access
http://www.accessmvp.com

"Neil" wrote in message
. ..
Yeah, I had forgotten to put the SetWarnings False in there.........

BTW, how do you receive notifications of replies here?

Neil



"Tom Wickerath" AOS168b AT comcast DOT net wrote in message
...
Hi Neil,

Sorry about the late reply....I just now received a notification message
that there was a reply waiting for this thread (due to the post that
Jeremy
Ellison just made). I did not receive a notification message when you
posted
a reply on April 8th, but I noticed this message just now.

In answer to your question:

When I run it (in Access 2003), it pops up "The spelling check is
complete"
if there are no errors. You don't get that?


I do not get any such pop up.


Tom Wickerath
Microsoft Access MVP
https://mvp.support.microsoft.com/profile/Tom
http://www.access.qbuilt.com/html/ex...tributors.html
__________________________________________

"Neil" wrote:

When I run it (in Access 2003), it pops up "The spelling check is
complete"
if there are no errors. You don't get that?






 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.