A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Setting Up & Running Reports
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Show Records Below Average

Old May 29th, 2004, 04:31 PM
RJ Leburg
external usenet poster

Default Show Records Below Average

I am fairly new to Access, but am learning quickly. I am trying to figure out a way to generate a custom report and could really use some assistance.

What I have gotten figured out so far:

I have a query that generates a list of sellers and the total of their record from one table based on a selected date range. In the date field of the query I put the criteria "Between [StartDate] And [EndDate]", this gets me my list. The last column is a percentage based on two of the other fields.

What I want to do:

I want to create a report that will give me all the sellers information out of this list whos percentage is below the average. I first need to add up all the records in this list and use generate the percentage. This would be my average percentage. Then for the report I want to take the results of my query, and only select those records for the report whos value in the "percentage" column is below the average that I had to calculate.

I know this is probably more complex that someone has a specific answer for, but if someone can show me the path to take to make this work, and remember I am new to this so if you can break down those steps down into failry simple ideas I would really appreciate it.

Thank you for all of your assistance, I have learned alot from reading this group already.

RJ

Old May 29th, 2004, 05:46 PM
Marshall Barton