A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Running & Setting Up Queries
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

UNION ALL Query



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old July 31st, 2004, 02:24 PM
Jeff Boyce
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default UNION ALL Query

Brook

From your description, it sounds like you've used a format to modify the
display of your autonumber fields. This doesn't modify the data stored,
just the display of it.

--
Good luck

Jeff Boyce
Access MVP

  #12  
Old July 31st, 2004, 02:24 PM
Jeff Boyce
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default UNION ALL Query

Brook

From your description, it sounds like you've used a format to modify the
display of your autonumber fields. This doesn't modify the data stored,
just the display of it.

--
Good luck

Jeff Boyce
Access MVP

  #13  
Old July 31st, 2004, 02:24 PM
Jeff Boyce
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default UNION ALL Query

Brook

From your description, it sounds like you've used a format to modify the
display of your autonumber fields. This doesn't modify the data stored,
just the display of it.

--
Good luck

Jeff Boyce
Access MVP

  #14  
Old July 31st, 2004, 03:29 PM
Brook
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default UNION ALL Query

Jeff,

Thanks for the info, yes I did you a format for the
display of my Autonumber: for tbleStockOrders I used the
format "NW-"0000, and for tblCustomOrders I used the
format "KI-"0000, I am using an update query to send the
info from the unionquery to a tblMasterInventory. Any
suggestions on how I can pull these formats into my
tblMasterInventory?

Thanks for your help!

Brook

-----Original Message-----
Brook

From your description, it sounds like you've used a

format to modify the
display of your autonumber fields. This doesn't modify

the data stored,
just the display of it.

--
Good luck

Jeff Boyce
Access MVP

.

  #15  
Old July 31st, 2004, 03:29 PM
Brook
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default UNION ALL Query

Jeff,

Thanks for the info, yes I did you a format for the
display of my Autonumber: for tbleStockOrders I used the
format "NW-"0000, and for tblCustomOrders I used the
format "KI-"0000, I am using an update query to send the
info from the unionquery to a tblMasterInventory. Any
suggestions on how I can pull these formats into my
tblMasterInventory?

Thanks for your help!

Brook

-----Original Message-----
Brook

From your description, it sounds like you've used a

format to modify the
display of your autonumber fields. This doesn't modify

the data stored,
just the display of it.

--
Good luck

Jeff Boyce
Access MVP

.

  #16  
Old July 31st, 2004, 03:29 PM
Brook
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default UNION ALL Query

Jeff,

Thanks for the info, yes I did you a format for the
display of my Autonumber: for tbleStockOrders I used the
format "NW-"0000, and for tblCustomOrders I used the
format "KI-"0000, I am using an update query to send the
info from the unionquery to a tblMasterInventory. Any
suggestions on how I can pull these formats into my
tblMasterInventory?

Thanks for your help!

Brook

-----Original Message-----
Brook

From your description, it sounds like you've used a

format to modify the
display of your autonumber fields. This doesn't modify

the data stored,
just the display of it.

--
Good luck

Jeff Boyce
Access MVP

.

  #17  
Old July 31st, 2004, 06:22 PM
Ken Snell
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default UNION ALL Query

Because I don't know all the fields that are in your tables, I will show you
how to bring over your formatted display using just the one field from each
table. You'll need to add more fields to each SELECT clause to bring over
the other fields.

SELECT "KI-" & Format(tblCustomOrders.Autonumberfield, "0000") AS
ActOrderNum
FROM tblCustomOrders

UNION ALL

SELECT "NW-" & Format(tblStockOrders.Autonumberfield, "0000") AS ActOrderNum
FROM tblStockOrders;
--

Ken Snell
MS ACCESS MVP

"Brook" wrote in message
...
Jeff,

Thanks for the info, yes I did you a format for the
display of my Autonumber: for tbleStockOrders I used the
format "NW-"0000, and for tblCustomOrders I used the
format "KI-"0000, I am using an update query to send the
info from the unionquery to a tblMasterInventory. Any
suggestions on how I can pull these formats into my
tblMasterInventory?

Thanks for your help!

Brook

-----Original Message-----
Brook

From your description, it sounds like you've used a

format to modify the
display of your autonumber fields. This doesn't modify

the data stored,
just the display of it.

--
Good luck

Jeff Boyce
Access MVP

.



  #18  
Old July 31st, 2004, 06:22 PM
Ken Snell
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default UNION ALL Query

Because I don't know all the fields that are in your tables, I will show you
how to bring over your formatted display using just the one field from each
table. You'll need to add more fields to each SELECT clause to bring over
the other fields.

SELECT "KI-" & Format(tblCustomOrders.Autonumberfield, "0000") AS
ActOrderNum
FROM tblCustomOrders

UNION ALL

SELECT "NW-" & Format(tblStockOrders.Autonumberfield, "0000") AS ActOrderNum
FROM tblStockOrders;
--

Ken Snell
MS ACCESS MVP

"Brook" wrote in message
...
Jeff,

Thanks for the info, yes I did you a format for the
display of my Autonumber: for tbleStockOrders I used the
format "NW-"0000, and for tblCustomOrders I used the
format "KI-"0000, I am using an update query to send the
info from the unionquery to a tblMasterInventory. Any
suggestions on how I can pull these formats into my
tblMasterInventory?

Thanks for your help!

Brook

-----Original Message-----
Brook

From your description, it sounds like you've used a

format to modify the
display of your autonumber fields. This doesn't modify

the data stored,
just the display of it.

--
Good luck

Jeff Boyce
Access MVP

.



  #19  
Old July 31st, 2004, 06:22 PM
Ken Snell
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default UNION ALL Query

Because I don't know all the fields that are in your tables, I will show you
how to bring over your formatted display using just the one field from each
table. You'll need to add more fields to each SELECT clause to bring over
the other fields.

SELECT "KI-" & Format(tblCustomOrders.Autonumberfield, "0000") AS
ActOrderNum
FROM tblCustomOrders

UNION ALL

SELECT "NW-" & Format(tblStockOrders.Autonumberfield, "0000") AS ActOrderNum
FROM tblStockOrders;
--

Ken Snell
MS ACCESS MVP

"Brook" wrote in message
...
Jeff,

Thanks for the info, yes I did you a format for the
display of my Autonumber: for tbleStockOrders I used the
format "NW-"0000, and for tblCustomOrders I used the
format "KI-"0000, I am using an update query to send the
info from the unionquery to a tblMasterInventory. Any
suggestions on how I can pull these formats into my
tblMasterInventory?

Thanks for your help!

Brook

-----Original Message-----
Brook

From your description, it sounds like you've used a

format to modify the
display of your autonumber fields. This doesn't modify

the data stored,
just the display of it.

--
Good luck

Jeff Boyce
Access MVP

.



  #20  
Old July 31st, 2004, 10:33 PM
Brook
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default UNION ALL Query

Thanks for the info,

When I tried this, and ran the query again, a pop up box
asking for tblCustomOrders.Autonumberfield and
tblStockOrders.Autonumberfield??

Not sure what to do?

Brook
-----Original Message-----
Because I don't know all the fields that are in your

tables, I will show you
how to bring over your formatted display using just the

one field from each
table. You'll need to add more fields to each SELECT

clause to bring over
the other fields.

SELECT "KI-" & Format

(tblCustomOrders.Autonumberfield, "0000") AS
ActOrderNum
FROM tblCustomOrders

UNION ALL

SELECT "NW-" & Format

(tblStockOrders.Autonumberfield, "0000") AS ActOrderNum
FROM tblStockOrders;
--

Ken Snell
MS ACCESS MVP

"Brook" wrote in

message
...
Jeff,

Thanks for the info, yes I did you a format for the
display of my Autonumber: for tbleStockOrders I used the
format "NW-"0000, and for tblCustomOrders I used the
format "KI-"0000, I am using an update query to send the
info from the unionquery to a tblMasterInventory. Any
suggestions on how I can pull these formats into my
tblMasterInventory?

Thanks for your help!

Brook

-----Original Message-----
Brook

From your description, it sounds like you've used a

format to modify the
display of your autonumber fields. This doesn't modify

the data stored,
just the display of it.

--
Good luck

Jeff Boyce
Access MVP

.



.

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"UNION" Query with different fields in the two tables Dkline Running & Setting Up Queries 5 July 30th, 2004 09:05 PM
UNION query question Dale Peart Running & Setting Up Queries 6 July 14th, 2004 12:26 AM
Union Query Issue Larry Running & Setting Up Queries 4 July 12th, 2004 08:53 AM
UNION Query truncating Memo fields Matthew DeAngelis Running & Setting Up Queries 4 June 10th, 2004 02:17 PM
Edit table using union query De'Ville Running & Setting Up Queries 1 June 1st, 2004 11:46 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.