A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Excel » Links and Linking
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

can't change field name in query?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 1st, 2006, 11:31 PM posted to microsoft.public.excel.links
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default can't change field name in query?

I'm using Microsoft Query to bring in some data. I have the query in SQL so i
can do some groupings and count values in one of the fields. My problem is
I'm having difficulty renaming a field, so it comes back with no name at all.
The SQL line is:

SELECT [lots of fields], Count(StudentHistory.Status) AS CountStatus

The count comes back properly, but the changed field name (i.e.,
CountStatus) doesn't appear. The field name is blank. How does this need to
be written so the field name comes back as CountStatus?

Thanks
rachael
  #2  
Old February 2nd, 2006, 10:33 PM posted to microsoft.public.excel.links
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default can't change field name in query?

Hi rachael,

You need to add a Group By clause to use the COUNT function in SQL

Try something like this example (uses Northwind)

SELECT Customers.Country, Customers.Region, Count(Customers.Region) AS
CountStatus
FROM master.dbo.Customers Customers

Ed Ferrero
http://www.edferrero.com


"rachael" wrote in message
...
I'm using Microsoft Query to bring in some data. I have the query in SQL
so i
can do some groupings and count values in one of the fields. My problem is
I'm having difficulty renaming a field, so it comes back with no name at
all.
The SQL line is:

SELECT [lots of fields], Count(StudentHistory.Status) AS CountStatus

The count comes back properly, but the changed field name (i.e.,
CountStatus) doesn't appear. The field name is blank. How does this need
to
be written so the field name comes back as CountStatus?

Thanks
rachael



  #3  
Old February 3rd, 2006, 04:21 PM posted to microsoft.public.excel.links
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default can't change field name in query?

Sorry - i don't think i was clear. The line i posted was just a fragment. The
full code works, and i do get a field back that shows the proper count. The
problem is, the field has no name, even if i include "AS NewName". If i run
the same SQL in Access, i get a field back with the proper count that has a
field name of "NewName."

Is this just a quirk in MS Query in Excel that i'm not getting back a field
name? Or is there something else i need to do?

Thanks
rachael

"Ed Ferrero" wrote:

Hi rachael,

You need to add a Group By clause to use the COUNT function in SQL

Try something like this example (uses Northwind)

SELECT Customers.Country, Customers.Region, Count(Customers.Region) AS
CountStatus
FROM master.dbo.Customers Customers

Ed Ferrero
http://www.edferrero.com


"rachael" wrote in message
...
I'm using Microsoft Query to bring in some data. I have the query in SQL
so i
can do some groupings and count values in one of the fields. My problem is
I'm having difficulty renaming a field, so it comes back with no name at
all.
The SQL line is:

SELECT [lots of fields], Count(StudentHistory.Status) AS CountStatus

The count comes back properly, but the changed field name (i.e.,
CountStatus) doesn't appear. The field name is blank. How does this need
to
be written so the field name comes back as CountStatus?

Thanks
rachael




  #4  
Old February 4th, 2006, 01:49 AM posted to microsoft.public.excel.links
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default can't change field name in query?

Sorry rachael,

It is I who did not understand your question. Also, I see that I also left
out the GROUP BY clause in my example.

I can't reproduce your error - i.e. when I use Microsoft Query;
- I connect to Northwind on SQL Server
- I click the SQL button and enter
SELECT Customers.Country, Customers.Region, Count(Customers.Region) AS
'CountStatus'
FROM master.dbo.Customers Customers
GROUP BY Customers.Country, Customers.Region
- I click OK
- Microsoft Query shows three columns Country, Region, and CountStatus
- I return data to Microsoft Excel
- See three columns in Excel with those same headings

Some questions for you;
What version of Excel do you use?
What OS?
When you say "the field has no name", do you mean that the data is returned
in a column in Excel but has no heading
Is the heading cell blank, or does it contain spaces or hidden charachters?
(check in the formula bar)

Ed Ferrero

Sorry - i don't think i was clear. The line i posted was just a fragment.
The
full code works, and i do get a field back that shows the proper count.
The
problem is, the field has no name, even if i include "AS NewName". If i
run
the same SQL in Access, i get a field back with the proper count that has
a
field name of "NewName."

Is this just a quirk in MS Query in Excel that i'm not getting back a
field
name? Or is there something else i need to do?

Thanks
rachael

"Ed Ferrero" wrote:

Hi rachael,

You need to add a Group By clause to use the COUNT function in SQL

Try something like this example (uses Northwind)

SELECT Customers.Country, Customers.Region, Count(Customers.Region) AS
CountStatus
FROM master.dbo.Customers Customers

Ed Ferrero
http://www.edferrero.com


"rachael" wrote in message
...
I'm using Microsoft Query to bring in some data. I have the query in
SQL
so i
can do some groupings and count values in one of the fields. My problem
is
I'm having difficulty renaming a field, so it comes back with no name
at
all.
The SQL line is:

SELECT [lots of fields], Count(StudentHistory.Status) AS CountStatus

The count comes back properly, but the changed field name (i.e.,
CountStatus) doesn't appear. The field name is blank. How does this
need
to
be written so the field name comes back as CountStatus?

Thanks
rachael






  #5  
Old February 7th, 2006, 07:48 PM posted to microsoft.public.excel.links
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default can't change field name in query?

Hi Ed -

I rebuilt the query entirely in MS Query (instead of copying a modified
query built in Access), and it seems to work now. I don't know what changed,
but i can't reproduce the problem either! But, to answer your questions below:

Some questions for you;
What version of Excel do you use? EXCEL 2003
What OS? WINDOWS XP PROF
When you say "the field has no name", do you mean that the data is returned
in a column in Excel but has no heading CORRECT
Is the heading cell blank, or does it contain spaces or hidden charachters?
(check in the formula bar) IT WAS BLANK


Anyway, it seems to work now. Go figure. Thanks for your help!
rachael

"Ed Ferrero" wrote:

Sorry rachael,

It is I who did not understand your question. Also, I see that I also left
out the GROUP BY clause in my example.

I can't reproduce your error - i.e. when I use Microsoft Query;
- I connect to Northwind on SQL Server
- I click the SQL button and enter
SELECT Customers.Country, Customers.Region, Count(Customers.Region) AS
'CountStatus'
FROM master.dbo.Customers Customers
GROUP BY Customers.Country, Customers.Region
- I click OK
- Microsoft Query shows three columns Country, Region, and CountStatus
- I return data to Microsoft Excel
- See three columns in Excel with those same headings

Some questions for you;
What version of Excel do you use?
What OS?
When you say "the field has no name", do you mean that the data is returned
in a column in Excel but has no heading
Is the heading cell blank, or does it contain spaces or hidden charachters?
(check in the formula bar)

Ed Ferrero

Sorry - i don't think i was clear. The line i posted was just a fragment.
The
full code works, and i do get a field back that shows the proper count.
The
problem is, the field has no name, even if i include "AS NewName". If i
run
the same SQL in Access, i get a field back with the proper count that has
a
field name of "NewName."

Is this just a quirk in MS Query in Excel that i'm not getting back a
field
name? Or is there something else i need to do?

Thanks
rachael

"Ed Ferrero" wrote:

Hi rachael,

You need to add a Group By clause to use the COUNT function in SQL

Try something like this example (uses Northwind)

SELECT Customers.Country, Customers.Region, Count(Customers.Region) AS
CountStatus
FROM master.dbo.Customers Customers

Ed Ferrero
http://www.edferrero.com


"rachael" wrote in message
...
I'm using Microsoft Query to bring in some data. I have the query in
SQL
so i
can do some groupings and count values in one of the fields. My problem
is
I'm having difficulty renaming a field, so it comes back with no name
at
all.
The SQL line is:

SELECT [lots of fields], Count(StudentHistory.Status) AS CountStatus

The count comes back properly, but the changed field name (i.e.,
CountStatus) doesn't appear. The field name is blank. How does this
need
to
be written so the field name comes back as CountStatus?

Thanks
rachael






 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Toolbars, Drop-Down Menus Rick New Users 1 September 21st, 2005 11:17 AM
Annual count queries on a field relative to a value that varies DA tobesus General Discussion 7 May 10th, 2005 07:50 AM
adding 2 fields including null entries Jesse Running & Setting Up Queries 26 January 18th, 2005 05:31 PM
Big number gives error! Sara Mellen Running & Setting Up Queries 8 October 11th, 2004 02:48 AM
Print Taher Setting Up & Running Reports 1 August 31st, 2004 09:07 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.