A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Update Form Display after Record Entry



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 15th, 2006, 10:35 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Nerida via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 6
Default Update Form Display after Record Entry

Hi there,

I have a continuous form that displays data in descending order by a document
no. [DocNo] - this allows the most recent number to be at the top of the
screen. When I add a new record it is added to the end of the set of records.


I'd like to be able to have this new record displayed at the top of the list
when the I click the Update button (this is just Refresh Form Data on a
button). At the moment though I have to close the form and then reopen it.
I'm sure it's just a matter of adding some code to the Update code but I
really don't know where to begin.

I hope someone can help.

Cheers,
Nerida.

--
Cheers,
Nerida

Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200611/1

  #2  
Old November 15th, 2006, 11:54 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
John Vinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,033
Default Update Form Display after Record Entry

On Wed, 15 Nov 2006 22:35:05 GMT, "Nerida via AccessMonster.com"
u15138@uwe wrote:

I'd like to be able to have this new record displayed at the top of the list
when the I click the Update button (this is just Refresh Form Data on a
button). At the moment though I have to close the form and then reopen it.
I'm sure it's just a matter of adding some code to the Update code but I
really don't know where to begin.


Add a line

Me.Requery

John W. Vinson[MVP]
  #3  
Old November 16th, 2006, 12:26 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Nerida via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 6
Default Update Form Display after Record Entry

Thanks John,

I added your line in as the last line before End Sub and it doesn't seem to
work. Below is what is in the module (this was created by the button wizard
as a result of selecting Refresh Form Data.

On Error GoTo Err_btnUpdate_Click

DoCmd.DoMenuItem acFormBar, acRecordsMenu, 5, , acMenuVer70

Exit_btnUpdate_Click:
Exit Sub

Err_btnUpdate_Click:
MsgBox Err.Description
Resume Exit_btnUpdate_Click

Me.Requery

I know that clicking in the DocNo field and clicking the Descending Order
button does just what I need but I don't know the code to iniate that.

Thanks for your help. It's much appreciated!

Nerida.

John Vinson wrote:
I'd like to be able to have this new record displayed at the top of the list
when the I click the Update button (this is just Refresh Form Data on a
button). At the moment though I have to close the form and then reopen it.
I'm sure it's just a matter of adding some code to the Update code but I
really don't know where to begin.


Add a line

Me.Requery

John W. Vinson[MVP]


--
Cheers,
Nerida

Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200611/1

  #4  
Old November 16th, 2006, 01:21 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
John Vinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,033
Default Update Form Display after Record Entry

On Thu, 16 Nov 2006 00:26:00 GMT, "Nerida via AccessMonster.com"
u15138@uwe wrote:

Thanks John,

I added your line in as the last line before End Sub and it doesn't seem to
work. Below is what is in the module (this was created by the button wizard
as a result of selecting Refresh Form Data.


Ok, let's play computer and see what this is actually doing.

This next line sets up an error trap - if there is an error execution
will go to the label Err_btnUpdate_Click.

On Error GoTo Err_btnUpdate_Click


This (ugly and obsolete) code calls a Menu Item in the Access97 menu
style to (I guess) refresh the form. It's probably not necessary.

DoCmd.DoMenuItem acFormBar, acRecordsMenu, 5, , acMenuVer70


The next line is a label for the Resume below... it does nothing other
than provide a "hook" that code can jump to.

Exit_btnUpdate_Click:


This next line exits the subroutine... so when it runs, unless there's
an error, it will refresh the form and then exit.

Exit Sub


Here's the Err_btnUpdate_Click label specified in the On Error code
above.

Err_btnUpdate_Click:


If there's an error, it will pop up a Message Box displaying the error
description...

MsgBox Err.Description


and jump to the label Exit_btnUpdate_Click.

Resume Exit_btnUpdate_Click


This next line will never be executed, because you've already exited
the Sub.

Me.Requery

I know that clicking in the DocNo field and clicking the Descending Order
button does just what I need but I don't know the code to iniate that.


Just REPLACE the line

DoCmd.DoMenuItem acFormBar, acRecordsMenu, 5, , acMenuVer70

with

Me.OrderBy = "[DocNo] DESC"
Me.OrderByOn = True

to set the Form's order and enable it.

John W. Vinson[MVP]
  #5  
Old November 16th, 2006, 01:38 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Nerida via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 6
Default Update Form Display after Record Entry

That is BEAUTIFUL! Thank you so much. You guys make it look so easy. So
much to learn and so little time.

Thank you and have a great day!
Nerida.

PS: Will look more carefully when implementing responses from now on.

John Vinson wrote:
Thanks John,

I added your line in as the last line before End Sub and it doesn't seem to
work. Below is what is in the module (this was created by the button wizard
as a result of selecting Refresh Form Data.


Ok, let's play computer and see what this is actually doing.

This next line sets up an error trap - if there is an error execution
will go to the label Err_btnUpdate_Click.

On Error GoTo Err_btnUpdate_Click


This (ugly and obsolete) code calls a Menu Item in the Access97 menu
style to (I guess) refresh the form. It's probably not necessary.

DoCmd.DoMenuItem acFormBar, acRecordsMenu, 5, , acMenuVer70


The next line is a label for the Resume below... it does nothing other
than provide a "hook" that code can jump to.

Exit_btnUpdate_Click:


This next line exits the subroutine... so when it runs, unless there's
an error, it will refresh the form and then exit.

Exit Sub


Here's the Err_btnUpdate_Click label specified in the On Error code
above.

Err_btnUpdate_Click:


If there's an error, it will pop up a Message Box displaying the error
description...

MsgBox Err.Description


and jump to the label Exit_btnUpdate_Click.

Resume Exit_btnUpdate_Click


This next line will never be executed, because you've already exited
the Sub.

Me.Requery

I know that clicking in the DocNo field and clicking the Descending Order
button does just what I need but I don't know the code to iniate that.


Just REPLACE the line

DoCmd.DoMenuItem acFormBar, acRecordsMenu, 5, , acMenuVer70

with

Me.OrderBy = "[DocNo] DESC"
Me.OrderByOn = True

to set the Form's order and enable it.

John W. Vinson[MVP]


--
Cheers,
Nerida

Message posted via http://www.accessmonster.com

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.