A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Running & Setting Up Queries
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Correlated Subquery doesn't work



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 7th, 2006, 05:28 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.queries
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Correlated Subquery doesn't work

Whenever I try and run this query a pop-up box comes up asking for the value
of tblWorkLog_Main.GuageID.

Why is this happening. According to the following 2 articles my query
should work. I've never had this problem in SQL Server.
http://www.tek-tips.com/faqs.cfm?fid=4058
http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=209066

Both queries work fine independantly (as long as I remove the reference to
tblWorkLog_Main in the sub query if I run it by itself).

I'm using MS Access 2000.


SELECT WorkLogID, GaugeID, NextCertDue,

(SELECT TOP 1 NextCertDue
FROM tblWorkLog wl
WHERE GaugeID =tblWorkLog_Main.GuageID
AND
WorkLogID 1
ORDER BY NextCertDue Desc) AS DueDate


FROM tblWorkLog tblWorkLog_Main
ORDER BY GaugeID, NextCertDue DESC;





  #2  
Old March 7th, 2006, 05:47 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.queries
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Correlated Subquery doesn't work

Dear D:

You have misspelled "Gauge" as "Guage"

That should do it!

Tom Ellison


"D Witherspoon" wrote in message
...
Whenever I try and run this query a pop-up box comes up asking for the
value of tblWorkLog_Main.GuageID.

Why is this happening. According to the following 2 articles my query
should work. I've never had this problem in SQL Server.
http://www.tek-tips.com/faqs.cfm?fid=4058
http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=209066

Both queries work fine independantly (as long as I remove the reference to
tblWorkLog_Main in the sub query if I run it by itself).

I'm using MS Access 2000.


SELECT WorkLogID, GaugeID, NextCertDue,

(SELECT TOP 1 NextCertDue
FROM tblWorkLog wl
WHERE GaugeID =tblWorkLog_Main.GuageID
AND
WorkLogID 1
ORDER BY NextCertDue Desc) AS DueDate


FROM tblWorkLog tblWorkLog_Main
ORDER BY GaugeID, NextCertDue DESC;







  #3  
Old March 7th, 2006, 05:58 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.queries
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Correlated Subquery doesn't work

Geesh ! Thanks...

Now I get this problem however....

It seems that it doesn't like using Top 1. Arg!

At most one record can be returned by this subquery. (Error 3354)
A subquery of this kind cannot return more than one record. Revise the
SELECT statement of the subquery to request only one record.









"Tom Ellison" wrote in message
...
Dear D:

You have misspelled "Gauge" as "Guage"

That should do it!

Tom Ellison


"D Witherspoon" wrote in message
...
Whenever I try and run this query a pop-up box comes up asking for the
value of tblWorkLog_Main.GuageID.

Why is this happening. According to the following 2 articles my query
should work. I've never had this problem in SQL Server.
http://www.tek-tips.com/faqs.cfm?fid=4058
http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=209066

Both queries work fine independantly (as long as I remove the reference
to tblWorkLog_Main in the sub query if I run it by itself).

I'm using MS Access 2000.


SELECT WorkLogID, GaugeID, NextCertDue,

(SELECT TOP 1 NextCertDue
FROM tblWorkLog wl
WHERE GaugeID =tblWorkLog_Main.GuageID
AND
WorkLogID 1
ORDER BY NextCertDue Desc) AS DueDate


FROM tblWorkLog tblWorkLog_Main
ORDER BY GaugeID, NextCertDue DESC;









  #4  
Old March 7th, 2006, 06:04 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.queries
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Correlated Subquery doesn't work

Hi,


Typo. Guage (goo-age) is not Gauge (go-ge).

Probably late in the day (or early in the morning... :-) )

Hoping it may help,
Vanderghast, Access MVP


"D Witherspoon" wrote in message
...
Whenever I try and run this query a pop-up box comes up asking for the
value of tblWorkLog_Main.GuageID.

Why is this happening. According to the following 2 articles my query
should work. I've never had this problem in SQL Server.
http://www.tek-tips.com/faqs.cfm?fid=4058
http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=209066

Both queries work fine independantly (as long as I remove the reference to
tblWorkLog_Main in the sub query if I run it by itself).

I'm using MS Access 2000.


SELECT WorkLogID, GaugeID, NextCertDue,

(SELECT TOP 1 NextCertDue
FROM tblWorkLog wl
WHERE GaugeID =tblWorkLog_Main.GuageID
AND
WorkLogID 1
ORDER BY NextCertDue Desc) AS DueDate


FROM tblWorkLog tblWorkLog_Main
ORDER BY GaugeID, NextCertDue DESC;







  #5  
Old March 7th, 2006, 06:07 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.queries
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Correlated Subquery doesn't work

Dear Geesh:

If there is a tie for first place, TOP 1 will return more than one row. In
the context of your subquery this would mean you have multiple rows for the
specified GaugeID with the same maximum value of NextCertDue. You might
want to check this.

I recommend changing the subquery:

(SELECT MAX(NextCertDue)
FROM tblWorkLog wl
WHERE GaugeID =tblWorkLog_Main.GuageID
AND WorkLogID 1) AS DueDate

I believe that should fix the new problem.

Tom Ellison


"D Witherspoon" wrote in message
...
Geesh ! Thanks...

Now I get this problem however....

It seems that it doesn't like using Top 1. Arg!

At most one record can be returned by this subquery. (Error 3354)
A subquery of this kind cannot return more than one record. Revise the
SELECT statement of the subquery to request only one record.

"Tom Ellison" wrote in message
...
Dear D:

You have misspelled "Gauge" as "Guage"

That should do it!

Tom Ellison


"D Witherspoon" wrote in message
...
Whenever I try and run this query a pop-up box comes up asking for the
value of tblWorkLog_Main.GuageID.

Why is this happening. According to the following 2 articles my query
should work. I've never had this problem in SQL Server.
http://www.tek-tips.com/faqs.cfm?fid=4058
http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=209066

Both queries work fine independantly (as long as I remove the reference
to tblWorkLog_Main in the sub query if I run it by itself).

I'm using MS Access 2000.


SELECT WorkLogID, GaugeID, NextCertDue,

(SELECT TOP 1 NextCertDue
FROM tblWorkLog wl
WHERE GaugeID =tblWorkLog_Main.GuageID
AND
WorkLogID 1
ORDER BY NextCertDue Desc) AS DueDate


FROM tblWorkLog tblWorkLog_Main
ORDER BY GaugeID, NextCertDue DESC;











  #6  
Old March 7th, 2006, 06:09 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.queries
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Correlated Subquery doesn't work

Hi,


ah. Try

.... (SELECT MAX(NextCertDue) FROM ... ) ...


instead of

.... ( SELECT TOP 1 NextCertDue FROM ... ORDER BY NextCertDue )


since it may occur you there is more than just one record with a given
NextCertDue value, and thus, the TOP 1 would return more than one record
(in Jet, by default, in MS SQL Server, through option WITH TIES).



Hoping it may help,
Vanderghast, Access MVP


"D Witherspoon" wrote in message
...
Geesh ! Thanks...

Now I get this problem however....

It seems that it doesn't like using Top 1. Arg!

At most one record can be returned by this subquery. (Error 3354)
A subquery of this kind cannot return more than one record. Revise the
SELECT statement of the subquery to request only one record.









"Tom Ellison" wrote in message
...
Dear D:

You have misspelled "Gauge" as "Guage"

That should do it!

Tom Ellison


"D Witherspoon" wrote in message
...
Whenever I try and run this query a pop-up box comes up asking for the
value of tblWorkLog_Main.GuageID.

Why is this happening. According to the following 2 articles my query
should work. I've never had this problem in SQL Server.
http://www.tek-tips.com/faqs.cfm?fid=4058
http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=209066

Both queries work fine independantly (as long as I remove the reference
to tblWorkLog_Main in the sub query if I run it by itself).

I'm using MS Access 2000.


SELECT WorkLogID, GaugeID, NextCertDue,

(SELECT TOP 1 NextCertDue
FROM tblWorkLog wl
WHERE GaugeID =tblWorkLog_Main.GuageID
AND
WorkLogID 1
ORDER BY NextCertDue Desc) AS DueDate


FROM tblWorkLog tblWorkLog_Main
ORDER BY GaugeID, NextCertDue DESC;











  #7  
Old March 7th, 2006, 09:07 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.queries
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Correlated Subquery doesn't work

I read somewhere about Top 1 possibly returning two records if there is a
tie. However upon testing I wrote a query that would return two identicle
records and used top 1 and only one record was produced.

Also, I tried the following query using a group by statment with the same
error. A little frustrating, This is essentially the same query you just
wrote down.

SELECT WorkLogID, GaugeID, NextCertDue,

(SELECT Max(NextCertDue)
FROM tblWorkLog wl
WHERE GaugeID =tblWorkLog_Main.GaugeID
AND
WorkLogID tblWorkLog_Main.WorklogID
Group By NextCertDue) AS DueDate
FROM tblWorkLog tblWorkLog_Main
ORDER BY GaugeID, NextCertDue DESC;



"Tom Ellison" wrote in message
...
Dear Geesh:

If there is a tie for first place, TOP 1 will return more than one row.
In the context of your subquery this would mean you have multiple rows for
the specified GaugeID with the same maximum value of NextCertDue. You
might want to check this.

I recommend changing the subquery:

(SELECT MAX(NextCertDue)
FROM tblWorkLog wl
WHERE GaugeID =tblWorkLog_Main.GuageID
AND WorkLogID 1) AS DueDate

I believe that should fix the new problem.

Tom Ellison


"D Witherspoon" wrote in message
...
Geesh ! Thanks...

Now I get this problem however....

It seems that it doesn't like using Top 1. Arg!

At most one record can be returned by this subquery. (Error 3354)
A subquery of this kind cannot return more than one record. Revise the
SELECT statement of the subquery to request only one record.

"Tom Ellison" wrote in message
...
Dear D:

You have misspelled "Gauge" as "Guage"

That should do it!

Tom Ellison


"D Witherspoon" wrote in message
...
Whenever I try and run this query a pop-up box comes up asking for the
value of tblWorkLog_Main.GuageID.

Why is this happening. According to the following 2 articles my query
should work. I've never had this problem in SQL Server.
http://www.tek-tips.com/faqs.cfm?fid=4058
http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=209066

Both queries work fine independantly (as long as I remove the reference
to tblWorkLog_Main in the sub query if I run it by itself).

I'm using MS Access 2000.


SELECT WorkLogID, GaugeID, NextCertDue,

(SELECT TOP 1 NextCertDue
FROM tblWorkLog wl
WHERE GaugeID =tblWorkLog_Main.GuageID
AND
WorkLogID 1
ORDER BY NextCertDue Desc) AS DueDate


FROM tblWorkLog tblWorkLog_Main
ORDER BY GaugeID, NextCertDue DESC;













  #8  
Old March 7th, 2006, 09:09 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.queries
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Correlated Subquery doesn't work

I think I got it to work now....

I modified the subquery a little bit and got rid of the group by. Not sure
why it makes a difference.

"Tom Ellison" wrote in message
...
Dear Geesh:

If there is a tie for first place, TOP 1 will return more than one row.
In the context of your subquery this would mean you have multiple rows for
the specified GaugeID with the same maximum value of NextCertDue. You
might want to check this.

I recommend changing the subquery:

(SELECT MAX(NextCertDue)
FROM tblWorkLog wl
WHERE GaugeID =tblWorkLog_Main.GuageID
AND WorkLogID 1) AS DueDate

I believe that should fix the new problem.

Tom Ellison


"D Witherspoon" wrote in message
...
Geesh ! Thanks...

Now I get this problem however....

It seems that it doesn't like using Top 1. Arg!

At most one record can be returned by this subquery. (Error 3354)
A subquery of this kind cannot return more than one record. Revise the
SELECT statement of the subquery to request only one record.

"Tom Ellison" wrote in message
...
Dear D:

You have misspelled "Gauge" as "Guage"

That should do it!

Tom Ellison


"D Witherspoon" wrote in message
...
Whenever I try and run this query a pop-up box comes up asking for the
value of tblWorkLog_Main.GuageID.

Why is this happening. According to the following 2 articles my query
should work. I've never had this problem in SQL Server.
http://www.tek-tips.com/faqs.cfm?fid=4058
http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=209066

Both queries work fine independantly (as long as I remove the reference
to tblWorkLog_Main in the sub query if I run it by itself).

I'm using MS Access 2000.


SELECT WorkLogID, GaugeID, NextCertDue,

(SELECT TOP 1 NextCertDue
FROM tblWorkLog wl
WHERE GaugeID =tblWorkLog_Main.GuageID
AND
WorkLogID 1
ORDER BY NextCertDue Desc) AS DueDate


FROM tblWorkLog tblWorkLog_Main
ORDER BY GaugeID, NextCertDue DESC;













 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please Help?? Auto Update Field in table A. Smart General Discussion 8 February 2nd, 2006 01:19 PM
Tricky query grouping JLamb Running & Setting Up Queries 4 November 2nd, 2005 09:38 PM
how do I create a work order form cher952 Using Forms 1 March 14th, 2005 05:09 PM
Work Areas in a database LMB New Users 3 October 4th, 2004 11:31 PM
"Work Offline" Menu and "Exit" Menu MSHUME General Discussion 1 September 27th, 2004 09:17 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.