A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Office » General Discussions
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Remove Hidden Data tool will not install



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old April 14th, 2005, 04:29 AM
Felix
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I am dying to get a solution to this!!

I don't have a 3rd pty app in those positions, so I think I will need a copy
of you .dot file and sub that into mine... can you email me the file to my
email at ?

Ill try it and see if it works? In what file directory should I put it, and
should I do it after I install the add-in, or before?

Thanks,
Felix


"saugatak" wrote:


I wonder if anyone is still reading this thread?

I believe I figured out the problem and a "hack" solution.

Beth Melton is correct. The Remove Hidden Data Tool wants to install
itself between "Save As Web Page" and "File Search."

If you have another command/macro in that spot because of a 3rd party
app (in my case, TimeMatters), then there is a conflict and you get
that silly error message.

In my case, although TimeMatters (and its macro) is installed on both
Desktop A and B, for some reason on Desktop A, the remove hidden data
tool installed correctly on A and placed the "Remove Hidden Data"
command on the File menu UNDER the "File Search" command.

All I did to solve the problem was copy the "RHD.DOT" from Desktop A
and put it into the appropriate folder into Desktop B.

Voila, it worked! Why it installed one way on Desktop A but not on
Desktop B is beyond me. I do have more apps and background processes
on Desktop B, so maybe there was a conflict, but who knows?

I tried to attach my copy of "RHD.DOT" (which puts the "Remove Hidden
Data" under the "File Search" command and avoids the conflict described
above), but this website won't let me.

If someone could let me know how I can post a copy of the RHD.DOT "fix"
for the rest of you, I'd appreciate it.



--
saugatak
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Posted via
http://www.mcse.ms
------------------------------------------------------------------------
View this thread: http://www.mcse.ms/message1262597.html


Ads
  #32  
Old July 26th, 2007, 06:25 PM posted to microsoft.public.office.misc
duncan21
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1
Default Remove Hidden Data tool will not install


We are seeing this problem here at my company and I've been tasked with
doing research on it. From what I can tell, it is profile-specific as I
can create a new profile and not have this issue. Alas, while creating a
new profile seems to solve it, I hate doing it -- so I decided to try
digging a little more.

Here is what worked for me:

1. Close *Word *and uninstall the *Remove Hidden Data Tool* from
*Add/Remove Programs*.
2. Delete *all temporary files created by Word*, which should all
follow a *~$filename.doc* pattern. I used the -Windows Search- feature
and used a wildcard to find all the files (i.e. *~$*.doc*).
3. Delete all *normal.dot* files. Once again, use the -Windows Search-
feature.
4. Empty the *Recycle Bin*.
5. Open *Word*. From the *View* menu, select *Toolbars*, then
*Customize*.
6. Under the *Toolbars* tab, reset any toolbars that are checked. Some
may not allow you to reset them, but that's OK.
7. Under the *Options* tab, click the *Reset menu and toolbar usage
data* button. When asked if you are sure you want to do this, click the
*Yes* button, then close the *Customize* window.
8. Close *Word*, then re-install the *Remove Hidden Data Tool*.

You may not need all of the steps outlined above (specifically steps 2,
3 and 4), but since I haven't tested the fix without these steps, I
figured I'd include them. Steps 1 and 8 have to be performed with an
account with administrative privileges, but steps 2 through 7 should be
performed under the profile of the person actually having the issue. If
the account having the issue has administrative rights, then you're all
set to fix the problem in one sitting.

Please let me know if this works!

Ryan Tovar
-A+ Certified Technician
Microsoft Certified Desktop Support Technician
All-Around Swell Guy-


--
duncan21
------------------------------------------------------------------------
duncan21's Profile: http://forums.techarena.in/member.php?userid=28559
View this thread: http://forums.techarena.in/showthread.php?t=24738

http://forums.techarena.in

  #33  
Old August 1st, 2007, 11:27 PM posted to microsoft.public.office.misc
Ken664
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1
Default Remove Hidden Data tool will not install


I'm very interested in this workaround. About a year ago I lost use of
RHD after previously using it a lot.

Microsoft fixed this for me (for free) but it entailed about 3 hrs of
my time, long discussions with their techs and reinstalling Word and
then all its subsequent updates after resetting various system
parameters. A huge undertaking I wasn't prepared to undergo again -
however, a total system crash after a round of updates last month (now
there's another story!) has left RHD disconnected and non-functional
again.

This fix seems easier than the previous undertaking so am about to have
ago.

Thanks for the advice and hope it works.

Ken


--
Ken664
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ken664's Profile: http://forums.techarena.in/member.php?userid=28789
View this thread: http://forums.techarena.in/showthread.php?t=24738

http://forums.techarena.in

  #34  
Old August 9th, 2007, 08:44 PM posted to microsoft.public.office.misc
duncan21[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1
Default Remove Hidden Data tool will not install


Ken664,

When you say it didn't work, are you referring to the outlined steps,
the creation of the new profile, or both?

-Ryan Tovar
A+ Certified Technician
Microsoft Certified Desktop Support Technician
All-Around Swell Guy-


--
duncan21
------------------------------------------------------------------------
duncan21's Profile: http://forums.techarena.in/member.php?userid=28559
View this thread: http://forums.techarena.in/showthread.php?t=24738

http://forums.techarena.in

  #35  
Old August 10th, 2007, 02:31 PM posted to microsoft.public.office.misc
Ken664[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1
Default Remove Hidden Data tool will not install


Hi

I followed the steps as outlined (3 times in total, in fact, just
testing myself in case I had fouled up on an earlier step at some
point), but didn't need to recreate a profile as I am the admin
profile, being a single user.

I'd be pleased to try anything that might work (beyond the interminable
MS solution) if you have any other suggestions. Thanks for your
continuing interest.

Ken


--
Ken664
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ken664's Profile: http://forums.techarena.in/member.php?userid=28789
View this thread: http://forums.techarena.in/showthread.php?t=24738

http://forums.techarena.in

  #36  
Old August 17th, 2007, 03:35 PM posted to microsoft.public.office.misc
Ken664[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1
Default Remove Hidden Data tool will not install


Eureka - here is the solution everyone, and no reinstalls or new
profiles at all, and like everything, it is so simple (but missed by MS
and my work IT technicians)!

Stumbled on this when fixing a similar loss of Acrobat PDF maker in my
work laptop (fixes that problem too).

It seems to have come about because of Word running in 'safe mode' (at
some point - who knows why). This disables any add-in modules. But
when you restart Word normally, they are not re-enabled automatically
- it has to be done manually.

Solution in 10 clicks :
Open Word
Click 'Help'
Click 'About MS Word'
Click 'Disabled items'
Select RHD tool reference
Click' Enable'
Click 'Close'
Click 'OK'
Close Word
Restart Word .... sorted.

Don't applaud, just throw money! :-)

Ken


--
Ken664
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ken664's Profile: http://forums.techarena.in/member.php?userid=28789
View this thread: http://forums.techarena.in/showthread.php?t=24738

http://forums.techarena.in

  #37  
Old August 27th, 2007, 06:05 PM posted to microsoft.public.office.misc
duncan21[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1
Default Remove Hidden Data tool will not install


Ken664,

I had another user come to me with the Remove Hidden Data Tool error
today. I followed your instructions and checked the Disabled Items from
within Word, but there was nothing listed as disabled. I tried the
instructions from my previous post about resetting the toolbars and
such (which had worked before) -- no luck there, either. Out of
frustration, I resorted to creating a new profile and migrating the
data from the old to the new one (Desktop items, My Document items, IE
Favorites, etc) and this finally fixed the issue.

I want to say that the root cause definitely lies within the profile;
however, I don't think anyone has come up with a "magic bullet"
solution that takes care of the issue 100% of the time with a scalpel
instead of a broadsword (i.e. creating the new profile).


--
duncan21
------------------------------------------------------------------------
duncan21's Profile: http://forums.techarena.in/member.php?userid=28559
View this thread: http://forums.techarena.in/showthread.php?t=24738

http://forums.techarena.in

  #38  
Old September 6th, 2007, 03:50 PM posted to microsoft.public.office.misc
Warren
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 160
Default Remove Hidden Data tool will not install

I did both duncan21's fix and Ken664's fix but neither one worked. Checked
both over several times. Anything else to try? (I'm not going to reinstall
Office, so I guess I'll probably end up doing without the Remove Hidden Data
tool.)
--
Thanks for your help.
Warren

"duncan21" wrote:


We are seeing this problem here at my company and I've been tasked with
doing research on it. From what I can tell, it is profile-specific as I
can create a new profile and not have this issue. Alas, while creating a
new profile seems to solve it, I hate doing it -- so I decided to try
digging a little more.

Here is what worked for me:

1. Close *Word *and uninstall the *Remove Hidden Data Tool* from
*Add/Remove Programs*.
2. Delete *all temporary files created by Word*, which should all
follow a *~$filename.doc* pattern. I used the -Windows Search- feature
and used a wildcard to find all the files (i.e. *~$*.doc*).
3. Delete all *normal.dot* files. Once again, use the -Windows Search-
feature.
4. Empty the *Recycle Bin*.
5. Open *Word*. From the *View* menu, select *Toolbars*, then
*Customize*.
6. Under the *Toolbars* tab, reset any toolbars that are checked. Some
may not allow you to reset them, but that's OK.
7. Under the *Options* tab, click the *Reset menu and toolbar usage
data* button. When asked if you are sure you want to do this, click the
*Yes* button, then close the *Customize* window.
8. Close *Word*, then re-install the *Remove Hidden Data Tool*.

You may not need all of the steps outlined above (specifically steps 2,
3 and 4), but since I haven't tested the fix without these steps, I
figured I'd include them. Steps 1 and 8 have to be performed with an
account with administrative privileges, but steps 2 through 7 should be
performed under the profile of the person actually having the issue. If
the account having the issue has administrative rights, then you're all
set to fix the problem in one sitting.

Please let me know if this works!

Ryan Tovar
-A+ Certified Technician
Microsoft Certified Desktop Support Technician
All-Around Swell Guy-


--
duncan21
------------------------------------------------------------------------
duncan21's Profile: http://forums.techarena.in/member.php?userid=28559
View this thread: http://forums.techarena.in/showthread.php?t=24738

http://forums.techarena.in


  #39  
Old September 6th, 2007, 04:10 PM posted to microsoft.public.office.misc
Warren
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 160
Default Remove Hidden Data tool will not install

I went back to duncan21's fix again to double check the steps. It seems that
I didn't delete one of the normal.dot files. I redid everything, followed his
steps and now the Remove tool works.

--
Thanks for your help.
Warren


"Warren" wrote:

I did both duncan21's fix and Ken664's fix but neither one worked. Checked
both over several times. Anything else to try? (I'm not going to reinstall
Office, so I guess I'll probably end up doing without the Remove Hidden Data
tool.)
--
Thanks for your help.
Warren

"duncan21" wrote:


We are seeing this problem here at my company and I've been tasked with
doing research on it. From what I can tell, it is profile-specific as I
can create a new profile and not have this issue. Alas, while creating a
new profile seems to solve it, I hate doing it -- so I decided to try
digging a little more.

Here is what worked for me:

1. Close *Word *and uninstall the *Remove Hidden Data Tool* from
*Add/Remove Programs*.
2. Delete *all temporary files created by Word*, which should all
follow a *~$filename.doc* pattern. I used the -Windows Search- feature
and used a wildcard to find all the files (i.e. *~$*.doc*).
3. Delete all *normal.dot* files. Once again, use the -Windows Search-
feature.
4. Empty the *Recycle Bin*.
5. Open *Word*. From the *View* menu, select *Toolbars*, then
*Customize*.
6. Under the *Toolbars* tab, reset any toolbars that are checked. Some
may not allow you to reset them, but that's OK.
7. Under the *Options* tab, click the *Reset menu and toolbar usage
data* button. When asked if you are sure you want to do this, click the
*Yes* button, then close the *Customize* window.
8. Close *Word*, then re-install the *Remove Hidden Data Tool*.

You may not need all of the steps outlined above (specifically steps 2,
3 and 4), but since I haven't tested the fix without these steps, I
figured I'd include them. Steps 1 and 8 have to be performed with an
account with administrative privileges, but steps 2 through 7 should be
performed under the profile of the person actually having the issue. If
the account having the issue has administrative rights, then you're all
set to fix the problem in one sitting.

Please let me know if this works!

Ryan Tovar
-A+ Certified Technician
Microsoft Certified Desktop Support Technician
All-Around Swell Guy-


--
duncan21
------------------------------------------------------------------------
duncan21's Profile: http://forums.techarena.in/member.php?userid=28559
View this thread: http://forums.techarena.in/showthread.php?t=24738

http://forums.techarena.in


  #40  
Old April 7th, 2008, 04:53 PM posted to microsoft.public.office.misc
jlyatesjr
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1
Default Remove Hidden Data tool will not install


Hello, I had to do the above steps twice before it took hold but it did
work.
Thanks!!

-----------
Eureka - here is the solution everyone, and no reinstalls or new
profiles at all, and like everything, it is so simple (but missed by
MS
and my work IT technicians)!

Stumbled on this when fixing a similar loss of Acrobat PDF maker in my
work laptop (fixes that problem too).

It seems to have come about because of Word running in 'safe mode' (at
some point - who knows why). This disables any add-in modules. But
when you restart Word normally, they are not re-enabled automatically
- it has to be done manually.

Solution in 10 clicks :
Open Word
Click 'Help'
Click 'About MS Word'
Click 'Disabled items'
Select RHD tool reference
Click' Enable'
Click 'Close'
Click 'OK'
Close Word
Restart Word .... sorted.

Don't applaud, just throw money! :-)

Ken


--
Ken664


--
jlyatesjr
http://www.techtalkz.com - Technology and Computer Troubleshooting Forums

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rapid input Via datasheet RudyR_Seattle General Discussion 4 January 31st, 2005 01:33 AM
VBA Code problem error 9 Speedy General Discussion 19 October 15th, 2004 09:05 PM
Data Source issues. ??data.access.pages Phil Database Design 2 October 11th, 2004 02:42 AM
Data Source issues Philippe Database Design 1 October 10th, 2004 09:45 PM
Remove Hidden Data Tool and Accept All Changes in Document Natalie Diem General Discussion 2 August 20th, 2004 06:12 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.