A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » New Users
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

OPen form to new record



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 15th, 2006, 07:06 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default OPen form to new record

I have a data entry form for my database and want it to open up at a new
record each time I open it. I'm sure I had an example of this filed away on
my PC somewhere but I can't find it! Can someone remind me please?



Regards,



Gavin


  #2  
Old February 15th, 2006, 07:11 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default OPen form to new record

gavin wrote:
I have a data entry form for my database and want it to open up at a
new record each time I open it. I'm sure I had an example of this
filed away on my PC somewhere but I can't find it! Can someone remind
me please?


Set the DataEntry property of the form to Yes.

--
I don't check the Email account attached
to this message. Send instead to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com


  #3  
Old February 15th, 2006, 07:22 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default OPen form to new record


"Rick Brandt" wrote in message
. com...
gavin wrote:
I have a data entry form for my database and want it to open up at a
new record each time I open it. I'm sure I had an example of this
filed away on my PC somewhere but I can't find it! Can someone remind
me please?


Set the DataEntry property of the form to Yes.


Is it really that simple? I hang my head in shame :-( Thanks very much,
Rick!


Gavin


  #4  
Old February 15th, 2006, 10:01 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default OPen form to new record

In addition to what Rick wrote, if you want to open it to a new record but
be able to view/edit other records through this form as opposed to using it
strictly for data entry, then you'll want a slightly different approach.

Set its DataEntry property to No.

In those instance where you want to open it in DataEntry mode, specify it in
the DoCmd statement

DoCmd.OpenForm "MyForm ,,,,acFormAdd

Otherwise, you can use the following to take you to a new record, but allow
you to view and edit existing records:

DoCmd.OpenForm "MyForm"
DoCmd.GoToRecord ,, acNewRec

Brian


"gavin" wrote in message
...

"Rick Brandt" wrote in message
. com...
gavin wrote:
I have a data entry form for my database and want it to open up at a
new record each time I open it. I'm sure I had an example of this
filed away on my PC somewhere but I can't find it! Can someone remind
me please?


Set the DataEntry property of the form to Yes.


Is it really that simple? I hang my head in shame :-( Thanks very much,
Rick!


Gavin




  #5  
Old February 16th, 2006, 06:36 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default OPen form to new record


"Brian Bastl" wrote in message
...
In addition to what Rick wrote, if you want to open it to a new record but
be able to view/edit other records through this form as opposed to using

it
strictly for data entry, then you'll want a slightly different approach.

Set its DataEntry property to No.

In those instance where you want to open it in DataEntry mode, specify it

in
the DoCmd statement

DoCmd.OpenForm "MyForm ,,,,acFormAdd

Otherwise, you can use the following to take you to a new record, but

allow
you to view and edit existing records:

DoCmd.OpenForm "MyForm"
DoCmd.GoToRecord ,, acNewRec

Brian


Hi Brian,
Thanks for the reply - I'm not very experienced with VBA - where do I put
this code?


Regards,



Gavin


  #6  
Old February 16th, 2006, 07:12 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default OPen form to new record

1. Open form in design view
2. Right-click on its title bar
3. Select Properties to open the form's property sheet

If you only want to use the form for data entry and not for editing, then
click the "All" tab and then find the line for Data Entry. Change this from
No to Yes.

If you always want to begin at a new record but also allow existing records
to be view and edited in the same form instance, then you have two options.
******************************************
Option 1 (not always the best approach): follow steps 4 thru 10.

4. Click on the "Events" tab
5. Click on the words "On Load"
6. Directly to the right, click the down arrow and select [Event Procedure]
7. Directly to the right of that, there will be a button which looks like
[...]
8. Click it to open the vba editor
9. You'll now see some text which looks like the following:
Private Sub Form_Load()
End Sub

On a blank line between those two, you'd type:
DoCmd.GoToRecord ,, acNewRec

10. Click the "Save" button and then on the application's menu bar, go to
Debug | Compile. If you get no errors, close the editor, and then the form.
Then re-open the form normally to see if it works like you want.
****************************************

Option 2 uses a command button on another form:

Follow steps 1 - 3, but obviously opening a different form
Add a command button by clicking on the toolbox
Follow the Wizard dialogue
When finished, right click the new command button and click "Build" to open
the vba editor. On a blank line directly following "DoCmd.OpenForm .....

type: DoCmd.GoToRecord ,, acNewRec

See #10 above
*******************************************



HTH,
Brian




"gavin" wrote in message
...

"Brian Bastl" wrote in message
...
In addition to what Rick wrote, if you want to open it to a new record

but
be able to view/edit other records through this form as opposed to using

it
strictly for data entry, then you'll want a slightly different approach.

Set its DataEntry property to No.

In those instance where you want to open it in DataEntry mode, specify

it
in
the DoCmd statement

DoCmd.OpenForm "MyForm ,,,,acFormAdd

Otherwise, you can use the following to take you to a new record, but

allow
you to view and edit existing records:

DoCmd.OpenForm "MyForm"
DoCmd.GoToRecord ,, acNewRec

Brian


Hi Brian,
Thanks for the reply - I'm not very experienced with VBA - where do I put
this code?


Regards,



Gavin




 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Parameter thru Form Dialog Box for REPORT Sandy Setting Up & Running Reports 16 January 10th, 2006 10:06 AM
Form won't open report from preview button jwr Using Forms 5 October 29th, 2005 04:53 PM
Open form to specific record Madmax via AccessMonster.com Using Forms 7 September 29th, 2005 06:53 AM
Need Help In Printing Current Record in Specific Report RNUSZ@OKDPS Setting Up & Running Reports 1 May 16th, 2005 09:06 PM
Form drops edited record-inserts new record instead karenk10 General Discussion 0 September 22nd, 2004 10:19 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.