A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Running & Setting Up Queries
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Running total from query



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 26th, 2007, 12:11 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.queries
Confused_Dave
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4
Default Running total from query

Hi,

I'm building a database which will be used to monitor expenditure over
several site.
I'm having trouble finding a way to create a running total for each site. I
have one query which asks for user input to select a site, criteria = [Please
enter site Name]. This query works fine and displays all site matching the
criteria but i want to be able to display a running total of expenditure for
each site. Does anyone have any suggestions of how i can do this?

Hope this makes sense

Thank You

Dave
  #2  
Old February 26th, 2007, 01:38 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.queries
Jeff Boyce
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,555
Default Running total from query

Dave

This is something quite simple if you use a report based on your query. Add
a textbox to the report, set the Running Sum property.

--
Regards

Jeff Boyce
Microsoft Office/Access MVP
http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/

Microsoft IT Academy Program Mentor
http://microsoftitacademy.com/

Microsoft Registered Partner
https://partner.microsoft.com/


"Confused_Dave" wrote in message
...
Hi,

I'm building a database which will be used to monitor expenditure over
several site.
I'm having trouble finding a way to create a running total for each site.

I
have one query which asks for user input to select a site, criteria =

[Please
enter site Name]. This query works fine and displays all site matching the
criteria but i want to be able to display a running total of expenditure

for
each site. Does anyone have any suggestions of how i can do this?

Hope this makes sense

Thank You

Dave


  #3  
Old February 26th, 2007, 02:13 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.queries
Confused_Dave
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4
Default Running total from query

Thank You Jeff,

Is it possible to get the same output on a form?

Dave

"Jeff Boyce" wrote:

Dave

This is something quite simple if you use a report based on your query. Add
a textbox to the report, set the Running Sum property.

--
Regards

Jeff Boyce
Microsoft Office/Access MVP
http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/

Microsoft IT Academy Program Mentor
http://microsoftitacademy.com/

Microsoft Registered Partner
https://partner.microsoft.com/


"Confused_Dave" wrote in message
...
Hi,

I'm building a database which will be used to monitor expenditure over
several site.
I'm having trouble finding a way to create a running total for each site.

I
have one query which asks for user input to select a site, criteria =

[Please
enter site Name]. This query works fine and displays all site matching the
criteria but i want to be able to display a running total of expenditure

for
each site. Does anyone have any suggestions of how i can do this?

Hope this makes sense

Thank You

Dave



  #4  
Old February 26th, 2007, 02:52 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.queries
Duane Hookom
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,177
Default Running total from query

Since we don't know much about your tables and fields, open Northwind and
create a new query based on the Orders table. To get a running sum of Freight
by Customer, use this SQL:
SELECT Orders.CustomerID, Orders.OrderDate, Orders.Freight,
(SELECT Sum(Freight)
FROM Orders O
WHERE O.CustomerID = Orders.CustomerID and O.OrderDate=Orders.OrderDate)
AS RunSumFreight
FROM Orders
ORDER BY Orders.CustomerID, Orders.OrderDate;

--
Duane Hookom
Microsoft Access MVP


"Confused_Dave" wrote:

Thank You Jeff,

Is it possible to get the same output on a form?

Dave

"Jeff Boyce" wrote:

Dave

This is something quite simple if you use a report based on your query. Add
a textbox to the report, set the Running Sum property.

--
Regards

Jeff Boyce
Microsoft Office/Access MVP
http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/

Microsoft IT Academy Program Mentor
http://microsoftitacademy.com/

Microsoft Registered Partner
https://partner.microsoft.com/


"Confused_Dave" wrote in message
...
Hi,

I'm building a database which will be used to monitor expenditure over
several site.
I'm having trouble finding a way to create a running total for each site.

I
have one query which asks for user input to select a site, criteria =

[Please
enter site Name]. This query works fine and displays all site matching the
criteria but i want to be able to display a running total of expenditure

for
each site. Does anyone have any suggestions of how i can do this?

Hope this makes sense

Thank You

Dave



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.