A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Using specific record in continuous form for event?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 10th, 2006, 09:44 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Niniel
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 582
Default Using specific record in continuous form for event?

Hello,

I have a continuous subform that shows 2 records consisting of a text field
and a yes/no field.
I was wondering if it was possible to take the state of one particular of
the yes/no fields to trigger an event. Specifically, when one of the
questions is checked [true] then I would like to make visible another subform
on the main form.

Can this be done, and if so, how, or should I just leave my subform visible
at all times?

Thank you.
  #2  
Old October 10th, 2006, 09:54 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Klatuu
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,074
Default Using specific record in continuous form for event?

Use the form' Current Event (that is the form that is the subform) and check
the value of the Yes/No Field

If Not Me.NewRecord And Me.YesNoControl = True Then
'Open the Subform
End If

"Niniel" wrote:

Hello,

I have a continuous subform that shows 2 records consisting of a text field
and a yes/no field.
I was wondering if it was possible to take the state of one particular of
the yes/no fields to trigger an event. Specifically, when one of the
questions is checked [true] then I would like to make visible another subform
on the main form.

Can this be done, and if so, how, or should I just leave my subform visible
at all times?

Thank you.

  #3  
Old October 10th, 2006, 10:57 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Niniel
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 582
Default Using specific record in continuous form for event?

Thank you.
I don't quite understand, however, how this works though since there are 2
check boxes in form view, and only 1 in design view - how do I make sure only
the one I want triggers the event, and not either of the two?
Maybe the code you posted already takes care of that - I haven't tried it
out yet - but just from looking at it I can't tell.
The 2 records in the first subform won't change, I pull them from a separate
table.

"Klatuu" wrote:

Use the form' Current Event (that is the form that is the subform) and check
the value of the Yes/No Field

If Not Me.NewRecord And Me.YesNoControl = True Then
'Open the Subform
End If

"Niniel" wrote:

Hello,

I have a continuous subform that shows 2 records consisting of a text field
and a yes/no field.
I was wondering if it was possible to take the state of one particular of
the yes/no fields to trigger an event. Specifically, when one of the
questions is checked [true] then I would like to make visible another subform
on the main form.

Can this be done, and if so, how, or should I just leave my subform visible
at all times?

Thank you.

  #4  
Old October 11th, 2006, 01:58 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Klatuu
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,074
Default Using specific record in continuous form for event?

If there is only one in design view, then there really is only one. The two
you are seeing are the same check box - One instance for each record. The
code I posted will affect the one that is the current record of the subform's
recordset.

"Niniel" wrote:

Thank you.
I don't quite understand, however, how this works though since there are 2
check boxes in form view, and only 1 in design view - how do I make sure only
the one I want triggers the event, and not either of the two?
Maybe the code you posted already takes care of that - I haven't tried it
out yet - but just from looking at it I can't tell.
The 2 records in the first subform won't change, I pull them from a separate
table.

"Klatuu" wrote:

Use the form' Current Event (that is the form that is the subform) and check
the value of the Yes/No Field

If Not Me.NewRecord And Me.YesNoControl = True Then
'Open the Subform
End If

"Niniel" wrote:

Hello,

I have a continuous subform that shows 2 records consisting of a text field
and a yes/no field.
I was wondering if it was possible to take the state of one particular of
the yes/no fields to trigger an event. Specifically, when one of the
questions is checked [true] then I would like to make visible another subform
on the main form.

Can this be done, and if so, how, or should I just leave my subform visible
at all times?

Thank you.

  #5  
Old October 11th, 2006, 04:16 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Niniel
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 582
Default Using specific record in continuous form for event?

But doesn't that mean that either checkbox could be the current one? Both
checkboxes can be checked at the same time, or both can be unchecked, or
either one can be checked with the other remaining unchecked.

I'm afraid I still dont' understand, so I would be grateful if you could
explain this a bit more.

Thank you.


"Klatuu" wrote:

If there is only one in design view, then there really is only one. The two
you are seeing are the same check box - One instance for each record. The
code I posted will affect the one that is the current record of the subform's
recordset.

"Niniel" wrote:

Thank you.
I don't quite understand, however, how this works though since there are 2
check boxes in form view, and only 1 in design view - how do I make sure only
the one I want triggers the event, and not either of the two?
Maybe the code you posted already takes care of that - I haven't tried it
out yet - but just from looking at it I can't tell.
The 2 records in the first subform won't change, I pull them from a separate
table.

"Klatuu" wrote:

Use the form' Current Event (that is the form that is the subform) and check
the value of the Yes/No Field

If Not Me.NewRecord And Me.YesNoControl = True Then
'Open the Subform
End If

"Niniel" wrote:

Hello,

I have a continuous subform that shows 2 records consisting of a text field
and a yes/no field.
I was wondering if it was possible to take the state of one particular of
the yes/no fields to trigger an event. Specifically, when one of the
questions is checked [true] then I would like to make visible another subform
on the main form.

Can this be done, and if so, how, or should I just leave my subform visible
at all times?

Thank you.

  #6  
Old October 11th, 2006, 04:23 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Klatuu
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,074
Default Using specific record in continuous form for event?

When you address a control in a form. The action applies to the Current
Record. (There are some exceptions for continuous and datasheet forms, but
they don't apply to this situation).
If you position on the first record and cause it's check box to be checked.
The other record's check box will not be affected. Then you move to the
other record and check it's check box. Now both are checked.
The values in the fields for one record are not affected by the values in
the fields for another record (unless you code something to cause that to
happen)

"Niniel" wrote:

But doesn't that mean that either checkbox could be the current one? Both
checkboxes can be checked at the same time, or both can be unchecked, or
either one can be checked with the other remaining unchecked.

I'm afraid I still dont' understand, so I would be grateful if you could
explain this a bit more.

Thank you.


"Klatuu" wrote:

If there is only one in design view, then there really is only one. The two
you are seeing are the same check box - One instance for each record. The
code I posted will affect the one that is the current record of the subform's
recordset.

"Niniel" wrote:

Thank you.
I don't quite understand, however, how this works though since there are 2
check boxes in form view, and only 1 in design view - how do I make sure only
the one I want triggers the event, and not either of the two?
Maybe the code you posted already takes care of that - I haven't tried it
out yet - but just from looking at it I can't tell.
The 2 records in the first subform won't change, I pull them from a separate
table.

"Klatuu" wrote:

Use the form' Current Event (that is the form that is the subform) and check
the value of the Yes/No Field

If Not Me.NewRecord And Me.YesNoControl = True Then
'Open the Subform
End If

"Niniel" wrote:

Hello,

I have a continuous subform that shows 2 records consisting of a text field
and a yes/no field.
I was wondering if it was possible to take the state of one particular of
the yes/no fields to trigger an event. Specifically, when one of the
questions is checked [true] then I would like to make visible another subform
on the main form.

Can this be done, and if so, how, or should I just leave my subform visible
at all times?

Thank you.

  #7  
Old October 11th, 2006, 05:23 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Niniel
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 582
Default Using specific record in continuous form for event?

My subform is a continuous form though, so maybe these exceptions do apply.
The subform displays records from a table that were created in an append
operation earlier, so I don't see which of these records could be considered
more "current" than the other.
That first table is a child table to my main parent table, and the other
subform I would like to control is based on another child table.

Does this help you understand my setup better?


"Klatuu" wrote:

When you address a control in a form. The action applies to the Current
Record. (There are some exceptions for continuous and datasheet forms, but
they don't apply to this situation).
If you position on the first record and cause it's check box to be checked.
The other record's check box will not be affected. Then you move to the
other record and check it's check box. Now both are checked.
The values in the fields for one record are not affected by the values in
the fields for another record (unless you code something to cause that to
happen)

"Niniel" wrote:

But doesn't that mean that either checkbox could be the current one? Both
checkboxes can be checked at the same time, or both can be unchecked, or
either one can be checked with the other remaining unchecked.

I'm afraid I still dont' understand, so I would be grateful if you could
explain this a bit more.

Thank you.


"Klatuu" wrote:

If there is only one in design view, then there really is only one. The two
you are seeing are the same check box - One instance for each record. The
code I posted will affect the one that is the current record of the subform's
recordset.

"Niniel" wrote:

Thank you.
I don't quite understand, however, how this works though since there are 2
check boxes in form view, and only 1 in design view - how do I make sure only
the one I want triggers the event, and not either of the two?
Maybe the code you posted already takes care of that - I haven't tried it
out yet - but just from looking at it I can't tell.
The 2 records in the first subform won't change, I pull them from a separate
table.

"Klatuu" wrote:

Use the form' Current Event (that is the form that is the subform) and check
the value of the Yes/No Field

If Not Me.NewRecord And Me.YesNoControl = True Then
'Open the Subform
End If

"Niniel" wrote:

Hello,

I have a continuous subform that shows 2 records consisting of a text field
and a yes/no field.
I was wondering if it was possible to take the state of one particular of
the yes/no fields to trigger an event. Specifically, when one of the
questions is checked [true] then I would like to make visible another subform
on the main form.

Can this be done, and if so, how, or should I just leave my subform visible
at all times?

Thank you.

  #8  
Old October 11th, 2006, 05:53 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Niniel
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 582
Default Using specific record in continuous form for event?

Hm, maybe I can do something like this:

Look up current [parent] record id, and if QuestionID x for that record ID
is true, then make subform2 visible.

How would that have to be coded?
This is probably totally wrong:

if [Forms]![frmActivityApplicationForm]![ActivityID] and
tblActivityAnswers.QuestionID(99) = true then
subform2.visible = true
else subform2.visible = false [is an else statement always required?]
end if

"Niniel" wrote:

My subform is a continuous form though, so maybe these exceptions do apply.
The subform displays records from a table that were created in an append
operation earlier, so I don't see which of these records could be considered
more "current" than the other.
That first table is a child table to my main parent table, and the other
subform I would like to control is based on another child table.

Does this help you understand my setup better?


"Klatuu" wrote:

When you address a control in a form. The action applies to the Current
Record. (There are some exceptions for continuous and datasheet forms, but
they don't apply to this situation).
If you position on the first record and cause it's check box to be checked.
The other record's check box will not be affected. Then you move to the
other record and check it's check box. Now both are checked.
The values in the fields for one record are not affected by the values in
the fields for another record (unless you code something to cause that to
happen)

"Niniel" wrote:

But doesn't that mean that either checkbox could be the current one? Both
checkboxes can be checked at the same time, or both can be unchecked, or
either one can be checked with the other remaining unchecked.

I'm afraid I still dont' understand, so I would be grateful if you could
explain this a bit more.

Thank you.


"Klatuu" wrote:

If there is only one in design view, then there really is only one. The two
you are seeing are the same check box - One instance for each record. The
code I posted will affect the one that is the current record of the subform's
recordset.

"Niniel" wrote:

Thank you.
I don't quite understand, however, how this works though since there are 2
check boxes in form view, and only 1 in design view - how do I make sure only
the one I want triggers the event, and not either of the two?
Maybe the code you posted already takes care of that - I haven't tried it
out yet - but just from looking at it I can't tell.
The 2 records in the first subform won't change, I pull them from a separate
table.

"Klatuu" wrote:

Use the form' Current Event (that is the form that is the subform) and check
the value of the Yes/No Field

If Not Me.NewRecord And Me.YesNoControl = True Then
'Open the Subform
End If

"Niniel" wrote:

Hello,

I have a continuous subform that shows 2 records consisting of a text field
and a yes/no field.
I was wondering if it was possible to take the state of one particular of
the yes/no fields to trigger an event. Specifically, when one of the
questions is checked [true] then I would like to make visible another subform
on the main form.

Can this be done, and if so, how, or should I just leave my subform visible
at all times?

Thank you.

  #9  
Old October 11th, 2006, 06:13 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Klatuu
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,074
Default Using specific record in continuous form for event?

First, try what I suggested.

"Niniel" wrote:

Hm, maybe I can do something like this:

Look up current [parent] record id, and if QuestionID x for that record ID
is true, then make subform2 visible.

How would that have to be coded?
This is probably totally wrong:

if [Forms]![frmActivityApplicationForm]![ActivityID] and
tblActivityAnswers.QuestionID(99) = true then
subform2.visible = true
else subform2.visible = false [is an else statement always required?]
end if

"Niniel" wrote:

My subform is a continuous form though, so maybe these exceptions do apply.
The subform displays records from a table that were created in an append
operation earlier, so I don't see which of these records could be considered
more "current" than the other.
That first table is a child table to my main parent table, and the other
subform I would like to control is based on another child table.

Does this help you understand my setup better?


"Klatuu" wrote:

When you address a control in a form. The action applies to the Current
Record. (There are some exceptions for continuous and datasheet forms, but
they don't apply to this situation).
If you position on the first record and cause it's check box to be checked.
The other record's check box will not be affected. Then you move to the
other record and check it's check box. Now both are checked.
The values in the fields for one record are not affected by the values in
the fields for another record (unless you code something to cause that to
happen)

"Niniel" wrote:

But doesn't that mean that either checkbox could be the current one? Both
checkboxes can be checked at the same time, or both can be unchecked, or
either one can be checked with the other remaining unchecked.

I'm afraid I still dont' understand, so I would be grateful if you could
explain this a bit more.

Thank you.


"Klatuu" wrote:

If there is only one in design view, then there really is only one. The two
you are seeing are the same check box - One instance for each record. The
code I posted will affect the one that is the current record of the subform's
recordset.

"Niniel" wrote:

Thank you.
I don't quite understand, however, how this works though since there are 2
check boxes in form view, and only 1 in design view - how do I make sure only
the one I want triggers the event, and not either of the two?
Maybe the code you posted already takes care of that - I haven't tried it
out yet - but just from looking at it I can't tell.
The 2 records in the first subform won't change, I pull them from a separate
table.

"Klatuu" wrote:

Use the form' Current Event (that is the form that is the subform) and check
the value of the Yes/No Field

If Not Me.NewRecord And Me.YesNoControl = True Then
'Open the Subform
End If

"Niniel" wrote:

Hello,

I have a continuous subform that shows 2 records consisting of a text field
and a yes/no field.
I was wondering if it was possible to take the state of one particular of
the yes/no fields to trigger an event. Specifically, when one of the
questions is checked [true] then I would like to make visible another subform
on the main form.

Can this be done, and if so, how, or should I just leave my subform visible
at all times?

Thank you.

  #10  
Old October 11th, 2006, 09:37 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Niniel
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 582
Default Using specific record in continuous form for event?

Ok.
How do I reference the other subform?

Like this?

If Not Me.NewRecord And Me.Answer = True Then
frmActivityApplicationForm.sfrmSubmissions.Visible = True
End If

That's not making the subform visible though, so maybe I am referencing it
the wrong way.

"Klatuu" wrote:

First, try what I suggested.

"Niniel" wrote:

Hm, maybe I can do something like this:

Look up current [parent] record id, and if QuestionID x for that record ID
is true, then make subform2 visible.

How would that have to be coded?
This is probably totally wrong:

if [Forms]![frmActivityApplicationForm]![ActivityID] and
tblActivityAnswers.QuestionID(99) = true then
subform2.visible = true
else subform2.visible = false [is an else statement always required?]
end if

"Niniel" wrote:

My subform is a continuous form though, so maybe these exceptions do apply.
The subform displays records from a table that were created in an append
operation earlier, so I don't see which of these records could be considered
more "current" than the other.
That first table is a child table to my main parent table, and the other
subform I would like to control is based on another child table.

Does this help you understand my setup better?


"Klatuu" wrote:

When you address a control in a form. The action applies to the Current
Record. (There are some exceptions for continuous and datasheet forms, but
they don't apply to this situation).
If you position on the first record and cause it's check box to be checked.
The other record's check box will not be affected. Then you move to the
other record and check it's check box. Now both are checked.
The values in the fields for one record are not affected by the values in
the fields for another record (unless you code something to cause that to
happen)

"Niniel" wrote:

But doesn't that mean that either checkbox could be the current one? Both
checkboxes can be checked at the same time, or both can be unchecked, or
either one can be checked with the other remaining unchecked.

I'm afraid I still dont' understand, so I would be grateful if you could
explain this a bit more.

Thank you.


"Klatuu" wrote:

If there is only one in design view, then there really is only one. The two
you are seeing are the same check box - One instance for each record. The
code I posted will affect the one that is the current record of the subform's
recordset.

"Niniel" wrote:

Thank you.
I don't quite understand, however, how this works though since there are 2
check boxes in form view, and only 1 in design view - how do I make sure only
the one I want triggers the event, and not either of the two?
Maybe the code you posted already takes care of that - I haven't tried it
out yet - but just from looking at it I can't tell.
The 2 records in the first subform won't change, I pull them from a separate
table.

"Klatuu" wrote:

Use the form' Current Event (that is the form that is the subform) and check
the value of the Yes/No Field

If Not Me.NewRecord And Me.YesNoControl = True Then
'Open the Subform
End If

"Niniel" wrote:

Hello,

I have a continuous subform that shows 2 records consisting of a text field
and a yes/no field.
I was wondering if it was possible to take the state of one particular of
the yes/no fields to trigger an event. Specifically, when one of the
questions is checked [true] then I would like to make visible another subform
on the main form.

Can this be done, and if so, how, or should I just leave my subform visible
at all times?

Thank you.

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.