A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Word » Page Layout
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Adding new footnotes to old Doc starts new footnotes and doesn't do continuous



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 22nd, 2005, 10:15 PM
J Pilet
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Adding new footnotes to old Doc starts new footnotes and doesn't do continuous

Help!
I have a user here that has a large document with 187 footnotes. She needs to
add some new footnotes, and when she does the normal
"InsertReferenceFootnote" and leaves it on continuous, it starts a new
footnote at 1, ignoring the current footnotes, and then doesn't even put it in
superscript. It just puts it in normal text. Any ideas on how to get it going
continuous again?

Win2ksp4, Office 2003

James


Ads
  #2  
Old April 22nd, 2005, 10:32 PM
Suzanne S. Barnhill
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Are you sure the old footnotes were inserted using Insert | Reference |
Footnote?

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
Word MVP FAQ site: http://word.mvps.org
Email cannot be acknowledged; please post all follow-ups to the newsgroup so
all may benefit.

"J Pilet" wrote in message
...
Help!
I have a user here that has a large document with 187 footnotes. She

needs to
add some new footnotes, and when she does the normal
"InsertReferenceFootnote" and leaves it on continuous, it starts a new
footnote at 1, ignoring the current footnotes, and then doesn't even put

it in
superscript. It just puts it in normal text. Any ideas on how to get it

going
continuous again?

Win2ksp4, Office 2003

James



  #3  
Old April 22nd, 2005, 10:46 PM
J Pilet
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have no idea to be honest. Is there anyway to tell? Is there anything we
can do to convert it besides someone retyping in all 189 of them?

"Suzanne S. Barnhill" wrote:
Are you sure the old footnotes were inserted using Insert | Reference |
Footnote?

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
Word MVP FAQ site: http://word.mvps.org
Email cannot be acknowledged; please post all follow-ups to the newsgroup so
all may benefit.

"J Pilet" wrote in message
.. .
Help!
I have a user here that has a large document with 187 footnotes. She

needs to
add some new footnotes, and when she does the normal
"InsertReferenceFootnote" and leaves it on continuous, it starts a new
footnote at 1, ignoring the current footnotes, and then doesn't even put

it in
superscript. It just puts it in normal text. Any ideas on how to get it

going
continuous again?

Win2ksp4, Office 2003

James





  #4  
Old April 22nd, 2005, 10:53 PM
J Pilet
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I asked the user and she said yes, she's added multiple additions to the
footnote with never any problem until today using the | Insert | Reference |
Footnote.

J Pilet wrote:
I have no idea to be honest. Is there anyway to tell? Is there anything we
can do to convert it besides someone retyping in all 189 of them?

"Suzanne S. Barnhill" wrote:
Are you sure the old footnotes were inserted using Insert | Reference |
Footnote?

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
Word MVP FAQ site: http://word.mvps.org
Email cannot be acknowledged; please post all follow-ups to the newsgroup so
all may benefit.

"J Pilet" wrote in message
. ..
Help!
I have a user here that has a large document with 187 footnotes. She

needs to
add some new footnotes, and when she does the normal
"InsertReferenceFootnote" and leaves it on continuous, it starts a new
footnote at 1, ignoring the current footnotes, and then doesn't even put

it in
superscript. It just puts it in normal text. Any ideas on how to get it

going
continuous again?

Win2ksp4, Office 2003

James







  #5  
Old April 23rd, 2005, 03:23 AM
Suzanne S. Barnhill
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I can't begin to speculate what the problem could be from your description,
but I'd be willing to take a look at a *small* sample.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
Word MVP FAQ site: http://word.mvps.org
Email cannot be acknowledged; please post all follow-ups to the newsgroup so
all may benefit.

"J Pilet" wrote in message
...
I asked the user and she said yes, she's added multiple additions to the
footnote with never any problem until today using the | Insert | Reference

|
Footnote.

J Pilet wrote:
I have no idea to be honest. Is there anyway to tell? Is there anything

we
can do to convert it besides someone retyping in all 189 of them?

"Suzanne S. Barnhill" wrote:
Are you sure the old footnotes were inserted using Insert | Reference |
Footnote?

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
Word MVP FAQ site: http://word.mvps.org
Email cannot be acknowledged; please post all follow-ups to the

newsgroup so
all may benefit.

"J Pilet" wrote in message
. ..
Help!
I have a user here that has a large document with 187 footnotes. She
needs to
add some new footnotes, and when she does the normal
"InsertReferenceFootnote" and leaves it on continuous, it starts a

new
footnote at 1, ignoring the current footnotes, and then doesn't even

put
it in
superscript. It just puts it in normal text. Any ideas on how to get

it
going
continuous again?

Win2ksp4, Office 2003

James








 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
continuous footnotes on the same line Yehuda S General Discussion 2 June 3rd, 2005 06:03 AM
Printing footnotes and page numbers in Outline Daiya Mitchell General Discussion 0 April 19th, 2005 05:39 AM
footnotes with multiple sections dcn1396 General Discussion 3 December 20th, 2004 01:47 AM
Footnotes and linespacing Lukas Pietsch Formatting Long Documents 3 August 11th, 2004 03:40 PM
Word 2000 footnote problem: footnotes consistently too high (again) Lori Formatting Long Documents 2 May 1st, 2004 07:15 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.