A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Database Design
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

UNLOCK A SECURED CODE MODULE



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 11th, 2010, 04:45 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
AndrewDB
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 35
Default UNLOCK A SECURED CODE MODULE

Hi All. I need to send a "patch" to a remote user to replace a form in an
Access 2007 application. The code behind the forms of that database has been
locked with a password. In order to copy the new form into the place of the
previous one I first need to unlock the code, copy the form and then relock
the code. Everything is quite simple except I cannot get the code to unlock
from the "patch" application. The password is known to me. Any pointers will
be appreciated.
--
Kepior Senso Fumor
Ads
  #2  
Old March 11th, 2010, 05:06 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Tom van Stiphout[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,653
Default UNLOCK A SECURED CODE MODULE

On Wed, 10 Mar 2010 19:45:01 -0800, AndrewDB
wrote:

Why are you not sending the user a completely new front-end?

-Tom.
Microsoft Access MVP


Hi All. I need to send a "patch" to a remote user to replace a form in an
Access 2007 application. The code behind the forms of that database has been
locked with a password. In order to copy the new form into the place of the
previous one I first need to unlock the code, copy the form and then relock
the code. Everything is quite simple except I cannot get the code to unlock
from the "patch" application. The password is known to me. Any pointers will
be appreciated.

  #3  
Old March 11th, 2010, 07:16 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Jerry Whittle
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,732
Default UNLOCK A SECURED CODE MODULE

Hi Tom,

That was a retorical question, wasn't it? I bet that we are both thinking
the answer is "not split".
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.


"Tom van Stiphout" wrote:

On Wed, 10 Mar 2010 19:45:01 -0800, AndrewDB
wrote:

Why are you not sending the user a completely new front-end?

-Tom.
Microsoft Access MVP


Hi All. I need to send a "patch" to a remote user to replace a form in an
Access 2007 application. The code behind the forms of that database has been
locked with a password. In order to copy the new form into the place of the
previous one I first need to unlock the code, copy the form and then relock
the code. Everything is quite simple except I cannot get the code to unlock
from the "patch" application. The password is known to me. Any pointers will
be appreciated.

.

  #4  
Old March 12th, 2010, 02:49 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Tom van Stiphout[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,653
Default UNLOCK A SECURED CODE MODULE

On Thu, 11 Mar 2010 10:16:10 -0800, Jerry Whittle
wrote:

Yep. So that others may learn.

In our company when we get a new client with an unsplit db, we don't
work on their issues, but first split the db and deploy it again.
Then we work on a new FE. The OP's problems just do not happen.

-Tom.
Microsoft Access MVP


Hi Tom,

That was a retorical question, wasn't it? I bet that we are both thinking
the answer is "not split".

  #5  
Old March 15th, 2010, 06:23 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
AndrewDB
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 35
Default UNLOCK A SECURED CODE MODULE

Hi Tom. Thanks for your reply. Your guess is incorrect - the db is split but
the front end is 160Mb and cannot be sent by mail. The user is in a different
country quite far from me. The change consists of 4 lines of code that need
to be replaced. The code module is locked from viewing and I want to try and
avoid giving the user the rights to fiddle with the code. Hence my question.
How do I unlock a code module from an outside application?
--
Kepior Senso Fumor


"Tom van Stiphout" wrote:

On Thu, 11 Mar 2010 10:16:10 -0800, Jerry Whittle
wrote:

Yep. So that others may learn.

In our company when we get a new client with an unsplit db, we don't
work on their issues, but first split the db and deploy it again.
Then we work on a new FE. The OP's problems just do not happen.

-Tom.
Microsoft Access MVP


Hi Tom,

That was a retorical question, wasn't it? I bet that we are both thinking
the answer is "not split".

.

  #6  
Old March 15th, 2010, 07:36 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
John W. Vinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18,261
Default UNLOCK A SECURED CODE MODULE

On Sun, 14 Mar 2010 22:23:01 -0700, AndrewDB
wrote:

Hi Tom. Thanks for your reply. Your guess is incorrect - the db is split but
the front end is 160Mb and cannot be sent by mail. The user is in a different
country quite far from me. The change consists of 4 lines of code that need
to be replaced. The code module is locked from viewing and I want to try and
avoid giving the user the rights to fiddle with the code. Hence my question.
How do I unlock a code module from an outside application?


You may want to use some sort of remote desktop application such as
GoToMeeting or Windows Terminal Server so that you can log on to the user's
computer over the web, twiddle the code yourself, and disconnect without the
user ever seeing your password.
--

John W. Vinson [MVP]
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.