A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » General Discussion
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Writing SQL's to automate functions



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 26th, 2007, 08:35 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
CarrierCunliffe
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5
Default Writing SQL's to automate functions

My biggest weakness to writing in the "computer" language! Please help! How
would I write a procedure to store as a macro to automate the process of
refreshing the data on a linked table. The linked table's name is "Employee
Data Table". The original environment is "F:\CCF\CCF Employee Training
Database - converted". The database that it is linked to is "F:\CCF\CCF ACE
Training Database". Thank you in advanced and thank you so much for the help
you all gave me when I last posted a question about trying to update field
with blank information. Your suggestion of using the unmatched queries was
great.
  #2  
Old September 26th, 2007, 11:12 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
Douglas J. Steele
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 9,313
Default Writing SQL's to automate functions

I'm not sure what it is you're looking for. Linked tables shouldn't need
refreshing: they'll automatically show the data in the table to which
they're linked.

If you need to relink the table, you can't do that through a macro.

--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no private e-mails, please)


"CarrierCunliffe" wrote in
message ...
My biggest weakness to writing in the "computer" language! Please help!
How
would I write a procedure to store as a macro to automate the process of
refreshing the data on a linked table. The linked table's name is
"Employee
Data Table". The original environment is "F:\CCF\CCF Employee Training
Database - converted". The database that it is linked to is "F:\CCF\CCF
ACE
Training Database". Thank you in advanced and thank you so much for the
help
you all gave me when I last posted a question about trying to update field
with blank information. Your suggestion of using the unmatched queries
was
great.



  #3  
Old September 27th, 2007, 10:40 AM posted to microsoft.public.access
Pieter Wijnen
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,354
Default Writing SQL's to automate functions

I think the question has to do with a renamed backend
you can use the linked table manager or code like

Public Sub ChangeLink(ByVal NewPath As String)

Dim Db As DAO.Database
Dim TDf As DAO.TableDef

Set Db = Access.CurrentDb()
For Each Tdf In Db.TableDefs
If VBA.Len(Tdf.Connect) 0 Then
Tdf.Connect = ";DATABASE=" & NewPath
Tdf.Refreshlink
End If
Next

End Sub

HTH

Pieter




"Douglas J. Steele" wrote in message
...
I'm not sure what it is you're looking for. Linked tables shouldn't need
refreshing: they'll automatically show the data in the table to which
they're linked.

If you need to relink the table, you can't do that through a macro.

--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no private e-mails, please)


"CarrierCunliffe" wrote in
message ...
My biggest weakness to writing in the "computer" language! Please help!
How
would I write a procedure to store as a macro to automate the process of
refreshing the data on a linked table. The linked table's name is
"Employee
Data Table". The original environment is "F:\CCF\CCF Employee Training
Database - converted". The database that it is linked to is "F:\CCF\CCF
ACE
Training Database". Thank you in advanced and thank you so much for the
help
you all gave me when I last posted a question about trying to update
field
with blank information. Your suggestion of using the unmatched queries
was
great.





  #4  
Old September 27th, 2007, 11:39 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
David W. Fenton
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,373
Default Writing SQL's to automate functions

"Douglas J. Steele" wrote in
:

If you need to relink the table, you can't do that through a
macro.


Well, not by itself -- a macro could certainly call code that
relinks.

--
David W. Fenton http://www.dfenton.com/
usenet at dfenton dot com http://www.dfenton.com/DFA/
  #5  
Old September 28th, 2007, 10:32 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
CarrierCunliffe
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5
Default Writing SQL's to automate functions

So you are saying that when I open the second database it will automatically
refresh any of the data that may have been changed on the linked table? I
don't have to go to the linked table manager and refresh everytime I go into
this secondary database.

"Douglas J. Steele" wrote:

I'm not sure what it is you're looking for. Linked tables shouldn't need
refreshing: they'll automatically show the data in the table to which
they're linked.

If you need to relink the table, you can't do that through a macro.

--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no private e-mails, please)


"CarrierCunliffe" wrote in
message ...
My biggest weakness to writing in the "computer" language! Please help!
How
would I write a procedure to store as a macro to automate the process of
refreshing the data on a linked table. The linked table's name is
"Employee
Data Table". The original environment is "F:\CCF\CCF Employee Training
Database - converted". The database that it is linked to is "F:\CCF\CCF
ACE
Training Database". Thank you in advanced and thank you so much for the
help
you all gave me when I last posted a question about trying to update field
with blank information. Your suggestion of using the unmatched queries
was
great.




  #6  
Old September 29th, 2007, 12:13 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
Douglas J. Steele
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 9,313
Default Writing SQL's to automate functions

When you have linked tables, they are always "current". All they are are
pointers to the actual table in the other database.

--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no private e-mails, please)


"CarrierCunliffe" wrote in
message ...
So you are saying that when I open the second database it will
automatically
refresh any of the data that may have been changed on the linked table? I
don't have to go to the linked table manager and refresh everytime I go
into
this secondary database.

"Douglas J. Steele" wrote:

I'm not sure what it is you're looking for. Linked tables shouldn't need
refreshing: they'll automatically show the data in the table to which
they're linked.

If you need to relink the table, you can't do that through a macro.

--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no private e-mails, please)


"CarrierCunliffe" wrote in
message ...
My biggest weakness to writing in the "computer" language! Please
help!
How
would I write a procedure to store as a macro to automate the process
of
refreshing the data on a linked table. The linked table's name is
"Employee
Data Table". The original environment is "F:\CCF\CCF Employee Training
Database - converted". The database that it is linked to is
"F:\CCF\CCF
ACE
Training Database". Thank you in advanced and thank you so much for
the
help
you all gave me when I last posted a question about trying to update
field
with blank information. Your suggestion of using the unmatched queries
was
great.






  #7  
Old October 1st, 2007, 02:37 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
CarrierCunliffe
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5
Default Writing SQL's to automate functions

Thank you

"Douglas J. Steele" wrote:

When you have linked tables, they are always "current". All they are are
pointers to the actual table in the other database.

--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no private e-mails, please)


"CarrierCunliffe" wrote in
message ...
So you are saying that when I open the second database it will
automatically
refresh any of the data that may have been changed on the linked table? I
don't have to go to the linked table manager and refresh everytime I go
into
this secondary database.

"Douglas J. Steele" wrote:

I'm not sure what it is you're looking for. Linked tables shouldn't need
refreshing: they'll automatically show the data in the table to which
they're linked.

If you need to relink the table, you can't do that through a macro.

--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no private e-mails, please)


"CarrierCunliffe" wrote in
message ...
My biggest weakness to writing in the "computer" language! Please
help!
How
would I write a procedure to store as a macro to automate the process
of
refreshing the data on a linked table. The linked table's name is
"Employee
Data Table". The original environment is "F:\CCF\CCF Employee Training
Database - converted". The database that it is linked to is
"F:\CCF\CCF
ACE
Training Database". Thank you in advanced and thank you so much for
the
help
you all gave me when I last posted a question about trying to update
field
with blank information. Your suggestion of using the unmatched queries
was
great.






 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.