A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Excel » General Discussion
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Formula to Text to Formula



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 29th, 2005, 09:51 PM
Bonnie
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Formula to Text to Formula

Hi there! Using E02 on XP. Have zillions of formulas to
create and if I can get my template going, it will be much
easier. Only problem is this: I used Replace to change all
my ='1'!'s with '=1'1! so I can see my formulas and use
copy/replace to create my boiler templates on multiple
worksheets. I have done this in the past and then just
replace in reverse and voila! I have formulas linked to
the correct worksheet locations. This time I keep getting
the Excel can't find anything to replace, check your
formating, etc.

What am I doing wrong? I really do not want to key in 10
sheets of formulas.

Here is what my cell reads: '='1'!M68
My formula would be: ='1'!M68

Is it because I have used a number for the worksheet name?
I've played with it but can't fix it. Tried reformating
the cells, etc.

Would really appreciate any help or advice on this before
I wear my fingers down to nubs and get sheetsick. Thanks a
bunch for your time!
  #2  
Old March 29th, 2005, 10:13 PM
Duke Carey
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I did a very quick test and this VBA code seemed to deal with what's ailing
you. Make sure you work on a copy of your file this time, ok!

Sub DeleteApostrophes()
Dim cc As range
Dim str As String

For Each cc In selection
str = cc.Formula
If Len(str) 0 Then
If cc.Value = str And Left(str, 1) = "=" Then
cc.Formula = str
End If
End If
Next
End Sub

Good luck


"Bonnie" wrote:

Hi there! Using E02 on XP. Have zillions of formulas to
create and if I can get my template going, it will be much
easier. Only problem is this: I used Replace to change all
my ='1'!'s with '=1'1! so I can see my formulas and use
copy/replace to create my boiler templates on multiple
worksheets. I have done this in the past and then just
replace in reverse and voila! I have formulas linked to
the correct worksheet locations. This time I keep getting
the Excel can't find anything to replace, check your
formating, etc.

What am I doing wrong? I really do not want to key in 10
sheets of formulas.

Here is what my cell reads: '='1'!M68
My formula would be: ='1'!M68

Is it because I have used a number for the worksheet name?
I've played with it but can't fix it. Tried reformating
the cells, etc.

Would really appreciate any help or advice on this before
I wear my fingers down to nubs and get sheetsick. Thanks a
bunch for your time!

  #3  
Old March 29th, 2005, 10:17 PM
bj
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I am also using E02 on XP
I copied your equation into my computer
did find and replace and had no problems

does find and replace work correctly on other things for you?

are you really using the '=1'1! or just '=1'!


"Bonnie" wrote:

Hi there! Using E02 on XP. Have zillions of formulas to
create and if I can get my template going, it will be much
easier. Only problem is this: I used Replace to change all
my ='1'!'s with '=1'1! so I can see my formulas and use
copy/replace to create my boiler templates on multiple
worksheets. I have done this in the past and then just
replace in reverse and voila! I have formulas linked to
the correct worksheet locations. This time I keep getting
the Excel can't find anything to replace, check your
formating, etc.

What am I doing wrong? I really do not want to key in 10
sheets of formulas.

Here is what my cell reads: '='1'!M68
My formula would be: ='1'!M68

Is it because I have used a number for the worksheet name?
I've played with it but can't fix it. Tried reformating
the cells, etc.

Would really appreciate any help or advice on this before
I wear my fingers down to nubs and get sheetsick. Thanks a
bunch for your time!

  #4  
Old March 29th, 2005, 10:23 PM
Duke Carey
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

bj -

I'm running E02 on Win2K and I've never been able to get rid of the leading
apostrophe using Find & Replace. Like the OP, I get a message that no
matching data could be found.

Wonder what's different in your setup than in mine.



"bj" wrote:

I am also using E02 on XP
I copied your equation into my computer
did find and replace and had no problems

does find and replace work correctly on other things for you?

are you really using the '=1'1! or just '=1'!


"Bonnie" wrote:

Hi there! Using E02 on XP. Have zillions of formulas to
create and if I can get my template going, it will be much
easier. Only problem is this: I used Replace to change all
my ='1'!'s with '=1'1! so I can see my formulas and use
copy/replace to create my boiler templates on multiple
worksheets. I have done this in the past and then just
replace in reverse and voila! I have formulas linked to
the correct worksheet locations. This time I keep getting
the Excel can't find anything to replace, check your
formating, etc.

What am I doing wrong? I really do not want to key in 10
sheets of formulas.

Here is what my cell reads: '='1'!M68
My formula would be: ='1'!M68

Is it because I have used a number for the worksheet name?
I've played with it but can't fix it. Tried reformating
the cells, etc.

Would really appreciate any help or advice on this before
I wear my fingers down to nubs and get sheetsick. Thanks a
bunch for your time!

  #5  
Old March 29th, 2005, 10:31 PM
bj
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I redid it to verify
if I am on the cell containing the text just having pasted the text, it does
replace it
If I am not it does not find it and will not replace it
if I move back to it, it will not replace it
???

"Duke Carey" wrote:

bj -

I'm running E02 on Win2K and I've never been able to get rid of the leading
apostrophe using Find & Replace. Like the OP, I get a message that no
matching data could be found.

Wonder what's different in your setup than in mine.



"bj" wrote:

I am also using E02 on XP
I copied your equation into my computer
did find and replace and had no problems

does find and replace work correctly on other things for you?

are you really using the '=1'1! or just '=1'!


"Bonnie" wrote:

Hi there! Using E02 on XP. Have zillions of formulas to
create and if I can get my template going, it will be much
easier. Only problem is this: I used Replace to change all
my ='1'!'s with '=1'1! so I can see my formulas and use
copy/replace to create my boiler templates on multiple
worksheets. I have done this in the past and then just
replace in reverse and voila! I have formulas linked to
the correct worksheet locations. This time I keep getting
the Excel can't find anything to replace, check your
formating, etc.

What am I doing wrong? I really do not want to key in 10
sheets of formulas.

Here is what my cell reads: '='1'!M68
My formula would be: ='1'!M68

Is it because I have used a number for the worksheet name?
I've played with it but can't fix it. Tried reformating
the cells, etc.

Would really appreciate any help or advice on this before
I wear my fingers down to nubs and get sheetsick. Thanks a
bunch for your time!

  #6  
Old March 30th, 2005, 12:45 AM
Dave Peterson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You could make your life a lot easier if you changed your formulas to text by
using a different string.

I use this.

Edit|replace
what: = (equal sign)
with: $$$$$= (as long as $$$$$ was not used anywhere in the worksheet)
replace all.

Then copy|paste and do the reverse:

edit|replace
what: $$$$$=
with: = (equal sign)
replace all.

Is it too late to go back and do it this way?

Or do you need to have a macro that corrects your current problem?

Maybe something like:

Option Explicit
Sub testme()

Dim myCell As Range
Dim myRng As Range

Set myRng = Nothing
On Error Resume Next
Set myRng = ActiveSheet.UsedRange.Cells _
.SpecialCells(xlCellTypeConstants, xlTextValues)
On Error GoTo 0

If myRng Is Nothing Then
MsgBox "no constants!"
Exit Sub
End If

For Each myCell In myRng.Cells
myCell.Value = myCell.Value
Next myCell

End Sub

Bonnie wrote:

Hi there! Using E02 on XP. Have zillions of formulas to
create and if I can get my template going, it will be much
easier. Only problem is this: I used Replace to change all
my ='1'!'s with '=1'1! so I can see my formulas and use
copy/replace to create my boiler templates on multiple
worksheets. I have done this in the past and then just
replace in reverse and voila! I have formulas linked to
the correct worksheet locations. This time I keep getting
the Excel can't find anything to replace, check your
formating, etc.

What am I doing wrong? I really do not want to key in 10
sheets of formulas.

Here is what my cell reads: '='1'!M68
My formula would be: ='1'!M68

Is it because I have used a number for the worksheet name?
I've played with it but can't fix it. Tried reformating
the cells, etc.

Would really appreciate any help or advice on this before
I wear my fingers down to nubs and get sheetsick. Thanks a
bunch for your time!


--

Dave Peterson
  #7  
Old March 30th, 2005, 01:51 PM
Bonnie
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks Dave. You are correct. I made things tougher on
myself by using the 'make it text' apostrophe. I'm so glad
I tested this before I got the entire first template done.
I don't work in Excel often and mostly just as a data dump.

I'd love to run your code but I'm an Access person and new
to Excel. Not sure where to put code and how to run it on
a spreadsheet. Used to forms, macros, buttons and event
procedures running things. Can you illuminate?

Thanks VERY much. Loved all the responses on this.

-----Original Message-----
You could make your life a lot easier if you changed your

formulas to text by
using a different string.

I use this.

Edit|replace
what: = (equal sign)
with: $$$$$= (as long as $$$$$ was not used anywhere

in the worksheet)
replace all.

Then copy|paste and do the reverse:

edit|replace
what: $$$$$=
with: = (equal sign)
replace all.

Is it too late to go back and do it this way?

Or do you need to have a macro that corrects your current

problem?

Maybe something like:

Option Explicit
Sub testme()

Dim myCell As Range
Dim myRng As Range

Set myRng = Nothing
On Error Resume Next
Set myRng = ActiveSheet.UsedRange.Cells _
.SpecialCells(xlCellTypeConstants,

xlTextValues)
On Error GoTo 0

If myRng Is Nothing Then
MsgBox "no constants!"
Exit Sub
End If

For Each myCell In myRng.Cells
myCell.Value = myCell.Value
Next myCell

End Sub

Bonnie wrote:

Hi there! Using E02 on XP. Have zillions of formulas to
create and if I can get my template going, it will be

much
easier. Only problem is this: I used Replace to change

all
my ='1'!'s with '=1'1! so I can see my formulas and use
copy/replace to create my boiler templates on multiple
worksheets. I have done this in the past and then just
replace in reverse and voila! I have formulas linked to
the correct worksheet locations. This time I keep

getting
the Excel can't find anything to replace, check your
formating, etc.

What am I doing wrong? I really do not want to key in 10
sheets of formulas.

Here is what my cell reads: '='1'!M68
My formula would be: ='1'!M68

Is it because I have used a number for the worksheet

name?
I've played with it but can't fix it. Tried reformating
the cells, etc.

Would really appreciate any help or advice on this

before
I wear my fingers down to nubs and get sheetsick.

Thanks a
bunch for your time!


--

Dave Peterson
.

  #8  
Old March 30th, 2005, 01:53 PM
Bonnie
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yes, BJ, it does work if you are on just one cell. I just
won't work on a selected area. VERY odd. I should have
used a text string rather than the text identifier. Dang!
Thanks very much for the input.

-----Original Message-----
I redid it to verify
if I am on the cell containing the text just having

pasted the text, it does
replace it
If I am not it does not find it and will not replace it
if I move back to it, it will not replace it
???

"Duke Carey" wrote:

bj -

I'm running E02 on Win2K and I've never been able to

get rid of the leading
apostrophe using Find & Replace. Like the OP, I get a

message that no
matching data could be found.

Wonder what's different in your setup than in mine.



"bj" wrote:

I am also using E02 on XP
I copied your equation into my computer
did find and replace and had no problems

does find and replace work correctly on other things

for you?

are you really using the '=1'1! or just '=1'!


"Bonnie" wrote:

Hi there! Using E02 on XP. Have zillions of

formulas to
create and if I can get my template going, it will

be much
easier. Only problem is this: I used Replace to

change all
my ='1'!'s with '=1'1! so I can see my formulas and

use
copy/replace to create my boiler templates on

multiple
worksheets. I have done this in the past and then

just
replace in reverse and voila! I have formulas

linked to
the correct worksheet locations. This time I keep

getting
the Excel can't find anything to replace, check

your
formating, etc.

What am I doing wrong? I really do not want to key

in 10
sheets of formulas.

Here is what my cell reads: '='1'!M68
My formula would be: ='1'!M68

Is it because I have used a number for the

worksheet name?
I've played with it but can't fix it. Tried

reformating
the cells, etc.

Would really appreciate any help or advice on this

before
I wear my fingers down to nubs and get sheetsick.

Thanks a
bunch for your time!

.

  #9  
Old March 30th, 2005, 01:56 PM
Bonnie
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi Mr. Carey! Thanks for the input on this conundrum. I
did work on a copy of my original master file but the
master file has NO formulas on it yet and the copy has the
first template almost done but with this problem. Would
love to run your code but usually work in Access and don't
know where/how to run code in Excel. Just never done it.

Thanks again for your participation in the newsgroups
helping folks out! LUV U GUYS!

-----Original Message-----
I did a very quick test and this VBA code seemed to deal

with what's ailing
you. Make sure you work on a copy of your file this

time, ok!

Sub DeleteApostrophes()
Dim cc As range
Dim str As String

For Each cc In selection
str = cc.Formula
If Len(str) 0 Then
If cc.Value = str And Left(str, 1) = "=" Then
cc.Formula = str
End If
End If
Next
End Sub

Good luck


"Bonnie" wrote:

Hi there! Using E02 on XP. Have zillions of formulas to
create and if I can get my template going, it will be

much
easier. Only problem is this: I used Replace to change

all
my ='1'!'s with '=1'1! so I can see my formulas and use
copy/replace to create my boiler templates on multiple
worksheets. I have done this in the past and then just
replace in reverse and voila! I have formulas linked to
the correct worksheet locations. This time I keep

getting
the Excel can't find anything to replace, check your
formating, etc.

What am I doing wrong? I really do not want to key in

10
sheets of formulas.

Here is what my cell reads: '='1'!M68
My formula would be: ='1'!M68

Is it because I have used a number for the worksheet

name?
I've played with it but can't fix it. Tried reformating
the cells, etc.

Would really appreciate any help or advice on this

before
I wear my fingers down to nubs and get sheetsick.

Thanks a
bunch for your time!

.

  #10  
Old March 30th, 2005, 02:27 PM
Dave Peterson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

David McRitchie has some notes at:
http://www.mvps.org/dmcritchie/excel/getstarted.htm

Bonnie wrote:

Thanks Dave. You are correct. I made things tougher on
myself by using the 'make it text' apostrophe. I'm so glad
I tested this before I got the entire first template done.
I don't work in Excel often and mostly just as a data dump.

I'd love to run your code but I'm an Access person and new
to Excel. Not sure where to put code and how to run it on
a spreadsheet. Used to forms, macros, buttons and event
procedures running things. Can you illuminate?

Thanks VERY much. Loved all the responses on this.

-----Original Message-----
You could make your life a lot easier if you changed your

formulas to text by
using a different string.

I use this.

Edit|replace
what: = (equal sign)
with: $$$$$= (as long as $$$$$ was not used anywhere

in the worksheet)
replace all.

Then copy|paste and do the reverse:

edit|replace
what: $$$$$=
with: = (equal sign)
replace all.

Is it too late to go back and do it this way?

Or do you need to have a macro that corrects your current

problem?

Maybe something like:

Option Explicit
Sub testme()

Dim myCell As Range
Dim myRng As Range

Set myRng = Nothing
On Error Resume Next
Set myRng = ActiveSheet.UsedRange.Cells _
.SpecialCells(xlCellTypeConstants,

xlTextValues)
On Error GoTo 0

If myRng Is Nothing Then
MsgBox "no constants!"
Exit Sub
End If

For Each myCell In myRng.Cells
myCell.Value = myCell.Value
Next myCell

End Sub

Bonnie wrote:

Hi there! Using E02 on XP. Have zillions of formulas to
create and if I can get my template going, it will be

much
easier. Only problem is this: I used Replace to change

all
my ='1'!'s with '=1'1! so I can see my formulas and use
copy/replace to create my boiler templates on multiple
worksheets. I have done this in the past and then just
replace in reverse and voila! I have formulas linked to
the correct worksheet locations. This time I keep

getting
the Excel can't find anything to replace, check your
formating, etc.

What am I doing wrong? I really do not want to key in 10
sheets of formulas.

Here is what my cell reads: '='1'!M68
My formula would be: ='1'!M68

Is it because I have used a number for the worksheet

name?
I've played with it but can't fix it. Tried reformating
the cells, etc.

Would really appreciate any help or advice on this

before
I wear my fingers down to nubs and get sheetsick.

Thanks a
bunch for your time!


--

Dave Peterson
.


--

Dave Peterson
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with design Ronnie Database Design 6 March 12th, 2005 02:53 PM
Concatenatd fields in a query for a searching form Marc Running & Setting Up Queries 8 October 19th, 2004 08:49 PM
How does the "auto" setting work in Paragraph Spacing? Joey General Discussion 9 October 11th, 2004 08:44 PM
find a date on sheet 2 and count text in that column jtinne General Discussion 4 October 4th, 2004 09:06 PM
is there a formula that can count a range of cells with text? Frank Kabel Worksheet Functions 0 March 11th, 2004 08:04 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.