A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Check/Uncheck All, write conflict



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 11th, 2009, 03:47 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
2vao
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18
Default Check/Uncheck All, write conflict

Hello,

I have a form +subform, on the subform (countinuous form) I have a check
box. on the main form I have an unbound check box that I want to
check/uncheck all the check boxes of my records on my subform. I have an
update query to perform that task.
-Problem 1: after ticking/unticking the check box on the main form, I get
all the check boxes on my subform ticked except the first record where the
focus is.
-Problem 2: I get a write conflict message " Save records or Copy to
clipboard or Drop change "

Can someone assist ?

Many thanks.

  #2  
Old April 11th, 2009, 04:18 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Albert D. Kallal
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,874
Default Check/Uncheck All, write conflict

"2vao" wrote in message
...
Hello,

I have a form +subform, on the subform (countinuous form) I have a check
box. on the main form I have an unbound check box that I want to
check/uncheck all the check boxes of my records on my subform. I have an
update query to perform that task.


You have to bind that text box or check box to something. So, two choices:

Add a check box column to the table, and then bind that checkbox to that
column.

Or, you can use my multi-select example he

http://www.members.shaw.ca/AlbertKal.../msaccess.html

The above example shows you how to select multiple items from a continues
form, and then use those selections for whatever.

The nice feature of this example is that it does not use a actual field in
the database to accomplish this.


-Problem 2: I get a write conflict message " Save records or Copy to
clipboard or Drop change "


If you run some update on a records that are "dirty", then you get that
conflict (the other user changing things is in fact your code). Just ensure
you force a disk write before you run any update(s) on potentially the same
record that may already be dirty.

the code to force a disk write is:

if me.dirty = true then me.Dirty = false

......your update code goes here......

So, just make sure you force a disk write of the record as above......


--
Albert D. Kallal (Access MVP)
Edmonton, Alberta Canada




  #3  
Old April 12th, 2009, 04:36 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
2vao
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18
Default Check/Uncheck All, write conflict

Thank you Albert, the link you gave has many helpful tips and samples, thank
you for sharing. I actually saved most of the exemples.
I managed to find out the cause of my problem but it led me to another
obstacle.
The reason why I got problem 1 and the write conflict message was because I
have one field ( field2) in my table that copies the value of another field
(field1) of the same table ( the reason why I created that 2nd field is
because I want to record the initial value of field1 before its value changes
).
my code was
Private Sub Form_Current()
Me.field2.value = Me.field1
End sub

After removing the above code, my check box works perfectly- however I could
not copy the value of field1 one anymore. Would you know a solution to this ?
I still want to copy the value of filed1 and be able to use the check/uncheck
all feature.
Many thanks.
"Albert D. Kallal" wrote:

"2vao" wrote in message
...
Hello,

I have a form +subform, on the subform (countinuous form) I have a check
box. on the main form I have an unbound check box that I want to
check/uncheck all the check boxes of my records on my subform. I have an
update query to perform that task.


You have to bind that text box or check box to something. So, two choices:

Add a check box column to the table, and then bind that checkbox to that
column.

Or, you can use my multi-select example he

http://www.members.shaw.ca/AlbertKal.../msaccess.html

The above example shows you how to select multiple items from a continues
form, and then use those selections for whatever.

The nice feature of this example is that it does not use a actual field in
the database to accomplish this.


-Problem 2: I get a write conflict message " Save records or Copy to
clipboard or Drop change "


If you run some update on a records that are "dirty", then you get that
conflict (the other user changing things is in fact your code). Just ensure
you force a disk write before you run any update(s) on potentially the same
record that may already be dirty.

the code to force a disk write is:

if me.dirty = true then me.Dirty = false

......your update code goes here......

So, just make sure you force a disk write of the record as above......


--
Albert D. Kallal (Access MVP)
Edmonton, Alberta Canada





  #4  
Old April 13th, 2009, 05:29 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Albert D. Kallal
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,874
Default Check/Uncheck All, write conflict



because I want to record the initial value of field1 before its value
changes
).
my code was
Private Sub Form_Current()
Me.field2.value = Me.field1
End sub


I don't think we need the above in the on-current event. I mean just using
the page up/down or browsing reocrds is going to cause that code to run...

I would think we ONLY want that code to run when you actually are modifying
the contensts of field1.

So, in field1 AFTER UPDATE event which ONLY fires if you made changes, you
would go:


me.Field2.Value = me.field1.OldValue

Using the on-current event fires all the time...even when you don't
edit/modify anything in the record.....


--
Albert D. Kallal (Access MVP)
Edmonton, Alberta Canada



  #5  
Old April 14th, 2009, 02:53 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
2vao
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18
Default Check/Uncheck All, write conflict

Thank you very much Albert, it is working perfectly. Many thanks.

"Albert D. Kallal" wrote:



because I want to record the initial value of field1 before its value
changes
).
my code was
Private Sub Form_Current()
Me.field2.value = Me.field1
End sub


I don't think we need the above in the on-current event. I mean just using
the page up/down or browsing reocrds is going to cause that code to run...

I would think we ONLY want that code to run when you actually are modifying
the contensts of field1.

So, in field1 AFTER UPDATE event which ONLY fires if you made changes, you
would go:


me.Field2.Value = me.field1.OldValue

Using the on-current event fires all the time...even when you don't
edit/modify anything in the record.....


--
Albert D. Kallal (Access MVP)
Edmonton, Alberta Canada




 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.