A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Record Selector.



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 29th, 2009, 11:08 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
.Len B
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 81
Default Record Selector.

I have a subform whose default view is SingleForm.
I have disabled the Record Selector and the Navigation
Buttons as meaningless in the context of the parent form
and sized everything accordingly.

Nevertheless, I would like the information they convey to
be available discretely on the subform at least for the
time being during development and testing.

Is there a way to display this info in say a textbox? I do
not need to see the arrowhead or the editor's pencil symbols.
just some indication of which would be there if the Selector
was enabled.

--
Len
__________________________________________________ ____
remove nothing for valid email address.


  #2  
Old November 30th, 2009, 12:26 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Crystal (strive4peace)[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 53
Default Record Selector.

Hi Len,

if you are using a version of Access below 2007, you can
show the number of records directly in a textbox control :

ControlSource -- =[Form].Recordset.Recordcount & " records"

if you are using 2007, you need to calculate this in code to
display in a textbox on the current event of the main form
and the AfterUpdate and AfterDeleteConfirm events of the subform

in code:
me.controlname =me.Recordset.Recordcount & " records"
or
me.subform_controlname.form.controlname
=me.subform_controlname.form.Recordset.Recordcount & " records"

Warm Regards,
Crystal
remote programming and training
http://MSAccessGurus.com

free video tutorials
http://www.YouTube.com/user/LearnAccessByCrystal

Access Basics
http://www.AccessMVP.com/strive4peace
free 100-page book that covers essentials in Access

*
(: have an awesome day
*


..Len B wrote:
I have a subform whose default view is SingleForm.
I have disabled the Record Selector and the Navigation
Buttons as meaningless in the context of the parent form
and sized everything accordingly.

Nevertheless, I would like the information they convey to
be available discretely on the subform at least for the
time being during development and testing.

Is there a way to display this info in say a textbox? I do
not need to see the arrowhead or the editor's pencil symbols.
just some indication of which would be there if the Selector
was enabled.

  #3  
Old November 30th, 2009, 03:21 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Dirk Goldgar
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,529
Default Record Selector.

"Crystal (strive4peace)" wrote in message
...
Hi Len,

if you are using a version of Access below 2007, you can show the number
of records directly in a textbox control :

ControlSource -- =[Form].Recordset.Recordcount & " records"


In my experience, you can leave off the "[Form].":

=[Recordset].[Recordcount] & " records"

if you are using 2007, you need to calculate this in code


I think that depends on whether you have Jet sandbox mode enabled or
disabled. With sandbox mode turned off, the exact same expression as above
works for me in A2007.

--
Dirk Goldgar, MS Access MVP
Access tips: www.datagnostics.com/tips.html

(please reply to the newsgroup)

  #4  
Old November 30th, 2009, 06:18 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Crystal (strive4peace)[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 53
Default Record Selector.

Hi Dirk,

thanks, that is nice to know ... how do you turn it off?

Warm Regards,
Crystal
remote programming and training
http://MSAccessGurus.com

free video tutorials
http://www.YouTube.com/user/LearnAccessByCrystal

Access Basics
http://www.AccessMVP.com/strive4peace
free 100-page book that covers essentials in Access

*
(: have an awesome day
*


Dirk Goldgar wrote:
"Crystal (strive4peace)" wrote in message
...
Hi Len,

if you are using a version of Access below 2007, you can show the
number of records directly in a textbox control :

ControlSource -- =[Form].Recordset.Recordcount & " records"


In my experience, you can leave off the "[Form].":

=[Recordset].[Recordcount] & " records"

if you are using 2007, you need to calculate this in code


I think that depends on whether you have Jet sandbox mode enabled or
disabled. With sandbox mode turned off, the exact same expression as
above works for me in A2007.

  #5  
Old November 30th, 2009, 12:13 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Douglas J. Steele[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,143
Default Record Selector.

http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/ac...674291033.aspx

--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no e-mails, please!)


"Crystal (strive4peace)" wrote in message
...

thanks, that is nice to know ... how do you turn it off?

Dirk Goldgar wrote:

I think that depends on whether you have Jet sandbox mode enabled or
disabled. With sandbox mode turned off, the exact same expression as
above works for me in A2007.



  #6  
Old November 30th, 2009, 11:29 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Crystal (strive4peace)[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 53
Default Record Selector.

thank you, Doug!

Warm Regards,
Crystal
remote programming and training
http://MSAccessGurus.com

free video tutorials
http://www.YouTube.com/user/LearnAccessByCrystal

Access Basics
http://www.AccessMVP.com/strive4peace
free 100-page book that covers essentials in Access

*
(: have an awesome day
*


Douglas J. Steele wrote:
http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/ac...674291033.aspx

  #7  
Old December 1st, 2009, 02:26 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
.Len B
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 81
Default Record Selector.

Hi Crystal,
I can't make that work. Access 2003.

I tried cut and paste from your post.
=[Form].Recordset.Recordcount & " records"
It removed [ ] from Form. I put them back. It added them around
RecordSet and RecordCount. I tried some other fiddling and it put
quotes around everything for me.

None of these worked so I tried your code option. Working on the
subform alone to isolate any possible problem with the parent, I
added your code to the two After... events. i.e.
Me.txtRecords = Me.Recordset.RecordCount

I then began entering a date. I then pressed Esc a few times until
the editors pencil symbol changed to the arrowhead. Neither After...
event fired.

I can't make the Record Selector thing happen either. I tried -

I created txtRecSelector ControlSource="Editing" Visible=No
I used Form_Dirty to make it visible but Form_Undo still thinks
the form is dirty even with the arrowhead symbol returns so I can't
make the txtRecSelector invisible.

I am at the point where I want to re-enable the Navigation Buttons
and Record Selector to save my hair. I have so little of it left.

Apart from a wig, do you have any suggestions?

--
Len
__________________________________________________ ____
remove nothing for valid email address.
"Crystal (strive4peace)" wrote in message
...
| Hi Len,
|
| if you are using a version of Access below 2007, you can
| show the number of records directly in a textbox control :
|
| ControlSource -- =[Form].Recordset.Recordcount & " records"
|
| if you are using 2007, you need to calculate this in code to
| display in a textbox on the current event of the main form
| and the AfterUpdate and AfterDeleteConfirm events of the subform
|
| in code:
| me.controlname =me.Recordset.Recordcount & " records"
| or
| me.subform_controlname.form.controlname
| =me.subform_controlname.form.Recordset.Recordcount & " records"
|
| Warm Regards,
| Crystal
| remote programming and training
| http://MSAccessGurus.com
|
| free video tutorials
| http://www.YouTube.com/user/LearnAccessByCrystal
|
| Access Basics
| http://www.AccessMVP.com/strive4peace
| free 100-page book that covers essentials in Access
|
| *
| (: have an awesome day
| *
|
|
| .Len B wrote:
| I have a subform whose default view is SingleForm.
| I have disabled the Record Selector and the Navigation
| Buttons as meaningless in the context of the parent form
| and sized everything accordingly.
|
| Nevertheless, I would like the information they convey to
| be available discretely on the subform at least for the
| time being during development and testing.
|
| Is there a way to display this info in say a textbox? I do
| not need to see the arrowhead or the editor's pencil symbols.
| just some indication of which would be there if the Selector
| was enabled.
|



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.