A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Setting Up & Running Reports
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Multiple report formats



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 9th, 2005, 12:31 PM
Glenn Suggs
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Multiple report formats

I have several separate reports in various formats based on different tables
and queries and these reports are all related from the perspective of
management users. How can I combine these reports into one report so that
all are printed together, preferably with consecutive page numbers, titles,
etc.? I can easily go through the report wizard and create each one but
putting them together in this fashion is something I'm having trouble
figuring out how to do.

Thanks in advance
--
Glenn
  #2  
Old June 9th, 2005, 12:50 PM
Rick Brandt
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Glenn Suggs" wrote in message
...
I have several separate reports in various formats based on different tables
and queries and these reports are all related from the perspective of
management users. How can I combine these reports into one report so that
all are printed together, preferably with consecutive page numbers, titles,
etc.? I can easily go through the report wizard and create each one but
putting them together in this fashion is something I'm having trouble
figuring out how to do.


One way...

DoCmd.OpenReport "Report1"
DoCmd.OpenReport "Report2"
etc..

Now; create a public variable in a standard module and in the Page event of each
page in all reports have a line of code...

VariableName = VariableName + 1

In the Open event of all of the reports except for the first have a line of
code...

Me.Page = VariableName

I'm not sure if I've listed the best events here but the point is that you can
programmatically set the value for the [Page] property in a report and then it
will count up from that as a new starting point. So if your first report had
three pages the second report would number its first page as page 4 and so on.

You would likely want an event in the first report to reset the variable back to
zero in case you print the batch more than once in a session.

--
I don't check the Email account attached
to this message. Send instead to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com


  #3  
Old June 9th, 2005, 05:32 PM
Glenn Suggs
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Rick, Thanks for the input. It seems putting Me.Page = VariableName in the
open event doesn't set the first page number of each report but putting it in
the Activate event does. However, the page number in that case are mixed up
among the various reports. i.e...
report 1 has pages 1, 2
report 2 has pages 2, 9
report 3 has page 3
report 4 has page 4
report 5 has pages 5, 7, 8
report 6 has page 6

It as if each report starts before the last one finishes, resets the page
number, and then each continues with the next available sequence number. Can
you help?
--
Glenn


"Rick Brandt" wrote:

"Glenn Suggs" wrote in message
...
I have several separate reports in various formats based on different tables
and queries and these reports are all related from the perspective of
management users. How can I combine these reports into one report so that
all are printed together, preferably with consecutive page numbers, titles,
etc.? I can easily go through the report wizard and create each one but
putting them together in this fashion is something I'm having trouble
figuring out how to do.


One way...

DoCmd.OpenReport "Report1"
DoCmd.OpenReport "Report2"
etc..

Now; create a public variable in a standard module and in the Page event of each
page in all reports have a line of code...

VariableName = VariableName + 1

In the Open event of all of the reports except for the first have a line of
code...

Me.Page = VariableName

I'm not sure if I've listed the best events here but the point is that you can
programmatically set the value for the [Page] property in a report and then it
will count up from that as a new starting point. So if your first report had
three pages the second report would number its first page as page 4 and so on.

You would likely want an event in the first report to reset the variable back to
zero in case you print the batch more than once in a session.

--
I don't check the Email account attached
to this message. Send instead to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com



  #4  
Old June 10th, 2005, 12:07 AM
Rick Brandt
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Glenn Suggs" wrote in message
...
Rick, Thanks for the input. It seems putting Me.Page = VariableName in the
open event doesn't set the first page number of each report but putting it in
the Activate event does. However, the page number in that case are mixed up
among the various reports. i.e...
report 1 has pages 1, 2
report 2 has pages 2, 9
report 3 has page 3
report 4 has page 4
report 5 has pages 5, 7, 8
report 6 has page 6

It as if each report starts before the last one finishes, resets the page
number, and then each continues with the next available sequence number. Can
you help?


You might have to use OpenReport only for the first report in your original code
and then have each report open the next in its Close event. That should ensure
that one is finished before the next one begins.

--
I don't check the Email account attached
to this message. Send instead to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com


  #5  
Old June 10th, 2005, 03:08 PM
Glenn Suggs
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

When I open each report in the previous report's Close event, it works fine
as long as I run them in Preview mode. But when running in Print mode,
acViewNormal, only the first one runs. Is the Close event supposed to fire
when the a report is finished printing to the printer? It appears not.

Thanks
--
Glenn


"Rick Brandt" wrote:

"Glenn Suggs" wrote in message
...
Rick, Thanks for the input. It seems putting Me.Page = VariableName in the
open event doesn't set the first page number of each report but putting it in
the Activate event does. However, the page number in that case are mixed up
among the various reports. i.e...
report 1 has pages 1, 2
report 2 has pages 2, 9
report 3 has page 3
report 4 has page 4
report 5 has pages 5, 7, 8
report 6 has page 6

It as if each report starts before the last one finishes, resets the page
number, and then each continues with the next available sequence number. Can
you help?


You might have to use OpenReport only for the first report in your original code
and then have each report open the next in its Close event. That should ensure
that one is finished before the next one begins.

--
I don't check the Email account attached
to this message. Send instead to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com



  #6  
Old June 10th, 2005, 03:17 PM
Rick Brandt
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Glenn Suggs wrote:
When I open each report in the previous report's Close event, it
works fine as long as I run them in Preview mode. But when running
in Print mode, acViewNormal, only the first one runs. Is the Close
event supposed to fire when the a report is finished printing to the
printer? It appears not.


Might have to experiment with different events. Try the OnPrint of the
report footer. Even if the first report isn't "done" in that event it
should at least be at its last page.

--
I don't check the Email account attached
to this message. Send instead to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to run a report for multiple selections? Amit Setting Up & Running Reports 0 February 9th, 2005 07:25 PM
Why is my report asking for my parameters multiple times? BettyB Setting Up & Running Reports 1 September 15th, 2004 06:14 PM
Concatenating multiple values into a single field on a report Kevin Running & Setting Up Queries 8 July 16th, 2004 03:31 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.