A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Setting Up & Running Reports
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

A2000: make mult. PDFs from one report



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 28th, 2008, 10:26 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.reports
A Man
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 29
Default A2000: make mult. PDFs from one report

I have Access 2000 and Acrobat Pro v8.

I have a giant report with 800+ customers. For each customer I list the
products they ordered. Each customer "sub section" of the report could
be 1 or more pages, I just don't know.

I need to make a separate PDF for each customer from this one report. Is
there a way to do this with code, or a simpler way?

Thanks.
  #2  
Old January 29th, 2008, 01:54 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.reports
Ron Weiner[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 12
Default A2000: make mult. PDFs from one report

I see this as a 4 step process.

Step 1 Create a report that displays data for one customer

Step 2 Learn how to programmatically create a PDF from your report. Hint:
Go here http://www.lebans.com/reporttopdf.htm Download the sample
database. Port Stephens code in your DB.

Step 3 Learn how to send an Email with an Attachment. There are MANY
methods and tons of sample code on the Web.
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q...ith+attachment

Step 4 Repeat running the report in Step 1, creating the PDF in Step 2 and
Emailing the result in Step 3 800 times (once for each customer)

If you get stuck on a particular step, ask a specific question here.
Provide enough information about what you are doing and what errors /
problems you are seeing with your code. I am sure you will get sage advice,
and you will be learning something new that you can add to your own
programmers bag of tricks for future projects.

Ron W
"A Man" wrote in message
. net...
I have Access 2000 and Acrobat Pro v8.

I have a giant report with 800+ customers. For each customer I list the
products they ordered. Each customer "sub section" of the report could
be 1 or more pages, I just don't know.

I need to make a separate PDF for each customer from this one report. Is
there a way to do this with code, or a simpler way?

Thanks.



  #3  
Old January 29th, 2008, 02:09 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.reports
A Man
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 29
Default A2000: make mult. PDFs from one report

Thank you. This points me in the right direction.
  #4  
Old January 29th, 2008, 02:43 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.reports
A Man
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 29
Default A2000: make mult. PDFs from one report

I am pretty rusty programming in Access, and when I did program, I only
used DAO recordsets. Can someone tell me how to loop through my customer
table and produce a report PDF for each customer?

Or would I only have to loop through a customer table and set the WHERE
clause of the report? Or the filter property. I don't know how to do
either but I know the properties are there.

(See above question same thread.)

Thanks.
  #5  
Old January 30th, 2008, 01:11 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.reports
Ron Weiner[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 12
Default A2000: make mult. PDFs from one report

Google is your friend!

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q...oogle+Se arch

Got me 200, 000 Hits

The third one looks promising

http://www.granite.ab.ca/access/email/recordsetloop.htm

Ron W


"A Man" wrote in message
et...
I am pretty rusty programming in Access, and when I did program, I only
used DAO recordsets. Can someone tell me how to loop through my customer
table and produce a report PDF for each customer?

Or would I only have to loop through a customer table and set the WHERE
clause of the report? Or the filter property. I don't know how to do
either but I know the properties are there.

(See above question same thread.)

Thanks.



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.