A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » New Users
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Changing formats



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 26th, 2004, 05:13 AM
Steven
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Changing formats

I recently upgraded computer including a larger monitor.
When I now run my databases, they fill about 25 percent
of the new screen. How can I enlarge my databases to fill
more of the new screen? A couple of other questions -
when screen previewing a report, how can I get the
preview to automatically open at 150%? Also on reports -
how can I ensure a group header is attached to its data
when a new page is opened. ie. the group header should
not be on one page and the group data on the next.
many thanks
  #2  
Old April 26th, 2004, 02:00 PM
Cheryl Fischer
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Changing formats

I recently upgraded computer including a larger monitor.
When I now run my databases, they fill about 25 percent
of the new screen. How can I enlarge my databases to fill
more of the new screen?


The display resolution on your older computer, where you originally
developed your database, was set to a lower resolution than your current
computer. It is possible to add code to your application to adjust the
display based on the current screen resolution settings. Go to the
following link and download the Form Scaling/Resizing Tool.

http://www.developershandbook.com/downloads.htm

If you already own a copy of the Access xxxx Developer's Handbook by Ken
Getz et al, the code is also available there

A couple of other questions -
when screen previewing a report, how can I get the
preview to automatically open at 150%?


DoCmd.OpenReport "MyReport", acViewPreview
DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdZoom150

preview to automatically open at 150%? Also on reports -
how can I ensure a group header is attached to its data
when a new page is opened. ie. the group header should
not be on one page and the group data on the next.


You can adjust the Keep Together property in the Group's Header Properties
in your report's design view.
--

Cheryl Fischer, MVP Microsoft Access
Law/Sys Associates, Houston, TX


"Steven" wrote in message
...
I recently upgraded computer including a larger monitor.
When I now run my databases, they fill about 25 percent
of the new screen. How can I enlarge my databases to fill
more of the new screen? A couple of other questions -
when screen previewing a report, how can I get the
preview to automatically open at 150%? Also on reports -
how can I ensure a group header is attached to its data
when a new page is opened. ie. the group header should
not be on one page and the group data on the next.
many thanks



  #3  
Old April 26th, 2004, 05:49 PM
dandgard
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Changing formats


The amount of space that the interface for access takes up on your
screen has nothing to do with the size of your screen. When you got
the new monitor it was probably set to a different resolution than your
old monitor. A normal resolution is 800 X 600 or 1024 X 768. 1024 X
768 is probably more the industry standard nowdays. You should be
creating forms to that resolution.

You can change your resolution or find out what it is by right clicking
on your desktop - then clicking on properties - then click on the
settings tab of the dialog box that comes up.

On that dialog box you will see a control that says screen area - It
should tell you what resolution you currently are using and allow you
to change it.

If you want to take up more real estate on your screen you can maximize
your forms, but that fills the screen with blank space in most cases.
Otherwise you will need to change the size of your forms and the
controls on the forms. The amount of space taken up by your interface
shouldn't be the controlling factor though as long as you are getting
all the info you want on the screen.


------------------------------------------------
~~ Message posted from http://www.ExcelTip.com/
~~View and post usenet messages directly from http://www.ExcelForum.com/

  #4  
Old April 26th, 2004, 05:49 PM
dandgard
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Changing formats


The amount of space that the interface for access takes up on your
screen has nothing to do with the size of your screen. When you got
the new monitor it was probably set to a different resolution than your
old monitor. A normal resolution is 800 X 600 or 1024 X 768. 1024 X
768 is probably more the industry standard nowdays. You should be
creating forms to that resolution.

You can change your resolution or find out what it is by right clicking
on your desktop - then clicking on properties - then click on the
settings tab of the dialog box that comes up.

On that dialog box you will see a control that says screen area - It
should tell you what resolution you currently are using and allow you
to change it.

If you want to take up more real estate on your screen you can maximize
your forms, but that fills the screen with blank space in most cases.
Otherwise you will need to change the size of your forms and the
controls on the forms. The amount of space taken up by your interface
shouldn't be the controlling factor though as long as you are getting
all the info you want on the screen.


------------------------------------------------
~~ Message posted from http://www.ExcelTip.com/
~~View and post usenet messages directly from http://www.ExcelForum.com/

  #5  
Old April 26th, 2004, 06:09 PM
dandgard
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Changing formats


Generally, i put the headers for my groups in the page header section.
But it depends on what kind of data you want to display based on the
group. Is the header the same for every group, if so do the headers on
the page. If the headers are different for every group then do them at
both page and group levels.

By the way if you hear of a method to zoom the report automatically, i
would be interested to hear of it. It sounds like it should be doable
but I don't find any references to it.


------------------------------------------------
~~ Message posted from http://www.ExcelTip.com/
~~View and post usenet messages directly from http://www.ExcelForum.com/

  #6  
Old April 26th, 2004, 06:09 PM
dandgard
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Changing formats


Generally, i put the headers for my groups in the page header section.
But it depends on what kind of data you want to display based on the
group. Is the header the same for every group, if so do the headers on
the page. If the headers are different for every group then do them at
both page and group levels.

By the way if you hear of a method to zoom the report automatically, i
would be interested to hear of it. It sounds like it should be doable
but I don't find any references to it.


------------------------------------------------
~~ Message posted from http://www.ExcelTip.com/
~~View and post usenet messages directly from http://www.ExcelForum.com/

  #7  
Old April 26th, 2004, 06:23 PM
dandgard
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Changing formats


Here, I found this by doing a search on "Zoom Preview" on this forum.
You could have done the same. Anyway, here is what I found.

If you open the report from a command button event on a form, you

can
use:
DoCmd.OpenReport "ReportName", acViewPreview
DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdZoom150

If yiou also wish to make sure the report opens Maximized, just add
DoCmd.Maximize to the above.



------------------------------------------------
~~ Message posted from http://www.ExcelTip.com/
~~View and post usenet messages directly from http://www.ExcelForum.com/

  #8  
Old April 26th, 2004, 06:23 PM
dandgard
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Changing formats


Here, I found this by doing a search on "Zoom Preview" on this forum.
You could have done the same. Anyway, here is what I found.

If you open the report from a command button event on a form, you

can
use:
DoCmd.OpenReport "ReportName", acViewPreview
DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdZoom150

If yiou also wish to make sure the report opens Maximized, just add
DoCmd.Maximize to the above.



------------------------------------------------
~~ Message posted from http://www.ExcelTip.com/
~~View and post usenet messages directly from http://www.ExcelForum.com/

  #9  
Old April 27th, 2004, 04:37 AM
Steven
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Changing formats

The acCmdZoom150 produces an error message 2046 stating
that Zoom150% is unavailable.
I have adjusted the Keep Together property in the Group's
Header properties, but the text and heading still split.
grateful any further advice
thanks
-----Original Message-----
I recently upgraded computer including a larger

monitor.
When I now run my databases, they fill about 25 percent
of the new screen. How can I enlarge my databases to

fill
more of the new screen?


The display resolution on your older computer, where you

originally
developed your database, was set to a lower resolution

than your current
computer. It is possible to add code to your

application to adjust the
display based on the current screen resolution

settings. Go to the
following link and download the Form Scaling/Resizing

Tool.

http://www.developershandbook.com/downloads.htm

If you already own a copy of the Access xxxx Developer's

Handbook by Ken
Getz et al, the code is also available there

A couple of other questions -
when screen previewing a report, how can I get the
preview to automatically open at 150%?


DoCmd.OpenReport "MyReport", acViewPreview
DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdZoom150

preview to automatically open at 150%? Also on

reports -
how can I ensure a group header is attached to its data
when a new page is opened. ie. the group header should
not be on one page and the group data on the next.


You can adjust the Keep Together property in the Group's

Header Properties
in your report's design view.
--

Cheryl Fischer, MVP Microsoft Access
Law/Sys Associates, Houston, TX


"Steven" wrote in

message
...
I recently upgraded computer including a larger

monitor.
When I now run my databases, they fill about 25 percent
of the new screen. How can I enlarge my databases to

fill
more of the new screen? A couple of other questions -
when screen previewing a report, how can I get the
preview to automatically open at 150%? Also on

reports -
how can I ensure a group header is attached to its data
when a new page is opened. ie. the group header should
not be on one page and the group data on the next.
many thanks



.

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.