A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Can't figure this one out



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 29th, 2006, 07:32 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Dos Equis
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 81
Default Can't figure this one out

Hi all,

I am trying to make a form which will look up a record in one table and
allow me to input a child record in a second table. Basically I have a
subscribers database and want to be able to track payments.

I've tried to do this with a query to base the form on but get no
results once I attach the payment table to the query. I assume I'll
need to create a form and a subform. Would someone please point me in
the right direction?

Thanks,

Byron

  #2  
Old November 29th, 2006, 07:47 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
kingston via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 620
Default Can't figure this one out

Create a form for table1 with the ability to look up a record. Create a form
for table2. Make sure both forms work the way you want. Open the form for
table1 in design mode and drag and drop the form for table2 into it. Access
will ask for the fields that you want to link the two together. That's it.
The form for table1 will automatically update the subform (you can add
records corresponding to the ID in the main form).

Dos Equis wrote:
Hi all,

I am trying to make a form which will look up a record in one table and
allow me to input a child record in a second table. Basically I have a
subscribers database and want to be able to track payments.

I've tried to do this with a query to base the form on but get no
results once I attach the payment table to the query. I assume I'll
need to create a form and a subform. Would someone please point me in
the right direction?

Thanks,

Byron


--
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200611/1

  #3  
Old November 29th, 2006, 07:48 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Lynn Trapp
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 173
Default Can't figure this one out

Byron,
You'll need to tell us something about your database structure.

--

Lynn Trapp
Microsoft MVP (Access)
www.ltcomputerdesigns.com


"Dos Equis" wrote in message
ups.com...
Hi all,

I am trying to make a form which will look up a record in one table and
allow me to input a child record in a second table. Basically I have a
subscribers database and want to be able to track payments.

I've tried to do this with a query to base the form on but get no
results once I attach the payment table to the query. I assume I'll
need to create a form and a subform. Would someone please point me in
the right direction?

Thanks,

Byron



  #4  
Old November 29th, 2006, 09:30 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Dos Equis
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 81
Default Can't figure this one out

Worked like a champ. Thank you,

Byron

kingston via AccessMonster.com wrote:
Create a form for table1 with the ability to look up a record. Create a form
for table2. Make sure both forms work the way you want. Open the form for
table1 in design mode and drag and drop the form for table2 into it. Access
will ask for the fields that you want to link the two together. That's it.
The form for table1 will automatically update the subform (you can add
records corresponding to the ID in the main form).

Dos Equis wrote:
Hi all,

I am trying to make a form which will look up a record in one table and
allow me to input a child record in a second table. Basically I have a
subscribers database and want to be able to track payments.

I've tried to do this with a query to base the form on but get no
results once I attach the payment table to the query. I assume I'll
need to create a form and a subform. Would someone please point me in
the right direction?

Thanks,

Byron


--
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200611/1


  #5  
Old November 29th, 2006, 11:04 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Dos Equis
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 81
Default Can't figure this one out

Looks like I spoke too soon. I am having a problem with this form.

It worked as a subscriber data edit form. It worked when I had just
the Payment options added. I've also added a subform for complaints
and now I get an error with the payments. The error is as follows:

The LinkMasterFields property setting has produced this error:
'Ambiguous name detected: btn_EditAnother_Click'

It comes up again once I hit ok. I assume this has to do with a second
subform being added?

Thanks for any help.

Byron

Dos Equis wrote:
Worked like a champ. Thank you,

Byron

kingston via AccessMonster.com wrote:
Create a form for table1 with the ability to look up a record. Create a form
for table2. Make sure both forms work the way you want. Open the form for
table1 in design mode and drag and drop the form for table2 into it. Access
will ask for the fields that you want to link the two together. That's it.
The form for table1 will automatically update the subform (you can add
records corresponding to the ID in the main form).

Dos Equis wrote:
Hi all,

I am trying to make a form which will look up a record in one table and
allow me to input a child record in a second table. Basically I have a
subscribers database and want to be able to track payments.

I've tried to do this with a query to base the form on but get no
results once I attach the payment table to the query. I assume I'll
need to create a form and a subform. Would someone please point me in
the right direction?

Thanks,

Byron


--
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200611/1


  #6  
Old November 29th, 2006, 11:55 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
John Vinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,033
Default Can't figure this one out

On 29 Nov 2006 15:04:38 -0800, "Dos Equis"
wrote:

The LinkMasterFields property setting has produced this error:
'Ambiguous name detected: btn_EditAnother_Click'

It comes up again once I hit ok. I assume this has to do with a second
subform being added?


Open the Form's VBA code. There are evidently TWO Sub routines named
btn_EditAnother_Click, perhaps because you tried to create the button
a second time after deleting it.

Remove the old

Sub btn_EditAnother_Click()
a bunch of code
End Sub

It will typically be at the very top of the form's Module.

John W. Vinson[MVP]
  #7  
Old November 30th, 2006, 12:21 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Dos Equis
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 81
Default Can't figure this one out

Fixed it. Thank you.

Byron


John Vinson wrote:
On 29 Nov 2006 15:04:38 -0800, "Dos Equis"
wrote:

The LinkMasterFields property setting has produced this error:
'Ambiguous name detected: btn_EditAnother_Click'

It comes up again once I hit ok. I assume this has to do with a second
subform being added?


Open the Form's VBA code. There are evidently TWO Sub routines named
btn_EditAnother_Click, perhaps because you tried to create the button
a second time after deleting it.

Remove the old

Sub btn_EditAnother_Click()
a bunch of code
End Sub

It will typically be at the very top of the form's Module.

John W. Vinson[MVP]


  #8  
Old November 30th, 2006, 12:31 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
kingston via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 620
Default Can't figure this one out

Do you have a nested subform or just two subforms in one main form? The
error seems to indicate that you've selected a button rather than a field to
link the main form and a subform? Check the Link Child/Master Fields
properties. Make sure all forms work independently.

Dos Equis wrote:
Looks like I spoke too soon. I am having a problem with this form.

It worked as a subscriber data edit form. It worked when I had just
the Payment options added. I've also added a subform for complaints
and now I get an error with the payments. The error is as follows:

The LinkMasterFields property setting has produced this error:
'Ambiguous name detected: btn_EditAnother_Click'

It comes up again once I hit ok. I assume this has to do with a second
subform being added?

Thanks for any help.

Byron

Worked like a champ. Thank you,

[quoted text clipped - 25 lines]
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200611/1


--
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200611/1

  #9  
Old November 30th, 2006, 01:29 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Dos Equis
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 81
Default Can't figure this one out

I followed your advice earlier. I opened the main form
(Subscriber/Company Data Edit Form) and dragged both sub forms onto it.
I then went to the properties field of both sub forms and used the
childlink to link the SubID on both subforms to the SubID on the master
form. This worked and went fine until I started trying to make a
button which would allow me to edit another record after I finished the
one I was on.

Would it help to have them nested? If so, what do I need to do? I'm
willing to try just about anything to improve this thing, I'd send it
to you if you wanted to see it...

I've been playing with access for several years, but never needed
anything this indepth. Now I'm learning lots and getting better, but
still don't know enough to ask the right questions. I have a couple of
books that I think have some of the information I need, but don't know
how to find it in them... not really ready to sit down and read 1200
pages just to find that one nugget that helps right now, and I do look
through them before I post just to see if it's an obvious answer.

Thanks for all your help,

Byron


kingston via AccessMonster.com wrote:
Do you have a nested subform or just two subforms in one main form? The
error seems to indicate that you've selected a button rather than a field to
link the main form and a subform? Check the Link Child/Master Fields
properties. Make sure all forms work independently.

Dos Equis wrote:
Looks like I spoke too soon. I am having a problem with this form.

It worked as a subscriber data edit form. It worked when I had just
the Payment options added. I've also added a subform for complaints
and now I get an error with the payments. The error is as follows:

The LinkMasterFields property setting has produced this error:
'Ambiguous name detected: btn_EditAnother_Click'

It comes up again once I hit ok. I assume this has to do with a second
subform being added?

Thanks for any help.

Byron

Worked like a champ. Thank you,

[quoted text clipped - 25 lines]
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200611/1


--
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200611/1


  #10  
Old November 30th, 2006, 03:23 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
kingston via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 620
Default Can't figure this one out

I saw Jon Vinson's answer only after I posted my last response and I thought
it correctly diagnosed the problem. I guess I'm not sure what you're trying
to solve now and how I can help. Is your set-up working now?

Nesting subforms just means that there is a subform within a subform within a
main form. This is used where there are three levels of data; I wasn't sure
whether this was what you meant when you said you added another subform.
However, if both subforms are directly related to the main form, there is no
need to use nested subforms.

As far as adding a button to move to a new record, where are you trying to do
this? Let's use a convention like this: you have 3 forms - FormA, FormB,
FormC; if FormB is a subform of FormA, call the combination FormA(B); if
FormB and FormC are subforms of FormA, call the combination FormA(BC); if
Form C is a subform of FormB and this combination is a subform of Form A,
call this FormA(B(C)). Creating a button to move to a new record within the
same form should be fairly straightforward. In fact, you should be able to
use the Access button wizard to do this. Are you trying to move to a new
record in a subform? In general, I try not to duplicate built-in functions;
in this case, the built-in record navigation buttons allow users to move to a
new record. I feel that users should know how to perform rudimentary tasks
and have a basic understanding of Access (just like Excel or Word).
Otherwise, it's just too much hand-holding and unnecessary programming.

Dos Equis wrote:
I followed your advice earlier. I opened the main form
(Subscriber/Company Data Edit Form) and dragged both sub forms onto it.
I then went to the properties field of both sub forms and used the
childlink to link the SubID on both subforms to the SubID on the master
form. This worked and went fine until I started trying to make a
button which would allow me to edit another record after I finished the
one I was on.

Would it help to have them nested? If so, what do I need to do? I'm
willing to try just about anything to improve this thing, I'd send it
to you if you wanted to see it...

I've been playing with access for several years, but never needed
anything this indepth. Now I'm learning lots and getting better, but
still don't know enough to ask the right questions. I have a couple of
books that I think have some of the information I need, but don't know
how to find it in them... not really ready to sit down and read 1200
pages just to find that one nugget that helps right now, and I do look
through them before I post just to see if it's an obvious answer.

Thanks for all your help,

Byron

Do you have a nested subform or just two subforms in one main form? The
error seems to indicate that you've selected a button rather than a field to

[quoted text clipped - 26 lines]
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200611/1


--
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200611/1

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.