A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Setting Up & Running Reports
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Open 5 combined Reports



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 16th, 2010, 05:21 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.reports
Johnny-Walker via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 10
Default Open 5 combined Reports

I create an form in Access which requires an employee ID # to open the Form
and enter data on the employee, the data then appears on a 5 page report.
Problem is I have to enter the employee ID # all 5 time sto open the reports.
ANY WAY TO SET THE REPORTS UP SO I ONLY HAVRE TO ENTER THE EMPLOYEE ID # 1
TIME FOR ALL 5 PAGES TO OPEN?

THANK YOU IN ADVANCE FOR ANY HELP ON THIS!!!!!!

--
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...ports/201003/1

  #2  
Old March 16th, 2010, 08:00 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.reports
Gina Whipp
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,500
Default Open 5 combined Reports

Johnny-Walker,

On the button on your form that open your reports use...

'If EmployeeID is numeric
DoCmd.OpenReport "YourReportName", acViewPreview, , "[YourEmployeeIDField]="
& Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm]

OR

'If EmployeeID is text
DoCmd.OpenReport "YourReportName", acViewPreview, ,
"[YourEmployeeIDField]='" & Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm] & "'"

--
Gina Whipp
2010 Microsoft MVP (Access)

"I feel I have been denied critical, need to know, information!" - Tremors
II

http://www.regina-whipp.com/index_files/TipList.htm

"Johnny-Walker via AccessMonster.com" u58651@uwe wrote in message
news:a51a74554093a@uwe...
I create an form in Access which requires an employee ID # to open the Form
and enter data on the employee, the data then appears on a 5 page report.
Problem is I have to enter the employee ID # all 5 time sto open the
reports.
ANY WAY TO SET THE REPORTS UP SO I ONLY HAVRE TO ENTER THE EMPLOYEE ID # 1
TIME FOR ALL 5 PAGES TO OPEN?

THANK YOU IN ADVANCE FOR ANY HELP ON THIS!!!!!!

--
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...ports/201003/1

  #3  
Old March 18th, 2010, 03:20 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.reports
Johnny-Walker via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 10
Default Open 5 combined Reports

Gina Whipp wrote:
Johnny-Walker,

On the button on your form that open your reports use...

'If EmployeeID is numeric
DoCmd.OpenReport "YourReportName", acViewPreview, , "[YourEmployeeIDField]="
& Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm]

OR

'If EmployeeID is text
DoCmd.OpenReport "YourReportName", acViewPreview, ,
"[YourEmployeeIDField]='" & Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm] & "'"

I create an form in Access which requires an employee ID # to open the Form
and enter data on the employee, the data then appears on a 5 page report.
Problem is I have to enter the employee ID # all 5 time sto open the
reports.
ANY WAY TO SET THE REPORTS UP SO I ONLY HAVRE TO ENTER THE EMPLOYEE ID # 1
TIME FOR ALL 5 PAGES TO OPEN?

THANK YOU IN ADVANCE FOR ANY HELP ON THIS!!!!!!



Gina,


I am new to this so I have a few questions: I start by clicking on the first
report & then a box opens to enter the ID# of the employee records I am
looking for. I re-enter the same ID in the rest of the boxes to open the
rest of the 4 remaining reports to open all of them. The reports are driven
from a query and under the ID# in the query I put [Enter Employee ID Number:]
So

1st question can I enter the code you provided in a macro and set the 1st
report to open the additional reports On Click?

the Id#'s are from 70 to 600 do I enter that range in the code you provided ?

and in the code you provided do I seperate each report name with a comma?

Example:

DoCmd.OpenReport "Page1,Page2,Page3,Page4,Page5", acViewPreview, ,
"[YourEmployeeIDField]='" & Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm] & "'"


where would I ente rthe Id# range example 07-600

Thank Again Gina I really appreciate Your Help!!!

--
Message posted via http://www.accessmonster.com

  #4  
Old March 18th, 2010, 04:20 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.reports
Gina Whipp
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,500
Default Open 5 combined Reports

Johnny-Walker,

Okay... the code I provided is not for a macro and does not allow for using
the query to select the ID. The way I *thought* you were selecting the ID
was via a form AND you would only include one report per line, ie...

1. Form opens with combo box where you would select the ID
2. Button on form to open your report would include this in the On_Click
event of the button...

DoCmd.OpenReport "Page1", acViewPreview, ,"[YourEmployeeIDField]='" &
Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm] & "'"
DoCmd.OpenReport "Page2", acViewPreview, ,"[YourEmployeeIDField]='" &
Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm] & "'"
DoCmd.OpenReport "Page3", acViewPreview, ,"[YourEmployeeIDField]='" &
Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm] & "'"
DoCmd.OpenReport "Page4", acViewPreview, ,"[YourEmployeeIDField]='" &
Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm] & "'"
DoCmd.OpenReport "Page5", acViewPreview, ,"[YourEmployeeIDField]='" &
Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm] & "'"

OR if you put the pages on page 1 as subreports (with pagebreaks) linked by
ID then...

DoCmd.OpenReport "Page1", acViewPreview, ,"[YourEmployeeIDField]='" &
Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm] & "'"

--
Gina Whipp
2010 Microsoft MVP (Access)

"I feel I have been denied critical, need to know, information!" - Tremors
II

http://www.regina-whipp.com/index_files/TipList.htm

"Johnny-Walker via AccessMonster.com" u58651@uwe wrote in message
news:a5328c11ad337@uwe...
Gina Whipp wrote:
Johnny-Walker,

On the button on your form that open your reports use...

'If EmployeeID is numeric
DoCmd.OpenReport "YourReportName", acViewPreview, ,
"[YourEmployeeIDField]="
& Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm]

OR

'If EmployeeID is text
DoCmd.OpenReport "YourReportName", acViewPreview, ,
"[YourEmployeeIDField]='" & Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm] & "'"

I create an form in Access which requires an employee ID # to open the Form
and enter data on the employee, the data then appears on a 5 page report.
Problem is I have to enter the employee ID # all 5 time sto open the
reports.
ANY WAY TO SET THE REPORTS UP SO I ONLY HAVRE TO ENTER THE EMPLOYEE ID # 1
TIME FOR ALL 5 PAGES TO OPEN?

THANK YOU IN ADVANCE FOR ANY HELP ON THIS!!!!!!



Gina,


I am new to this so I have a few questions: I start by clicking on the first
report & then a box opens to enter the ID# of the employee records I am
looking for. I re-enter the same ID in the rest of the boxes to open the
rest of the 4 remaining reports to open all of them. The reports are driven
from a query and under the ID# in the query I put [Enter Employee ID
Number:]
So

1st question can I enter the code you provided in a macro and set the 1st
report to open the additional reports On Click?

the Id#'s are from 70 to 600 do I enter that range in the code you provided
?

and in the code you provided do I seperate each report name with a comma?

Example:

DoCmd.OpenReport "Page1,Page2,Page3,Page4,Page5", acViewPreview, ,
"[YourEmployeeIDField]='" & Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm] & "'"


where would I ente rthe Id# range example 07-600

Thank Again Gina I really appreciate Your Help!!!

--
Message posted via http://www.accessmonster.com

  #5  
Old March 23rd, 2010, 03:39 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.reports
Johnny-Walker via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 10
Default Open 5 combined Reports

Hi Gina,

Thanks for all your help, It looks like I will need to find some one to look
at what I'm doing because I am sure the problem is with the way I set things
up, but I wanted to thank you for trying to help me get on track!


Gina Whipp wrote:
Johnny-Walker,

Okay... the code I provided is not for a macro and does not allow for using
the query to select the ID. The way I *thought* you were selecting the ID
was via a form AND you would only include one report per line, ie...

1. Form opens with combo box where you would select the ID
2. Button on form to open your report would include this in the On_Click
event of the button...

DoCmd.OpenReport "Page1", acViewPreview, ,"[YourEmployeeIDField]='" &
Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm] & "'"
DoCmd.OpenReport "Page2", acViewPreview, ,"[YourEmployeeIDField]='" &
Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm] & "'"
DoCmd.OpenReport "Page3", acViewPreview, ,"[YourEmployeeIDField]='" &
Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm] & "'"
DoCmd.OpenReport "Page4", acViewPreview, ,"[YourEmployeeIDField]='" &
Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm] & "'"
DoCmd.OpenReport "Page5", acViewPreview, ,"[YourEmployeeIDField]='" &
Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm] & "'"

OR if you put the pages on page 1 as subreports (with pagebreaks) linked by
ID then...

DoCmd.OpenReport "Page1", acViewPreview, ,"[YourEmployeeIDField]='" &
Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm] & "'"

Gina Whipp wrote:
Johnny-Walker,

[quoted text clipped - 19 lines]

THANK YOU IN ADVANCE FOR ANY HELP ON THIS!!!!!!


Gina,

I am new to this so I have a few questions: I start by clicking on the first
report & then a box opens to enter the ID# of the employee records I am
looking for. I re-enter the same ID in the rest of the boxes to open the
rest of the 4 remaining reports to open all of them. The reports are driven
from a query and under the ID# in the query I put [Enter Employee ID
Number:]
So

1st question can I enter the code you provided in a macro and set the 1st
report to open the additional reports On Click?

the Id#'s are from 70 to 600 do I enter that range in the code you provided
?

and in the code you provided do I seperate each report name with a comma?

Example:

DoCmd.OpenReport "Page1,Page2,Page3,Page4,Page5", acViewPreview, ,
"[YourEmployeeIDField]='" & Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm] & "'"


where would I ente rthe Id# range example 07-600

Thank Again Gina I really appreciate Your Help!!!


--
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...ports/201003/1

  #6  
Old March 23rd, 2010, 11:54 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.reports
Gina Whipp
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,500
Default Open 5 combined Reports

Johnny,

Well, you didn't tell me what's happening... I could look at the database
but it probably won't be till tomorrow, if you can wait!

--
Gina Whipp
2010 Microsoft MVP (Access)

"I feel I have been denied critical, need to know, information!" - Tremors
II

http://www.regina-whipp.com/index_files/TipList.htm

"Johnny-Walker via AccessMonster.com" u58651@uwe wrote in message
news:a57193831510c@uwe...
Hi Gina,

Thanks for all your help, It looks like I will need to find some one to look
at what I'm doing because I am sure the problem is with the way I set things
up, but I wanted to thank you for trying to help me get on track!


Gina Whipp wrote:
Johnny-Walker,

Okay... the code I provided is not for a macro and does not allow for using
the query to select the ID. The way I *thought* you were selecting the ID
was via a form AND you would only include one report per line, ie...

1. Form opens with combo box where you would select the ID
2. Button on form to open your report would include this in the On_Click
event of the button...

DoCmd.OpenReport "Page1", acViewPreview, ,"[YourEmployeeIDField]='" &
Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm] & "'"
DoCmd.OpenReport "Page2", acViewPreview, ,"[YourEmployeeIDField]='" &
Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm] & "'"
DoCmd.OpenReport "Page3", acViewPreview, ,"[YourEmployeeIDField]='" &
Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm] & "'"
DoCmd.OpenReport "Page4", acViewPreview, ,"[YourEmployeeIDField]='" &
Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm] & "'"
DoCmd.OpenReport "Page5", acViewPreview, ,"[YourEmployeeIDField]='" &
Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm] & "'"

OR if you put the pages on page 1 as subreports (with pagebreaks) linked by
ID then...

DoCmd.OpenReport "Page1", acViewPreview, ,"[YourEmployeeIDField]='" &
Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm] & "'"

Gina Whipp wrote:
Johnny-Walker,

[quoted text clipped - 19 lines]

THANK YOU IN ADVANCE FOR ANY HELP ON THIS!!!!!!


Gina,

I am new to this so I have a few questions: I start by clicking on the
first
report & then a box opens to enter the ID# of the employee records I am
looking for. I re-enter the same ID in the rest of the boxes to open the
rest of the 4 remaining reports to open all of them. The reports are
driven
from a query and under the ID# in the query I put [Enter Employee ID
Number:]
So

1st question can I enter the code you provided in a macro and set the 1st
report to open the additional reports On Click?

the Id#'s are from 70 to 600 do I enter that range in the code you provided
?

and in the code you provided do I seperate each report name with a comma?

Example:

DoCmd.OpenReport "Page1,Page2,Page3,Page4,Page5", acViewPreview, ,
"[YourEmployeeIDField]='" & Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm] & "'"


where would I ente rthe Id# range example 07-600

Thank Again Gina I really appreciate Your Help!!!


--
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...ports/201003/1

  #9  
Old March 24th, 2010, 09:39 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.reports
Gina Whipp
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,500
Default Open 5 combined Reports

Johnny,

*Never* post your real eMail address in a public newsgroup. The spammers
will harvest it and, well, you know what happens after that. Please go to
my web page (www.regina-whipp.com) and click the button on the home page and
attach you database and send it to me. Please put your name from the
newsgroup in the Subject Line or you will end up in the trash!

--
Gina Whipp
2010 Microsoft MVP (Access)

"I feel I have been denied critical, need to know, information!" - Tremors
II

http://www.regina-whipp.com/index_files/TipList.htm

"Gina Whipp" wrote in message
...
Johnny,

Well, you didn't tell me what's happening... I could look at the database
but it probably won't be till tomorrow, if you can wait!

--
Gina Whipp
2010 Microsoft MVP (Access)

"I feel I have been denied critical, need to know, information!" - Tremors
II

http://www.regina-whipp.com/index_files/TipList.htm

"Johnny-Walker via AccessMonster.com" u58651@uwe wrote in message
news:a57193831510c@uwe...
Hi Gina,

Thanks for all your help, It looks like I will need to find some one to look
at what I'm doing because I am sure the problem is with the way I set things
up, but I wanted to thank you for trying to help me get on track!


Gina Whipp wrote:
Johnny-Walker,

Okay... the code I provided is not for a macro and does not allow for using
the query to select the ID. The way I *thought* you were selecting the ID
was via a form AND you would only include one report per line, ie...

1. Form opens with combo box where you would select the ID
2. Button on form to open your report would include this in the On_Click
event of the button...

DoCmd.OpenReport "Page1", acViewPreview, ,"[YourEmployeeIDField]='" &
Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm] & "'"
DoCmd.OpenReport "Page2", acViewPreview, ,"[YourEmployeeIDField]='" &
Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm] & "'"
DoCmd.OpenReport "Page3", acViewPreview, ,"[YourEmployeeIDField]='" &
Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm] & "'"
DoCmd.OpenReport "Page4", acViewPreview, ,"[YourEmployeeIDField]='" &
Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm] & "'"
DoCmd.OpenReport "Page5", acViewPreview, ,"[YourEmployeeIDField]='" &
Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm] & "'"

OR if you put the pages on page 1 as subreports (with pagebreaks) linked by
ID then...

DoCmd.OpenReport "Page1", acViewPreview, ,"[YourEmployeeIDField]='" &
Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm] & "'"

Gina Whipp wrote:
Johnny-Walker,

[quoted text clipped - 19 lines]

THANK YOU IN ADVANCE FOR ANY HELP ON THIS!!!!!!


Gina,

I am new to this so I have a few questions: I start by clicking on the
first
report & then a box opens to enter the ID# of the employee records I am
looking for. I re-enter the same ID in the rest of the boxes to open the
rest of the 4 remaining reports to open all of them. The reports are
driven
from a query and under the ID# in the query I put [Enter Employee ID
Number:]
So

1st question can I enter the code you provided in a macro and set the 1st
report to open the additional reports On Click?

the Id#'s are from 70 to 600 do I enter that range in the code you provided
?

and in the code you provided do I seperate each report name with a comma?

Example:

DoCmd.OpenReport "Page1,Page2,Page3,Page4,Page5", acViewPreview, ,
"[YourEmployeeIDField]='" & Me![cboYourEmployeeIDFieldOnForm] & "'"


where would I ente rthe Id# range example 07-600

Thank Again Gina I really appreciate Your Help!!!


--
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...ports/201003/1

  #10  
Old March 31st, 2010, 09:14 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.reports
Johnny-Walker via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 10
Default Open 5 combined Reports

Gina,

I made the changes you suggested and used a combo box to look up the name in
the form and that works, but when I open a report, it just opens up to the
first person on the list, not the one I am working on in the form.


Gina Whipp wrote:
Johnny,

Well, you didn't tell me what's happening... I could look at the database
but it probably won't be till tomorrow, if you can wait!

Hi Gina,

Thanks for all your help, It looks like I will need to find some one to look
at what I'm doing because I am sure the problem is with the way I set things
up, but I wanted to thank you for trying to help me get on track!

Gina Whipp wrote:
Johnny-Walker,

[quoted text clipped - 57 lines]

Thank Again Gina I really appreciate Your Help!!!


--
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...ports/201003/1

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.