A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » General Discussion
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Access 2007 Object Corruption



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old March 4th, 2009, 04:46 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
CrazyAccessProgrammer
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 58
Default Access 2007 Object Corruption

If you have not split the database, and it is being opened by multiple users
(or even multiple instances on your own computer), David's suggestion of
splitting will help. I assume you know what we are talking about he
tables in one file in a shared location (the back end), and all other
objects (queries, forms, reports, code, ...) and attached tables in a
seprate file (the front end) such that each user opens an indepdent copy of
the front end.


The database I'm working on right now is in development only and not being
used by anyone. So I haven't split the tables out yet. But yes I know about
frontend/backend and prior to deployment the tables will be split to a
backend.


Editing code in break mode can cause corruption IME. Merely pausing in break
mode (followed by a continue or reset) should not corrupt the file (unless
it affects some other dependences between classes or objects that disappear
when you reset.)


I believe this *may* be the main issue for me. In my original post I said
that I rarely edit code while in 'break' mode but since my original post I've
been paying extra special attention to what I'm doing and find that I am
quite often typing away in 'break' mode.

All day yesterday I made double sure NOT to type code in 'break' mode and
also did NOT experience any corruption in my database... the only day I've
had no corruption since I started building my brand new Access 2007 database
a month ago. So that's a telling trend.

A recomendation for Access 2007 would be to put an Access Application level
property where you could check a checkbox to disallow editing VBA code during
'break' mode.

To be honest, it's such a knee-jerk reaction to start fixing code right away
when you get a runtime error (and you are in break mode), it requires a lot
of concerted practice to retrain yourself NOT to do that... I guess I've been
doing it for years.
  #12  
Old March 4th, 2009, 05:27 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
John W. Vinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18,261
Default Access 2007 Object Corruption

On Wed, 4 Mar 2009 08:46:09 -0800, CrazyAccessProgrammer
wrote:

I believe this *may* be the main issue for me. In my original post I said
that I rarely edit code while in 'break' mode but since my original post I've
been paying extra special attention to what I'm doing and find that I am
quite often typing away in 'break' mode.

All day yesterday I made double sure NOT to type code in 'break' mode and
also did NOT experience any corruption in my database... the only day I've
had no corruption since I started building my brand new Access 2007 database
a month ago. So that's a telling trend.


Thanks for posting that, CAP! I've heard lots and lots of general warnings,
and had a "gut feel" that editing in break was risky, but this seems like a
much clearer testimonial.

A recomendation for Access 2007 would be to put an Access Application level
property where you could check a checkbox to disallow editing VBA code during
'break' mode.


That would be a VERY good idea (probably for Access 14 at this point). I hope
someone at the Summit sees this and talks to the Access team about it, and
will endeavor to see that they do!

--

John W. Vinson [MVP]
  #13  
Old March 4th, 2009, 07:06 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
a a r o n _ k e m p f
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 415
Default Access 2007 Object Corruption

a single corruption in a decade-- is too much for me!

I've seen Jet corrupt ~~100 times.. and thats ~~100 times too many for
me!

-Aaron


On Mar 3, 7:22*am, CrazyAccessProgrammer
wrote:
While I'm frustrated with how often Access 2007 is corrupting on me during
development of my database, what you wrote is quite an exageration relative
to my actual experience with Jet. It's not as bad, at least to me, as you
suggest.

"a a r o n _ k e m p f" wrote:

Jet corrupts all the time. *It's a fact and that is why Jet has been
obsolete for the past decade.


Upsize to SQL Server if you want to maintain _ANY_ uptime.


-Aaron


On Mar 2, 8:43 pm, "Allen Browne" wrote:
Can you pin down:
a) the kinds of corruption you are experience, and
b) the situations where this arises.


It is when modifying forms/reports? Or only when modifying data (e.g. in an
MDE where the objects themselves cannot be modified)?


Are there any consistent factors: subforms? Editing while the code window is
in break mode? Databases converted from a previous version?


What about the usual things? Name AutoCorrect off? SP1 applied? Decompile
tried?


Guidelines for avoiding corruption (not specific to A2007):
* *http://allenbrowne.com/ser-25.html


Guidelines for uncorrupting a database:
* *http://allenbrowne.com/recover.html


--
Allen Browne - Microsoft MVP. *Perth, Western Australia
Tips for Access users -http://allenbrowne.com/tips.html
Reply to group, rather than allenbrowne at mvps dot org.


"CrazyAccessProgrammer"
wrote in ....


Have been using Access since Access 97. Been programming with Access 2007
now
for about a month. It's very dissappointing how often objects become
corrupt.
I seem to spend more time fixing object corruption than anything else.
Hope a
future patch of Access can calm this down at least a bit.


  #14  
Old March 4th, 2009, 09:34 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
Paul Shapiro
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 635
Default Access 2007 Object Corruption

You might check that you have Office SP1 and the post-SP1 Access hotfixes
installed. They fixed a lot of bugs. I probably edit in break mode a few
times per day, and I don't remember the last time a db got corrupted. I keep
the active db on my local disk drive, which was something I didn't need to
do with earlier Access versions. I use SourceSafe integration to keep the
code backed up, and the SourceSafe data is on the server.

I seem to remember I moved the development db to the local disk because with
Access 2007, at least pre-SP1, performance was terrible when the db was on
the server. Maybe corruption was a problem then too, but I don't remember
any more. Since the "My Documents" folder is redirected to the server, I was
used to working from the server with earlier Access versions.

The other thing that made a big difference with A2007 was making sure mdb
files were excluded from all antivirus/antispyware checking. Again, I don't
remember if corruption was a problem but performance definitely was.

"John W. Vinson" wrote in message
...
On Wed, 4 Mar 2009 08:46:09 -0800, CrazyAccessProgrammer
wrote:

I believe this *may* be the main issue for me. In my original post I said
that I rarely edit code while in 'break' mode but since my original post
I've
been paying extra special attention to what I'm doing and find that I am
quite often typing away in 'break' mode.

All day yesterday I made double sure NOT to type code in 'break' mode and
also did NOT experience any corruption in my database... the only day I've
had no corruption since I started building my brand new Access 2007
database
a month ago. So that's a telling trend.


Thanks for posting that, CAP! I've heard lots and lots of general
warnings,
and had a "gut feel" that editing in break was risky, but this seems like
a
much clearer testimonial.

A recomendation for Access 2007 would be to put an Access Application
level
property where you could check a checkbox to disallow editing VBA code
during
'break' mode.


That would be a VERY good idea (probably for Access 14 at this point). I
hope
someone at the Summit sees this and talks to the Access team about it, and
will endeavor to see that they do!

--

John W. Vinson [MVP]


  #15  
Old March 4th, 2009, 11:29 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
David W. Fenton
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,373
Default Access 2007 Object Corruption

=?Utf-8?B?Q3JhenlBY2Nlc3NQcm9ncmFtbWVy?=
wrote in
:

I do understand that splitting the tables away to a backend file
is important and every finished Access application I make is set
up in this way (front end client with
forms/reports/modules/queries etc and a back end with the tables).

At this stage in my development, the database has about 5 tables.
Usually at this stage of the game I keep the tables in the same
file as all the other objects to make developing less of a hassle.
When the tables reach about 20 in number is when I usually make
the split.


So, have you split it?

Until you've eliminated that as a potential cause of the problem, I,
for one, am not interested in racking my brain for possible causes
of your problems.

--
David W. Fenton http://www.dfenton.com/
usenet at dfenton dot com http://www.dfenton.com/DFA/
  #16  
Old March 4th, 2009, 11:30 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
David W. Fenton
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,373
Default Access 2007 Object Corruption

"Allen Browne" wrote in
:

Editing code in break mode can cause corruption IME.


I do it all the time. I have not had code corruption in about 5
years.

Then again, I compile frequently and decompile often, and run with
COMPILE ON DEMAND turned off.

--
David W. Fenton http://www.dfenton.com/
usenet at dfenton dot com http://www.dfenton.com/DFA/
  #17  
Old March 4th, 2009, 11:33 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
David W. Fenton
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,373
Default Access 2007 Object Corruption

"Allen Browne" wrote in
:

When you start modifying the design of a form, Access creates a
backup...


Interesting explanation, Allen.

When I change code in break mode, I immediately compile and save.
Does this discard all the temporary copies? If so, that seems to me
that it would be a good way to avoid corruption, and is, perhaps,
why I have not had any even thought I change code in break mode on a
daily basis (a habit I developed in A97 and have never abandoned).

I still don't understand why the compile button is not on the VBE
toolbar by default (also the call stack button) -- I always have to
add it to any instance of Access I use. I hit that button ALL THE
TIME when coding (as well as the SAVE button). It just seems obvious
to me that any line of code that you change needs to be compiled and
saved, particularly so in break mode.

--
David W. Fenton http://www.dfenton.com/
usenet at dfenton dot com http://www.dfenton.com/DFA/
  #18  
Old March 4th, 2009, 11:35 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
David W. Fenton
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,373
Default Access 2007 Object Corruption

=?Utf-8?B?Q3JhenlBY2Nlc3NQcm9ncmFtbWVy?=
wrote in
:

The database I'm working on right now is in development only and
not being used by anyone. So I haven't split the tables out yet.
But yes I know about frontend/backend and prior to deployment the
tables will be split to a backend.


Uh, what Allen and I are telling you is that it may also be an issue
DURING DEVELOPMENT, and that you need to eliminate it as a potential
cause of problems.

--
David W. Fenton http://www.dfenton.com/
usenet at dfenton dot com http://www.dfenton.com/DFA/
  #19  
Old March 4th, 2009, 11:36 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
David W. Fenton
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,373
Default Access 2007 Object Corruption

=?Utf-8?B?Q3JhenlBY2Nlc3NQcm9ncmFtbWVy?=
wrote in
:

I've
been paying extra special attention to what I'm doing and find
that I am quite often typing away in 'break' mode.


I do it on a daily basis.

Are you compiling and saving after each change made in break mode?
If not, I suggest you try that (and also make sure you have COMPILE
ON DEMAND turned off). I have not had code corruption in about 5
years. Indeed, the last corruption I can actually recall was in
2002, and it was in A97, and involved a whole buttload of
interrelated standalone class modules.

--
David W. Fenton http://www.dfenton.com/
usenet at dfenton dot com http://www.dfenton.com/DFA/
  #20  
Old March 5th, 2009, 12:39 AM posted to microsoft.public.access
Allen Browne
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 11,706
Default Access 2007 Object Corruption

Part of my point is that there are so many things interacting here, that
it's very hard to pin down what causes the Access juggler to occasionally
drop the ball.

Sounds like you have developed a work practice that you know works reliably,
whereas I'm often trying to work out what somebody did, so intentionally NOT
following a good work practice, so it's not surprising if I experience
corruptions more often than most.

The 'Compile on Demand' setting is another of those interacting factors, and
really important one. CrazyAccessProgrammer, make sure that you have this
option turned off. It is certainly a factor. You may also get some help from
David's suggestion of his forcing of the compile/save.

FWIW, I don't split an app until right at the end of the dev. process -
mostly because I find it handy to make structural changes (e.g. add another
lookup table) in the current database. But I doubt this has any impact on
the kind of corruption we are describing here (bad VBA binary, inconsistent
pointers to the objects.)

--
Allen Browne - Microsoft MVP. Perth, Western Australia
Tips for Access users - http://allenbrowne.com/tips.html
Reply to group, rather than allenbrowne at mvps dot org.

"David W. Fenton" wrote in message
36.88...
"Allen Browne" wrote in
:

When you start modifying the design of a form, Access creates a
backup...


Interesting explanation, Allen.

When I change code in break mode, I immediately compile and save.
Does this discard all the temporary copies? If so, that seems to me
that it would be a good way to avoid corruption, and is, perhaps,
why I have not had any even thought I change code in break mode on a
daily basis (a habit I developed in A97 and have never abandoned).

I still don't understand why the compile button is not on the VBE
toolbar by default (also the call stack button) -- I always have to
add it to any instance of Access I use. I hit that button ALL THE
TIME when coding (as well as the SAVE button). It just seems obvious
to me that any line of code that you change needs to be compiled and
saved, particularly so in break mode.

--
David W. Fenton http://www.dfenton.com/
usenet at dfenton dot com http://www.dfenton.com/DFA/


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.