A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Setting Up & Running Reports
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Report based on rst in other database



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 3rd, 2005, 03:37 PM
swedbera
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Report based on rst in other database

What is the best way to create a report that is based upon a recordset in
another database that has security implemented?

Arlene
  #2  
Old October 5th, 2005, 03:50 PM
'69 Camaro
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi, Arlene.

First join the secure workgroup, then open the database where you want to
create the new report. Next, create a new remote query with the tables in
the secure database as the data sources. Then create a new report with this
query as the report's Record Source Property. In the future, as long as the
user is first joined to the secure database and authenticates with his User
ID and password, the report can be opened by the user. If the user doesn't
join the secure workgroup before attempting to open the report, then it won't
open.

Example SQL statement for the remote query:

SELECT *
FROM [;DATABASE=C:\Work\MyData.mdb;].tblOrders
ORDER BY CustomerID;

.. . . where the secure database path and file name is C:\Work\MyData.mdb,
and tblOrders is the name of the table in that database.

HTH.
Gunny

See http://www.QBuilt.com for all your database needs.
See http://www.Access.QBuilt.com for Microsoft Access tips.

(Please remove ZERO_SPAM from my reply E-mail address so that a message will
be forwarded to me.)
- - -
If my answer has helped you, please sign in and answer yes to the question
"Did this post answer your question?" at the bottom of the message, which
adds your question and the answers to the database of answers. Remember that
questions answered the quickest are often from those who have a history of
rewarding the contributors who have taken the time to answer questions
correctly.


"swedbera" wrote:

What is the best way to create a report that is based upon a recordset in
another database that has security implemented?

Arlene

  #3  
Old October 5th, 2005, 04:20 PM
swedbera
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi Gunny,

Thanks for responding.

I forgot to mention that my database is also secured and that the users of
my database are not the same users as in this other secured database. I
assumed that I would have to ask the other database owner to create a login
that I would use to connect to run this report. Another problem I have here
is that there is no standard anything as far as IT goes. Everyone maps
drives differently etc., so can I use a UNC path to point to this other
database in my code?

Now, when you say to create a new remote query and a report, do you mean in
the source database or in my database?

Arlene

"'69 Camaro" wrote:

Hi, Arlene.

First join the secure workgroup, then open the database where you want to
create the new report. Next, create a new remote query with the tables in
the secure database as the data sources. Then create a new report with this
query as the report's Record Source Property. In the future, as long as the
user is first joined to the secure database and authenticates with his User
ID and password, the report can be opened by the user. If the user doesn't
join the secure workgroup before attempting to open the report, then it won't
open.

Example SQL statement for the remote query:

SELECT *
FROM [;DATABASE=C:\Work\MyData.mdb;].tblOrders
ORDER BY CustomerID;

. . . where the secure database path and file name is C:\Work\MyData.mdb,
and tblOrders is the name of the table in that database.

HTH.
Gunny

See http://www.QBuilt.com for all your database needs.
See http://www.Access.QBuilt.com for Microsoft Access tips.

(Please remove ZERO_SPAM from my reply E-mail address so that a message will
be forwarded to me.)
- - -
If my answer has helped you, please sign in and answer yes to the question
"Did this post answer your question?" at the bottom of the message, which
adds your question and the answers to the database of answers. Remember that
questions answered the quickest are often from those who have a history of
rewarding the contributors who have taken the time to answer questions
correctly.


"swedbera" wrote:

What is the best way to create a report that is based upon a recordset in
another database that has security implemented?

Arlene

  #4  
Old October 5th, 2005, 06:59 PM
'69 Camaro
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi, Arlene.

I forgot to mention


That makes life more difficult. For this to work, the other database owner
must create new users in the other secure workgroup. (Sometimes, that's like
pulling teeth to get them to agree to allow other users into their
databases.) These new users must match exactly in User ID and PID with those
in your own secure workgroup. When the users join their own secure workgroup
and try to open the report whose data source is residing in another database
secured by a different workgroup, they'll be prompted for their User ID and
password, and they should be recognized as members of that other secure
workgroup. If they aren't recognized, then you'll need to alter your own
secure workgroup to include the Group name and PID of the Group allowed to
access the table (actually, it should be an RWOP query, not a table) in the
other secure database.

can I use a UNC path to point to this other
database in my code?


The UNC path is recommended for networked databases, so it will be fine for
pointing to the report's source database.

Now, when you say to create a new remote query and a report, do you mean in
the source database or in my database?


Create the new remote query and report in your own database.

HTH.
Gunny

See http://www.QBuilt.com for all your database needs.
See http://www.Access.QBuilt.com for Microsoft Access tips.

(Please remove ZERO_SPAM from my reply E-mail address so that a message will
be forwarded to me.)
- - -
If my answer has helped you, please sign in and answer yes to the question
"Did this post answer your question?" at the bottom of the message, which
adds your question and the answers to the database of answers. Remember that
questions answered the quickest are often from those who have a history of
rewarding the contributors who have taken the time to answer questions
correctly.


"swedbera" wrote:

Hi Gunny,

Thanks for responding.

I forgot to mention that my database is also secured and that the users of
my database are not the same users as in this other secured database. I
assumed that I would have to ask the other database owner to create a login
that I would use to connect to run this report. Another problem I have here
is that there is no standard anything as far as IT goes. Everyone maps
drives differently etc., so can I use a UNC path to point to this other
database in my code?

Now, when you say to create a new remote query and a report, do you mean in
the source database or in my database?

Arlene

"'69 Camaro" wrote:

Hi, Arlene.

First join the secure workgroup, then open the database where you want to
create the new report. Next, create a new remote query with the tables in
the secure database as the data sources. Then create a new report with this
query as the report's Record Source Property. In the future, as long as the
user is first joined to the secure database and authenticates with his User
ID and password, the report can be opened by the user. If the user doesn't
join the secure workgroup before attempting to open the report, then it won't
open.

Example SQL statement for the remote query:

SELECT *
FROM [;DATABASE=C:\Work\MyData.mdb;].tblOrders
ORDER BY CustomerID;

. . . where the secure database path and file name is C:\Work\MyData.mdb,
and tblOrders is the name of the table in that database.

HTH.
Gunny

See http://www.QBuilt.com for all your database needs.
See http://www.Access.QBuilt.com for Microsoft Access tips.

(Please remove ZERO_SPAM from my reply E-mail address so that a message will
be forwarded to me.)
- - -
If my answer has helped you, please sign in and answer yes to the question
"Did this post answer your question?" at the bottom of the message, which
adds your question and the answers to the database of answers. Remember that
questions answered the quickest are often from those who have a history of
rewarding the contributors who have taken the time to answer questions
correctly.


"swedbera" wrote:

What is the best way to create a report that is based upon a recordset in
another database that has security implemented?

Arlene

  #5  
Old October 5th, 2005, 07:50 PM
swedbera
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi Gunny,

Even though this other database owner has created individual userid's based
upon the user's actual network id, I have created mine with logins that are
more like an SQL login or role. I do track who is logging in and what their
network username and machinename are so that I can track who has been in
there, but I did not want the hassle of having to apply permissions to every
Access object for so many users. I thought that this would work and this
other person would only have to create one login for me to connect and run
this report. Can't I hard code the username and password to whatever
username this person creates and include this in the connection string?

Arlene

"'69 Camaro" wrote:

Hi, Arlene.

I forgot to mention


That makes life more difficult. For this to work, the other database owner
must create new users in the other secure workgroup. (Sometimes, that's like
pulling teeth to get them to agree to allow other users into their
databases.) These new users must match exactly in User ID and PID with those
in your own secure workgroup. When the users join their own secure workgroup
and try to open the report whose data source is residing in another database
secured by a different workgroup, they'll be prompted for their User ID and
password, and they should be recognized as members of that other secure
workgroup. If they aren't recognized, then you'll need to alter your own
secure workgroup to include the Group name and PID of the Group allowed to
access the table (actually, it should be an RWOP query, not a table) in the
other secure database.

can I use a UNC path to point to this other
database in my code?


The UNC path is recommended for networked databases, so it will be fine for
pointing to the report's source database.

Now, when you say to create a new remote query and a report, do you mean in
the source database or in my database?


Create the new remote query and report in your own database.

HTH.
Gunny

See http://www.QBuilt.com for all your database needs.
See http://www.Access.QBuilt.com for Microsoft Access tips.

(Please remove ZERO_SPAM from my reply E-mail address so that a message will
be forwarded to me.)
- - -
If my answer has helped you, please sign in and answer yes to the question
"Did this post answer your question?" at the bottom of the message, which
adds your question and the answers to the database of answers. Remember that
questions answered the quickest are often from those who have a history of
rewarding the contributors who have taken the time to answer questions
correctly.


"swedbera" wrote:

Hi Gunny,

Thanks for responding.

I forgot to mention that my database is also secured and that the users of
my database are not the same users as in this other secured database. I
assumed that I would have to ask the other database owner to create a login
that I would use to connect to run this report. Another problem I have here
is that there is no standard anything as far as IT goes. Everyone maps
drives differently etc., so can I use a UNC path to point to this other
database in my code?

Now, when you say to create a new remote query and a report, do you mean in
the source database or in my database?

Arlene

"'69 Camaro" wrote:

Hi, Arlene.

First join the secure workgroup, then open the database where you want to
create the new report. Next, create a new remote query with the tables in
the secure database as the data sources. Then create a new report with this
query as the report's Record Source Property. In the future, as long as the
user is first joined to the secure database and authenticates with his User
ID and password, the report can be opened by the user. If the user doesn't
join the secure workgroup before attempting to open the report, then it won't
open.

Example SQL statement for the remote query:

SELECT *
FROM [;DATABASE=C:\Work\MyData.mdb;].tblOrders
ORDER BY CustomerID;

. . . where the secure database path and file name is C:\Work\MyData.mdb,
and tblOrders is the name of the table in that database.

HTH.
Gunny

See http://www.QBuilt.com for all your database needs.
See http://www.Access.QBuilt.com for Microsoft Access tips.

(Please remove ZERO_SPAM from my reply E-mail address so that a message will
be forwarded to me.)
- - -
If my answer has helped you, please sign in and answer yes to the question
"Did this post answer your question?" at the bottom of the message, which
adds your question and the answers to the database of answers. Remember that
questions answered the quickest are often from those who have a history of
rewarding the contributors who have taken the time to answer questions
correctly.


"swedbera" wrote:

What is the best way to create a report that is based upon a recordset in
another database that has security implemented?

Arlene

  #6  
Old October 6th, 2005, 11:41 AM
'69 Camaro
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi, Arlene.

Can't I hard code the username and password


Hard code it? That wouldn't be very secure, now would it?

to whatever
username this person creates and include this in the connection string?


And have everybody share the same password? Passwords are supposed to be
guarded like toothbrushes. You want these people to share the same
toothbrush?!!

I'm giving you a hard time. ;-) The bottom line is that one cannot assign
both a User ID and workgroup file within the same connection string in a
remote query. Either the user has already joined the other workgroup file as
a particular user before the query is run -- or he hasn't (in which case the
secure database won't be accessible to the user).

If the User ID and PID aren't identical in both workgroups, then you have
two choices:

1.) Have the user manually change workgroups by selecting the Tools -
Security - Workgroup Administrator menu (which will kick him out of the
current database unless you create an identical "shared User ID" from the
other workgroup in your own workgroup), then open the report that's based
upon the remote query. Be aware that the current database closes when the
user changes to another workgroup through the GUI.

2.) Use VBA code to connect to the secure database, then open up the report
from that database (yes, this means that the report must reside in the other
database, unless you know how to code around this).

Really, the best way to share secure Access databases is to use the same
workgroup information file, not swap back and forth.

HTH.
Gunny

See http://www.QBuilt.com for all your database needs.
See http://www.Access.QBuilt.com for Microsoft Access tips.

(Please remove ZERO_SPAM from my reply E-mail address so that a message will
be forwarded to me.)
- - -
If my answer has helped you, please sign in and answer yes to the question
"Did this post answer your question?" at the bottom of the message, which
adds your question and the answers to the database of answers. Remember that
questions answered the quickest are often from those who have a history of
rewarding the contributors who have taken the time to answer questions
correctly.


"swedbera" wrote:

Hi Gunny,

Even though this other database owner has created individual userid's based
upon the user's actual network id, I have created mine with logins that are
more like an SQL login or role. I do track who is logging in and what their
network username and machinename are so that I can track who has been in
there, but I did not want the hassle of having to apply permissions to every
Access object for so many users. I thought that this would work and this
other person would only have to create one login for me to connect and run
this report. Can't I hard code the username and password to whatever
username this person creates and include this in the connection string?

Arlene

"'69 Camaro" wrote:

Hi, Arlene.

I forgot to mention


That makes life more difficult. For this to work, the other database owner
must create new users in the other secure workgroup. (Sometimes, that's like
pulling teeth to get them to agree to allow other users into their
databases.) These new users must match exactly in User ID and PID with those
in your own secure workgroup. When the users join their own secure workgroup
and try to open the report whose data source is residing in another database
secured by a different workgroup, they'll be prompted for their User ID and
password, and they should be recognized as members of that other secure
workgroup. If they aren't recognized, then you'll need to alter your own
secure workgroup to include the Group name and PID of the Group allowed to
access the table (actually, it should be an RWOP query, not a table) in the
other secure database.

can I use a UNC path to point to this other
database in my code?


The UNC path is recommended for networked databases, so it will be fine for
pointing to the report's source database.

Now, when you say to create a new remote query and a report, do you mean in
the source database or in my database?


Create the new remote query and report in your own database.

HTH.
Gunny

See http://www.QBuilt.com for all your database needs.
See http://www.Access.QBuilt.com for Microsoft Access tips.

(Please remove ZERO_SPAM from my reply E-mail address so that a message will
be forwarded to me.)
- - -
If my answer has helped you, please sign in and answer yes to the question
"Did this post answer your question?" at the bottom of the message, which
adds your question and the answers to the database of answers. Remember that
questions answered the quickest are often from those who have a history of
rewarding the contributors who have taken the time to answer questions
correctly.


"swedbera" wrote:

Hi Gunny,

Thanks for responding.

I forgot to mention that my database is also secured and that the users of
my database are not the same users as in this other secured database. I
assumed that I would have to ask the other database owner to create a login
that I would use to connect to run this report. Another problem I have here
is that there is no standard anything as far as IT goes. Everyone maps
drives differently etc., so can I use a UNC path to point to this other
database in my code?

Now, when you say to create a new remote query and a report, do you mean in
the source database or in my database?

Arlene

"'69 Camaro" wrote:

Hi, Arlene.

First join the secure workgroup, then open the database where you want to
create the new report. Next, create a new remote query with the tables in
the secure database as the data sources. Then create a new report with this
query as the report's Record Source Property. In the future, as long as the
user is first joined to the secure database and authenticates with his User
ID and password, the report can be opened by the user. If the user doesn't
join the secure workgroup before attempting to open the report, then it won't
open.

Example SQL statement for the remote query:

SELECT *
FROM [;DATABASE=C:\Work\MyData.mdb;].tblOrders
ORDER BY CustomerID;

. . . where the secure database path and file name is C:\Work\MyData.mdb,
and tblOrders is the name of the table in that database.

HTH.
Gunny

See http://www.QBuilt.com for all your database needs.
See http://www.Access.QBuilt.com for Microsoft Access tips.

(Please remove ZERO_SPAM from my reply E-mail address so that a message will
be forwarded to me.)
- - -
If my answer has helped you, please sign in and answer yes to the question
"Did this post answer your question?" at the bottom of the message, which
adds your question and the answers to the database of answers. Remember that
questions answered the quickest are often from those who have a history of
rewarding the contributors who have taken the time to answer questions
correctly.


"swedbera" wrote:

What is the best way to create a report that is based upon a recordset in
another database that has security implemented?

Arlene

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Change decimal places based on column in recordset (not on report) T Kirtley Setting Up & Running Reports 1 June 17th, 2005 10:19 AM
To Sharkbyte and all: Calculate a total values in group level Ally General Discussion 6 June 13th, 2005 08:16 PM
Office 2003 installation problem, log file attached.... Ryan Setup, Installing & Configuration 0 January 20th, 2005 06:57 PM
Report based on Recordset Andre Delahaye Setting Up & Running Reports 3 October 6th, 2004 01:54 AM
Open a report based on which query I select Sierras Setting Up & Running Reports 8 June 24th, 2004 05:43 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.