A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Creating a Menu



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 3rd, 2010, 01:29 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.commandbarsui,microsoft.public.access.forms,microsoft.public.access.formscoding
PosseJohn[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4
Default Creating a Menu

I'm using both ACC2003 and ACC2007.

I would like to create a Menu for my application and for a form (both with
submenus), as well as shortcut menus for the application and form.

Any good examples or references would be appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

Ads
  #2  
Old February 3rd, 2010, 01:38 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.commandbarsui,microsoft.public.access.forms,microsoft.public.access.formscoding
Arvin Meyer [MVP][_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,310
Default Creating a Menu

IMO, the best menus are Access forms. You can make a command bar menu, but
it may not be compatible with later versions. The Ribbon is not compatible
with Access 2003. By using a form, you are relatively assured that you
application will work in later and earlier versions, with perhaps the
built-in conversion utility.
--
Arvin Meyer, MCP, MVP
http://www.datastrat.com
http://www.mvps.org/access
http://www.accessmvp.com


"PosseJohn" wrote in message
...
I'm using both ACC2003 and ACC2007.

I would like to create a Menu for my application and for a form (both with
submenus), as well as shortcut menus for the application and form.

Any good examples or references would be appreciated.

Thank you in advance.



  #3  
Old February 3rd, 2010, 03:56 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.commandbarsui,microsoft.public.access.forms,microsoft.public.access.formscoding
PosseJohn[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4
Default Creating a Menu

I'm not sure what you mean by "using a form" for creating a menu bar...


"Arvin Meyer [MVP]" wrote in message
...
IMO, the best menus are Access forms. You can make a command bar menu, but
it may not be compatible with later versions. The Ribbon is not compatible
with Access 2003. By using a form, you are relatively assured that you
application will work in later and earlier versions, with perhaps the
built-in conversion utility.
--
Arvin Meyer, MCP, MVP
http://www.datastrat.com
http://www.mvps.org/access
http://www.accessmvp.com


"PosseJohn" wrote in message
...
I'm using both ACC2003 and ACC2007.

I would like to create a Menu for my application and for a form (both
with submenus), as well as shortcut menus for the application and form.

Any good examples or references would be appreciated.

Thank you in advance.




  #4  
Old February 3rd, 2010, 12:23 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.commandbarsui,microsoft.public.access.forms,microsoft.public.access.formscoding
Arvin Meyer [MVP][_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,310
Default Creating a Menu

Do not create a menu bar. Use a form instead. Any operation which can be
done from a menu, can also be done from a button on a form. The form is also
more easily scaled and used as a template for multiple databases, since it
is easier to alter it once done.
--
Arvin Meyer, MCP, MVP
http://www.datastrat.com
http://www.mvps.org/access
http://www.accessmvp.com


"PosseJohn" wrote in message
...
I'm not sure what you mean by "using a form" for creating a menu bar...


"Arvin Meyer [MVP]" wrote in message
...
IMO, the best menus are Access forms. You can make a command bar menu,
but it may not be compatible with later versions. The Ribbon is not
compatible with Access 2003. By using a form, you are relatively assured
that you application will work in later and earlier versions, with
perhaps the built-in conversion utility.
--
Arvin Meyer, MCP, MVP
http://www.datastrat.com
http://www.mvps.org/access
http://www.accessmvp.com


"PosseJohn" wrote in message
...
I'm using both ACC2003 and ACC2007.

I would like to create a Menu for my application and for a form (both
with submenus), as well as shortcut menus for the application and form.

Any good examples or references would be appreciated.

Thank you in advance.






  #5  
Old February 3rd, 2010, 04:32 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.commandbarsui,microsoft.public.access.forms,microsoft.public.access.formscoding
PosseJohn[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4
Default Creating a Menu

Thank you, now I understand.

How do I remove the built-in menus that are appearing, would like to not
confuse the user as to where to go to perform manipulations.


"Arvin Meyer [MVP]" wrote in message
...
Do not create a menu bar. Use a form instead. Any operation which can be
done from a menu, can also be done from a button on a form. The form is
also more easily scaled and used as a template for multiple databases,
since it is easier to alter it once done.
--
Arvin Meyer, MCP, MVP
http://www.datastrat.com
http://www.mvps.org/access
http://www.accessmvp.com


"PosseJohn" wrote in message
...
I'm not sure what you mean by "using a form" for creating a menu bar...


"Arvin Meyer [MVP]" wrote in message
...
IMO, the best menus are Access forms. You can make a command bar menu,
but it may not be compatible with later versions. The Ribbon is not
compatible with Access 2003. By using a form, you are relatively assured
that you application will work in later and earlier versions, with
perhaps the built-in conversion utility.
--
Arvin Meyer, MCP, MVP
http://www.datastrat.com
http://www.mvps.org/access
http://www.accessmvp.com


"PosseJohn" wrote in message
...
I'm using both ACC2003 and ACC2007.

I would like to create a Menu for my application and for a form (both
with submenus), as well as shortcut menus for the application and form.

Any good examples or references would be appreciated.

Thank you in advance.






  #6  
Old February 3rd, 2010, 05:09 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.commandbarsui,microsoft.public.access.forms,microsoft.public.access.formscoding
Jack Leach
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 33
Default Creating a Menu

In the Startup properties of the database (Tools menu) you should find the
required check boxes to turn these off.

For future reference (versions 2003 or earlier), should you want to turn
these back on, you can programmatically set the Visibility property of the
Menu Bar (Access's main bar). You will need a reference to Microsoft Office
Object Library V##

in the immediate window:
CommandBars("Menu Bar").Visible = True

--
Jack Leach
www.tristatemachine.com

"I haven''t failed, I''ve found ten thousand ways that don''t work."
-Thomas Edison (1847-1931)



"PosseJohn" wrote:

Thank you, now I understand.

How do I remove the built-in menus that are appearing, would like to not
confuse the user as to where to go to perform manipulations.


"Arvin Meyer [MVP]" wrote in message
...
Do not create a menu bar. Use a form instead. Any operation which can be
done from a menu, can also be done from a button on a form. The form is
also more easily scaled and used as a template for multiple databases,
since it is easier to alter it once done.
--
Arvin Meyer, MCP, MVP
http://www.datastrat.com
http://www.mvps.org/access
http://www.accessmvp.com


"PosseJohn" wrote in message
...
I'm not sure what you mean by "using a form" for creating a menu bar...


"Arvin Meyer [MVP]" wrote in message
...
IMO, the best menus are Access forms. You can make a command bar menu,
but it may not be compatible with later versions. The Ribbon is not
compatible with Access 2003. By using a form, you are relatively assured
that you application will work in later and earlier versions, with
perhaps the built-in conversion utility.
--
Arvin Meyer, MCP, MVP
http://www.datastrat.com
http://www.mvps.org/access
http://www.accessmvp.com


"PosseJohn" wrote in message
...
I'm using both ACC2003 and ACC2007.

I would like to create a Menu for my application and for a form (both
with submenus), as well as shortcut menus for the application and form.

Any good examples or references would be appreciated.

Thank you in advance.






  #7  
Old February 3rd, 2010, 05:34 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.commandbarsui,microsoft.public.access.forms,microsoft.public.access.formscoding
Jack Leach
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 33
Default Creating a Menu

Hi Arvin,

This is the first I've heard of this... I use v2003 (as do all in my office
who use our app), and rely rather heavily on a main application menubar to
let the users easily navigate to a wide range of functionality of the app
with a few keystrokes. In fact, just about everything a user would ever need
to do can be found there... it's an integral part of the application.

I can certainly understand the problems that come with versioning. I happen
to be in an extremely lucky situation where I can force all of my users to
stay on a single version, so this isn't as much of an issue for me as it may
be for others (until of course I decide to move from '03 to '07, though I
have no intentions of doing so any time soon).

I'm curious if you have come up with a method to emulate that type of
menubar functionality through the use of forms? If I can have a user hit the
Alt key and have access to anything they may need within a few seconds (or
less than a second for those they use regularly) through a form interface,
that would be wonderful.

To each their own, obviously, and I certainly mean no disrespect... just
curious if there's a way to get that quick, mouseless access to everything
without using a menubar.

Thanks,

--
Jack Leach
www.tristatemachine.com

"I haven't failed, I've found ten thousand ways that don't work."
-Thomas Edison (1847-1931)



"Arvin Meyer [MVP]" wrote:

Do not create a menu bar. Use a form instead. Any operation which can be
done from a menu, can also be done from a button on a form. The form is also
more easily scaled and used as a template for multiple databases, since it
is easier to alter it once done.
--
Arvin Meyer, MCP, MVP
http://www.datastrat.com
http://www.mvps.org/access
http://www.accessmvp.com


"PosseJohn" wrote in message
...
I'm not sure what you mean by "using a form" for creating a menu bar...


"Arvin Meyer [MVP]" wrote in message
...
IMO, the best menus are Access forms. You can make a command bar menu,
but it may not be compatible with later versions. The Ribbon is not
compatible with Access 2003. By using a form, you are relatively assured
that you application will work in later and earlier versions, with
perhaps the built-in conversion utility.
--
Arvin Meyer, MCP, MVP
http://www.datastrat.com
http://www.mvps.org/access
http://www.accessmvp.com


"PosseJohn" wrote in message
...
I'm using both ACC2003 and ACC2007.

I would like to create a Menu for my application and for a form (both
with submenus), as well as shortcut menus for the application and form.

Any good examples or references would be appreciated.

Thank you in advance.





.

  #8  
Old February 4th, 2010, 03:13 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.commandbarsui,microsoft.public.access.forms,microsoft.public.access.formscoding
Arvin Meyer [MVP][_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,310
Default Creating a Menu

I have several functions when I want to turn them of and on:

Function ShowMenu()
On Error Resume Next
DoCmd.ShowToolBar "Menu Bar", acToolbarYes
End Function

Function HideMenu()
On Error Resume Next
DoCmd.ShowToolBar "Menu Bar", acToolbarNo
End Function

Function ShowToolBar()
On Error Resume Next
DoCmd.ShowToolBar "Form View", acToolbarYes
End Function

Function HideToolBar()
On Error Resume Next
DoCmd.ShowToolBar "Form View", acToolbarNo
End Function
--
Arvin Meyer, MCP, MVP
http://www.datastrat.com
http://www.mvps.org/access
http://www.accessmvp.com

"Jack Leach" dymondjack at hot mail dot com wrote in message
news
In the Startup properties of the database (Tools menu) you should find the
required check boxes to turn these off.

For future reference (versions 2003 or earlier), should you want to turn
these back on, you can programmatically set the Visibility property of the
Menu Bar (Access's main bar). You will need a reference to Microsoft
Office
Object Library V##

in the immediate window:
CommandBars("Menu Bar").Visible = True

--
Jack Leach
www.tristatemachine.com

"I haven''t failed, I''ve found ten thousand ways that don''t work."
-Thomas Edison (1847-1931)



"PosseJohn" wrote:

Thank you, now I understand.

How do I remove the built-in menus that are appearing, would like to not
confuse the user as to where to go to perform manipulations.


"Arvin Meyer [MVP]" wrote in message
...
Do not create a menu bar. Use a form instead. Any operation which can
be
done from a menu, can also be done from a button on a form. The form is
also more easily scaled and used as a template for multiple databases,
since it is easier to alter it once done.
--
Arvin Meyer, MCP, MVP
http://www.datastrat.com
http://www.mvps.org/access
http://www.accessmvp.com


"PosseJohn" wrote in message
...
I'm not sure what you mean by "using a form" for creating a menu
bar...


"Arvin Meyer [MVP]" wrote in message
...
IMO, the best menus are Access forms. You can make a command bar
menu,
but it may not be compatible with later versions. The Ribbon is not
compatible with Access 2003. By using a form, you are relatively
assured
that you application will work in later and earlier versions, with
perhaps the built-in conversion utility.
--
Arvin Meyer, MCP, MVP
http://www.datastrat.com
http://www.mvps.org/access
http://www.accessmvp.com


"PosseJohn" wrote in message
...
I'm using both ACC2003 and ACC2007.

I would like to create a Menu for my application and for a form
(both
with submenus), as well as shortcut menus for the application and
form.

Any good examples or references would be appreciated.

Thank you in advance.








  #9  
Old February 14th, 2010, 12:47 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.commandbarsui,microsoft.public.access.forms,microsoft.public.access.formscoding
Roll Transport
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1
Default Creating a Menu

No sorry jon no advance yet and do you want to chat

"PosseJohn" wrote in message
...
I'm using both ACC2003 and ACC2007.

I would like to create a Menu for my application and for a form (both with
submenus), as well as shortcut menus for the application and form.

Any good examples or references would be appreciated.

Thank you in advance.


  #10  
Old February 24th, 2010, 09:02 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.commandbarsui,microsoft.public.access.forms,microsoft.public.access.formscoding
???se??? G??????
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1
Default Creating a Menu


? "PosseJohn" ?????? ??? ??????
...
I'm using both ACC2003 and ACC2007.

I would like to create a Menu for my application and for a form (both with
submenus), as well as shortcut menus for the application and form.

Any good examples or references would be appreciated.

Thank you in advance. ok!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2020 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.