A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » New Users
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

several questions RE tables



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 29th, 2010, 09:13 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
Ret
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5
Default several questions RE tables

I'm using Access 2007 and I want to transfer data from one table (an import)
to another table. Every time I try an append query I lose most of the
records. I've tried to format the records the same and now just about any
changes I make in either table I get the messege "Too many fields defined".
Help?!
--
Ret
Ads
  #3  
Old March 29th, 2010, 10:12 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
John W. Vinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18,261
Default several questions RE tables

On Mon, 29 Mar 2010 13:13:01 -0700, Ret wrote:

I'm using Access 2007 and I want to transfer data from one table (an import)
to another table. Every time I try an append query I lose most of the
records. I've tried to format the records the same and now just about any
changes I make in either table I get the messege "Too many fields defined".
Help?!


Correct the error in your query.

If you would like help doing so... please tell us how the query is set up;
open it in SQL view and post the SQL text here.

The "too many fields" suggests that you're repeatedly changing the *STRUCTURE*
(not the data) of the table. Each time you add or change a field, you use up
one of the 255 allowed field "slots". You can recover them by using Office
Button... Manage... Compact and Repair. If you actually have over 255 fields
(heck, over 25 fields) then you need to come to a screeching halt and redesign
your improperly normalized tables!

--

John W. Vinson [MVP]
  #4  
Old March 30th, 2010, 12:37 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
Ret
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5
Default several questions RE tables

Thank you. I am no longer having problems with the "Too many fields
defined". Don't know what changed that. However, I have been unable to
transfer a yes/no field properly. Any suggestions?
--
Ret


"John W. Vinson" wrote:

On Mon, 29 Mar 2010 13:13:01 -0700, Ret wrote:

I'm using Access 2007 and I want to transfer data from one table (an import)
to another table. Every time I try an append query I lose most of the
records. I've tried to format the records the same and now just about any
changes I make in either table I get the messege "Too many fields defined".
Help?!


Correct the error in your query.

If you would like help doing so... please tell us how the query is set up;
open it in SQL view and post the SQL text here.

The "too many fields" suggests that you're repeatedly changing the *STRUCTURE*
(not the data) of the table. Each time you add or change a field, you use up
one of the 255 allowed field "slots". You can recover them by using Office
Button... Manage... Compact and Repair. If you actually have over 255 fields
(heck, over 25 fields) then you need to come to a screeching halt and redesign
your improperly normalized tables!

--

John W. Vinson [MVP]
.

  #5  
Old March 30th, 2010, 01:23 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
John W. Vinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18,261
Default several questions RE tables

On Mon, 29 Mar 2010 16:37:01 -0700, Ret wrote:

Thank you. I am no longer having problems with the "Too many fields
defined". Don't know what changed that.


You probably have "Compact on Close" checked in the database's properties, so
it compacted automatically for you.

However, I have been unable to
transfer a yes/no field properly. Any suggestions?


Since I have no idea what you're transfering from, transfering to, or how
you're doing the transfer, not really. All I can say is that an Access Yes/No
field is stored as -1 for Yes, 0 for No, other values (and NULL values)
prohibited.
--

John W. Vinson [MVP]
  #6  
Old March 31st, 2010, 12:11 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
Jeff Boyce
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8,621
Default several questions RE tables

Why? As in "why are you moving data around between tables?" That sounds
like something you'd do if you were using a spreadsheet... but Access is not
a "spreadsheet on steroids"!

Regards

Jeff Boyce
Microsoft Access MVP

--
Disclaimer: This author may have received products and services mentioned
in this post. Mention and/or description of a product or service herein
does not constitute endorsement thereof.

Any code or pseudocode included in this post is offered "as is", with no
guarantee as to suitability.

You can thank the FTC of the USA for making this disclaimer
possible/necessary.

"Ret" wrote in message
...
I'm using Access 2007 and I want to transfer data from one table (an
import)
to another table. Every time I try an append query I lose most of the
records. I've tried to format the records the same and now just about any
changes I make in either table I get the messege "Too many fields
defined".
Help?!
--
Ret



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.