A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Office » General Discussions
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Remove Hidden Data tool will not install



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old February 13th, 2005, 05:13 PM
Beth Melton
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I'm not sure if anyone is still following this thread but I've just
encountered this issue myself and I believe it is due to a conflict
between it and another add-in and/or a customized File menu.

The primary action of the RHD utility when Word starts is to add-in
RHD.dot which supplies the "Remove Hidden Data" command under the File
menu below the "Save as Web Page" command.

What I encountered is another custom command is placed in the same
position and somehow this is creating a conflict. I haven't determined
exactly what is happening just yet but that's something I plan on
looking into.

In any event, check the File menu commands and see if there is a
command between "Save as Web Page" and above either "File Search" or
"Search" depending on the version of Word you are using.

--
Please post all follow-up questions to the newsgroup. Requests for
assistance by email can not be acknowledged.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Beth Melton
Microsoft Office MVP

Word FAQ: http://mvps.org/word
TechTrax eZine: http://mousetrax.com/techtrax/
MVP FAQ site: http://mvps.org/


"Felix" wrote in message
...
I did put the security level down, I think even to zero. No change.

I would like the add-in to work somehow... but am thinking that I
need to
uninstall word and reinstall the entire baby...

???

Felix




"drsecure" wrote:


Felix,

You might want to try re-installing with your macro security level
TEMPORARILY set to low. This tool is pretty good but it misses
quite a
bit of hidden data, it really only targets personal data and
actually
dropped features when moving up to version 1.1.

There is also a new free tool out at www.bitform.net called Bitform
Discover. Try it if you really want to see what's hidden in your
documents.

Dr. Secure



--
drsecure
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Posted via http://www.mcse.ms
------------------------------------------------------------------------
View this thread: http://www.mcse.ms/message1262597.html




Ads
  #22  
Old February 16th, 2005, 07:51 PM
Felix
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I dont have "save as web page" an I dont have "file search" or "search" either

I'm using MS Office Word 2003 (11.6359.6360) SP1



"Beth Melton" wrote:

I'm not sure if anyone is still following this thread but I've just
encountered this issue myself and I believe it is due to a conflict
between it and another add-in and/or a customized File menu.

The primary action of the RHD utility when Word starts is to add-in
RHD.dot which supplies the "Remove Hidden Data" command under the File
menu below the "Save as Web Page" command.

What I encountered is another custom command is placed in the same
position and somehow this is creating a conflict. I haven't determined
exactly what is happening just yet but that's something I plan on
looking into.

In any event, check the File menu commands and see if there is a
command between "Save as Web Page" and above either "File Search" or
"Search" depending on the version of Word you are using.

--
Please post all follow-up questions to the newsgroup. Requests for
assistance by email can not be acknowledged.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Beth Melton
Microsoft Office MVP

Word FAQ: http://mvps.org/word
TechTrax eZine: http://mousetrax.com/techtrax/
MVP FAQ site: http://mvps.org/


"Felix" wrote in message
...
I did put the security level down, I think even to zero. No change.

I would like the add-in to work somehow... but am thinking that I
need to
uninstall word and reinstall the entire baby...

???

Felix




"drsecure" wrote:


Felix,

You might want to try re-installing with your macro security level
TEMPORARILY set to low. This tool is pretty good but it misses
quite a
bit of hidden data, it really only targets personal data and
actually
dropped features when moving up to version 1.1.

There is also a new free tool out at www.bitform.net called Bitform
Discover. Try it if you really want to see what's hidden in your
documents.

Dr. Secure



--
drsecure
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Posted via http://www.mcse.ms
------------------------------------------------------------------------
View this thread: http://www.mcse.ms/message1262597.html





  #23  
Old February 16th, 2005, 10:28 PM
Beth Melton
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

What menu items do you have?

--
Please post all follow-up questions to the newsgroup. Requests for
assistance by email can not be acknowledged.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Beth Melton
Microsoft Office MVP

Word FAQ: http://mvps.org/word
TechTrax eZine: http://mousetrax.com/techtrax/
MVP FAQ site: http://mvps.org/


"Felix" wrote in message
...
I dont have "save as web page" an I dont have "file search" or
"search" either

I'm using MS Office Word 2003 (11.6359.6360) SP1



  #24  
Old February 16th, 2005, 11:55 PM
Felix
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

New
Open
Close
Save
Save as
Permission
Versions
Page setup
Print preview
Print
Send to
Properties
Recent file 1
Recent file 2
Recent file 3
Recent file 4
Exit


"Beth Melton" wrote:

What menu items do you have?

--
Please post all follow-up questions to the newsgroup. Requests for
assistance by email can not be acknowledged.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Beth Melton
Microsoft Office MVP

Word FAQ: http://mvps.org/word
TechTrax eZine: http://mousetrax.com/techtrax/
MVP FAQ site: http://mvps.org/


"Felix" wrote in message
...
I dont have "save as web page" an I dont have "file search" or
"search" either

I'm using MS Office Word 2003 (11.6359.6360) SP1




  #25  
Old February 19th, 2005, 06:34 PM
Beth Melton
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks for the additional information, Felix. It looks like you just
have the standard menu items.

I've also found that others are unable to reproduce the issue I
encountered so what I came up with is close but not the exact problem.
I'm still digging into this - I'm not sure how long it will take to
find the answer but now that I'm able to reproduce the issue I may be
able to find the cause. Could take some time though but I'll report
any findings on this thread.

--
Please post all follow-up questions to the newsgroup. Requests for
assistance by email can not be acknowledged.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Beth Melton
Microsoft Office MVP

Word FAQ: http://mvps.org/word
TechTrax eZine: http://mousetrax.com/techtrax/
MVP FAQ site: http://mvps.org/


"Felix" wrote in message
...
New
Open
Close
Save
Save as
Permission
Versions
Page setup
Print preview
Print
Send to
Properties
Recent file 1
Recent file 2
Recent file 3
Recent file 4
Exit


"Beth Melton" wrote:

What menu items do you have?



  #26  
Old February 22nd, 2005, 03:07 AM
Felix
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks, please keep me posted.
Felix




"Beth Melton" wrote:

Thanks for the additional information, Felix. It looks like you just
have the standard menu items.

I've also found that others are unable to reproduce the issue I
encountered so what I came up with is close but not the exact problem.
I'm still digging into this - I'm not sure how long it will take to
find the answer but now that I'm able to reproduce the issue I may be
able to find the cause. Could take some time though but I'll report
any findings on this thread.

--
Please post all follow-up questions to the newsgroup. Requests for
assistance by email can not be acknowledged.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Beth Melton
Microsoft Office MVP

Word FAQ: http://mvps.org/word
TechTrax eZine: http://mousetrax.com/techtrax/
MVP FAQ site: http://mvps.org/


"Felix" wrote in message
...
New
Open
Close
Save
Save as
Permission
Versions
Page setup
Print preview
Print
Send to
Properties
Recent file 1
Recent file 2
Recent file 3
Recent file 4
Exit


"Beth Melton" wrote:

What menu items do you have?




  #27  
Old March 27th, 2005, 08:59 PM
Allan
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

There is a long chain of responses to this initial message. I'm having
exactly the same issue, but I don't see a resolution. (Windows SP2, Office
2003, newest edition of RHD). Installation worked on my laptop, but not on
my desktop. Any new learning on this?

"Tom Ker" wrote:

Windows 2000 SP4, Office 2003, RHD 1.1

Any known reasons why the RHD tool won't install properly on this system?

When I open an Office product after attempting to install the tool I get the
message that it did not install correctly and I should try again. It never
works.

Thanks,

Tom



  #28  
Old March 27th, 2005, 11:43 PM
Felix
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I am still waiting for a suggestion... I uninstalled the add-in until this
problem is solved...

"Allan" wrote:

There is a long chain of responses to this initial message. I'm having
exactly the same issue, but I don't see a resolution. (Windows SP2, Office
2003, newest edition of RHD). Installation worked on my laptop, but not on
my desktop. Any new learning on this?

"Tom Ker" wrote:

Windows 2000 SP4, Office 2003, RHD 1.1

Any known reasons why the RHD tool won't install properly on this system?

When I open an Office product after attempting to install the tool I get the
message that it did not install correctly and I should try again. It never
works.

Thanks,

Tom



  #29  
Old April 12th, 2005, 10:06 PM
saugatak
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


Here's my situation:

2 desktops with virtually identical hardware running Windows XP SP2 and
Office 2003 SP1 with all the latest patches.

On desktop A, the remove hidden data tool installs perfectly and runs
in Word, Excel and PowerPoint.

On desktop B, the remove hidden data tool installs perfectly and runs
in Excel and PowerPoint but not Word.

Both desktops use 3rd party apps that add a command between the "Save
As Web Page" and "File Search" commands on the File menu, so I don't
think that's the problem, as speculated by MVP Beth.

The only difference that I see between desktop A and desktop B that
could account for the remove hidden data tool working on A and not
working on B is this:

Somehow, desktop B has Asian fonts enabled on the normal.dot template
(specifically the Korean font Batang). I collaborated on a document
with someone from Korea using desktop B and somehow the Batang font got
into desktop B.

Could Asian or other non-English fonts be the source of the conflict?

Is this thread still active?



--
saugatak
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Posted via http://www.mcse.ms
------------------------------------------------------------------------
View this thread: http://www.mcse.ms/message1262597.html

  #30  
Old April 13th, 2005, 11:01 PM
saugatak
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


I wonder if anyone is still reading this thread?

I believe I figured out the problem and a "hack" solution.

Beth Melton is correct. The Remove Hidden Data Tool wants to install
itself between "Save As Web Page" and "File Search."

If you have another command/macro in that spot because of a 3rd party
app (in my case, TimeMatters), then there is a conflict and you get
that silly error message.

In my case, although TimeMatters (and its macro) is installed on both
Desktop A and B, for some reason on Desktop A, the remove hidden data
tool installed correctly on A and placed the "Remove Hidden Data"
command on the File menu UNDER the "File Search" command.

All I did to solve the problem was copy the "RHD.DOT" from Desktop A
and put it into the appropriate folder into Desktop B.

Voila, it worked! Why it installed one way on Desktop A but not on
Desktop B is beyond me. I do have more apps and background processes
on Desktop B, so maybe there was a conflict, but who knows?

I tried to attach my copy of "RHD.DOT" (which puts the "Remove Hidden
Data" under the "File Search" command and avoids the conflict described
above), but this website won't let me.

If someone could let me know how I can post a copy of the RHD.DOT "fix"
for the rest of you, I'd appreciate it.



--
saugatak
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Posted via http://www.mcse.ms
------------------------------------------------------------------------
View this thread: http://www.mcse.ms/message1262597.html

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rapid input Via datasheet RudyR_Seattle General Discussion 4 January 31st, 2005 01:33 AM
VBA Code problem error 9 Speedy General Discussion 19 October 15th, 2004 09:05 PM
Data Source issues. ??data.access.pages Phil Database Design 2 October 11th, 2004 02:42 AM
Data Source issues Philippe Database Design 1 October 10th, 2004 09:45 PM
Remove Hidden Data Tool and Accept All Changes in Document Natalie Diem General Discussion 2 August 20th, 2004 06:12 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2017 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.