A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Office » General Discussions
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Remove Hidden Data tool will not install



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old December 29th, 2004, 11:15 PM
Beth Melton
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

RHD.dot is manually added in by a COM Add-in and all it has is a
customized File menu with the "Remove Hidden Data" command.

Try copying the RHD.dot to your Word Startup folder. That way it will
load automatically when Word starts. You can find the location of the
Word Startup folder under Tools/Options/File Locations.

--
Please post all follow-up questions to the newsgroup. Requests for
assistance by email can not be acknowledged.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Beth Melton
Microsoft Office MVP

Word FAQ: http://mvps.org/word
TechTrax eZine: http://mousetrax.com/techtrax/
MVP FAQ site: http://mvps.org/


"Felix D" Felix wrote in message
...
I'm having the same trouble. I get a popup that says "An error
occurred
while trying to launch the Remove Hidden Data Tool. Try
reinstalling." only
when I start Word.

Virus and everything is also exited. I have the 2 auto exec files in
the
add-in, but it does not install the add-in rhd.dot. After I add it
manually,
it doesn't remain once I click "OK" and finalize installation of the
.dot

Another thing that I notice: I am unable to add the command "Remove
Hidden
Data..." in the file menu - because it doesn't even appear as an
option in
the command list. I think that this problem is ultimately related
to this
issue.




"Bob Buckland ?:-)" wrote:

Hi Tom,

In addition to Beth's comments you can run
the tool from a command line in Start=Run.
More information on that is in the Readme .htm
file in

drive:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Remove Hidden Data
Tool\1033\offrhdreadme.htm

If you have Winzip (or equivalent) you can right click
on the RHDTool.exe download and choose 'open with Winzip'
and inside that archive open RHD.CAB to get to the .htm
readme file and manually extract the files.

Are you using U.S. English (1033) as the default on
your system? Have you installed Service Pack 1 on Office 2003?

======
"Tom Ker" [email protected] wrote in message
...
Windows 2000 SP4, Office 2003, RHD 1.1

Any known reasons why the RHD tool won't install properly on this
system?

When I open an Office product after attempting to install the tool
I get the
message that it did not install correctly and I should try again.
It never
works.

Thanks,

Tom
--
Bob Buckland ?:-)
MS Office System Products MVP

*Courtesy is not expensive and can pay big dividends*

Office 2003 Editions explained
http://www.microsoft.com/uk/office/editions.mspx





Ads
  #12  
Old December 30th, 2004, 01:05 AM
Felix D
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

it's loading as an add-in now, thanks.

but i still get the same error message, and i still don't have the "remove
hidden data" command in the command list



"Beth Melton" wrote:

RHD.dot is manually added in by a COM Add-in and all it has is a
customized File menu with the "Remove Hidden Data" command.

Try copying the RHD.dot to your Word Startup folder. That way it will
load automatically when Word starts. You can find the location of the
Word Startup folder under Tools/Options/File Locations.

--
Please post all follow-up questions to the newsgroup. Requests for
assistance by email can not be acknowledged.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Beth Melton
Microsoft Office MVP

Word FAQ: http://mvps.org/word
TechTrax eZine: http://mousetrax.com/techtrax/
MVP FAQ site: http://mvps.org/


"Felix D" Felix wrote in message
...
I'm having the same trouble. I get a popup that says "An error
occurred
while trying to launch the Remove Hidden Data Tool. Try
reinstalling." only
when I start Word.

Virus and everything is also exited. I have the 2 auto exec files in
the
add-in, but it does not install the add-in rhd.dot. After I add it
manually,
it doesn't remain once I click "OK" and finalize installation of the
.dot

Another thing that I notice: I am unable to add the command "Remove
Hidden
Data..." in the file menu - because it doesn't even appear as an
option in
the command list. I think that this problem is ultimately related
to this
issue.




"Bob Buckland ?:-)" wrote:

Hi Tom,

In addition to Beth's comments you can run
the tool from a command line in Start=Run.
More information on that is in the Readme .htm
file in

drive:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Remove Hidden Data
Tool\1033\offrhdreadme.htm

If you have Winzip (or equivalent) you can right click
on the RHDTool.exe download and choose 'open with Winzip'
and inside that archive open RHD.CAB to get to the .htm
readme file and manually extract the files.

Are you using U.S. English (1033) as the default on
your system? Have you installed Service Pack 1 on Office 2003?

======
"Tom Ker" [email protected] wrote in message
...
Windows 2000 SP4, Office 2003, RHD 1.1

Any known reasons why the RHD tool won't install properly on this
system?

When I open an Office product after attempting to install the tool
I get the
message that it did not install correctly and I should try again.
It never
works.

Thanks,

Tom
--
Bob Buckland ?:-)
MS Office System Products MVP

*Courtesy is not expensive and can pay big dividends*

Office 2003 Editions explained
http://www.microsoft.com/uk/office/editions.mspx






  #13  
Old January 4th, 2005, 09:57 PM
Felix D
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

i still get the same error message, and i still don't have the "remove
hidden data" command in the command list

any more thoughts on how to fix?

Felix



"Felix D" wrote:

it's loading as an add-in now, thanks.

but i still get the same error message, and i still don't have the "remove
hidden data" command in the command list



"Beth Melton" wrote:

RHD.dot is manually added in by a COM Add-in and all it has is a
customized File menu with the "Remove Hidden Data" command.

Try copying the RHD.dot to your Word Startup folder. That way it will
load automatically when Word starts. You can find the location of the
Word Startup folder under Tools/Options/File Locations.

--
Please post all follow-up questions to the newsgroup. Requests for
assistance by email can not be acknowledged.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Beth Melton
Microsoft Office MVP

Word FAQ: http://mvps.org/word
TechTrax eZine: http://mousetrax.com/techtrax/
MVP FAQ site: http://mvps.org/


"Felix D" Felix wrote in message
...
I'm having the same trouble. I get a popup that says "An error
occurred
while trying to launch the Remove Hidden Data Tool. Try
reinstalling." only
when I start Word.

Virus and everything is also exited. I have the 2 auto exec files in
the
add-in, but it does not install the add-in rhd.dot. After I add it
manually,
it doesn't remain once I click "OK" and finalize installation of the
.dot

Another thing that I notice: I am unable to add the command "Remove
Hidden
Data..." in the file menu - because it doesn't even appear as an
option in
the command list. I think that this problem is ultimately related
to this
issue.




"Bob Buckland ?:-)" wrote:

Hi Tom,

In addition to Beth's comments you can run
the tool from a command line in Start=Run.
More information on that is in the Readme .htm
file in

drive:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Remove Hidden Data
Tool\1033\offrhdreadme.htm

If you have Winzip (or equivalent) you can right click
on the RHDTool.exe download and choose 'open with Winzip'
and inside that archive open RHD.CAB to get to the .htm
readme file and manually extract the files.

Are you using U.S. English (1033) as the default on
your system? Have you installed Service Pack 1 on Office 2003?

======
"Tom Ker" [email protected] wrote in message
...
Windows 2000 SP4, Office 2003, RHD 1.1

Any known reasons why the RHD tool won't install properly on this
system?

When I open an Office product after attempting to install the tool
I get the
message that it did not install correctly and I should try again.
It never
works.

Thanks,

Tom
--
Bob Buckland ?:-)
MS Office System Products MVP

*Courtesy is not expensive and can pay big dividends*

Office 2003 Editions explained
http://www.microsoft.com/uk/office/editions.mspx






  #14  
Old January 5th, 2005, 11:46 PM
Beth Melton
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Could you provide some additional information on this?

- What version of Word and what operating system are you using?
- Is it a standalone machine or is it networked?
- Is it locked down via policies somehow?
- Do you have any addins other than the RHD?
- Did you or do you have the previous version of the RHD installed?
- Try renaming Normal.dot to allow Word to create a new one. (Although
I doubt this would be the issue since the RHD doesn't modify your
Normal.dot)
- Does the error occur if you start Windows in Safe Mode?

--
Please post all follow-up questions to the newsgroup. Requests for
assistance by email can not be acknowledged.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Beth Melton
Microsoft Office MVP

Word FAQ: http://mvps.org/word
TechTrax eZine: http://mousetrax.com/techtrax/
MVP FAQ site: http://mvps.org/


"Felix D" Felix wrote in message
...
i still get the same error message, and i still don't have the
"remove
hidden data" command in the command list

any more thoughts on how to fix?

Felix



"Felix D" wrote:

it's loading as an add-in now, thanks.

but i still get the same error message, and i still don't have the
"remove
hidden data" command in the command list



"Beth Melton" wrote:

RHD.dot is manually added in by a COM Add-in and all it has is a
customized File menu with the "Remove Hidden Data" command.

Try copying the RHD.dot to your Word Startup folder. That way it
will
load automatically when Word starts. You can find the location of
the
Word Startup folder under Tools/Options/File Locations.

--
Please post all follow-up questions to the newsgroup. Requests
for
assistance by email can not be acknowledged.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Beth Melton
Microsoft Office MVP

Word FAQ:
http://mvps.org/word
TechTrax eZine: http://mousetrax.com/techtrax/
MVP FAQ site: http://mvps.org/


"Felix D" Felix wrote in message
...
I'm having the same trouble. I get a popup that says "An error
occurred
while trying to launch the Remove Hidden Data Tool. Try
reinstalling." only
when I start Word.

Virus and everything is also exited. I have the 2 auto exec
files in
the
add-in, but it does not install the add-in rhd.dot. After I
add it
manually,
it doesn't remain once I click "OK" and finalize installation
of the
.dot

Another thing that I notice: I am unable to add the command
"Remove
Hidden
Data..." in the file menu - because it doesn't even appear as
an
option in
the command list. I think that this problem is ultimately
related
to this
issue.




"Bob Buckland ?:-)" wrote:

Hi Tom,

In addition to Beth's comments you can run
the tool from a command line in Start=Run.
More information on that is in the Readme .htm
file in

drive:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Remove Hidden Data
Tool\1033\offrhdreadme.htm

If you have Winzip (or equivalent) you can right click
on the RHDTool.exe download and choose 'open with Winzip'
and inside that archive open RHD.CAB to get to the .htm
readme file and manually extract the files.

Are you using U.S. English (1033) as the default on
your system? Have you installed Service Pack 1 on Office 2003?

======
"Tom Ker" [email protected] wrote in message
...
Windows 2000 SP4, Office 2003, RHD 1.1

Any known reasons why the RHD tool won't install properly on
this
system?

When I open an Office product after attempting to install the
tool
I get the
message that it did not install correctly and I should try
again.
It never
works.

Thanks,

Tom
--
Bob Buckland ?:-)
MS Office System Products MVP

*Courtesy is not expensive and can pay big dividends*

Office 2003 Editions explained
http://www.microsoft.com/uk/office/editions.mspx








  #15  
Old January 12th, 2005, 05:35 PM
MasterScooby
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


MasterScooby wrote:
*I also have the same problem with Word not showing the
remove hidded data menu item. It does show up in
Powerpoint and Excel though.

Windows XP SP2
Office XP SP3
Word version 10.6612.6714 *


I installed version 1.0 and the tool now works with Word.



--
MasterScooby
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Posted via http://www.mcse.ms
------------------------------------------------------------------------
View this thread: http://www.mcse.ms/message1262597.html

  #16  
Old January 13th, 2005, 06:00 PM
Beth Melton
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks for the update! I'm glad to hear this resolved the issue. :-)

--
Please post all follow-up questions to the newsgroup. Requests for
assistance by email can not be acknowledged.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Beth Melton
Microsoft Office MVP

Word FAQ: http://mvps.org/word
TechTrax eZine: http://mousetrax.com/techtrax/
MVP FAQ site: http://mvps.org/


"MasterScooby" wrote in message
...


I installed version 1.0 and the tool now works with Word.



  #17  
Old January 21st, 2005, 10:59 PM
drsecure
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


Felix,

You might want to try re-installing with your macro security level
TEMPORARILY set to low. This tool is pretty good but it misses quite a
bit of hidden data, it really only targets personal data and actually
dropped features when moving up to version 1.1.

There is also a new free tool out at www.bitform.net called Bitform
Discover. Try it if you really want to see what's hidden in your
documents.

Dr. Secure



--
drsecure
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Posted via http://www.mcse.ms
------------------------------------------------------------------------
View this thread: http://www.mcse.ms/message1262597.html

  #18  
Old January 27th, 2005, 03:55 AM
Felix
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

XP Profressional, Word 2003
Standalone
Not locked down
No other add-ins
I did have it previously installed. But I removed it because I didn't know
what it was. And when I first removed it, I removed the command under
"File," now it doesn't come back into Word. It's back in PPoint and Excel,
and normal operating.
I did rename Normal.dot - no change
Don't know if it starts in safe mode, but not sure that will help.

....I think it is something related to the missing command line, and the fact
that it was previously installed. This is a new machine -- maybe 1 month old.

Also, I did turn off all norton and anti-virus stuff (per your previous
postings) and I have the same error.

Thoughts?

Thanks,
Felix


"Beth Melton" wrote:

Could you provide some additional information on this?

- What version of Word and what operating system are you using?
- Is it a standalone machine or is it networked?
- Is it locked down via policies somehow?
- Do you have any addins other than the RHD?
- Did you or do you have the previous version of the RHD installed?
- Try renaming Normal.dot to allow Word to create a new one. (Although
I doubt this would be the issue since the RHD doesn't modify your
Normal.dot)
- Does the error occur if you start Windows in Safe Mode?

--
Please post all follow-up questions to the newsgroup. Requests for
assistance by email can not be acknowledged.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Beth Melton
Microsoft Office MVP

Word FAQ: http://mvps.org/word
TechTrax eZine: http://mousetrax.com/techtrax/
MVP FAQ site: http://mvps.org/


"Felix D" Felix wrote in message
...
i still get the same error message, and i still don't have the
"remove
hidden data" command in the command list

any more thoughts on how to fix?

Felix



"Felix D" wrote:

it's loading as an add-in now, thanks.

but i still get the same error message, and i still don't have the
"remove
hidden data" command in the command list



"Beth Melton" wrote:

RHD.dot is manually added in by a COM Add-in and all it has is a
customized File menu with the "Remove Hidden Data" command.

Try copying the RHD.dot to your Word Startup folder. That way it
will
load automatically when Word starts. You can find the location of
the
Word Startup folder under Tools/Options/File Locations.

--
Please post all follow-up questions to the newsgroup. Requests
for
assistance by email can not be acknowledged.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Beth Melton
Microsoft Office MVP

Word FAQ:
http://mvps.org/word
TechTrax eZine: http://mousetrax.com/techtrax/
MVP FAQ site: http://mvps.org/


"Felix D" Felix wrote in message
...
I'm having the same trouble. I get a popup that says "An error
occurred
while trying to launch the Remove Hidden Data Tool. Try
reinstalling." only
when I start Word.

Virus and everything is also exited. I have the 2 auto exec
files in
the
add-in, but it does not install the add-in rhd.dot. After I
add it
manually,
it doesn't remain once I click "OK" and finalize installation
of the
.dot

Another thing that I notice: I am unable to add the command
"Remove
Hidden
Data..." in the file menu - because it doesn't even appear as
an
option in
the command list. I think that this problem is ultimately
related
to this
issue.




"Bob Buckland ?:-)" wrote:

Hi Tom,

In addition to Beth's comments you can run
the tool from a command line in Start=Run.
More information on that is in the Readme .htm
file in

drive:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Remove Hidden Data
Tool\1033\offrhdreadme.htm

If you have Winzip (or equivalent) you can right click
on the RHDTool.exe download and choose 'open with Winzip'
and inside that archive open RHD.CAB to get to the .htm
readme file and manually extract the files.

Are you using U.S. English (1033) as the default on
your system? Have you installed Service Pack 1 on Office 2003?

======
"Tom Ker" [email protected] wrote in message
...
Windows 2000 SP4, Office 2003, RHD 1.1

Any known reasons why the RHD tool won't install properly on
this
system?

When I open an Office product after attempting to install the
tool
I get the
message that it did not install correctly and I should try
again.
It never
works.

Thanks,

Tom
--
Bob Buckland ?:-)
MS Office System Products MVP

*Courtesy is not expensive and can pay big dividends*

Office 2003 Editions explained
http://www.microsoft.com/uk/office/editions.mspx









  #19  
Old January 27th, 2005, 03:57 AM
Felix
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I did put the security level down, I think even to zero. No change.

I would like the add-in to work somehow... but am thinking that I need to
uninstall word and reinstall the entire baby...

???

Felix




"drsecure" wrote:


Felix,

You might want to try re-installing with your macro security level
TEMPORARILY set to low. This tool is pretty good but it misses quite a
bit of hidden data, it really only targets personal data and actually
dropped features when moving up to version 1.1.

There is also a new free tool out at www.bitform.net called Bitform
Discover. Try it if you really want to see what's hidden in your
documents.

Dr. Secure



--
drsecure
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Posted via http://www.mcse.ms
------------------------------------------------------------------------
View this thread: http://www.mcse.ms/message1262597.html


  #20  
Old January 27th, 2005, 03:57 AM
Felix
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I did put the security level down, I think even to zero. No change.

I would like the add-in to work somehow... but am thinking that I need to
uninstall word and reinstall the entire baby...

???

Felix

"Beth Melton" wrote:

Could you provide some additional information on this?

- What version of Word and what operating system are you using?
- Is it a standalone machine or is it networked?
- Is it locked down via policies somehow?
- Do you have any addins other than the RHD?
- Did you or do you have the previous version of the RHD installed?
- Try renaming Normal.dot to allow Word to create a new one. (Although
I doubt this would be the issue since the RHD doesn't modify your
Normal.dot)
- Does the error occur if you start Windows in Safe Mode?

--
Please post all follow-up questions to the newsgroup. Requests for
assistance by email can not be acknowledged.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Beth Melton
Microsoft Office MVP

Word FAQ: http://mvps.org/word
TechTrax eZine: http://mousetrax.com/techtrax/
MVP FAQ site: http://mvps.org/


"Felix D" Felix wrote in message
...
i still get the same error message, and i still don't have the
"remove
hidden data" command in the command list

any more thoughts on how to fix?

Felix



"Felix D" wrote:

it's loading as an add-in now, thanks.

but i still get the same error message, and i still don't have the
"remove
hidden data" command in the command list



"Beth Melton" wrote:

RHD.dot is manually added in by a COM Add-in and all it has is a
customized File menu with the "Remove Hidden Data" command.

Try copying the RHD.dot to your Word Startup folder. That way it
will
load automatically when Word starts. You can find the location of
the
Word Startup folder under Tools/Options/File Locations.

--
Please post all follow-up questions to the newsgroup. Requests
for
assistance by email can not be acknowledged.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Beth Melton
Microsoft Office MVP

Word FAQ:
http://mvps.org/word
TechTrax eZine: http://mousetrax.com/techtrax/
MVP FAQ site: http://mvps.org/


"Felix D" Felix wrote in message
...
I'm having the same trouble. I get a popup that says "An error
occurred
while trying to launch the Remove Hidden Data Tool. Try
reinstalling." only
when I start Word.

Virus and everything is also exited. I have the 2 auto exec
files in
the
add-in, but it does not install the add-in rhd.dot. After I
add it
manually,
it doesn't remain once I click "OK" and finalize installation
of the
.dot

Another thing that I notice: I am unable to add the command
"Remove
Hidden
Data..." in the file menu - because it doesn't even appear as
an
option in
the command list. I think that this problem is ultimately
related
to this
issue.




"Bob Buckland ?:-)" wrote:

Hi Tom,

In addition to Beth's comments you can run
the tool from a command line in Start=Run.
More information on that is in the Readme .htm
file in

drive:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Remove Hidden Data
Tool\1033\offrhdreadme.htm

If you have Winzip (or equivalent) you can right click
on the RHDTool.exe download and choose 'open with Winzip'
and inside that archive open RHD.CAB to get to the .htm
readme file and manually extract the files.

Are you using U.S. English (1033) as the default on
your system? Have you installed Service Pack 1 on Office 2003?

======
"Tom Ker" [email protected] wrote in message
...
Windows 2000 SP4, Office 2003, RHD 1.1

Any known reasons why the RHD tool won't install properly on
this
system?

When I open an Office product after attempting to install the
tool
I get the
message that it did not install correctly and I should try
again.
It never
works.

Thanks,

Tom
--
Bob Buckland ?:-)
MS Office System Products MVP

*Courtesy is not expensive and can pay big dividends*

Office 2003 Editions explained
http://www.microsoft.com/uk/office/editions.mspx









 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rapid input Via datasheet RudyR_Seattle General Discussion 4 January 31st, 2005 01:33 AM
VBA Code problem error 9 Speedy General Discussion 19 October 15th, 2004 09:05 PM
Data Source issues. ??data.access.pages Phil Database Design 2 October 11th, 2004 02:42 AM
Data Source issues Philippe Database Design 1 October 10th, 2004 09:45 PM
Remove Hidden Data Tool and Accept All Changes in Document Natalie Diem General Discussion 2 August 20th, 2004 06:12 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2017 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.