A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » New Users
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Access Labels Maker Doesn't Work



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 27th, 2010, 11:01 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
ted collins
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3
Default Access Labels Maker Doesn't Work

Used to able to make labels from earlier editions of Access w/o any problems.
Since updating to "2007" I wind up with messages popping up and little boxes
asking for parameter values for Trim even though I use the Label Wizard and
would assume "the Wizard" would/should take care of ninty gritty details. I'm
a "user" not a developer or programer. How do I fix this problem so I can
just print some labels?
--
elderuser
Ads
  #2  
Old May 28th, 2010, 06:26 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
Arvin Meyer [MVP][_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,310
Default Access Labels Maker Doesn't Work

Open any code window and go to Tools References and look for any marked
as "MISSING". If you find any, fix them. Then try and compile the database.
You may have to do it again.
--
Arvin Meyer, MCP, MVP
http://www.datastrat.com
http://www.accessmvp.com
http://www.mvps.org/access
Co-author: "Access 2010 Solutions", published by Wiley


"ted collins" wrote in message
...
Used to able to make labels from earlier editions of Access w/o any
problems.
Since updating to "2007" I wind up with messages popping up and little
boxes
asking for parameter values for Trim even though I use the Label Wizard
and
would assume "the Wizard" would/should take care of ninty gritty details.
I'm
a "user" not a developer or programer. How do I fix this problem so I can
just print some labels?
--
elderuser



  #3  
Old May 31st, 2010, 07:04 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
ted collins
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3
Default Access Labels Maker Doesn't Work

Thank you! Once I figured out how to get to the toolsreferences, I found
"utility.mda" with "MISSING" in front of it and I unchecked the box and the
labels appear almost perfect. Seems like there is always one more thing. The
labels will include phone numbers and the numbers appear in the labels but
without the normal formatting: i.e. (xxx) xxx-xxxx, the ( ) and - are
missing. What do i do to make them appear?
--
elderuser


"Arvin Meyer [MVP]" wrote:

Open any code window and go to Tools References and look for any marked
as "MISSING". If you find any, fix them. Then try and compile the database.
You may have to do it again.
--
Arvin Meyer, MCP, MVP
http://www.datastrat.com
http://www.accessmvp.com
http://www.mvps.org/access
Co-author: "Access 2010 Solutions", published by Wiley


"ted collins" wrote in message
...
Used to able to make labels from earlier editions of Access w/o any
problems.
Since updating to "2007" I wind up with messages popping up and little
boxes
asking for parameter values for Trim even though I use the Label Wizard
and
would assume "the Wizard" would/should take care of ninty gritty details.
I'm
a "user" not a developer or programer. How do I fix this problem so I can
just print some labels?
--
elderuser



.

  #4  
Old May 31st, 2010, 03:31 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
John Spencer
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,815
Default Access Labels Maker Doesn't Work

How are they appearing NOW? 123 4567890? You can use the format function to
format the value
Format([TelephoneNumber],"(@@@)@@@@-@@@@")
If the number is 1234567890 then the format specification would be the
following if you wanted to add the space.
"(@@@) @@@-@@@@")


John Spencer
Access MVP 2002-2005, 2007-2010
The Hilltop Institute
University of Maryland Baltimore County

ted collins wrote:
Thank you! Once I figured out how to get to the toolsreferences, I found
"utility.mda" with "MISSING" in front of it and I unchecked the box and the
labels appear almost perfect. Seems like there is always one more thing. The
labels will include phone numbers and the numbers appear in the labels but
without the normal formatting: i.e. (xxx) xxx-xxxx, the ( ) and - are
missing. What do i do to make them appear?

  #5  
Old June 1st, 2010, 08:48 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
ted collins
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3
Default Access Labels Maker Doesn't Work

The telephone numbers appear in the format I prefer "(000) 000-0000"
everywhere (tables, queries, reports) except when I select them to appear on
a standard Avery label using the Access Label Wizard. I want up to three
telephone numbers to appear on one line on the label i.e. the fields a
Home Phone, Work Phone, and Cell Phone. If the phone numbers are already
formatted the way I want them and appear correctly elsewhere why does
selecting them for use in a labels report cause this problem? They appear as:
1234567890.
--
elderuser


"John Spencer" wrote:

How are they appearing NOW? 123 4567890? You can use the format function to
format the value
Format([TelephoneNumber],"(@@@)@@@@-@@@@")
If the number is 1234567890 then the format specification would be the
following if you wanted to add the space.
"(@@@) @@@-@@@@")


John Spencer
Access MVP 2002-2005, 2007-2010
The Hilltop Institute
University of Maryland Baltimore County

ted collins wrote:
Thank you! Once I figured out how to get to the toolsreferences, I found
"utility.mda" with "MISSING" in front of it and I unchecked the box and the
labels appear almost perfect. Seems like there is always one more thing. The
labels will include phone numbers and the numbers appear in the labels but
without the normal formatting: i.e. (xxx) xxx-xxxx, the ( ) and - are
missing. What do i do to make them appear?

.

  #6  
Old June 2nd, 2010, 04:26 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
Arvin Meyer [MVP][_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,310
Default Access Labels Maker Doesn't Work

If you look in the table, you have stored them unformatted. You can change
that with an update query (for safety, use a new column) using the format
function that John provided you.
--
Arvin Meyer, MCP, MVP
http://www.datastrat.com
http://www.accessmvp.com
http://www.mvps.org/access
Co-author: "Access 2010 Solutions", published by Wiley


"ted collins" wrote in message
...
The telephone numbers appear in the format I prefer "(000) 000-0000"
everywhere (tables, queries, reports) except when I select them to appear
on
a standard Avery label using the Access Label Wizard. I want up to three
telephone numbers to appear on one line on the label i.e. the fields a
Home Phone, Work Phone, and Cell Phone. If the phone numbers are already
formatted the way I want them and appear correctly elsewhere why does
selecting them for use in a labels report cause this problem? They appear
as:
1234567890.
--
elderuser


"John Spencer" wrote:

How are they appearing NOW? 123 4567890? You can use the format function
to
format the value
Format([TelephoneNumber],"(@@@)@@@@-@@@@")
If the number is 1234567890 then the format specification would be the
following if you wanted to add the space.
"(@@@) @@@-@@@@")


John Spencer
Access MVP 2002-2005, 2007-2010
The Hilltop Institute
University of Maryland Baltimore County

ted collins wrote:
Thank you! Once I figured out how to get to the toolsreferences, I
found
"utility.mda" with "MISSING" in front of it and I unchecked the box and
the
labels appear almost perfect. Seems like there is always one more
thing. The
labels will include phone numbers and the numbers appear in the labels
but
without the normal formatting: i.e. (xxx) xxx-xxxx, the ( ) and - are
missing. What do i do to make them appear?

.



  #7  
Old June 2nd, 2010, 01:34 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
John Spencer
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,815
Default Access Labels Maker Doesn't Work

Can you post the phone control's source?
Is it just a field? OR is it something like
="Home Phone" & [Home Phone]

I suspect that you have a display format that shows the phone number fields
with the formatting you see (very possibly the format is set at the table
field level). The actual value being stored is 1234567890.

John Spencer
Access MVP 2002-2005, 2007-2010
The Hilltop Institute
University of Maryland Baltimore County

ted collins wrote:
The telephone numbers appear in the format I prefer "(000) 000-0000"
everywhere (tables, queries, reports) except when I select them to appear on
a standard Avery label using the Access Label Wizard. I want up to three
telephone numbers to appear on one line on the label i.e. the fields a
Home Phone, Work Phone, and Cell Phone. If the phone numbers are already
formatted the way I want them and appear correctly elsewhere why does
selecting them for use in a labels report cause this problem? They appear as:
1234567890.

  #8  
Old June 4th, 2010, 06:56 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
Ted Collins
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1
Default Access Labels Maker Doesn't Work

Each is a field i.e. Home Phone, Work Phone, and Cell Phone in the Database
table.
At some point I think I selescted the use of the telephone number input mask
for data entry and everything appears with (@@@) @@@-@@@@ as the apparent
"format" in the table, queries, and reports other than in a label. I looked
at these fields in TableDesign ViewProperties and note that while the input
mask was shown for each, the Format property box was blank. So I typed in the
above desired format you gave me with the hope that that would finally be it.
No help phone numbers on the labels still appear as 1234567890.

"John Spencer" wrote:

Can you post the phone control's source?
Is it just a field? OR is it something like
="Home Phone" & [Home Phone]

I suspect that you have a display format that shows the phone number fields
with the formatting you see (very possibly the format is set at the table
field level). The actual value being stored is 1234567890.

John Spencer
Access MVP 2002-2005, 2007-2010
The Hilltop Institute
University of Maryland Baltimore County

ted collins wrote:
The telephone numbers appear in the format I prefer "(000) 000-0000"
everywhere (tables, queries, reports) except when I select them to appear on
a standard Avery label using the Access Label Wizard. I want up to three
telephone numbers to appear on one line on the label i.e. the fields a
Home Phone, Work Phone, and Cell Phone. If the phone numbers are already
formatted the way I want them and appear correctly elsewhere why does
selecting them for use in a labels report cause this problem? They appear as:
1234567890.

.

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2017 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.