A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Running & Setting Up Queries
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Invalid Argument (error 30001)



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 26th, 2007, 04:22 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.queries
pon
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 19
Default Invalid Argument (error 30001)

I am receiving a error " Invalid Argument" only when I run a Make Table
Query . But the select query is working fine.
I also get the error when I import the table.
Please Help!
Thanks
Pon

  #2  
Old November 26th, 2007, 04:41 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.queries
Jerry Whittle
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,732
Default Invalid Argument (error 30001)

Show us the SQL. Open the query in design view. Next go to View, SQL View
and copy and past it here.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.

"pon" wrote:

I am receiving a error " Invalid Argument" only when I run a Make Table
Query . But the select query is working fine.
I also get the error when I import the table.
Please Help!
Thanks
Pon

  #3  
Old November 26th, 2007, 07:39 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.queries
pon
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 19
Default Invalid Argument (error 30001)


SELECT DISTINCT TST.TST_RUCL_CODE, TST.TST_DOC_CODE, TST.TST_ACTIVITY_DATE,
TST.TST_TRANS_DATE, TST.TST_TRANS_AMT, TST.TST_TRANS_DESC, TST.TST_DR_CR_IND
INTO MTB_FGBTRNH
FROM TST;

Thanks
PON

"Jerry Whittle" wrote:

Show us the SQL. Open the query in design view. Next go to View, SQL View
and copy and past it here.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.

"pon" wrote:

I am receiving a error " Invalid Argument" only when I run a Make Table
Query . But the select query is working fine.
I also get the error when I import the table.
Please Help!
Thanks
Pon

  #4  
Old November 26th, 2007, 09:01 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.queries
Jerry Whittle
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,732
Default Invalid Argument (error 30001)

Simple enough SQL statement. Even the DISTINCT shouldn't matter.

Wait a minute! I just reread what you said. Is TST a table or something like
a linked Excel spreadsheet? Access often guesses at the datatype based on the
first few rows of data in the spreadsheet. If TST_ACTIVITY_DATE has data that
looks like a date but later has something like "No Activities" later on, that
can cause problems.

If so, two suggestions:

1. Look at the data in the spreadsheet carefully for things that would mess
up Access. Make the second row of data look correct by creating a bogus
record.

2. Pre-build the MTB_FGBTRNH and make all the field Text(255). See if it
imports then. If so try to change the field data types to things like Date
and see if it errors and where.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.


"pon" wrote:


SELECT DISTINCT TST.TST_RUCL_CODE, TST.TST_DOC_CODE, TST.TST_ACTIVITY_DATE,
TST.TST_TRANS_DATE, TST.TST_TRANS_AMT, TST.TST_TRANS_DESC, TST.TST_DR_CR_IND
INTO MTB_FGBTRNH
FROM TST;

Thanks
PON

"Jerry Whittle" wrote:

Show us the SQL. Open the query in design view. Next go to View, SQL View
and copy and past it here.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.

"pon" wrote:

I am receiving a error " Invalid Argument" only when I run a Make Table
Query . But the select query is working fine.
I also get the error when I import the table.
Please Help!
Thanks
Pon

  #5  
Old November 26th, 2007, 09:28 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.queries
pon
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 19
Default Invalid Argument (error 30001)

TST is a linked oracle table, I get the same error even when I import the
table.
Its a very big table. The size of the access database is nearly 1.9GB, Can
that cause any issues.
Pon

"Jerry Whittle" wrote:

Simple enough SQL statement. Even the DISTINCT shouldn't matter.

Wait a minute! I just reread what you said. Is TST a table or something like
a linked Excel spreadsheet? Access often guesses at the datatype based on the
first few rows of data in the spreadsheet. If TST_ACTIVITY_DATE has data that
looks like a date but later has something like "No Activities" later on, that
can cause problems.

If so, two suggestions:

1. Look at the data in the spreadsheet carefully for things that would mess
up Access. Make the second row of data look correct by creating a bogus
record.

2. Pre-build the MTB_FGBTRNH and make all the field Text(255). See if it
imports then. If so try to change the field data types to things like Date
and see if it errors and where.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.


"pon" wrote:


SELECT DISTINCT TST.TST_RUCL_CODE, TST.TST_DOC_CODE, TST.TST_ACTIVITY_DATE,
TST.TST_TRANS_DATE, TST.TST_TRANS_AMT, TST.TST_TRANS_DESC, TST.TST_DR_CR_IND
INTO MTB_FGBTRNH
FROM TST;

Thanks
PON

"Jerry Whittle" wrote:

Show us the SQL. Open the query in design view. Next go to View, SQL View
and copy and past it here.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.

"pon" wrote:

I am receiving a error " Invalid Argument" only when I run a Make Table
Query . But the select query is working fine.
I also get the error when I import the table.
Please Help!
Thanks
Pon

  #6  
Old November 26th, 2007, 09:55 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.queries
Jerry Whittle
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,732
Default Invalid Argument (error 30001)

That's too big. Access has an upper limit of 2 GB for a .mdb or .accdb file.
I'm betting that Access is running out of steam. You may have to do the work
within Oracle using pass-through queries.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.

"pon" wrote:

TST is a linked oracle table, I get the same error even when I import the
table.
Its a very big table. The size of the access database is nearly 1.9GB, Can
that cause any issues.
Pon

"Jerry Whittle" wrote:

Simple enough SQL statement. Even the DISTINCT shouldn't matter.

Wait a minute! I just reread what you said. Is TST a table or something like
a linked Excel spreadsheet? Access often guesses at the datatype based on the
first few rows of data in the spreadsheet. If TST_ACTIVITY_DATE has data that
looks like a date but later has something like "No Activities" later on, that
can cause problems.

If so, two suggestions:

1. Look at the data in the spreadsheet carefully for things that would mess
up Access. Make the second row of data look correct by creating a bogus
record.

2. Pre-build the MTB_FGBTRNH and make all the field Text(255). See if it
imports then. If so try to change the field data types to things like Date
and see if it errors and where.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.


"pon" wrote:


SELECT DISTINCT TST.TST_RUCL_CODE, TST.TST_DOC_CODE, TST.TST_ACTIVITY_DATE,
TST.TST_TRANS_DATE, TST.TST_TRANS_AMT, TST.TST_TRANS_DESC, TST.TST_DR_CR_IND
INTO MTB_FGBTRNH
FROM TST;

Thanks
PON

"Jerry Whittle" wrote:

Show us the SQL. Open the query in design view. Next go to View, SQL View
and copy and past it here.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.

"pon" wrote:

I am receiving a error " Invalid Argument" only when I run a Make Table
Query . But the select query is working fine.
I also get the error when I import the table.
Please Help!
Thanks
Pon

  #7  
Old November 27th, 2007, 02:50 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.queries
pon
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 19
Default Invalid Argument (error 30001)

Even when I delete some of the imported table, the size still shows as 1.9GB.
could you please help!
pon

"Jerry Whittle" wrote:

That's too big. Access has an upper limit of 2 GB for a .mdb or .accdb file.
I'm betting that Access is running out of steam. You may have to do the work
within Oracle using pass-through queries.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.

"pon" wrote:

TST is a linked oracle table, I get the same error even when I import the
table.
Its a very big table. The size of the access database is nearly 1.9GB, Can
that cause any issues.
Pon

"Jerry Whittle" wrote:

Simple enough SQL statement. Even the DISTINCT shouldn't matter.

Wait a minute! I just reread what you said. Is TST a table or something like
a linked Excel spreadsheet? Access often guesses at the datatype based on the
first few rows of data in the spreadsheet. If TST_ACTIVITY_DATE has data that
looks like a date but later has something like "No Activities" later on, that
can cause problems.

If so, two suggestions:

1. Look at the data in the spreadsheet carefully for things that would mess
up Access. Make the second row of data look correct by creating a bogus
record.

2. Pre-build the MTB_FGBTRNH and make all the field Text(255). See if it
imports then. If so try to change the field data types to things like Date
and see if it errors and where.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.


"pon" wrote:


SELECT DISTINCT TST.TST_RUCL_CODE, TST.TST_DOC_CODE, TST.TST_ACTIVITY_DATE,
TST.TST_TRANS_DATE, TST.TST_TRANS_AMT, TST.TST_TRANS_DESC, TST.TST_DR_CR_IND
INTO MTB_FGBTRNH
FROM TST;

Thanks
PON

"Jerry Whittle" wrote:

Show us the SQL. Open the query in design view. Next go to View, SQL View
and copy and past it here.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.

"pon" wrote:

I am receiving a error " Invalid Argument" only when I run a Make Table
Query . But the select query is working fine.
I also get the error when I import the table.
Please Help!
Thanks
Pon

  #8  
Old November 27th, 2007, 05:04 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.queries
Jerry Whittle
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,732
Default Invalid Argument (error 30001)

Have you tried to Compact and Repair that database? That should reduce its
size.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.


"pon" wrote:

Even when I delete some of the imported table, the size still shows as 1.9GB.
could you please help!
pon

"Jerry Whittle" wrote:

That's too big. Access has an upper limit of 2 GB for a .mdb or .accdb file.
I'm betting that Access is running out of steam. You may have to do the work
within Oracle using pass-through queries.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.

"pon" wrote:

TST is a linked oracle table, I get the same error even when I import the
table.
Its a very big table. The size of the access database is nearly 1.9GB, Can
that cause any issues.
Pon

"Jerry Whittle" wrote:

Simple enough SQL statement. Even the DISTINCT shouldn't matter.

Wait a minute! I just reread what you said. Is TST a table or something like
a linked Excel spreadsheet? Access often guesses at the datatype based on the
first few rows of data in the spreadsheet. If TST_ACTIVITY_DATE has data that
looks like a date but later has something like "No Activities" later on, that
can cause problems.

If so, two suggestions:

1. Look at the data in the spreadsheet carefully for things that would mess
up Access. Make the second row of data look correct by creating a bogus
record.

2. Pre-build the MTB_FGBTRNH and make all the field Text(255). See if it
imports then. If so try to change the field data types to things like Date
and see if it errors and where.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.


"pon" wrote:


SELECT DISTINCT TST.TST_RUCL_CODE, TST.TST_DOC_CODE, TST.TST_ACTIVITY_DATE,
TST.TST_TRANS_DATE, TST.TST_TRANS_AMT, TST.TST_TRANS_DESC, TST.TST_DR_CR_IND
INTO MTB_FGBTRNH
FROM TST;

Thanks
PON

"Jerry Whittle" wrote:

Show us the SQL. Open the query in design view. Next go to View, SQL View
and copy and past it here.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.

"pon" wrote:

I am receiving a error " Invalid Argument" only when I run a Make Table
Query . But the select query is working fine.
I also get the error when I import the table.
Please Help!
Thanks
Pon

  #9  
Old November 27th, 2007, 06:51 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.queries
pon
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 19
Default Invalid Argument (error 30001)

Yes, it creates another database DB1 rather than overwriting the same database.
PON


"Jerry Whittle" wrote:

Have you tried to Compact and Repair that database? That should reduce its
size.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.


"pon" wrote:

Even when I delete some of the imported table, the size still shows as 1.9GB.
could you please help!
pon

"Jerry Whittle" wrote:

That's too big. Access has an upper limit of 2 GB for a .mdb or .accdb file.
I'm betting that Access is running out of steam. You may have to do the work
within Oracle using pass-through queries.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.

"pon" wrote:

TST is a linked oracle table, I get the same error even when I import the
table.
Its a very big table. The size of the access database is nearly 1.9GB, Can
that cause any issues.
Pon

"Jerry Whittle" wrote:

Simple enough SQL statement. Even the DISTINCT shouldn't matter.

Wait a minute! I just reread what you said. Is TST a table or something like
a linked Excel spreadsheet? Access often guesses at the datatype based on the
first few rows of data in the spreadsheet. If TST_ACTIVITY_DATE has data that
looks like a date but later has something like "No Activities" later on, that
can cause problems.

If so, two suggestions:

1. Look at the data in the spreadsheet carefully for things that would mess
up Access. Make the second row of data look correct by creating a bogus
record.

2. Pre-build the MTB_FGBTRNH and make all the field Text(255). See if it
imports then. If so try to change the field data types to things like Date
and see if it errors and where.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.


"pon" wrote:


SELECT DISTINCT TST.TST_RUCL_CODE, TST.TST_DOC_CODE, TST.TST_ACTIVITY_DATE,
TST.TST_TRANS_DATE, TST.TST_TRANS_AMT, TST.TST_TRANS_DESC, TST.TST_DR_CR_IND
INTO MTB_FGBTRNH
FROM TST;

Thanks
PON

"Jerry Whittle" wrote:

Show us the SQL. Open the query in design view. Next go to View, SQL View
and copy and past it here.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.

"pon" wrote:

I am receiving a error " Invalid Argument" only when I run a Make Table
Query . But the select query is working fine.
I also get the error when I import the table.
Please Help!
Thanks
Pon

  #10  
Old November 28th, 2007, 12:27 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.queries
Jerry Whittle
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,732
Default Invalid Argument (error 30001)

There's various reason for that to happen. You might not have read, write,
create, and delete for the folder holding the database file. Actually you
must have read and create as it is making the backup DB1.mdb file.

It also could be that the file is so large that it can't be compacted. One
reason for that is that there isn't 2 GB of free space left on that drive.
Not likely though.

Here's something to try. Create a new database file. Then import everything
from the original database file into the new database. This might make it
smaller.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.


"pon" wrote:

Yes, it creates another database DB1 rather than overwriting the same database.
PON


"Jerry Whittle" wrote:

Have you tried to Compact and Repair that database? That should reduce its
size.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.


"pon" wrote:

Even when I delete some of the imported table, the size still shows as 1.9GB.
could you please help!
pon

"Jerry Whittle" wrote:

That's too big. Access has an upper limit of 2 GB for a .mdb or .accdb file.
I'm betting that Access is running out of steam. You may have to do the work
within Oracle using pass-through queries.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.

"pon" wrote:

TST is a linked oracle table, I get the same error even when I import the
table.
Its a very big table. The size of the access database is nearly 1.9GB, Can
that cause any issues.
Pon

"Jerry Whittle" wrote:

Simple enough SQL statement. Even the DISTINCT shouldn't matter.

Wait a minute! I just reread what you said. Is TST a table or something like
a linked Excel spreadsheet? Access often guesses at the datatype based on the
first few rows of data in the spreadsheet. If TST_ACTIVITY_DATE has data that
looks like a date but later has something like "No Activities" later on, that
can cause problems.

If so, two suggestions:

1. Look at the data in the spreadsheet carefully for things that would mess
up Access. Make the second row of data look correct by creating a bogus
record.

2. Pre-build the MTB_FGBTRNH and make all the field Text(255). See if it
imports then. If so try to change the field data types to things like Date
and see if it errors and where.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.


"pon" wrote:


SELECT DISTINCT TST.TST_RUCL_CODE, TST.TST_DOC_CODE, TST.TST_ACTIVITY_DATE,
TST.TST_TRANS_DATE, TST.TST_TRANS_AMT, TST.TST_TRANS_DESC, TST.TST_DR_CR_IND
INTO MTB_FGBTRNH
FROM TST;

Thanks
PON

"Jerry Whittle" wrote:

Show us the SQL. Open the query in design view. Next go to View, SQL View
and copy and past it here.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.

"pon" wrote:

I am receiving a error " Invalid Argument" only when I run a Make Table
Query . But the select query is working fine.
I also get the error when I import the table.
Please Help!
Thanks
Pon

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.