A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Enter Data Twice To Validate



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 19th, 2006, 04:44 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Jeff C
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 392
Default Enter Data Twice To Validate

I am building a simple database to track cash receipts and would like to
require an acct number be entered twice correctly, similar to many online
purchases where you enter your credit card number twice, so that the acct
number is validated.

Any ideas out there or could someone poiint me to the documentation on doing
this please?

Thank you
--
Jeff C
Live Well .. Be Happy In All You Do
  #2  
Old December 19th, 2006, 06:16 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Klatuu
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,074
Default Enter Data Twice To Validate

Not that difficult. You need two text box controls - txtAcct1 and txtAcct2
Set the Tab Stops so that txtAcct1 is just before txtAcct2. In design view,
make txtAcct2 Enabled property = No. (This is so the user has to enter the
first one before the second one.) Make txtAcct2 the bound control and
txtAcct1 an unbound control. Also, put the following line of code in the
Current event of the form:
Me.txtAcct2.Enabled = False

In the Before Update event of txtAcct2

If Me.txtAcct1 Me.txtAcct2 Then
Cancel = True
MsgBox "Incorrect Account Number"
End If


"Jeff C" wrote:

I am building a simple database to track cash receipts and would like to
require an acct number be entered twice correctly, similar to many online
purchases where you enter your credit card number twice, so that the acct
number is validated.

Any ideas out there or could someone poiint me to the documentation on doing
this please?

Thank you
--
Jeff C
Live Well .. Be Happy In All You Do

  #3  
Old December 19th, 2006, 07:16 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Jeff C
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 392
Default Enter Data Twice To Validate

Thank you Mr. Klatuu
--
Jeff C
Live Well .. Be Happy In All You Do


"Klatuu" wrote:

Not that difficult. You need two text box controls - txtAcct1 and txtAcct2
Set the Tab Stops so that txtAcct1 is just before txtAcct2. In design view,
make txtAcct2 Enabled property = No. (This is so the user has to enter the
first one before the second one.) Make txtAcct2 the bound control and
txtAcct1 an unbound control. Also, put the following line of code in the
Current event of the form:
Me.txtAcct2.Enabled = False

In the Before Update event of txtAcct2

If Me.txtAcct1 Me.txtAcct2 Then
Cancel = True
MsgBox "Incorrect Account Number"
End If


"Jeff C" wrote:

I am building a simple database to track cash receipts and would like to
require an acct number be entered twice correctly, similar to many online
purchases where you enter your credit card number twice, so that the acct
number is validated.

Any ideas out there or could someone poiint me to the documentation on doing
this please?

Thank you
--
Jeff C
Live Well .. Be Happy In All You Do

  #4  
Old December 19th, 2006, 07:56 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Jeff C
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 392
Default Enter Data Twice To Validate

Klatuu:

Is it possible there is something crossed up?? I receive an error,"The
expression OnCurrent produced the following error:A problem occurred while
communicating with the OLE serve......"

When I enabled = No on txtAcct2 it is grayed out and will not allow an entry.

Thanks
--
Jeff C
Live Well .. Be Happy In All You Do


"Klatuu" wrote:

Not that difficult. You need two text box controls - txtAcct1 and txtAcct2
Set the Tab Stops so that txtAcct1 is just before txtAcct2. In design view,
make txtAcct2 Enabled property = No. (This is so the user has to enter the
first one before the second one.) Make txtAcct2 the bound control and
txtAcct1 an unbound control. Also, put the following line of code in the
Current event of the form:
Me.txtAcct2.Enabled = False

In the Before Update event of txtAcct2

If Me.txtAcct1 Me.txtAcct2 Then
Cancel = True
MsgBox "Incorrect Account Number"
End If


"Jeff C" wrote:

I am building a simple database to track cash receipts and would like to
require an acct number be entered twice correctly, similar to many online
purchases where you enter your credit card number twice, so that the acct
number is validated.

Any ideas out there or could someone poiint me to the documentation on doing
this please?

Thank you
--
Jeff C
Live Well .. Be Happy In All You Do

  #5  
Old December 19th, 2006, 08:48 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Klatuu
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,074
Default Enter Data Twice To Validate

Select the properties dialog for the form.
Select the Events Tab
Select the Current Event.
The code goes there.

As to the other problem, oops!
My intent on disabling txtAcct2 is to require the user to enter txtAcct1
first. To cure this problem, put this in the After Update event of txtAcct1

If Not IsNull(Me.txtAcct1) Then
Me.txtAcct2.Enabled = True
Me.txtAcct2.Setfocus
End If

"Jeff C" wrote:

Klatuu:

Is it possible there is something crossed up?? I receive an error,"The
expression OnCurrent produced the following error:A problem occurred while
communicating with the OLE serve......"

When I enabled = No on txtAcct2 it is grayed out and will not allow an entry.

Thanks
--
Jeff C
Live Well .. Be Happy In All You Do


"Klatuu" wrote:

Not that difficult. You need two text box controls - txtAcct1 and txtAcct2
Set the Tab Stops so that txtAcct1 is just before txtAcct2. In design view,
make txtAcct2 Enabled property = No. (This is so the user has to enter the
first one before the second one.) Make txtAcct2 the bound control and
txtAcct1 an unbound control. Also, put the following line of code in the
Current event of the form:
Me.txtAcct2.Enabled = False

In the Before Update event of txtAcct2

If Me.txtAcct1 Me.txtAcct2 Then
Cancel = True
MsgBox "Incorrect Account Number"
End If


"Jeff C" wrote:

I am building a simple database to track cash receipts and would like to
require an acct number be entered twice correctly, similar to many online
purchases where you enter your credit card number twice, so that the acct
number is validated.

Any ideas out there or could someone poiint me to the documentation on doing
this please?

Thank you
--
Jeff C
Live Well .. Be Happy In All You Do

  #6  
Old December 19th, 2006, 09:11 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Jeff C
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 392
Default Enter Data Twice To Validate

AAAAAHHHHHHHHHH

Appreciate your help Klatuu
--
Jeff C
Live Well .. Be Happy In All You Do


"Klatuu" wrote:

Select the properties dialog for the form.
Select the Events Tab
Select the Current Event.
The code goes there.

As to the other problem, oops!
My intent on disabling txtAcct2 is to require the user to enter txtAcct1
first. To cure this problem, put this in the After Update event of txtAcct1

If Not IsNull(Me.txtAcct1) Then
Me.txtAcct2.Enabled = True
Me.txtAcct2.Setfocus
End If

"Jeff C" wrote:

Klatuu:

Is it possible there is something crossed up?? I receive an error,"The
expression OnCurrent produced the following error:A problem occurred while
communicating with the OLE serve......"

When I enabled = No on txtAcct2 it is grayed out and will not allow an entry.

Thanks
--
Jeff C
Live Well .. Be Happy In All You Do


"Klatuu" wrote:

Not that difficult. You need two text box controls - txtAcct1 and txtAcct2
Set the Tab Stops so that txtAcct1 is just before txtAcct2. In design view,
make txtAcct2 Enabled property = No. (This is so the user has to enter the
first one before the second one.) Make txtAcct2 the bound control and
txtAcct1 an unbound control. Also, put the following line of code in the
Current event of the form:
Me.txtAcct2.Enabled = False

In the Before Update event of txtAcct2

If Me.txtAcct1 Me.txtAcct2 Then
Cancel = True
MsgBox "Incorrect Account Number"
End If


"Jeff C" wrote:

I am building a simple database to track cash receipts and would like to
require an acct number be entered twice correctly, similar to many online
purchases where you enter your credit card number twice, so that the acct
number is validated.

Any ideas out there or could someone poiint me to the documentation on doing
this please?

Thank you
--
Jeff C
Live Well .. Be Happy In All You Do

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.