A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Fill in forms from a query list



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 18th, 2006, 10:46 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Kevin
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 910
Default Fill in forms from a query list

I have created a database, it is very indepth and big. Waht i want to do is
use the 5 fields selected from a query, e.g Customer Name, Address, City,
State and Post Code. What i am trying to do is create a new form from the
data picked, I use the Company name as the primary ID, and when i select the
compnay nmae, i want the address etc filled in the correct text box. I can
get the name and address only to do it. I set the column count to 5, then set
the bound column to 1 for the company name and 2 frothe address. I tried to
setthe next fileds to 3, 4 and 5. but it does not pick up the info.

Any help at all would be greatfull
--
Many Thanks
Kevin
  #2  
Old December 18th, 2006, 10:49 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Klatuu
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,074
Default Fill in forms from a query list

If you have a 5 column combo, the columns are from 0 to 4, not 1 to 5, so you
would want to use:
=Me.MyCombo.Column(0)
etc.

"Kevin" wrote:

I have created a database, it is very indepth and big. Waht i want to do is
use the 5 fields selected from a query, e.g Customer Name, Address, City,
State and Post Code. What i am trying to do is create a new form from the
data picked, I use the Company name as the primary ID, and when i select the
compnay nmae, i want the address etc filled in the correct text box. I can
get the name and address only to do it. I set the column count to 5, then set
the bound column to 1 for the company name and 2 frothe address. I tried to
setthe next fileds to 3, 4 and 5. but it does not pick up the info.

Any help at all would be greatfull
--
Many Thanks
Kevin

  #3  
Old December 18th, 2006, 11:39 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Kevin
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 910
Default Fill in forms from a query list

Sorry i don't quite know what you mean. The Query fields are "Company Name",
"Address"," City", "State" and "Post Code". The query name is "Company Name
Query", and the control source is "Companyname". The combo boxes are named,
"Company Name", "Address", "City", "State" and "Post Code". I am sorry i just
don't follow what you mean.
--
Many Thanks
Kevin


"Klatuu" wrote:

If you have a 5 column combo, the columns are from 0 to 4, not 1 to 5, so you
would want to use:
=Me.MyCombo.Column(0)
etc.

"Kevin" wrote:

I have created a database, it is very indepth and big. What i want to do is
use the 5 fields selected from a query, e.g Customer Name, Address, City,
State and Post Code. What i am trying to do is create a new form from the
data picked, I use the Company name as the primary ID, and when i select the
compnay name, i want the address etc filled in the correct text box. I can
get the name and address only to do it. I set the column count to 5, then set
the bound column to 1 for the company name and 2 for the address. I tried to
set the next fileds to 3, 4 and 5. but it does not pick up the info.

Any help at all would be greatfull
--
Many Thanks
Kevin

  #4  
Old December 18th, 2006, 11:49 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 264
Default Fill in forms from a query list


Kevin wrote:
I have created a database, it is very indepth and big. Waht i want to do is
use the 5 fields selected from a query, e.g Customer Name, Address, City,
State and Post Code. What i am trying to do is create a new form from the
data picked, I use the Company name as the primary ID, and when i select the
compnay nmae, i want the address etc filled in the correct text box. I can
get the name and address only to do it. I set the column count to 5, then set
the bound column to 1 for the company name and 2 frothe address. I tried to
setthe next fileds to 3, 4 and 5. but it does not pick up the info.

Any help at all would be greatfull
--
Many Thanks
Kevin


you mean you tried using =Me.Controls("MyCombo").Columns(1) etc?
(remember, the count starts from 0, not 1). Doesn't pick up the info?
Funny, works when I do it. Post your code/expressions. And your SQL.

  #5  
Old December 19th, 2006, 01:46 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Klatuu
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,074
Default Fill in forms from a query list

In your original post you said you set the bound column to 1 for the company
name then 2 for the address. You can have only 1 bound column.

In this post, you say the control source is Companyname. Control source of
what?

In any case, maybe this will help. This assumes the bound column of the
combo is 1.

Me.Address = Me.CompanyName.Column(1)
Me.City = Me.CompanyName.Column(2)
Me.State = Me.CompanyName.Column(3)
Me.[Post Code] = Me.CompanyName.Column(4)

It would be a lot less confusing if you would use better naming conventions.
Having a record source field and a control the same name confuses not only
we humans, but sometimes it confuses Access.

I suggest you look on the Microsoft site for Access Naming Conventions. It
will make your life easier.

"Kevin" wrote:

Sorry i don't quite know what you mean. The Query fields are "Company Name",
"Address"," City", "State" and "Post Code". The query name is "Company Name
Query", and the control source is "Companyname". The combo boxes are named,
"Company Name", "Address", "City", "State" and "Post Code". I am sorry i just
don't follow what you mean.
--
Many Thanks
Kevin


"Klatuu" wrote:

If you have a 5 column combo, the columns are from 0 to 4, not 1 to 5, so you
would want to use:
=Me.MyCombo.Column(0)
etc.

"Kevin" wrote:

I have created a database, it is very indepth and big. What i want to do is
use the 5 fields selected from a query, e.g Customer Name, Address, City,
State and Post Code. What i am trying to do is create a new form from the
data picked, I use the Company name as the primary ID, and when i select the
compnay name, i want the address etc filled in the correct text box. I can
get the name and address only to do it. I set the column count to 5, then set
the bound column to 1 for the company name and 2 for the address. I tried to
set the next fileds to 3, 4 and 5. but it does not pick up the info.

Any help at all would be greatfull
--
Many Thanks
Kevin

  #6  
Old December 19th, 2006, 08:48 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Kevin
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 910
Default Fill in forms from a query list

Thnak you very much i will look at the naming conventions, I re4ally do
appreciate any help in Access, as i am only self taught. If you can point me
to any additional information i will be appreciatave.
--
Many Thanks
Kevin


"Klatuu" wrote:

In your original post you said you set the bound column to 1 for the company
name then 2 for the address. You can have only 1 bound column.

In this post, you say the control source is Companyname. Control source of
what?

In any case, maybe this will help. This assumes the bound column of the
combo is 1.

Me.Address = Me.CompanyName.Column(1)
Me.City = Me.CompanyName.Column(2)
Me.State = Me.CompanyName.Column(3)
Me.[Post Code] = Me.CompanyName.Column(4)

It would be a lot less confusing if you would use better naming conventions.
Having a record source field and a control the same name confuses not only
we humans, but sometimes it confuses Access.

I suggest you look on the Microsoft site for Access Naming Conventions. It
will make your life easier.

"Kevin" wrote:

Sorry i don't quite know what you mean. The Query fields are "Company Name",
"Address"," City", "State" and "Post Code". The query name is "Company Name
Query", and the control source is "Companyname". The combo boxes are named,
"Company Name", "Address", "City", "State" and "Post Code". I am sorry i just
don't follow what you mean.
--
Many Thanks
Kevin


"Klatuu" wrote:

If you have a 5 column combo, the columns are from 0 to 4, not 1 to 5, so you
would want to use:
=Me.MyCombo.Column(0)
etc.

"Kevin" wrote:

I have created a database, it is very indepth and big. What i want to do is
use the 5 fields selected from a query, e.g Customer Name, Address, City,
State and Post Code. What i am trying to do is create a new form from the
data picked, I use the Company name as the primary ID, and when i select the
compnay name, i want the address etc filled in the correct text box. I can
get the name and address only to do it. I set the column count to 5, then set
the bound column to 1 for the company name and 2 for the address. I tried to
set the next fileds to 3, 4 and 5. but it does not pick up the info.

Any help at all would be greatfull
--
Many Thanks
Kevin

  #7  
Old December 19th, 2006, 09:05 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Klatuu
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,074
Default Fill in forms from a query list

Kevin,

You are right in the middle of one of the best resources available.
One thing you will find valuable is when reading through posts, if you see a
link to a site with Access info, follow it and see what it has to offer.
Right now, I have about 100 links. Every time I find a new one that has any
good info, I add it to my list. That way, any time I need something, I go to
my Access group under Favorites and start looking.

Good Luck!

"Kevin" wrote:

Thnak you very much i will look at the naming conventions, I re4ally do
appreciate any help in Access, as i am only self taught. If you can point me
to any additional information i will be appreciatave.
--
Many Thanks
Kevin


"Klatuu" wrote:

In your original post you said you set the bound column to 1 for the company
name then 2 for the address. You can have only 1 bound column.

In this post, you say the control source is Companyname. Control source of
what?

In any case, maybe this will help. This assumes the bound column of the
combo is 1.

Me.Address = Me.CompanyName.Column(1)
Me.City = Me.CompanyName.Column(2)
Me.State = Me.CompanyName.Column(3)
Me.[Post Code] = Me.CompanyName.Column(4)

It would be a lot less confusing if you would use better naming conventions.
Having a record source field and a control the same name confuses not only
we humans, but sometimes it confuses Access.

I suggest you look on the Microsoft site for Access Naming Conventions. It
will make your life easier.

"Kevin" wrote:

Sorry i don't quite know what you mean. The Query fields are "Company Name",
"Address"," City", "State" and "Post Code". The query name is "Company Name
Query", and the control source is "Companyname". The combo boxes are named,
"Company Name", "Address", "City", "State" and "Post Code". I am sorry i just
don't follow what you mean.
--
Many Thanks
Kevin


"Klatuu" wrote:

If you have a 5 column combo, the columns are from 0 to 4, not 1 to 5, so you
would want to use:
=Me.MyCombo.Column(0)
etc.

"Kevin" wrote:

I have created a database, it is very indepth and big. What i want to do is
use the 5 fields selected from a query, e.g Customer Name, Address, City,
State and Post Code. What i am trying to do is create a new form from the
data picked, I use the Company name as the primary ID, and when i select the
compnay name, i want the address etc filled in the correct text box. I can
get the name and address only to do it. I set the column count to 5, then set
the bound column to 1 for the company name and 2 for the address. I tried to
set the next fileds to 3, 4 and 5. but it does not pick up the info.

Any help at all would be greatfull
--
Many Thanks
Kevin

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.