A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Excel » Charts and Charting
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Decreasing white space around graphs in Excel?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old November 10th, 2004, 08:46 PM
Alan
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Jon Peltier" wrote in message
...

Alan -

You can set the Autoscale to false with a simple macro, and set it
as your default with a registry tweak. Both of these are covered in
this web page:

http://peltiertech.com/Excel/Charts/FixFonts.html

- Jon


Hi Jon,

Thank you for the link to your site.

Can I ask whether this will resolve the issue of charts changing
between a save and re-open despite nothing being done to them?

Thanks,

Alan.




  #12  
Old November 11th, 2004, 04:24 AM
Jon Peltier
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Alan -

I've hardly ever had this problem happen to my charts, although it's a common
complaint. It might be that elements left in their default sizes are susceptible to
being changed when Excel calculates what the defaults should be. I'm a compulsive
tweaker, so no defaults are left uncovered. I also keep the zoom at 100%, otherwise
the chart may act up. (Copy an embedded chart with 100% zoom, change to 75%, and
paste the chart. It is 75% of the size of the original (i.e., 75% time 75%).

Bottom line: I don't think anyone really knows.

- Jon
-------
Jon Peltier, Microsoft Excel MVP
Peltier Technical Services
Tutorials and Custom Solutions
http://PeltierTech.com/
_______

Alan wrote:

"Jon Peltier" wrote in message
...

Alan -

You can set the Autoscale to false with a simple macro, and set it
as your default with a registry tweak. Both of these are covered in
this web page:

http://peltiertech.com/Excel/Charts/FixFonts.html

- Jon



Hi Jon,

Thank you for the link to your site.

Can I ask whether this will resolve the issue of charts changing
between a save and re-open despite nothing being done to them?

Thanks,

Alan.





  #13  
Old November 11th, 2004, 06:01 AM
Alan
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Jon Peltier" wrote in message
...

Alan -

I've hardly ever had this problem happen to my charts, although it's
a common complaint. It might be that elements left in their default
sizes are susceptible to being changed when Excel calculates what
the defaults should be. I'm a compulsive tweaker, so no defaults are
left uncovered. I also keep the zoom at 100%, otherwise the chart
may act up. (Copy an embedded chart with 100% zoom, change to 75%,
and paste the chart. It is 75% of the size of the original (i.e.,
75% time 75%).

Bottom line: I don't think anyone really knows.

- Jon


Hi Jon,

Is it possible to write a VBA sub that would (recursively?) cycle
through every possible property of a chart and, where applicable,
every sub-property, and set it to something specific so that it no
longer contains that default size?

I had a think about it, but I am not sure that it is possible to do
this since there appears to be no object of type 'property'? Each
property is of a potentialy different type (Boolean, Int, Long,
String, etc...)


Sub PropChanger()

Dim Prop as Chart.Property (?)
Dim myCht as Chart
Dim Holder as Variant

For Each Prop in myChart

Holder = Prop

Prop = Holder

Next

End Sub


Thanks,

Alan.








  #14  
Old November 11th, 2004, 06:48 AM
Jon Peltier
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I think you could get away with locking in the font size, and defining the plot area
dimensions. The plot area is good to fix anyway, because of the excessive white
space around it.

With ActiveChart.PlotArea
.Left = 10
.Top = 25
.Width = 215
.Height = 170
End With

Of course, you need to adjust these sizes for labels, chart area size, etc.

- Jon
-------
Jon Peltier, Microsoft Excel MVP
Peltier Technical Services
Tutorials and Custom Solutions
http://PeltierTech.com/
_______

Alan wrote:
"Jon Peltier" wrote in message
...

Alan -

I've hardly ever had this problem happen to my charts, although it's
a common complaint. It might be that elements left in their default
sizes are susceptible to being changed when Excel calculates what
the defaults should be. I'm a compulsive tweaker, so no defaults are
left uncovered. I also keep the zoom at 100%, otherwise the chart
may act up. (Copy an embedded chart with 100% zoom, change to 75%,
and paste the chart. It is 75% of the size of the original (i.e.,
75% time 75%).

Bottom line: I don't think anyone really knows.

- Jon



Hi Jon,

Is it possible to write a VBA sub that would (recursively?) cycle
through every possible property of a chart and, where applicable,
every sub-property, and set it to something specific so that it no
longer contains that default size?

I had a think about it, but I am not sure that it is possible to do
this since there appears to be no object of type 'property'? Each
property is of a potentialy different type (Boolean, Int, Long,
String, etc...)


Sub PropChanger()

Dim Prop as Chart.Property (?)
Dim myCht as Chart
Dim Holder as Variant

For Each Prop in myChart

Holder = Prop

Prop = Holder

Next

End Sub


Thanks,

Alan.









  #15  
Old November 11th, 2004, 07:22 AM
Alan
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Jon Peltier" wrote in message
...

I think you could get away with locking in the font size, and
defining the plot area dimensions. The plot area is good to fix
anyway, because of the excessive white space around it.

With ActiveChart.PlotArea
.Left = 10
.Top = 25
.Width = 215
.Height = 170
End With

Of course, you need to adjust these sizes for labels, chart area
size, etc.

- Jon


Okay - thanks Jon, much appreciated.

Just out of interest, would it be conceptually possible to do what I
was trying before ...) or
is that just impossible?

Thanks again,

Alan.




  #16  
Old November 11th, 2004, 08:36 PM
Jon Peltier
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Alan -

The problem with your hoped for approach is that the properties are not just
properties of the chart. The chart has elements, and each element has its
properties, and subelements have their properties, etc. You can't just find them
the way you can recursively read files from a directory tree, or if you can, I don't
know how.

The ones you really need to be worried about can easily enough be done individually
through code. You could also automate the process of applying a user defined chart
type, or copying a good chart and using paste special-formats on a bad chart, but
both of these replace existing chart and axis titles with whatever is in the copied
chart.

- Jon
-------
Jon Peltier, Microsoft Excel MVP
Peltier Technical Services
Tutorials and Custom Solutions
http://PeltierTech.com/
_______

Alan wrote:
"Jon Peltier" wrote in message
...

I think you could get away with locking in the font size, and
defining the plot area dimensions. The plot area is good to fix
anyway, because of the excessive white space around it.

With ActiveChart.PlotArea
.Left = 10
.Top = 25
.Width = 215
.Height = 170
End With

Of course, you need to adjust these sizes for labels, chart area
size, etc.

- Jon



Okay - thanks Jon, much appreciated.

Just out of interest, would it be conceptually possible to do what I
was trying before ...) or
is that just impossible?

Thanks again,

Alan.





  #17  
Old November 11th, 2004, 09:37 PM
Alan
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Jon Peltier" wrote in message
...

Alan -

The problem with your hoped for approach is that the properties are
not just properties of the chart. The chart has elements, and each
element has its properties, and subelements have their properties,
etc. You can't just find them the way you can recursively read

files
from a directory tree, or if you can, I don't know how.

The ones you really need to be worried about can easily enough be
done individually through code. You could also automate the process
of applying a user defined chart type, or copying a good chart and
using paste special-formats on a bad chart, but both of these

replace
existing chart and axis titles with whatever is in the copied chart.

- Jon


I see - thanks for that, understanding a little more than is strictly
necessary is always a good thing I find!

Regards.

Alan.


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ctrl+A macro fix for problem in Excel 2003 David McRitchie General Discussion 4 June 19th, 2004 12:01 PM
Increasing line weight in Excel graphs farzin General Discussions 0 June 3rd, 2004 01:18 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.