A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Excel » Links and Linking
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

2003 Can I stop the 'update links' option when file is opened?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 29th, 2009, 10:44 AM posted to microsoft.public.excel.links
ajnmxx
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4
Default 2003 Can I stop the 'update links' option when file is opened?

It seems I should be able to do this via the 'links' then 'startup
prompt' options. But whichever one of the three options here that I
choose seems to make no difference. When the file is saved and
reopened I'm still asked to update links again. The settings are
saved, so it still says "don't display the alert", but it does. Is
this a bug?
Ads
  #2  
Old October 31st, 2009, 03:47 PM posted to microsoft.public.excel.links
Robert Flanagan
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 22
Default 2003 Can I stop the 'update links' option when file is opened?

This is a feature. You can set the workbook to always update links but that
sounds like what you do not want to do. The other option is to write a
macro that opens the workbook and sets the option to update links to false

Sub Open_No_Update()
Workbooks.Open Filename:= _
"file and path here", UpdateLinks:=False
End Sub

Put the above in your personal xls file and assign it to a button for fast
access.

Robert Flanagan
http://www.add-ins.com
Productivity add-ins and downloadable books on VB macros for Excel

"ajnmxx" wrote in message
...
It seems I should be able to do this via the 'links' then 'startup
prompt' options. But whichever one of the three options here that I
choose seems to make no difference. When the file is saved and
reopened I'm still asked to update links again. The settings are
saved, so it still says "don't display the alert", but it does. Is
this a bug?



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.