A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

HELP: I want a message when the 2nd combo in a cascade...



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 15th, 2006, 01:31 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
scubadiver
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,673
Default HELP: I want a message when the 2nd combo in a cascade...

doesn't produce any options to choose from.

It has been suggested that I use the form current event which does make sense.

I don't know what the code is.
  #2  
Old December 15th, 2006, 02:11 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Klatuu
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,074
Default HELP: I want a message when the 2nd combo in a cascade...

Your subject line is too long to display. Post back with your question in
the body of the message.

"scubadiver" wrote:

doesn't produce any options to choose from.

It has been suggested that I use the form current event which does make sense.

I don't know what the code is.

  #3  
Old December 15th, 2006, 02:31 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
scubadiver
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,673
Default HELP: I want a message when the 2nd combo in a cascade...


When the user choose a customer I want a message to tell the user that the
current branch address is the only address available.

The only thing you told me before is what event to use, not what code to use.






"Klatuu" wrote:

Your subject line is too long to display. Post back with your question in
the body of the message.

"scubadiver" wrote:

doesn't produce any options to choose from.

It has been suggested that I use the form current event which does make sense.

I don't know what the code is.

  #4  
Old December 15th, 2006, 02:52 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Douglas J. Steele
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 9,313
Default HELP: I want a message when the 2nd combo in a cascade...

Presumably you've got code in the AfterUpdate event of the first combo box
to reset the RowSource for the address combo box. Once you've done that,
check the value of the address combo box's ListCount property.

--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no private e-mails, please)


"scubadiver" wrote in message
...

When the user choose a customer I want a message to tell the user that the
current branch address is the only address available.

The only thing you told me before is what event to use, not what code to
use.






"Klatuu" wrote:

Your subject line is too long to display. Post back with your question
in
the body of the message.

"scubadiver" wrote:

doesn't produce any options to choose from.

It has been suggested that I use the form current event which does make
sense.

I don't know what the code is.



  #5  
Old December 15th, 2006, 03:04 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Sprinks
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 531
Default HELP: I want a message when the 2nd combo in a cascade...

Scubadiver,

Use the ListCount property of the 2nd combo box to determine the number of
listings:

If Me![YourComboBox].ListCount = 0 Then
MsgBox "There are no choices for this customer."
End If

The code should also go in the AfterUpdate event of the first combo box.

Hope that helps.
Sprinks


"scubadiver" wrote:

doesn't produce any options to choose from.

It has been suggested that I use the form current event which does make sense.

I don't know what the code is.

  #6  
Old December 15th, 2006, 03:05 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Klatuu
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,074
Default HELP: I want a message when the 2nd combo in a cascade...

In the After Update event of combo 1:

Me.Combo2.Requery
If Me.Combo2.ListCount = 1 Then
MsgBox "Only one address found"
End If

"scubadiver" wrote:


When the user choose a customer I want a message to tell the user that the
current branch address is the only address available.

The only thing you told me before is what event to use, not what code to use.






"Klatuu" wrote:

Your subject line is too long to display. Post back with your question in
the body of the message.

"scubadiver" wrote:

doesn't produce any options to choose from.

It has been suggested that I use the form current event which does make sense.

I don't know what the code is.

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.